Tyrone people unhappy with the GAA disciplinary system

I think they have a good point... as it stands it's not very fair.

Tyrone to refuse to play ball on TV coverage?

The camera's roll at the 2009 Ulster SFc Final at Clones.
16 February 2010

Speculation is mounting that Tyrone County Board will attempt to pull the plug on live tv coverage of their games.

Angry officials will discuss the issue when the county management committee meet up on Tuesday next.

Tyrone manager Mickey Harte has suggested that the road of not allowing tv coverage of his team's games is one that may be followed:

"It's something we'll have to consider," Harte admitted. "In fact our county board have made suggestions that if that's going to be the case then we could reserve the right to decide whether our League games are to be televised or not."

Meanwhile Tyrone's county spokesperson Damien Harvey confirmed that the O'Neill County will ponder over the question of allowing tv coverage of their games:

"We will be examining what our rights are on this issue," Harvey stated.

"Obviously there are many other games out of our control but it is an option we will consider.

"If we were to go down that road, we would be doing so with regret but the board and the team-management feel a level of consistency on this issue needs to be established."

©2010 Lynn Publications

jimbodub (Dublin) - Posts: 20763 - 16/02/2010 12:10:52    562800

jimbobdub are u at it again?

ta32 (Tyrone) - Posts: 4907 - 16/02/2010 12:30:21    562832

Moan Moan Moan Moan whinge whinge whinge
Ye are such victims arent ye!
Sorry decent tyrone lads on here but u cant turn on the tele/radio these days without someone from tyrone on having a good ol whinge!!!
Give us peace

Liamwalkinstown (Dublin) - Posts: 8166 - 16/02/2010 12:34:13    562837

They have a point you only have to look at the suspensions handed out from trial by T.V other high profile County's seem to be immune to trial by T.V , pull the plug I go to all the games so I don't need t.v those who do will have to go back to the 1930s and listen to the wireless (this is Q101 calling) and now we have a broadcast from Dr Healy park in Omagh stay tuned!

DynamoDooher (Tyrone) - Posts: 423 - 16/02/2010 12:40:08    562848

It just shows the level of distrust that a lot of Northern county board s have against the GAA @ HQ.

In fact theres a thread in this.... " Do Northern posters trust the GAA"

jimbodub (Dublin) - Posts: 20763 - 16/02/2010 12:57:59    562896

ta32

562832 jimbobdub are u at it again?

As pointed out by my fellow top poster Dub Liamo... Tyrone do some amount of moaning... but I think in this case it's unfair to have a system that only watches certain teams and not others. I mean it could easily turn around and bite my own beloved Dublin in the bum... any Dubs game that can be televised.. will be televised... although our discipline has been good so far.

jimbodub (Dublin) - Posts: 20763 - 16/02/2010 13:09:13    562913

You're right Liam, sure who cares if they have a point?

They should be silenced until they start saying the right things, the stuff people want to hear, The GAA is great, the disciplinary processes are obviously above reproach and there is absolutely no hint of any bias for/against any particular team. Everybody so obviously loves Tyrone, so there could not any possibility, perceived or otherwise, of injustices against them.

Breffni40 (Cavan) - Posts: 12412 - 16/02/2010 13:11:44    562918

I've heard it all now... "it was the refs fault" ....... "the rules are wrong".........now it's: "the tv cameras made us do it" look in the mirror lads!

Floops (Dublin) - Posts: 1623 - 16/02/2010 13:15:41    562922

Jimbodub...

Would you not be wise to be distrustful of anyone in authority in this country, north or south.
Given the record of politicians, churchmen and the professional classes in these jurisdictions have we any reason to believe the GAA to be any different?

"Just because they are paranoid doesnt mean there is nobody after them !!!!"

BIG SACKS (Tyrone) - Posts: 1681 - 16/02/2010 13:18:29    562930

In fairness I think they are well within their rights to do this. Its only fair that all teams get fair treatment regarding suspensions. Analyse all games or no games, they are only asking for consistency

Flanders (Galway) - Posts: 604 - 16/02/2010 13:27:23    562945

jimbobdub.

thats right jim. it could have turned and bite your beloved dublin in the backside in 1995 and then u would have been minus 1 all-ireland.
it can work both ways.

ta32 (Tyrone) - Posts: 4907 - 16/02/2010 13:32:36    562951

first of all before i say my point i want to outline the fact that this is not a dig at Tyrone and/or their supporters as i have nothing but respect and admiration for them and their success in recent times ...

that said i dont think Tyrone moan much , but this is an absolute joke , i couldnt believe my eyes when i read that article a while ago Jim , its unbelieveable i mean there have been occasions in previous years where other counties have had players banned after looking at evidents from video footage of the game .. the case that will stick out for me was the Dublin and Meath clash in Parnell Park in 2008 .. four players sent off and a further four banned (if i remember correctly im open to correction) , Dublin nor meath came out against the media and RTE or whatever the case may be and called for their games not to be videod anymore ? i mean Tyrones players , management and fans MUST know that they are in the top bracket of gaelic football in the last 5-10 years and that their games will get an awful lot of coverage .. all the best teams get the live games because not an awful lot of people will want to watch the likes of carlow v leitrim (no disrespect intended) ahead of a tyrone v kerry or cork v dublin game .. thats just the way things are unfortunately and that wont change , if tyrone worry so much about getting these suspensions and video footage being looked at .. then why do they lash out in the first place ? Also i dont hear Damien Cassidy coming out requesting that Derrys league games arent videoed ..

its not fair your right and tyrone do have a point but im 17 and if another lad my age came up and said that id be disappointed in him for being so childish and nieve .. but tyrone must accept that as a top team they will get more coverage and they must behave themselves appropriately .. there is absolutely no hypocrisy behind it ... tyrone didnt behave themselves against derry in R1 .. if you lash out or whatever when you know your on the TV , or you know the game is being aired at a later stage , then why do something stupid in the first place ...

they brought it on themselves

Rant over .. and let me stress again i have nothing but respect and admiration for tyrone

waynoI (Dublin) - Posts: 13654 - 16/02/2010 13:34:22    562953

I was going to reply to you floops but then a strange thought came to me. How do you converse with an amoeba?

omaghredhand (Tyrone) - Posts: 3656 - 16/02/2010 13:45:52    562972

Liam you do not get it do you ? Tyrone have had bans through tv by trial why is any other county in the south not treated the same equal rights . So please do not come on here and blame us because your county for one like others are been giving special treatment .

Dellboypolecat (Tyrone) - Posts: 15069 - 16/02/2010 13:46:57    562976

Don't agree with Mickey Harte on this one, he should take a look at his own team and get them to cut out the off the ball stuff. Then he would have nothing to worry about. If any player get caught with late punches etc on tv then great, it will help to stamp it out. Mickey Harte only seems concerned with not getting caught, not trying to stop it in the first place. TV camera can also help lads who got red cards wrongly to be recended. He can't have it both ways. As someone else said nearly all the Dublin matches have cameras at them & I don't hear hear their manager giving out.

county man (Limerick) - Posts: 1155 - 16/02/2010 13:47:08    562977

Yes they have a point, but at the same time it is the same for everybody.

From another pov, could this be taken as an admission that negative tactics will be used in the game?

TheMaster (Mayo) - Posts: 16187 - 16/02/2010 13:48:24    562980

In fairness they do have a point. If video evidence is to be used it should be used at every game played, not just at the one that is on television. Players doing the same things at non-televised games are getting away with it.
Maybe thats why there are no Monaghan games being shown, an attempt by RTE and the powers that be to keep them with a squad

BatigolStatue (Mayo) - Posts: 211 - 16/02/2010 13:54:26    562992

A level playing field is all we ask for. If the GAA are going to punish players based on TV footage it's only fair that this TV footage is implemented at all games. That would be common sense something certain Dublin posters seem to be missing

pplocal (Tyrone) - Posts: 5878 - 16/02/2010 13:58:06    562998

BIG SACKS

562930 Jimbodub...

Would you not be wise to be distrustful of anyone in authority in this country, north or south.
Given the record of politicians, churchmen and the professional classes in these jurisdictions have we any reason to believe the GAA to be any different?

"Just because they are paranoid doesnt mean there is nobody after them !!!!"

Very true bro... sadly very true.

jimbodub (Dublin) - Posts: 20763 - 16/02/2010 14:14:49    563013

They have to remember that Derry got bans! If you play dirty you will have to be ready to pay for your actions in this case it is bans! No point passing the blame to TVs and cameras when it was the players!

Orlaith (Derry) - Posts: 4282 - 16/02/2010 14:16:54    563015