Paul Galvin and the notebook

I missed the Clare V Kerry game last night on the Sunday Game, so what's the story with Paul Galvin's sending off, Is it a storm in a tea cup? what did he do?

Farney (Monaghan) - Posts: 819 - 16/06/2008 10:09:37    32996

kind of a storm in a tea cup but still terrible behaviour at the same time. he basically slapped the bool out of russels hands. not overly physical but a terrible example to set.

Baker the glen (None) - Posts: 371 - 16/06/2008 10:26:53    33015

He slapped the book out of the ref's hand coz he was gonna get sent off. Have a read of bomber liston's piece in the star today. Its hilarious. "He got animated, his hands went up and down and he knocked the notebook out of the referee's hand. It was an accident. Maybe he didn't mean it and he was making a gesture." Those kerry boys dont half stick together!

whiterbannnas (Mayo) - Posts: 2441 - 16/06/2008 10:34:48    33033

slapped the notebook out of the referees hand, ran 30 yards then and started screaming in the linesmans face when tomas o'se tried to get him to calm down pushed him. Did not see what he got the yellow cards for and do not know weather the referee was right or wrong but there can be no excuse for this sort of thuggish behaviour. When i think of kerry footballers it think of men who take there wins and defeats alike as men, i always think of them as players who have respect for their opponents, the officials and most importantly their teammates and themselves. What galvin did yesterday was a disgrace, i do not like him as a player. He has all the footballing ability in the world but he insists on acting the hardman untill it is put up to him then he does not want to know like against the aussies. He loves it when he is the big hard man hitting the smaller players in gaelic football but when the shoe is on the other foot he did not want to know, even going as far as moaning in the papers about it last month. For a captain to behave in this manner is a joke.

samin10 (Armagh) - Posts: 2434 - 16/06/2008 10:35:55    33037

What a clown....and isnt he a teacher!? Will get at least two months for that. Kerry will be hard bet again, especially as Sheehan looks like he could nearly kick frees from the far 21!! Armagh will be there with them though

tiobraid (Tipperary) - Posts: 4119 - 16/06/2008 10:59:59    33060

What Galvin did was madness but I have some sympathy for him.What happened yesterday has being happening a lot in recent years and Kerry are not innocent of this charge themselves.Players holding their opponent trying to prevent them running up-field or moving into position for breaks this all happens behind the referees backs.The 2 players often end up in a tangle the ref consults his linesman who has being watching this incident right from the start but he takes the easy option and the ref shows a yellow to both with the result that the player who was originally held receives a yellow for nothing as happened Galvin yesterday.
Now many will say PG is no angel and that's true but surly its a linesman's job to report which player was the instigator of this act and not take the easy way out as they all do in these cases righ now.

chainsaw (Laois) - Posts: 712 - 16/06/2008 11:03:53    33063

Galvin was a disgrace, didnt see why he was getting the second yellow but an example should be made with a six month ban, nobody should be let away with touching/disrespecting the ref(no matter how bad he is) if the dub & meath players can get hammered with a lenthy ban for a few handbags, the Galvin defo should get the 6 months and a further disgrace was on sunday game not one of the panel condemned his actions instead making rubbish excuses about him being upset, would like to see the reaction if it was a smaller county he played for,

BigRon1 (Westmeath) - Posts: 80 - 16/06/2008 11:07:05    33068

I'm surprised with the way the TV pundits are all towing the same line as this. It was one thing watching the lads on the Sunday Game talking about it - "ah he was just frustrated, he's a lovely bloke and thats totally out of character for him. He'll wake up on monday morning feeling embarrassed about it........yada yada yada. I switch on TV3 this morning and Sean Boylan and Paul Earley are spouting the same stuff, nearly word for word. We have Pat O'Shea dispelling the whole thing that happened as a heat of the moment etc
Come on lads, tell it like it is, thats why you're pundits. You're not Galvins defence council. If that was anyone but Kerry they would be all going to town on respect for referee's and linesmen, this kind of behaviour is not part of the GAA blah blah blah.
Perhaps it may also be down to Ross Carr's comments last week where he accused the sunday game's panelists of swaying the CCCC's decision with trial by television.

holymoly (Dublin) - Posts: 757 - 16/06/2008 11:08:53    33071

He is a disgrace! And why he was appointed as the Kerry captain, I'll never know. He has been involved in more ugly scenes than I care to remember. He is always trying to throw a dig at an opponent whenever he gets the chance. I hope the book is thrown at him. And he's not a hard man he's just a dirty player, plain and simple!

gaamad (Westmeath) - Posts: 101 - 16/06/2008 11:13:19    33074

If he gets off with a slap on the wrists then we may as well all just give up. Can you just imagine the furore if Ciaran Whelan or Graham Geraghty did it!!! And lets not make any mistakes here, this isnt exactly out of character. If it was Gooch or Tom O'Se...but this is not an isolated incident. But wait and see, one month and slap on the wrists.
Some captain.

Liamwalkinstown (Dublin) - Posts: 8170 - 16/06/2008 11:20:13    33080

Interested to see the muted response from Sunday Game analysts to the incident. Tohill and Lyons were as non-committal as usual while the Kerry lads naturally played it down. It just struck me that Mr Spillane would most likely have reacted a lot differently if it had been Wheelo, Ryan McMenamin or Geraghty for example.

JayoCluxton (Dublin) - Posts: 2688 - 16/06/2008 11:33:22    33089

Galvin is a very good player and brings a lot to the Kerry set up, he is entertaining as well. However he does have a "nasty" side to his temperament and I've seen him hit a few sneaky and quite low blows that he has gotten away with. So he can't complain now that some of these things have caught up with him and the officials are watching all his actions very carefully. he has only himself to blame, he is the Kerry counterpart to Ciaran Whelan and should take his punishment now like a man.

What really sickens me is the Kerry pundits sticking together to try to tone it down and make it seem a minor infraction. Dara o Cinneide really disappointed me last night (we know what to expect from Pat Spillane, he's consistent if nothing else). And then you have Tohill sitting squarely on the fence because he was the same (as Dara) re the Derry lad a couple of weeks ago when he whacked the Donegal player. Very disappointing overall.

What's reinforced since yesterday is how the championship set up is a real joke, all the Munster lads knocking lumps out of each other in the hurling and Kerry lads sitting back waiting for the championship to start next August. Cork looked really rubbish and should have lost yesterday really. So Kerry will stroll to the quarter finals without having to even break a sweat. This has to change, these Kerry lads have it all sewn up already and even have the main media channels to work with.

A lot of people give out about the Dubs advantages because of Croke Park and our crowds but lads you are sleepwalking through the decades allowing Kerry to pile on the All Ireland titles.

Dublin are "The Judean Peoples Front!!" ... but you are forgetting that Kerry are the "Romans" !!!

P.S I know we are in serious trouble when I find myself agreeing with Tommy Lyons about anything!!

Beacaire Gorm (Dublin) - Posts: 597 - 16/06/2008 11:38:40    33095

JC I actually think they bottled it. Ross Carr has a go at them, and next thing, they bottle it. I think they wanted to say what they felt but they couldnt. Altho Tohill hasnt a leg to stand on after the Fergal Doherty incident. Tommy Lyons wrecks my head, cant watch him. And DOC was the typical cute hoor kerryman. I wish to God they would let Spillane give his tuppence, cus u could see in his face after reading the kerry email that he was disgusted.
That said, i love the new format Sunday Game. Its feicin great! Joanne is getting better by the week!
Is it true she played football for the Jackies?

Liamwalkinstown (Dublin) - Posts: 8170 - 16/06/2008 11:43:20    33098

lets see where the battle of parnell has really set the bar with the disaplinery system. fergal doc got a month after a game so did reilly and cole and all deserved it. now galvin deserves three months so he should get it too.

I base than on the fact that if you interfer with a ref its a three month ban as far as i know. im open to corrections on that.

Baker the glen (None) - Posts: 371 - 16/06/2008 11:45:10    33102

Fair point Jayo,Liam but no need to bring the dubs into it everytime someone mis behaves!!! If he gets away lightly then make that point but really it gets a bit boring after a while!!

tiobraid (Tipperary) - Posts: 4119 - 16/06/2008 11:47:01    33105

Dont think it would be wheelo's style to do anything like that in front of the referee.

whiterbannnas (Mayo) - Posts: 2441 - 16/06/2008 11:47:15    33106

Galvin is a 12 year old trapped in a man's body. It would be a lie to say this is the first time we've seen immaturity from this character, which makes the pundits' excuses even more disgraceful, had that been some "thug" from ulster he'd have got slated.

N_Armagh_Gael (None) - Posts: 114 - 16/06/2008 11:55:59    33123

Fair point Jayo,Liam but no need to bring the dubs into it everytime someone mis behaves!!! If he gets away lightly then make that point but really it gets a bit boring after a while!!
tiobraid , 16/06/2008 at 11:47
In fairness Tiobraid I was comparing players who have a similar media profile (love/hate if you like) as Galvin - Whelan, Geraghty (Meath player) and Tyrone's Ryan McMenamin. So if I have offended or bored you by bringing a Dub into it - just take the point made using GG and McMenamin - OK?

JayoCluxton (Dublin) - Posts: 2688 - 16/06/2008 12:04:18    33132

Doesn't matter if he was wronged or felt unfairly treated or if he was angry or fustrated , he cannot do what he did and to be honest he knows that and will take any punishment on the chin... He'll get 3 months. Certainty. For any other county player that would be the end of their year but for a good kerry footballer ? And when would he be back ?? just before the 3rd sunday in september. Which they will coast to.(especially if they get Mayo in semi). And thats that - everyones a winner

Finsceal (None) - Posts: 559 - 16/06/2008 12:18:27    33149

What he did was wrong, but It does happen to the best of players, I can't condone what he did, but to call him a thug is a bit harsh.... I hope what he does for the benefit of all is

1. Apologise.
2. Accept his punishment.
3. End of story.

Let Paul & Kerry get on with the championship.

jakestevens81 (Monaghan) - Posts: 179 - 16/06/2008 12:20:04    33153