Croke Park is the place to be this weekend.

tinrylandman
County: Carlow

553320 Yellabely thats the same rugby team that wont sing the national anthem or fly the Irish flag outside of Ireland and if they play a senior international in Ravenhill will sing the british national anthem,ye thats real bloody Irish.

yea, watch "our" soccer team next time they play and see how many of them sing the anthem.......... probably only the 5 r 6 irishmen on the team.

yellabelly (Wexford) - Posts: 1062 - 06/02/2010 14:31:10    553406

Dellboypolecat

They gaa should use the same as rugby refs when a decision is made only the captain can approach the ref . But i like the rugby and it is a very good sport but worried about alot of eye gouging lately seen a story on sky sports about a club player blind in one eye after a game .

keep the game the way it is,you cant keep changing rules every year.it's the GAA not rugby,why would you want to make it more like rugby?now i dont mind takin rules from other sports,but not one as stupid as that.what if the goal keeper is the captain,expect him to run the length of the field to talk to the ref,never heard such nonsense.

shapes42 (Cavan) - Posts: 383 - 06/02/2010 14:45:31    553415

According to yellabelly all those 1st and 2nd generation Irish whos parents had to emigrate to find work are not allowed to be Irish,yellabelly you can keep your definition of Irishness and stick it where the sun dont shine you are a pretty sad person.

tinrylandman (Carlow) - Posts: 387 - 06/02/2010 18:24:54    553576

Lads, you're criticising soccer & rugby players for not singing the anthem. Not too many gaelic players sing it either, except Tyrone who make a point of all singing.

As for only the 5 or 6 Irish born soccer players singing, I dont think any player puts more into the anthem than Kevin Kilbane.

blu (Down) - Posts: 1240 - 06/02/2010 20:14:26    553635

will said louth gael and delboydub.

Tom1916 (Armagh) - Posts: 2001 - 06/02/2010 21:12:59    553671

Thank god all those foriegn games are at an end in Croke Park, let them now slide back into their burrows/ dens from which they emerged.
Plunkett, Pearse and Tone, Sam Maguire, Liam Mc Carthy, Micheal Hogan , Micheal Cusack, Archbishop Croke and all our founding fathers must be turning in their graves.

sam02 (Tyrone) - Posts: 643 - 06/02/2010 21:32:44    553687

singing or not singing some silly song is hardly a defining quality of someones character or nationality, grow up lads

bad.monkey (USA) - Posts: 4678 - 07/02/2010 11:02:30    553747

singing or not singing some silly song is hardly a defining quality of someones character or nationality, grow up lads

While it may not be the defining of someones nationality it is very important for Irish people to hear their anthem before they play, playing a Phil Coulter songs is ridiculous.

Louth Gael (Louth) - Posts: 1227 - 08/02/2010 14:02:13    555012

Some ridiculous statements coming out here. Rugby is a lot more skilled than Gaelic Football for a start! Any ejjit who can soloa ball and handpass it can play football, Rugby each position is a lot more skilled than, anybody who doesn't play/watch it, gives it credit for.

KKid (Kilkenny) - Posts: 421 - 08/02/2010 14:19:23    555036

i dont like all this slatting of the rugby team. people get so excited about them because they win. theyre the only international team we can get behind and expect to be the best. i know poeple would like to go by stereotypes of the posh d4 heads with no real loyalty. but honestly how can people still think that when you see the likes of jerry flannery crying during the national anthem against the brits in croker while the other wer screaming it at the top of their lungs. im no rugby fan but im some what ashamed when i go to inter county matches and see players fidgeting about, fixing their socks, looking around etc when the anthem is being played. im just sayin this cuz i dont want gaa people going around shouting respect and patriotism when theres players out there doing doing the same thing

stereoboy (Wicklow) - Posts: 41 - 08/02/2010 14:52:05    555087

KKid
County: Kilkenny

555036 Some ridiculous statements coming out here. Rugby is a lot more skilled than Gaelic Football for a start! Any ejjit who can soloa ball and handpass it can play football, Rugby each position is a lot more skilled than, anybody who doesn't play/watch it, gives it credit for.

Any eejit can run and aim for a target that's the width of the pitch. Plenty of skill in that.

Superglue (Kerry) - Posts: 1283 - 08/02/2010 14:55:38    555093

sam02
County: Armagh

553687 Thank god all those foriegn games are at an end in Croke Park, let them now slide back into their burrows/ dens from which they emerged.
Plunkett, Pearse and Tone, Sam Maguire, Liam Mc Carthy, Micheal Hogan , Micheal Cusack, Archbishop Croke and all our founding fathers must be turning in their graves.

Was this the same Michael Cusack who founded the Cusack's Academy football Club and affiliated it to the Irish Rugby Football Union. He also played forwards, trained them and was club secretary. Cusack was also a huge fan of cricket. I'm not trying to be smart here but we have to accept that there are other popular sports outside of ones created in Ireland. Personally I think rugby is a terrible game and the GAA must be doing something badly wrong when it is generating more headlines in the media. I would have been quite happy for rugby to have continued in Croke Park - the money could have been used to help develop GAA facilities.

MB1 (Tyrone) - Posts: 360 - 08/02/2010 15:38:25    555150

KKid
County: Kilkenny

555036 Some ridiculous statements coming out here. Rugby is a lot more skilled than Gaelic Football for a start! Any ejjit who can soloa ball and handpass it can play football, Rugby each position is a lot more skilled than, anybody who doesn't play/watch it, gives it credit for.

Some guys can even spell SOLOA!

Is there not more skill in solo running than sticking the ball under your arm & charging?

blu (Down) - Posts: 1240 - 08/02/2010 15:38:53    555152

No but there is a certain amount of skill involved in the scrum, a lot of skill involved in international level of lineouts, linebreaks, setplays etc, I've played both at a decent level in Dublin (Senior club level at both and there is a lot more skill involved in Rugby than football!

KKid (Kilkenny) - Posts: 421 - 08/02/2010 16:25:12    555246

Watching rugby is like watching a bad game of gaelic. I actually reckon the majority of the fans don't even know the rules it is just a day out in the pub, a lot of the time people are just staring at the ref waiting for him to signal who won possession and then there is a cheer not at any display of skill but at the refs decision because they don't understand the sport enough to know what actually happened. Most pundits said the game on saturday was awful but the crowd in the pub didn't realise that until they got the papers the following morning and read through the 30 pages it takes to describe a bad game.

Louth Gael (Louth) - Posts: 1227 - 08/02/2010 19:36:30    555619

delboydub

rugby should be scrapped in croke park what so call ireland team wont sing there own national anthem insted of that rubbish they sing

THEY DO SING THEIR OWN ANTHEM.

THEY DO SING SING THEIR OWN ANTHEM.

THEY DO SING THEIR OWN ANTHEM.

If you are going to live in the 19th century, PLEASE, PLEASE, PLEASE, try and get it right.

If you are going to close your mind at least have the decency to cl;ose it to faqcts.

The problem with Rugby is we now have THREE anthems played. That was THREE....THREE..........THREE....3....3....3...3.

They play the Irish national anthem, the anthem of the other team and that god awful Ireland's call.

BUT THEY DO PLAY AMHRAN NA BHFIANN.

Now, have you got that?

Personally I don't give a monkey's if you support rugby or not, but get your facts right.

patrique (Antrim) - Posts: 13709 - 08/02/2010 20:26:33    555695

Well done mb1. Nothing as infuriating as GAA bigots. Cusack didnt envisage an organisation with an unhealthy obsession with intercounty football and hurling. Its not called the Gaelic Athletics Association for nothing.

getonwithit (Carlow) - Posts: 527 - 08/02/2010 20:28:03    555701

Louth Gael
County: Louth

While it may not be the defining of someones nationality it is very important for Irish people to hear their anthem before they play, playing a Phil Coulter songs is ridiculous.

AAAAAAAARRRRRRRRGGGGGGGGGGHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHH.

Read my other post aimed at Dell.

Or don't.

patrique (Antrim) - Posts: 13709 - 08/02/2010 20:29:34    555702

08/02/2010 19:36:30
Louth Gael

Watching rugby is like watching a bad game of gaelic. I actually reckon the majority of the fans don't even know the rules

From what I read on here only Dell knows the rules of Gaelic Football. LOL.

patrique (Antrim) - Posts: 13709 - 08/02/2010 20:30:16    555706

Louth Gael

until they got the papers the following morning and read through the 30 pages it takes to describe a bad game.

Why buy Rugby World if you don't like Rugby?

The newspapers would give THREE pages to the rugby on the Monday after an international weekend, immediately after the 8 pages of soccer.

And that of course is the quality papers.

I doubt if the tabloids report rugby at all, and if so, it would be very little.

patrique (Antrim) - Posts: 13709 - 08/02/2010 20:32:51    555710