Paul Galvin and the notebook

this type of behaviour towards a referee is just not on. Appeals might see a reduction for someone who did not have a history. Alas this is not the case here.

Sparrowhawk (Tyrone) - Posts: 107 - 17/06/2008 23:22:56    34097

Six months isn't enough?!? Are you mad?

Anything less, i.e. anything that would still see him playing a part in this year's championship would have been insufficient. There are lines that can't be crossed and Galvin has ploughed right across them. You can NOT touch officials. anything that even half way suggests that is not the case needs to be stamped down on with extreme prejudice. If it was an Armagh man I would say exactly the same thing. Galvin has previous, but Sunday's incident in isolation of any previous is totally and utterly unacceptable in our games and that message needs to go out loud and clear.

Estragon (Armagh) - Posts: 19 - 17/06/2008 23:47:03    34105

What a mockery the GAA have made out of themselves. The ban handed down to Paul Galvin is nothing short of disgraceful. 6 months for knocking a notebook to the floor and remonstrating with the linesman...it's beyond belief that this has actually happened.
You have Gary McQuaid nearly taking the head of one player-getting eight weeks. The Dublin and Meath players in a mass-brawl where punches are thrown at anyone whos in the way..they only get 8 weeks max. Players with no regard for others.
And here you have Galvin knocking a notebook to the ground and letting off a bit of steam to the linesman getting 6 months!!
Dosnt it just show how much GAA think of players? That players safety can be held below'authority for the ref' in regard is a joke.

Dont get me wrong, I think 8 weeks was enough for Dublin, Meath and Gary McQuaid.
Galvin should have been given a 4 week ban and let everyone get on with it. It would have been enough to hurt him, he would have missed leading Kerry out in the Munster Final as captain...an honour that he'd never get again.

It's just not good enough from the GAA and from one who hates this appeals system...I hope Galvin appeals this til he's blue in the face.

Maroonie (Westmeath) - Posts: 105 - 18/06/2008 05:26:24    34125

Well most posters on this thread should be happy now especially posters from Dublin and Meath and others who didn't like Galvin in the first place.
There's no doubt that Galvin deserved a lengthy ban and the CCCC has acted swiftly as indeed it did in the Parnell Park case this new speedy action by this body is very welcome .What would also be welcome is a good look at the cause of the incident which so annoyed Galvin in the first place and is happening right in front of everyone's eyes in every game each week and yet no action is taken.
As a result of this incident the GAA might now urgently act on this problem, but I wont hold my breath.

chainsaw (Laois) - Posts: 712 - 18/06/2008 08:47:01    34135

he didnt just slap a notebook. he got sent off before any of that and then he assaulted the referee (you cannot touch the man in black),preceeded to verbally abuse the referee(minimun for that is a month,depending on the referees report.)now refusing to leave the field is another no-no.Also abusing the referee and his co-workers is alot like striking.one month for a strike but if you run 20yards to strike your up the creek. all in all i think its a fair ban and one if paul appeals i still hope he gets at least 3months.
people have to realise you cannot abuse the referees

Rhodejim (Offaly) - Posts: 2888 - 18/06/2008 09:03:45    34139

Dubs---will ye lighten up a bit!! Can ye not take a joke!!

tiobraid (Tipperary) - Posts: 4119 - 18/06/2008 09:39:02    34149

Carl Jung speaks of assault, intimidation and confrontation with an official and believes it has a place in our games all because the lad loves his football.
I'd say that any of what we have termed 'so called supporters' who have thrown objects and shouted abuse at players more than likely love their football too yet we all rightly see them as having no place in our games! Whats the difference here? .....Oh yeah, its kerry captain Paul Galvin! Thats the difference!
'Assault' is defined as the threat or actions towards a battery.
'Battery' being defined as actual physical contact.

6 months is good enough for the petulent kid!

Stamping his feet!.....Pathetic!

If it was Whelan ye would be hoping he was banned for life!

Snufalufagus.....Laochra Gael

Snufalufagus (Dublin) - Posts: 8100 - 18/06/2008 09:50:50    34153

18/06/2008 09:50:50
Snufalufagus
If it was Whelan ye would be hoping he was banned for life!

Yawn. Glad to see you are trotting out the new stuff.

RMDrive (Donegal) - Posts: 2202 - 18/06/2008 10:02:40    34160

Dubs---will ye lighten up a bit!! Can ye not take a joke!!
tiobraid , 18/06/2008 at 09:39

JayoCluxton (Dublin) - Posts: 2688 - 18/06/2008 10:04:28    34161

Boo-Hoo!
Galvin will miss the final!
Boo-Hoo!
Justice to suit the perptrator is what ye are all lookin for here!
For all of ye complaining about the sentance....The next time ye see some murderer getting early release ye will have no right to mock the justice system and complain about criminals getting off lightly!! Ye are doing the same thing here!

Ye make me sick, ye double standard fools, who have the cheek to call yerselves upstanding Irishmen!

Protect officials at all costs is what ye preach week in week out, but now depending on who it is ye want to bend the rules!

Dont start this rubbish catch-all BS word 'passionate'!
A word used to hide behind after scum behaviour!

Ye make me sick!

Grow a pair!.....Yer no men!.........Oh, and Im ""passionate"" about that too!!!!!!!!!

Snufalufagus.....Laochra Gael

Snufalufagus (Dublin) - Posts: 8100 - 18/06/2008 10:06:35    34166

Lads you are all going on about the panel on the Sunday Game not condeming Galvin's actions ....... WHY WOULD THEY? Lads it was the smallest of infringments, and with regards to the abuse to the other official, this is a regular occurence even at underage football. Some of ye are not living in the real world! Galvin deserves a smack on the wrist but far worse has gone un-punished in the past from other players! MnMennamin's actions on Cooper in 05 and was not even booked! Dublin Tyrone (20 man brawl) a few players got a couple of week bans and only missed meaningless NFL games! Dublin Meath, Whelan's infraction with a Meath player and got a couple of weeks and missed meaningless Dublin games, this should not of been met with a ban but a jail sentence! Mattie Forde, last yr right in front of the Ref an only got a ban due to video footage, what a joke! The CCC is so inconsistent that they are making the GAA disiplinary system a joke! Galvin did wrong, no doubt about it! But referee's are harshly and unfairly penialising him for nothin fouls where as if he was playing for a northern county he would only be doing what they all do and no doubt getting away with it!

Ciarrai Abu (Overseas) - Posts: 1050 - 18/06/2008 10:09:25    34168

What a muppet!!

One of the top accolades in football,captain of the Kerry team,and he goes and does this in his first game. What a great example to set to the kids,and this fella is a teacher. No sympathy im afraid.

sean og (Armagh) - Posts: 1073 - 18/06/2008 10:12:08    34170

No need to bring his profession into it, I think that's been said before. 6 months is too harsh, I think even the CCC realise this. They're giving themselves some lee-way when it comes to the appeals. It'll go down to 3 months.

3inarow08 (Kerry) - Posts: 2455 - 18/06/2008 10:19:53    34177

Snuff - have you had a bang on the head in recent weeks? If RTE are ever gonna do a version of Grumpy Old Men you are a shoe-in - and E Dunphy.

JayoCluxton (Dublin) - Posts: 2688 - 18/06/2008 10:29:21    34183

chainsaw
County: Laois

"What would also be welcome is a good look at the cause of the incident which so annoyed Galvin in the first place"
__________________________________________________________________________________________________

This is completely irrelevent. It doesnt matter what led to the incident. Doesnt matter whether he was hard done by or not. You simply cannot react aggressively towards the referee like that. He knows that, he's playing the game long enough. The GAA are determined to stamp down hard on discipline this year. That much is clear and nickey brennan deserves great credit for that. The first thing they need to clamp down on is the blatant disrespect shown towards referees throughout the country. This is the first step. Zero tolerance. Players wont be long gettin the message and copping themselves on. I just hope they uphold this ban now. But i have a feeling, like has been said already, the ban he will eventually serve will probably be more like 3 months

redandgreen (None) - Posts: 691 - 18/06/2008 10:29:47    34184

I notice that the general consensus in regards Galvin's punishment is that he should only have received 3 months. This can still be the case, the CCCC have recommended 6 months as they believe, based on the evidence provided not to mention the referee's report, that Galvin's offence was worse than the minimum sanction for the jostling, putting a hand on or minimal interference with a referee. Galvin can still appeal and if this doesn't get over turned by the CHC, then he can bring it ot the CAC and then the DRA if needs be. However, considering the result for the Meath players when they took it this far, this doesn't look good for Galvin.

Although many believe that the punishment is seen as harsh, Galvin could not have done this at a worse time for himself. The GAA have been getting tough on discipline (at least at inter county level). Respect for the referee is paramount and this was always going to be the main issue on their agenda for getting tough on discipline. How often have we heard of referee's being assaulted or receiving unbelievable abuse over the last few years. The mindset around referee's throughout all levels of gaelic football and hurling is that he's almost always wrong when he judges against you or your team and that this gives people license to give the referee abuse. This attitude needs to be erradicated from our games. Although Galvins suspension seems harsh and cruel to some, I don't think we can really be too surprised that interference with a referee was ever going to be dealt with lightly.

holymoly (Dublin) - Posts: 757 - 18/06/2008 10:34:04    34187

Great post Holymoly.

As a Kerryman I can't disagree with what you have said, however bitter the pill I'm swallowing right now is. I'd say Galvin is kicking himself right now. If he's back for this year's Championship, expect him to be whiter than white.

Can you imagine though if he's back for the semi-final or final (providing we make it that far) and we have to play either Cork, Dublin or an Ulster team (which is highly likely)??? He'll have to be on his best behaviour then. Hopefully he'll learn from this because in my opinion he's the best wing forward in Ireland. I'd love to see Sean O' Sullivan or Darren O' Sullivan get a good run out though. Galvin may not get his place back in the team if he comes back in time.

3inarow08 (Kerry) - Posts: 2455 - 18/06/2008 10:45:12    34197

Alot of people giving out about 6 months being too much.... but look at it this way - look at all the off the ball stuff he's got away with over the years, maybe this is his karma...

Final word - Ciarrai Abu - take the blinkers off please...

vice99 (Donegal) - Posts: 1054 - 18/06/2008 10:45:32    34198

Snuf's account has been taken over by his nemesis "I-can't-believe-its-not-the-real-Joe-Joe" and his is trying to portray Snuf as a grumpy, complaining, angry old fecker. Doing a pretty good job too :)
Bring back the real Snuf!!

RMDrive (Donegal) - Posts: 2202 - 18/06/2008 10:45:53    34199

The CCCC this week handed down a 96 weeks suspension to a Meath Club player for an incident with a ref some weeks ago. Looks like Galvin is getting off lightly by these standards. GG got 48 weeks for the exact same thing a few years ago in a club game. After several appeals he eventually got the ban down to 32 weeks.

Diego (Meath) - Posts: 1205 - 18/06/2008 10:49:40    34203