Drugs

We could also make huge income on tourism if Grass was legalised... drug tourism.

Think of the marketing opportunites.. The "Green" isle

jimbodub (Dublin) - Posts: 20763 - 15/02/2010 11:46:42    561488

interesting thread. i admit i've dabbled in my earlier days (18-21), but in the last while just havent been bothered. i dont regret it, put it down to experience. some of my mates have too & still do the odd weekend, where as others in the same "group" are completely disgusted by drugs. there was never peer pressure or anything like that, just some did/do it some dont. i have never seen anything other than drink cause trouble with any of us. drink has got me in stupid situations, illegal drugs never. hangovers are easier to deal with the next day though

mac21 (Leitrim) - Posts: 677 - 15/02/2010 12:08:41    561529

15/02/2010 11:46:42

561488 TheMaster

We could also make huge income on tourism if Grass was legalised... drug tourism.

ruanua (Donegal) - Posts: 4966 - 15/02/2010 12:49:41    561597

15/02/2010 12:49:41
ruanua

15/02/2010 11:46:42

561488 TheMaster

The weed could replace the other weed (shamrock) as our national emblem. The Taoiseach could bring a bowl of hash leaves to the White House on Paddy's Day instead of shamrock - Obama, Bush and Clinton have all admitted to smoking the weed so I'm sure it would go down well!

nocky (Wexford) - Posts: 2059 - 15/02/2010 13:09:33    561634

nocky
County: Wexford

We'd have World peace within a couple of hours....!

jimbodub (Dublin) - Posts: 20763 - 15/02/2010 14:14:38    561753

got those figures from a newspaper article i read recently, think it was the independant. I dont think that many more people would take these substances purely because they are now legal. I would say the percentage of people who have had the chance to take them at present would be in the mid nineties, so again, the opportunity is also already there. I dont so any of this stuff, i dont see the attraction in being a different person for a few hours, but i know plenty who have done and some who still do, and the vast majority of them are good decent people, no different from myself. I think the whole 'evil druggies' bit come from the fact that criminals have become invovled in it, and it annoys me when we look at the disgracful drink culture we have, yet people (very often more respectable ones too) who take these substances in moderation are labelled as everything under the sun. The irish people in my opinion seem to revel in the holier-than-though role, and seem to be willing to let people suffer and keep up the facade, rather than do what need to be done. All you have to do is look at the role the church was given in times gone by, and what happened as a result

TheMaster (Mayo) - Posts: 16187 - 15/02/2010 14:23:22    561762

nocky
County: Wexford

The weed could replace the other weed (shamrock) as our national emblem. The Taoiseach could bring a bowl of hash leaves to the White House on Paddy's Day instead of shamrock - Obama, Bush and Clinton have all admitted to smoking the weed so I'm sure it would go down well!

It a happy coincidence, but by law every gift given to the American president is immediately taken away and burnt, i think due to the risk of poisoning. So the shamrocks, boxes of chocolates etc that the president gets were all burnt! Weed would seem to be the most appropriate gift!

Breffni40 (Cavan) - Posts: 12311 - 15/02/2010 14:46:56    561784

Give us a pint of Guinness and a pre-rolled white widow please...

Dublin could soon become THE major party centre of Europe.. it could be a huge trade for this country.

jimbodub (Dublin) - Posts: 20763 - 15/02/2010 15:42:54    561886

the yokes arent what they used to be

EndaMN (Westmeath) - Posts: 187 - 15/02/2010 16:37:55    561999

EndaMaNob
County: Westmeath

561999 the yokes arent what they used to be

Agreed. A fiver for a reason...

jimbodub (Dublin) - Posts: 20763 - 15/02/2010 16:51:52    562027

Tossers.

BobbyB. I was still trying to work out who you were, but now you have confirmed my suspicions. My next door neighbour lad!!

Plastic Paddy (Tyrone) - Posts: 664 - 15/02/2010 18:37:33    562196

Whats the coke from the head shops like?

beer baron (Cavan) - Posts: 3916 - 15/02/2010 19:03:37    562231

Scruffy2Donut

Why would you want to legalise something which causes so much grief, misery and poverty among vulnerable people???? Drugs are evil. They corrupt good people by forcing them into a life of crime to feed their habit. Theft, murder and gun crime is on the increase because of drugs. And yet there are some coming on here saying we should legalise them and make them freely available to the youth of today. Have we lost our minds people?

I remember well posts saying the exact same thing back in the 1920s about alcohol, during prohibition in USA.

In the ned they legalised alcohol, and Al Capone and the boys had to find a new way of making a living.

Alas, prohibition gave the mafia a massive leg up in getting established. And now we do the same for drug barons.

Some people never learn.

patrique (Antrim) - Posts: 13709 - 15/02/2010 19:24:44    562289

beer baron

Spars brand is terrible. Had it with whiskey one night and i paid the price the next day. With cramps in the stomach!

Plastic Paddy (Tyrone) - Posts: 664 - 15/02/2010 19:27:42    562300

Large numbers of kids use drugs, and I mean large. I remember buying my son an ounce for Christmas when he was about 15, as it seemed like a good idea.

It was. When he was yound he was on all sorts, e's, mushrooms, speed, blow and whatever. By the age of 19 he had stopped all drugs, except alcohol.

He has been in trouble with the police on 4 occasions, all alcohol related. All the drugs he did never resulted in police activity.

patrique (Antrim) - Posts: 13709 - 15/02/2010 19:29:06    562306

patrique

As much tripe as you have just spoke, I still agree with you on giving kids drugs whenever they want. In the case of alcohol, I would adopt that method, but again in moderation. Look what they do in France? Kids from 10(roughly) drink wine(in moderation) at the dinner table with their parents and when they turn 18 can enjoy it sensibly unlike the UK and Ireland. They're not legally allowed to drink(although they still drink) it here and when they turn 18 become louts with the stuff ,just like me!

Plastic Paddy (Tyrone) - Posts: 664 - 15/02/2010 19:40:43    562337

patrique.

i commend u coming on here and posting of your personal issue.
the alcohol has caused a lot more damage than drugs. and legalisiing certain drugs might free up gardai/p.s.n.i time and resources and also the peddlers , well their profits would crash .
alcohol is a scourge i personally battled withalcohol and it is not nice, but thank god i am ok now , i am off the drink 2 years.
i hope this someone else on here if needed.

ta32 (Tyrone) - Posts: 4907 - 15/02/2010 19:48:13    562360

The biggest problem with legalising drugs here is the addiction problem. We cannot look after our sick as it is without adding to it with drug cases. Just because we cut out the criminal element by legalising drugs does not mean that our problems would end as we create another problem in treating increased numbers of drug users at our already over-crowded hospitals. Legalising drugs would surely lead to increased illnesses for our medical profession to deal with as we would have removed the fear of getting caught for possession, court case etc. !!

Cavan_Slasher (Cavan) - Posts: 10253 - 15/02/2010 20:49:23    562471

We would have a lot more money to spend on our hospitals Slasher from the taxes on drugs should they be legalised.

nocky (Wexford) - Posts: 2059 - 15/02/2010 21:15:47    562520

Yes nocky but we would have a lot more addicts and a lot more crime committed by them as well to pay for their "legal" addiction !!

Cavan_Slasher (Cavan) - Posts: 10253 - 15/02/2010 21:29:34    562548