Liverpool v Celtic in Croker

What does all that even mean?!!
If you lived in Northern Ireland 50 years ago, or today, you still lived/live in Ireland, thus you were/are still entitled to say you were/are Irish...no matter what anyone else said! you lived in Ireland. The ROI is not the only Ireland son!
Also if you were born and lived in Sotland anytime in the last however many hundred years, you were British...you may have had Irish parents, but you were born and bred in Scotland, which is 100% in Britain.....and is proud to be so too!
Simples!!! (but not to you i see!)

no liam. ill explain it in your own sentence

If you lived in scotland 50 years ago, or today, you still lived/live in scotland, thus you were/are still entitled to say you were/are scottish...

but not officially. just like in the north until the belfast agreement. is that really that hard to understand

32_4_1 (Meath) - Posts: 4165 - 18/02/2010 15:40:39    565725

Who gives a toss about what some official agreement said!!! Do you think the lads in the north felt any more or less Irish the day before Good Friday..???!!!! They were just as Irish the day before Good Friday as they were the day after Good Friday! You were from Ireland, thus you were Irish.
32, George Best would have said he was Irish, As would Ken McGuiness and Jackie Kyle.
See the problem here is your definition of Irish and mine.
Your definition of Irish is being a nationalist, wanting a 32 county Ireland and being Catholic. And probably being a Celtic Fan.
My definition of Being Irish is Being born/reared in Ireland.
Norman Whiteside was Irish, but he was also Unionist. He was still Irish tho.
Get it?

Liamwalkinstown (Dublin) - Posts: 8166 - 18/02/2010 15:48:43    565741

To clarify I'm not against football or Rugby in Croke Park. When the IRISH football or Rugby team needed somewhere to play I was all for it. When two BRITISH teams want to play a meaningless friendly at the home of the GAA I am against it. To me there is a distinct difference. It just happens to be Celtic and Liverpool in this case, it could be any two British teams and I'd feel the same. I couldn't be bothered getting bogged down in politics, needless to say I don't feel maiming and killing innocent policemen or shooting at some corrugated metal around a police station will bring us any closer to a United Ireland. And 34_2_1 I'm Irish as were my parents and grandparents. I find it insulting that according to you we weren't until the GFA. I understand the concepts of Scottish nationalism and fair play to them, one thing for certain though is that they aren't Irish

pplocal (Tyrone) - Posts: 5878 - 18/02/2010 16:07:51    565777

Well Pomeroy, to clarify a further point 2 British teams did NOT WANT to play at Croke Park. A Sports Promotions Company enquired as to whether Croke Park might be available for a 4 team pre-season tournament.The odds are that it will not be and I have no problem with that. Why would the GAA make it available? The same reason they make it available for concerts or Rugby and Soccer Internationals. MONEY which is then ploughed back into our National Games. Now you obviously don't like to be called British, well surprise surprise most Scottish people especially Celtic Supporters don't like to be called British either. So why don't you do unto others what you want others to do to you. In the meantime enjoy yourself with all the innocent security forces that have looked after ye so well for the last 30 years.

corkcelt (Cork) - Posts: 4388 - 18/02/2010 17:43:40    565914

Liamwalkinstown

565741 Who gives a toss about what some official agreement said!!! Do you think the lads in the north felt any more or less Irish the day before Good Friday..???!!!! They were just as Irish the day before Good Friday as they were the day after Good Friday! You were from Ireland, thus you were Irish.
32, George Best would have said he was Irish, As would Ken McGuiness and Jackie Kyle.
See the problem here is your definition of Irish and mine.
Your definition of Irish is being a nationalist, wanting a 32 county Ireland and being Catholic. And probably being a Celtic Fan.
My definition of Being Irish is Being born/reared in Ireland.
Norman Whiteside was Irish, but he was also Unionist. He was still Irish tho.
Get it?

dont you see liam. none of thats the point. ye they were all irish. just the way all the scottish nationalists are scottish and consider themselves scottish only with a proud irish heritage. yet theres people like you and irish nationalists from the north calling them british when they dont want to be known as this. a lot also follow celtic which was originally set up to help them. celtic arnt a british club, and by calling them this you calling your fellow irishmen in the north british without intending to do so. your a confused person. i dont think you know what you believe in. it wasnt so long ago you were calling me an armchair republican because i was saying something about the brits, yet here you are moaning about "british teams" playing in ireland.

and ill ask you AGAIN since you keep avoiding the question:

"if you set up a club abroad, would you's not like your team to be able to come back and play in your home country."

32_4_1 (Meath) - Posts: 4165 - 18/02/2010 18:23:05    565989

What's the alternative Corkcelt, shoot at some metal surrounding a police station? Like I said it's easy to have a romanticised view of the Troubles when you're at the other end of the country. Okay they're not British, they're certainly not Irish though no matter how much you try to convince yourself

pplocal (Tyrone) - Posts: 5878 - 18/02/2010 18:28:38    565995

Well Pomeroy its you who have been insisting on calling them British, As for being at the far end of the country well I'll be in the Ardoyne tomorrow night so if you want to drop over and continue the conversation, I'll be pleased to accomodate you.

corkcelt (Cork) - Posts: 4388 - 18/02/2010 18:37:18    566013

32-4-1 I think in your own little head you actually believe you make sense and are making a valid point!!! My God man.....
ok let me get thsi straight.
You are saying all Scottish Nationalists are proud of their Irish Heritage and want away from Britain....now do you actually believe that??! Serioulsy....do you...???!
You are saying that before the GFA that Goodfella and JohnBoss were British, but now they are Irish...?? Are you saying that yes?
And as you seriously suggesting that a British Football club, set up in Britain in 1888 and playing in Britain ever since, a club who PROUDLY declare themselves the first BRITISH club to win the EC are actually Irish....??
Are Hibs Irish? Are Panakanithos Irish?
And for you does being Irish mean being nationalist/republican..?? If your a unionist you cant be Irish is that correct?????

And stop asking me STUPID questions like "IF i set up a football club abroad would I not want them to play a game in walkinstown"..........Sweet Devine, what agre are you........
If i set up a football club.....!!! Your a tonic!!!
As Thom Yorke would say.....You do it yourself

Liamwalkinstown (Dublin) - Posts: 8166 - 19/02/2010 09:30:42    566415

Well said Liam... but I think this thread is wearing a bit thin now! ;-)

32 - There is an obvious and very strong link between Celtic and Ireland and nobody here has said any different. The truth is that Celtic are based in Scotland which is part of Britian. Many people in Ireland are huge fans of Celtic, with very good reason. Maybe the realisation that they are 'British' is hard to swallow for some and that is understandable. They have an Irish heritage, are Irish 'at heart' and fair play to them.

Milic1888 (Galway) - Posts: 132 - 19/02/2010 11:10:55    566526

hail hail the celts are here.

OLLIE (Louth) - Posts: 12224 - 19/02/2010 11:31:29    566557

scottish nationalists want away from britain. its a simple concept really. just like irish nationalists in the north. is that so hard to understand?

You are saying that before the GFA that Goodfella and JohnBoss were British, but now they are Irish...?? Are you saying that yes?
ive always said irish and scottish nationalist are irish and scottish. your the one who say irish nationalists in the north are irish while scottish nationalists are british. not see the contradiction??? obviously not as your not the quickest. infact a lot of scotish nationalists HATE britain.

And for you does being Irish mean being nationalist/republican..?? If your a unionist you cant be Irish is that correct?????

ive NEVER said that. putting words in my mouth. irish unionists and nationalists are irish while scottish unionists and nationalists are scottish. although most irish unionists dont want to be known are irish.

and the question is very valid. and you cant answer it. celtic is a fellow irishmans team. deal with it.

and you show your limited knowledge again. panakanithos have NO irish links and never had. but i guess you just assumed that since they wear a clover the way you assumed that i would say this:

"If your a unionist you cant be Irish is that correct?????".

all you seem to do is pick and choose points to answer, assume things due to your preconceptions and make up random questions with no real relevance at all. also since you kept calling me an "armchair republican" for saying anything that might cause offence to the brits, whats your problem with "british clubs" coming to ireland. i see you conveniently forgot to answer that aswell.

32_4_1 (Meath) - Posts: 4165 - 19/02/2010 13:33:44    566805

Panakanithos not being Irish was my point you silly little man!!!!! This is like debating with a child!
Altho I get the feeling I may well be debating with a child if I am honest!

And again your asking me this ridiculous question about "if i founded a soccer team abroad would i like to bring it back to walkinstown to play against Liverpool" ........... where on earth are you going with that?!
Do you even know yourself...???!!

Do they sell tickets to your planet?

Liamwalkinstown (Dublin) - Posts: 8166 - 19/02/2010 14:20:40    566965

Don't care

NavyNBlue (Dublin) - Posts: 1357 - 19/02/2010 14:59:50    567038

Liamwalkinstown

566965 Panakanithos not being Irish was my point you silly little man!!!!! This is like debating with a child!

then why would you put it the same sentance with hibs who do have irish connections? hibs and celtic have irish connection. so different comparisions to panathanikos

debating with a child??? ha

you were the one unable to grasp the comparisions between irish and scottish nationalities within the uk, not me.

whats your problem with british teams coming to play in ireland so?

well if i set up any type of sports club elsewhere, id like for them to be able for the to come back to ireland to play challenge matches etc. celtic have every right to play here wheather you accept it or not

32_4_1 (Meath) - Posts: 4165 - 19/02/2010 15:00:14    567040

NONE of them are Irish, None of them.
Are you starting to understand..........none of them are Irish. One is Greek, the other two are Scottish/British
None of them are Irish......No matter what they wear!

Now read that out loud to yourself 10 times.

Good lad.

ps, if you do ever form a sports team abroad....32 Rangers or whatever you will call them, and you want to bring them home...to play against Navan Rovers or Trim Athletic......you go right ahead mate. Just dont expect to play it in Croke Park :)

Liamwalkinstown (Dublin) - Posts: 8166 - 19/02/2010 15:25:06    567093

wasnt cetlic's first sod of turf cut somewhere beside bun beag? I seen it during the summer

Orlaith (Derry) - Posts: 4282 - 19/02/2010 15:33:19    567118

How about a compromise; invite Celtic and Panathinaikos over to open Lansdowne Road?

Milic1888 (Galway) - Posts: 132 - 19/02/2010 15:35:17    567123

scottish not british clubs, irish roots. clubs of irish diaspora. if footballs allowed in croker, then they can play there any day of the week as far as im corcerned. and they will.

out of curiousty, if you knew panathonikos had no irish connections why pick them ahead of the 1000's of clubs around the world with no irish connections

32_4_1 (Meath) - Posts: 4165 - 19/02/2010 15:35:18    567124

have you figured out what a scottish nationalist is yet liam? hahaha

32_4_1 (Meath) - Posts: 4165 - 19/02/2010 15:37:11    567129

NONE of them are Irish, None of them.
Are you starting to understand..........none of them are Irish. One is Greek, the other two are Scottish/British
None of them are Irish......No matter what they wear!

one more thing liam. please point out where i said celtic were irish? but i suppose you'll ignore this too

32_4_1 (Meath) - Posts: 4165 - 19/02/2010 15:38:45    567133