Paul Galvin and the notebook

Jayo...fair point i'll do that the next time!! Wouldnt do to insult my dublin friends! Just none of ye call me a munster ball boy again!

tiobraid (Tipperary) - Posts: 4119 - 18/06/2008 11:01:55    34209

Vice99 - Despite my love to see Kerry wallop every other county in Ireland since football began, my blinkers are only stating the fact of the matter! I was at the match he was dragged around for 5 minutes and approached the lines man to do something about it but as usual he BOTTLED it and did not, he was then booked as a result of this, which baffle's me as to what rule he breached to be booked?

He then tapped the referee's notebook while it was in his hands, in my opinion not intenionally to knock it out of his hand!

So Vice99, Where you there NO. Where you watching the Sunday Game YES.

Thats FACT!

Ciarrai Abu (Overseas) - Posts: 1050 - 18/06/2008 11:09:22    34217

So the general public are not going to see the skills of Paul Galvin in this entire Championship season. What a joke !!! Players, if they are lucky, have about 10 top flight seasons in them and now Galvin has had one of those taken away from him.

I think this is very harsh.

If 8 weeks for Dublin and Meath players is to set an example then that is what Galvin should have got.

I understand the need to promote respect for officials by players etc ... and I also feel that Galvin's actions were as close as you can come to assaulting a referee or official without laying a hand on him. It looked like he was only a hair's breadth away from decking the ref, linesman or his own team-mate.

However, one of the mitigating factors is in the behaviour of certain referees. This is the same ref who sent Charlie Redmond off (or did he ?) in the 1995 AI final, the same ref who presided over the "Battle of Omagh", the same ref who presided over the Dublin vs Meath league match earlier this year. All matches where things get out of control and which have gone down as being "infamous" ... coincidence?

Beacaire Gorm (Dublin) - Posts: 597 - 18/06/2008 11:10:18    34218

I think 3 for Galvin would be adequate. He is one of those niggly players who plays on the edge all the time - a bit like a certain Roy Keane. Will be interesting long-term to see what effect this controversy will have on this game. He is a player oppostition fans love to hate but would love to have on their own team. Ciarrai Abu - its irrelevant to compare previous indiscretions, when they happened and in what competition etc and disingenuous to slight Northern teams. Instead you could question why PG got so animated and out of control in a game that Kerry were in total control of. The dye was cast post-Parnell Park and I would argue that the disciplinary wing of the GAA are at last showing consistency!

JayoCluxton (Dublin) - Posts: 2688 - 18/06/2008 11:16:56    34220

How can you possibly claim consistency when Whelan Assualted a player that was no where near the action of the game, he served a ban for a couple of weeks in which he missed meaningless games that the Dubs would have a better work out in training! This should not of been met with a ban but a criminal assualt charge, the players on the field are putting there bidies on the line every time they play. the fact of the matter is that Paul Galvin DID NOT TOUCH THE REFEREE, last time i checked Paddy Russel has not had a notebook surgically attached to his hand. Or am i wrong?

Parnell park should have been met with heavier implications for those involved as if this had occured off a football field they would be all locked up! And any way the fact of the matter is the CCC panel would love to see the Dubs win an All Ireland as it would fill the Big Cats pockets and keep them purring for another year!

It wouldn't suprised me if Cooper is banned next week as he kicked the ball wide and it hit the umpire! ASSUALT ON A OFFICIAL IS THE CRY FROM THE CCC!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

Ciarrai Abu (Overseas) - Posts: 1050 - 18/06/2008 11:32:21    34227

Beacaire Gorm

"So the general public are not going to see the skills of Paul Galvin in this entire Championship season. What a joke !!! Players, if they are lucky, have about 10 top flight seasons in them and now Galvin has had one of those taken away from him.
I think this is very harsh."
*******************************************************************************************************
Ehhhh.... he hasnt just had it taken away from him. He caused it to be taken away himself. I have no sympathy for the fella i must say. 6 months might be a bit harsh but hey, everyone knows the GAA are at last getting serious about discipline and he should have known better. No-one to blame but himself

redandgreen (None) - Posts: 691 - 18/06/2008 11:37:36    34232

redandgreen - I don't think all the blame lays on his shoulders. What caused his reaction has the second yellow which he shouldn't have got. Poor decisions by the referee/linesman.

Remember your physics - every action has an equal but opposite reaction.

3inarow08 (Kerry) - Posts: 2455 - 18/06/2008 11:53:37    34241

Ciarrai Overseas, the need to drag Dublin into this topic is pointless and pathetic. Stop trying to shift the blame and painting Ciaran Whelan as the bogeyman of the GAA. Whelan got 2 months for striking a player, regardless of what time of the year this occurred at, he got the correct sanction of 2 months. Galvins discipline is in line with a different offense and depending on how the referee reported this, is what the CCCC is basing their suspension recommendation.
Why am I not surprised at this usual rhetoric when a harsh disciplinary action is handed out. Dubs get away with this, Whelan gets away with that. Change the record lads and take your medicine. Whelan took his and like Galvin apologised afterwards. Paul Finlay got 2 months for verbal abuse of the referee (not sure if he's appealed this as of yet), Galvin was always going to get a harsh punishment in light of the fact that he interfered with the referee and verbally abused the umpire. It doesn't matter if he deserved the 2 yellow cards, the referee believed he did. It doesn't matter, if you or me or whoever thinks otherwise. Galvin can use all the usual channels of appeal to make his case. Lets see what happens from there because I don't think this one is over just yet.

holymoly (Dublin) - Posts: 757 - 18/06/2008 12:11:19    34247

FLOOPS IS IT???? Sounds like a CLOWNS name but anyway are you by any chance a referee yourself, if not then you would have to agree that the officials do not always get it right and play some role in these incidents and that they are never questioned whether they are right or wrong. For example if an official is the cause of a team winning or loosing a game and it is blathened, how come he is never accountable for his actions? Players give enough and train enough without their year been ruined by these people surely something has to change.

maximus (Meath) - Posts: 49 - 18/06/2008 12:46:22    34270

From what I could see when the ref took his book out Paul Galvin was the only one to notice a wasp on the book and about to sting the ref,so Paul did the only thing in that situation and knocked the book(and the wasp) out of his hand.He then ran to the linesman and told him that he should take more care of the ref and that he had averted what could have been a serious situation.well that story could have saved him a few months.

Frances56 (Dublin) - Posts: 378 - 18/06/2008 13:15:05    34287

Storm in a tea cup I think.
24 weeks is mad. 4 weeks would of done he hit the ref's note book not the worst thing ever happend on a football pitch!
I think the humiliation of a grow man who is a school teacher throwing a tantrum would be bad enough.

Paul please appel to your blue in the face and you are suspended for 4 weeks!

BallBhoy (Tyrone) - Posts: 201 - 18/06/2008 17:03:37    34453

I think Galvin's reputation is severely damaged...

before he was seen as a hardjaw (Francie Bellew type), well now he is like a pantomime villain..........OH yes he is!

JackoDub (Dublin) - Posts: 458 - 18/06/2008 17:16:38    34461

I think this is very harsh punishment. Is it just me or was this over-hyped. The man was wrong but a month (or two championship games) would have been sufficient enough!!

Farneyarmy1 (Monaghan) - Posts: 89 - 18/06/2008 18:42:55    34505

tiobraid ,you have a real bee in your bonnet about the dubs,doesnt bother me but im just curious to know why,let it out man.
your mammy will take your computer away from you if she seen how bitchy you get.
galvin deserves his six months,if it was any other player with a reputation they would be cruxified,and yes that does include ciaran god whelan

finglas full ba (None) - Posts: 636 - 18/06/2008 19:15:22    34513

seven pages of posts, yet not one mention of the other TWO players that were sent off in the same match. All three sendings off were on the say so of linesmen and umpires. Personally I thought all three were harsh, especially the Clare full back, but hey !! I was sitting up in the stand and not close enough to make an informed opinion. The man who was close enough and was tasked with the job of refereeing the match made his desision, THE OTHER TWO PLAYERS DID WHAT MOST PLAYERS DO WHEN SHOWN A RED CARD, THEY SHOOK THEIR HEADS, TURNED AROUND AND WALKED OFF THE PITCH. Why did Galvin think he could or should be treated any differently, even if the referee was wrong, he is still the referee and his desision is final. The referee didn't drop his notebook, it was knocked from his hand, This amounts to striking the ref, If the GAA hope to be able to enforce any disipline, 6 months is the very least any player should expect for such an offence.

optimist (Louth) - Posts: 188 - 18/06/2008 20:33:16    34525

maximus

FLOOPS IS IT???? Sounds like a CLOWNS name but anyway are you by any chance a referee yourself, if not then you would have to agree that the officials do not always get it right and play some role in these incidents and that they are never questioned whether they are right or wrong. For example if an official is the cause of a team winning or loosing a game and it is blathened, how come he is never accountable for his actions? Players give enough and train enough without their year been ruined by these people surely something has to change.

Well "maximus" very sorry you don't like my name but your obvious lack of imagination and original thinking by choice of name is confirmed by your response.

Floops (Dublin) - Posts: 1623 - 19/06/2008 09:17:48    34638

finglas full ba

I better let it out so...in case Mammy takes awa y my computer. I dont I just find it frustrating that a team with potential is throwing it away because they have a manager who is totally inept at that level. I've kept it quiet til now...but I actually play my club fball and hurling in dublin (well wont be playing again this year with injury), an I actually know one or two lads on the dublin panel....doesnt mean i cant criticise them (its all constructive criticism!)

tiobraid (Tipperary) - Posts: 4119 - 19/06/2008 10:13:32    34675

tiobraid thats a far enough answer.if you play your football in west dublin i think i may have come up against you ,id say it was around march

finglas full ba (None) - Posts: 636 - 20/06/2008 16:11:05    35559