Paul Galvin and the notebook

There cannot be double standards with this one - he must get a lengthy ban, longer that dublin/meath players. He should be made an example of. GAA need to get a grip BIGTIME. First we have yobs throwing stuff at players, then players mouthing at refs and now the captain slapping his notebook out of his hands! Need to bring in rugby style - captain speaks to him only, yellow card if you speak out of turn. If they dont sort this out a ref will get punched, mark my words. The day that happens will be most shameful.

Spuddy (Mayo) - Posts: 345 - 16/06/2008 12:30:35    33165

Absolute disgrace, not only is he a team captain. he is a school teacher he had no respect whatsoever for himself or his teamates with his actions. If I was Tomas O Se I for one would be very angry.

Niamh (Derry) - Posts: 2397 - 16/06/2008 12:54:17    33182

He should get at least 3 months,this kind of behavour needs to be stamped out of the game.

footiemad (Westmeath) - Posts: 733 - 16/06/2008 13:03:50    33195

he is a school teacher he had no respect whatsoever for himself or his teamates with his actions.
Niamh , 16/06/2008 at 12:54

Sorry Niamh but lets leave peoples occupations out of it. These are amateur players end of. Besides its like saying if he was an office cleaner like Whiterbannnas it would've been acceptable!

JayoCluxton (Dublin) - Posts: 2688 - 16/06/2008 13:18:31    33203

Unacceptable behaviour by any standards. I cringed for him when he pushed his team mate Tomas O Se. It showed immaturity and petulance ontop of his bad behaviour.
If I were to call 'a spade, a spade' I think he didn't slap the ref's notebook on purpose. He seemed to be flapping his hands in a girly sort-of 'what am I supposed to have done' manner and happened to clip the notebook. If you watch it, he hits the notebook with the reflexes of a ninja i.e. WAY too quick.

Can anyone enlighten us, as to what he is supposed to have done?

Con Cavan (Cavan) - Posts: 894 - 16/06/2008 13:53:41    33225

I suppose if Paul Finlay got 2 months for back chatting to a ref then Galvin will get at least something similar?

Farney (Monaghan) - Posts: 819 - 16/06/2008 14:08:45    33233

I think Galvin could be looking at 3 months alright if consistency is to be maintained. He will then become the cause celebre for the Kerry panel which will motivate them more - God help the rest of us!! Kerry fans - If this happens what would Kerry do - presumably appoint the deputy as Captain as they have done recently when Declan O'Sullivan was dropped - but what about if Galvin was eligible just for the Final (presuming Kerry get there) - would he be given the captaincy back? Would he play?

Dubinmeath (Dublin) - Posts: 1123 - 16/06/2008 14:17:44    33240

I can empathise with galvin Jayo. Sure it has happened to meself. One day, my boss (well he says he's the boss) was cleaning in the other cubicle. Next thing, he stuck his head around the corner to inspect my work. He had the cheek to say that i wasnt cleaning the toilet properly and to "put a bit of elbow grease into it" or something like that. Well, i went off the head, slapped the toilet duck out of his hand and walk off

whiterbannnas (Mayo) - Posts: 2441 - 16/06/2008 14:20:23    33241

I agree Con. I don't think it was a deliberate act in knocking the notebook - he just clipped in when gesturing wildly. But then his charge to the linesman and shove at O'Se made it worse on himself.

JayoCluxton (Dublin) - Posts: 2688 - 16/06/2008 14:23:45    33244

As a Kerryman I was sickened and embarrassed leaving Killarney yesterday. I was looking forward to Galvin leading Kerry out against Cork in Pairc Ui Caoimh but now I'm relieved he won't be there. In front of a home crowd with the game in the bag and he reacts like that. He gave and took his fair share of off-the-ball stuff yesterday but he has to expect this. He would get ten times worse against Cork or any other serious team and behaviour like that will cost you big games. He's got away with plenty before so he can't expect special treatment himself. He will get a lengthy suspension and deserves every bit of it and I'm sure Kerry will take it on the chin and soldier on without him. I would however take issue with some of the comments on here regarding his position as a teacher. He is a fine and respected teacher in Kerry and puts in a lot of extra time with football teams. As far as I'm aware he has never slapped a young lads homework from his hands in temper. To hint that his teaching abilities are questionable because of an incident on the field is very unfair. He made a big mistake, he will be punished and he will take his punishment. He let his team-mates down and I'm Tomas OSe and his brothers let him know that in the dressing room afterwards.

Tomás Tralee (Kerry) - Posts: 391 - 16/06/2008 14:37:04    33256

Read my comments on the thread entitled: 'What is the penalty for hitting a ref' Sorry Mr. Galvin, but yer goin straight to the bamboo cage and the chain gang wif all the others who act in such a fashion! Maybe he will come out with the 'fake' apology like Donaghy though! 'Fool me once, shame on you....Fool me twice, shame on me!' Regards, Snufalufagus.....Laochra Gael

Snufalufagus (Dublin) - Posts: 8100 - 16/06/2008 14:46:50    33266

the initial incident with russell wasn't too bad and looked worse than it was - but charging over to the linesman and mouthing was the action that will probably cost him a couple of months on the sideline - if you start getting away with bullying officials it sets a bad precedent.

agree with alot of previous posters re sunday game panelists - boring, sitting on the fence line.

Doireboy (Derry) - Posts: 30 - 16/06/2008 14:48:50    33272

You can say what you want about tohill lads but he's consistent. You can imagine the furore if he had condemned galvin after refusing to do so with doherty. He quite rightly said that it should be left to the CCCC and that everyone is entitled to a fair hearing no matter where they're from. Correct

redandgreen (None) - Posts: 691 - 16/06/2008 14:57:31    33280

Niamh. Joe Brolly went on about his occupation two years ago also.My god I have seen some Gardai,journalists,civil servants,solicitors,bankers etc. behave in a thuggish way on the football field so giving good example does not apply to one profession only . I am very dissappointed with Paul's reaction yesterday even as we know the ref's decision to give a second card was unbelievable.He would not have missed any game for two yellows. Lets all calm down. Two months would be the correct punishment.As for his jostling with Tomas nothing only pushing as Pat O'Shea said worse happens in training.Nobody hit but for losing two months.

Real Kerry Fan (None) - Posts: 2957 - 16/06/2008 15:16:36    33296

Farney
County: Monaghan

I suppose if Paul Finlay got 2 months for back chatting to a ref then Galvin will get at least something similar?
-----------------------------------------------------------------------
if finlay got two months and its a straight red and a month suspension for verbal abuse he must get at least 3months.
was disappointed that pat o'sea did not condemn pauls actions,he literally said it was okay to answer back the ref. somebody should think of the children !
severly punish that man

Rhodejim (Offaly) - Posts: 2888 - 16/06/2008 15:16:43    33297

Dubinmeath - The captaincy should go to another Feale Rangers player as they are county champions. Anthony Maher is a panelist but will not be in the starting fifteen this year. The likliehood is that a South Kerry player will be nominated as they contested the county final so it could be Bryan Sheehan or Declan O'Sullivan if fit. As for your question about the AI final, well I think we'll worry about that if and when it happens!

Tomás Tralee (Kerry) - Posts: 391 - 16/06/2008 15:23:05    33304

This thread is as boring and predictable as the Sunday Game panelists (though please lay off Anthony Tohill as he is the only one of them that is capable of forming an opinion). Everybody as just come on here and used the word "disgrace" to condemn Galvin's actions. Only one person, the poster from Laois, has tried to get to the root of the issue; that is the linesman, linesmen in general, taking the easy option and booking two players when clearly players all over the country (Kerry included) are trying to gain unfair advantage by pulling jerseys, third man tackling, and holding on to players arms when in possesion themselves in order to gain frees. As the Laois poster quite rightly said, both players end up tangling together and officials take the easy option and just book both players instead of the guilty party. Players are expected to just accept this and "take it like a man". Well, I for one think that characters like Paul Galvin are essential to the GAA. The gamesmanship (used pejoratively) that Galvin was the VICTIM of yesterday is far uglier than his 'hissy-fit' afterwards. Officials need to tackle this first. Respect for officials is vital. I agree with that, nobody could not but they must earn respect also. We can suspend Paul Galvin for three months but if anyone will think that this course of action will prevent another incident like that of Galvin's yesterday, or that the game will somehow improve, is sadly mistaken. Paul Galvin's action towards the linesman has highlighted a festering problem for the GAA. It took a star player, the captain of the country's most successful football team (I have no love for Kerry whatsoever), to bring this to the fore. Thank you Paul Galvin.

bennybunny (Cork) - Posts: 3917 - 16/06/2008 15:23:42    33307

if it was ryan mcmenamin, graham geraghty, players similar to galvin ( a player who gets in other players faces ) then i think they would be hung out to dry. galvin has to get 3 months, anything less is not acceptable.. he showed no respect for ref, linesman or his teammate. No excuses for him i'm afraid. disappointed with this "due process" talk from tohill and dara o c, they should have said the right thing and let young players watching the sunday game know that the behaviour of galvin is absolutely unacceptable. I'm sure some young player will have seen that and will try an emulate galvin to act "the man" in front of his friends. Sad but true
P.s. because my name is northmayoman i dont want any comments about what would happen if mortimer did the same or i'm only saying the above because galvin is kerry. Rubbish. There is way too much of that on this site. Bitching about what county ye're from. Grow up and start having some proper gaa discussions.No more nonsense ( ballboy -one of the worst culprits i'm afraid.)

northmayoman (Mayo) - Posts: 32 - 16/06/2008 15:36:07    33326

16/06/2008 14:57:31
redandgreen

You can say what you want about tohill lads but he's consistent. You can imagine the furore if he had condemned galvin after refusing to do so with doherty. He quite rightly said that it should be left to the CCCC and that everyone is entitled to a fair hearing no matter where they're from. Correct

Not correct .... Tohill is a pundit paid to give us an informed opinion. This was a major talking point yesterday and the GAA made an "example" of Dublin and Meath recently for bad behaviour. So Tohill should not hide behind due process, what's the point in having him there if that is all he is going to do.

Beacaire Gorm (Dublin) - Posts: 597 - 16/06/2008 19:19:58    33481

Jayo, I meant it as in he has more people who look up to him than most other Intercounty footballers, a person occupation is important in things they do outside of work, eg nurses etc can get fired or reprimanded if they are druck and disorderly in public.

Niamh (Derry) - Posts: 2397 - 16/06/2008 21:40:33    33534