Price into games

Is it just me or does everyone think the price into these NFL games are a disgrace? £13 into stand and £10 into terrace!!

paddypower12 (Tyrone) - Posts: 25 - 09/02/2010 16:25:56    556458

i agree totally. every year it goes up a few pound. good to see how much it is into the club championship this year. next thing you will see people protesting outside grounds , the end up tyrone etc will be playing infront of no one there for no money going to gaa through turnstiles so they would have to bring it down

fullbackking (Tyrone) - Posts: 14 - 09/02/2010 17:08:49    556547

i do think 13 is 2 bad of a fee 2 be honest.

ta32 (Tyrone) - Posts: 4907 - 09/02/2010 17:20:34    556564

It is cheap and you lads should have got season tickets cheaper again.

Dellboypolecat (Tyrone) - Posts: 15069 - 09/02/2010 17:34:15    556594

Dellboy, we have had this discussion before and I want to know why you feel it is cheap? I have a season ticket thankfully, but obviously not everyone can get one. £13 is ridiculous. "10 is sufficient for any National League game. Remember, there are no players to pay and a few expenses for match officials etc. I am not sure of the attendance on Saturday night but I would have gathered about 4000. This would equate to approx £30,000 give or take when you consider U16/OAP. Is this not more than sufficient to run Celtic Park or whatever ground the game is at?

omaghredhand (Tyrone) - Posts: 3656 - 09/02/2010 17:41:59    556603

omaghredhand

You go to a soccer game or even a nite club , circus, etc these are all above the prices charged at league games . I feel these are cheap and 10 or 13 pound is hardly something to be crying about but some of these poeple that complain go out and drink there weeks wages . Even a day at the races is between 20 euro to 35 .

Dellboypolecat (Tyrone) - Posts: 15069 - 09/02/2010 18:15:48    556654

09/02/2010 18:15:48
Dellboypolecat

556654 omaghredhand

You go to a soccer game or even a nite club , circus, etc these are all above the prices charged at league games . I feel these are cheap and 10 or 13 pound is hardly something to be crying about but some of these poeple that complain go out and drink there weeks wages . Even a day at the races is between 20 euro to 35 .

Quite right-and you don't have to wait for Fossett's to take their tour to a town near you when you can go and watch a performance like Tyrone's last Saturday night!!

Mick O Connell (None) - Posts: 1231 - 09/02/2010 19:09:20    556721

Compare an All Ireland semi final / final ticket to the 75 euro for a Croke Park rugby match, or RoI soccer game. Sure we would like it cheaper but £13/£10 for the league's not bad value.

redandblackgaa (Tyrone) - Posts: 251 - 09/02/2010 19:25:27    556748

Dellboypolecat

556654 omaghredhand

The Irish League is £8 as far as I remember into a game if that is your thing. In a nite club, you have anything up to 5 hours entertainment and as for a Circus, I would suggest that it takes a bit more than it would to run a county ground for the night. £13 pound for just over an hour of AMATUERS playing football is crazy

RedandBlack. I appreciate your point, but I would suggest that it is somewhat niave to compare Professional Rugby and Soccer games to a National League game. Bear in mind that bot these associations pay the GAA in upwards of £1 million per game therefore logically with an 80000 capacity they would need approx £12.50 from each patron to cover the rent. When you also consider the insurance premiums on these boys, payment of players, payment of Gardai etc it is understandable that the prices for admission are substantially higher than that of a NFL game. It should also be comsidered that there are normally no more than 3-4 home games for either international side in a year, they have to pay for the 3-4 away games that they do not get any money for. In my opinion, £9/10 to he stand and £6/7 to the terrace is more than ample.

omaghredhand (Tyrone) - Posts: 3656 - 10/02/2010 10:27:32    557154

remember folks the GAA is an amateur sport...so how can we justify 13 quid into a league game. rugby/soccer is professional so ud expect to pay higher rates. questions have to be asked as to the whereabouts of this money...

TY08 (Tyrone) - Posts: 24 - 10/02/2010 10:46:58    557196

I see people stating £13 pound to the stand me and my wife where charged £30 for the 2 of us to get into the seated area at Celtic Park on Saturday night where we done, or was that the correct price I found it pretty steep.

TyroneUltra (Tyrone) - Posts: 307 - 10/02/2010 10:59:48    557205

Prices into these matches are a total disgrace. When the Championship starts the GAA will probably keep the prices the same as last year. These were already too high but they will say they are great fellas for keeping the price down. At the same time prices are creeping up all over the place.

Ulster club, Mc Kenna cup, National league and even underage club prices have all gone up.

Even in these hard times it just shows the unsational appetite of the GAA to get as much money as they can. We are told that this was one of the reasons why the GPA started. The GAA want players to be professional and to charge professional prices. They are taking the good will of the people a bit too far.

It has showed over the years. Unionisim, orangeisim, sport, even Joe Public. When you are hit in the Pocket it is the biggest hit of all.

The GAA should catch themselves on and drop the prices a bit before the people drop them.

26plus6equals1 (Tyrone) - Posts: 430 - 10/02/2010 11:03:56    557208

I have to agree and I think the price of entrance to club games is awful too.

To support my local club this year In the championship i paid £4 1st round £4 quarter final, £8 semi final, £10 final. Then £10 quarter of ulster £9 semis and £10 final. Then £10 to all ireland semi final and then the price into croker this weekend which I am told is £25 thats a grand total of £90 in admissions per person.

bloodrunsblue (Tyrone) - Posts: 8 - 10/02/2010 11:35:40    557256

To watch gaa at the highest level, i.e the league or the championship, is cheaper than both soccer and rugby at the highest level. I would suggest that the Irish League at £8, is the same as a gaa club game at £4, rather than at the highest level. With soccer, the home team will keep the gate reciepts, while with gaa county league games, the gate goes back into the County. With your £13 ,you're paying for the up keep of gaelic games in your own county.
£9/£10 and £6/7 sounds great, but it's not going to happen.

redandblackgaa (Tyrone) - Posts: 251 - 10/02/2010 15:24:04    557573

redandblackgaa

557573 To watch gaa at the highest level, i.e the league or the championship, is cheaper than both soccer and rugby at the highest level. I would suggest that the Irish League at £8, is the same as a gaa club game at £4, rather than at the highest level. With soccer, the home team will keep the gate reciepts, while with gaa county league games, the gate goes back into the County. With your £13 ,you're paying for the up keep of gaelic games in your own county.
£9/£10 and £6/7 sounds great, but it's not going to happen.

Whether or not you are watching the highest level of GAA or not, the facts are that it is not nearly as expensive to run as professional rugby or soccer. The same applies to the Irish League whether or not it is the same as a club game. The players are all paid and at some of the Belfast clubs quite handsomely at that. I take your point that the gate receipts go back into the county, but we pay for that in any case by paying into club games do we not? It's not the fact whether it sounds great or not. I know a man who had to pay for himself, his wife and 2 "children" aged 18 and 19. £50 along with £10 worth of diesel and possibly something to eat on top of that. It's a dear enough night in my book. Incidentally when talking about food, some deal in Wetherspoons at the top of the diamond. 6oz burger, chips, onion rings and a pint for £5.49. Now thats what I call VFM

omaghredhand (Tyrone) - Posts: 3656 - 10/02/2010 16:14:39    557652

omaghredhand

Croke Park need around 30,000 in to break even, so they must have plenty of out goings of their own.
My original claim that £13 was value for money was based on living in Omagh, going to Healy Park to watch Tyrone, with no travelling.
For myself and the family to go to Newry to watch Down, your chatting about £60, so you wouldn't be going over for every game, cos it is expensive.
I still think the GAA is good value. Gaa facilities are among the best in the country, paid for by people like yourself.
I'm starting to sound like Jarleth Burns.

redandblackgaa (Tyrone) - Posts: 251 - 10/02/2010 17:31:24    557789

omaghredhand

I know i would rather pay 13 to 35 in to a game and have few bears after instead of drinking all my money in a pub or nite club . I think the gaa are fair when it comes to charging in at games . And if the GPA get there way the prices will be hiked and then it will be destroyed but the prices now am happy with.

Dellboypolecat (Tyrone) - Posts: 15069 - 10/02/2010 18:21:17    557888

I grew up on a diet of NFL football with my Dad and brother to illustrious outposts such as Dr Hyde Park, Tuam, Breffini Park etc as that was the only inter-county football we were going to see Tyrone play with any degree of regularity. The current prices in isolation may appear reasonable to some observers, but if you take into consideration the price of diesel/petrol, a bite to eat, and the general economic times, surely it would make more sense to knock £4 or £5 off the price to try and get a few more bums on seats. There's nothing to beat the atmosphere of a large and passionate crowd giving it the "bellyfull" rather than increasingly dwindling crowds saving their pennies for the main event in the summer. I'm sad to say that my financial position does not allow me to pass on that same baton to my kids at the minute and i dread to think that they will grow up without having those (strangely wonderful) experiences of long, dreary days away to Roscommon and the like, when defeat was more often than not the order of the day and the only hope for Tyrone was the lingering speculation that Frankie McGuigan might be on the way home from the States!! Think of the future generations guys...

mossgreen (Tyrone) - Posts: 181 - 10/02/2010 19:01:20    557942

Mossgreen,

That is a very good post and I can see exactly where you are coming from. Kids will not even sit infront of the telly to watch a live game. It is the travel to and from a match and the banter that really gives the younger ones the buzz to keep it on. The fact they are watching their heroes in the flesh gives them the chance to emulate them in the back garden when they get home.

The way todays society is changing and the other things to occupy our kids, we need to be bringing them to the games. Pack lunch, flask of tea an all that razzemetazz.

Unfortunately the most thruthful part of your post is the bit were you expect the suits of the GAA to have " sense ". You let yourself down their big lad because if they have any " sense " then we wouldn't be having this discussion.

Keep plugging away though. Take every opputunity you get to tell them to lower the gates an entice the people back to the ordinary matches.

26plus6equals1 (Tyrone) - Posts: 430 - 10/02/2010 20:02:23    558030

What is the current price into games anyways. I Don't usually pull out myself until we get to Croke park at the business end of the year, The NFL is just glorified challenge matches. There's no better place to be in the summer than premier level in Croke to watch a game of championship football.

murphys_law (Tyrone) - Posts: 193 - 11/02/2010 13:00:23    558480