Problems with Kilkenny football

howdid the junior game go tonight ?

s goldrick (Cavan) - Posts: 5520 - 08/06/2011 21:27:21    951129

''IMO, complete waste of money and energy funding a KK f/ball team... needs to be dissolved, before it gets any worse!''

this attitude is present in wexford gaa. the hurling managers in the county blame the bad standard on the football teams. this year the u21 football team in wexford won the leinster title. in 2008 the senior football team went unbeaten in the league, won division 3, made a leinster final appearance and were beaten in the all ireland semi final by the eventual winners. this success in football has come despite huge problems and people calling for it to be dissolved. the hurling crowd are angry as such success has not been seen in wexford hurling. the football in the county is going from strength to strength and it is sickening the hurlers.

there is no reason why kilkenny can't be a dual county. just remember that wexford football was once like kilkenny football. no one knew when they were playing and they never got a mention. but see how things have changed. wexford are now more likely to win a football all ireland than a hurling.

wex111 (Wexford) - Posts: 7 - 11/06/2011 11:55:57    952825

I see people are here calling kilkenny narrow minded as they don't play as much football? what about half the country that concentrate 99.9% on football in their counties i.e cavan,louth etc. kilkenny are about the only county in the country that are pure hurling and they are getting called narrow minded. There are a lot more football counties that are narrow minded and neglect hurling as much as kilkenny neglect football. Why not try and really promote hurling in those counties?

upandwin (Down) - Posts: 112 - 18/06/2011 15:14:34    959518

well said upand win, best comment ive read on this topic.. what ye do is yere own bus asa county.. notin but rubbish and jealousy talk on this topic, quite childish really

skippy..2009 (Tipperary) - Posts: 125 - 22/06/2011 09:49:33    962579

yea well said upand...

coz i cant beleave people are still worried about kilkenny when they win nothing themselfs
and as upand says they dont play hurling
tiz pot and kettle me thinks
i spoke with a elderly ex gaa player from tipp who was very well educated on our gaa games
the guy could nearly tell you who scored the first and final score from games goin back as far as early 70s
a veryinteresting old man,
but his words where thank god kilkenny dont play football if they can build the best hurling team he ever seen
then it wouldnt be long for them to start having a say in the sam.
he asked me what do i think why kilkenny dont be interested i couldnt answer it
but remembered being in school and hadnt kicked a football in all the years in primary school.
his reply... that plays a big part of it,and he went on to say that generation are all stepping down now due to age who
and with the promotion of the games all will change
but he did say rome wasnt built in a day and i couldnt put it better myself
I went on to ask him so why do countys that only play football not try there arm at hurling
he laughed and said they dont have the skills needed
well i had to leave at the point,shame i couldnt chat with him for longer im sure he would have thought me a thing or to.
so i got the man a guinness and we wished eachother well haha
of our games may change alot of peoples thinking and help young guys develop the interest in football

thedaddy (Kilkenny) - Posts: 63 - 22/06/2011 20:52:41    963406

How serious is football taken in Kilkenny? Compared to hurling it must be like 95-5???

BigBalls141 (USA) - Posts: 7 - 03/07/2011 16:14:58    973473

A lot of people talking obout the state of football in Kilkenny which is almost none existent for sure, but I have never heard of read about the treament of hurling in most of the strong footballing counties, Kerry, Meath, Tyrone, Donegal, Mayo, Kildare, Armagh, Derry, not to mention the weaker counties. Instead of always focusing on football in Kilkenny, how about we look at hurling is most of the counties which is a far bigger issue.

bodiddy (Longford) - Posts: 34 - 05/07/2011 13:47:40    975321

its funny they way people go on about kilkenny football what about counties like carlow and wexford who never win anything at either football or hurling

volvo (Kilkenny) - Posts: 16 - 06/07/2011 17:08:21    976574

volvo
County: Kilkenny

976574 its funny they way people go on about kilkenny football what about counties like carlow and wexford who never win anything at either football or hurling

Wexford have won 4/5 All Irelands in football, have been in the Leinster final two times in the last 3 years and made the All Ireland semi final in 2008

moomoo (Kerry) - Posts: 4023 - 07/07/2011 10:10:03    977018

WILL IT NOT TAKE TIME AND A GOOD UNDERAGE FOOTBALL STRUCTURE TO BRING ON FOOTBALL IN THE COUNTY?

Take Kildare the football interest is huge now thats since the county team staerted to be more involved in league and championship over the last decade or so. Yet Hurling is a very different story and I do feel more time and effeort needs to be put into it. maybe schools and underage in our county needs more of a push to promote the game and is this maybe the place to start in kilkenny with the football.Wexford are now almost doing better in the football than the hurling and for years they were the minnows in football terms. every young fellow in kilkenny wants to be the next Henry or D J because thats what they see the football needs to be nurtured in the county and maybe with a decent run in the league people would get involved and the children might want to get involved.

in the meantime Come on the CATS

lillymadfan (Kildare) - Posts: 1085 - 21/07/2011 12:49:52    991063

Intersting thread here for the record this may surprise youse Donergal's first ever Ulster championship win was not football but hurling back in the early thirties
hurling is played mainly in the east north and south of the county the gaeltacht areas have little interest in playing hurling alhough Gweedore fieled a team in the 90's .Most the hurling clubs are in the bigger towns up here with the exception of Burt and Killygordon which are rural areas east of Letterkenny.Towns like Carndonagh Letterkenny Ballybofey Donegal Town Ballyshannon and Buncrana all play hurling and along with Burt are dual clubs Setanta from Killygordon are the only exclusive hurling club in the County.Hurling was also played in Lifford Fahan and Pettigo areas in the recent decades.Letterkenny Kilygordon and Carndonagh are traditional camogie areas which are undrgoing a recent revival in recent years following the hosting of the pan celtic by the St.Eunans club in 2007.O'Donnell Park in Letterkenny is home to the County Hurling team who play most their games there it's the second largest county ground in Donegal home to St.Eunans GAA and only club that plays Snr hurling west of the Swilly river which runs along sde it.Finally I don't see any reason why Kilkenny if giving the support and development from the County Board become a dual County I'm sure there are many good footballers and interested parties amongst you who can rise up to the challenge nothing is impossible best wishes from Thir Chonaill.

Pointer (Donegal) - Posts: 1200 - 01/08/2011 12:23:37    1000462

Kilkenny football will never be good

haz (Dublin) - Posts: 213 - 07/08/2011 17:03:55    1005714

could the template used by the dublin hurling board be used for kilkenny football it may take time for kilkenny to compete competitively but if they get the underage structures right it could be succesful

srgt_slaughter (Meath) - Posts: 462 - 17/08/2011 18:58:53    1013418

no dont think so. lads will always choose hurling over football in kilkenny

marooned123 (Galway) - Posts: 8 - 29/08/2011 13:33:42    1021700

bodiddy
County: Longford

A lot of people talking obout the state of football in Kilkenny which is almost none existent for sure, but I have never heard of read about the treament of hurling in most of the strong footballing counties, Kerry, Meath, Tyrone, Donegal, Mayo, Kildare, Armagh, Derry, not to mention the weaker counties. Instead of always focusing on football in Kilkenny, how about we look at hurling is most of the counties which is a far bigger issue.

Haha our hurlers would hammer your hurlers out the gate. There are a good few hurling only clubs in Meath as well. Learn your facts before talking rubbish. Kerry have also got a decent hurling team too I might add. Kilkenny just pulled out of the o'byrne cup clash with louth which is a very bad sign.

BettystownRoyal (Meath) - Posts: 3353 - 06/01/2012 20:04:00    1089821

lads did none of ye hear about o'loughlin gaels u14s from kilkeny winnin da all-ireland feile na ngael division 5 last year.they bet wolfe tones from clare,a sign of good development in both counties.both of these clubs were also in da hurling feile na ngael division 1 last year.o'loughlin gaels won dat aswel.my club (st.thomas's) hosted o'loughlin gaels in da hurling nd they're an unbelievably organised club,years ahead of most clubs both in kilkenny nd around da country.

hurlerboy313 (Galway) - Posts: 38 - 08/01/2012 17:19:41    1090344

Bettystown,the point the other fellas making is that even though football is treated with disinterest in Kilkenny,hurling is treated with disinterest in most other counties.its hard to argue with that.

TheRoad (Galway) - Posts: 1339 - 07/02/2012 21:19:29    1107621

just look where bettystown is from. Think that answers everything.

georgelee (Louth) - Posts: 523 - 10/02/2012 10:48:09    1108929

You can't say much George

seamusmac (Meath) - Posts: 379 - 10/02/2012 19:07:21    1109298

bodiddy
County: Longford

What are you on about? Kerry have been in the last 2 Christy Ring Cup finals lost one by a point and won the other. Mayo made the semi finals of teh Christy Ring cup 2 years in a row. Kildare have been in a Christy Ring Cup final and made the semi finals in the last few years. Armagh won the 2010 Nicky Rickard Cup in 2010 and have played in Ulster finals at all grades the last few years and have a club in the All Ireland final today. Derry have also won a Nicky Rackard Cup. as have Meath Donegal made the Nicky Rickard Cup final and have been in the last 3 Lory Meagher Cup fianls and won last years. Tyrone have been in 2 Lory Meagher Cup finals won one lost one.

Also Meath, Kildare and Wicklow always played in the Leinster hurling championship before the Christy Ring etc came along, when did Kilkenny last play in Leinster?

moomoo (Kerry) - Posts: 4023 - 11/02/2012 14:27:23    1109490