No Challenge game this weekend. LondonSupporter (UK) - Posts: 119 - 10/05/2010 14:55:41 642565 Link 0 |
the b.o.g is gone very quiet! must not have liked my last post either! anyway, i believe geraghty is going to be ok for the game, good news, hayden is supposed to be back this week, donnellan flying in training but has done something to his hamstring. and no new additions just off the boat/plane to the panel either as far as i know, players not happy about the county board blowing out their trip to ireland for a challenge this weekend! no money to pay for it allegedly berealistic (Laois) - Posts: 36 - 11/05/2010 13:22:48 643592 Link 0 |
thanx for the update berealistic.....great news about Geraghty....important to have him fit. IrishRover (Fermanagh) - Posts: 488 - 11/05/2010 14:45:08 643731 Link 0 |
Well New York were able to cope without challenge games. Lets hope it won't affect London too much. scruff (UK) - Posts: 467 - 11/05/2010 14:58:34 643751 Link 0 |
lads, look at the times posts went up, the similar answers, and a tongue in cheek reference, it doesnt take a genius to work out that balls of gaelic is also the cat--worst kept secret in london scutterbag (UK) - Posts: 150 - 11/05/2010 16:14:41 643862 Link 0 |
Berealistic...Why would the county board pay for the footballers to go to ireland for another challenge so they could kick a ball over the bar 5 times like they did against Carlow.£10,000 is what it probably cost to go to ireland and play Carlow and they get beat 1.23 to 5 points.Thats some waste of good money..What team in their right mind would waste their time playing a team like that.I know ye will all hit back here with all sorts of abuse but thats the harsh reality of it..... stranded (UK) - Posts: 408 - 11/05/2010 16:20:31 643873 Link 0 |
I agree with stranded. Enough money has already been spent sending the team over to Ireland with very few positives. Whats the point in going over for another hammering a couple of weeks before the championship, will do no good to what is probably a team already low on confidence overseas (Donegal) - Posts: 108 - 11/05/2010 17:01:11 643943 Link 0 |
I agree there is no point whatsoever if that is the cost of the trip for a challenge game IrishRover (Fermanagh) - Posts: 488 - 12/05/2010 10:00:11 644468 Link 0 |
Would it have not been an idea for the London team to play the Liverpool lads or the Scottish lads in a challenge? Wests_Awake (Galway) - Posts: 877 - 12/05/2010 11:54:10 644586 Link 0 |
At least they would get a win..... you would think overseas (Donegal) - Posts: 108 - 12/05/2010 12:37:08 644635 Link 0 |
Its a pity a decent manager has not come off a plane from Ireland recently BallsOfGaelic (Tipperary) - Posts: 18 - 12/05/2010 13:26:19 644699 Link 0 |
Why can't they pick 2 teams from the panel of 30 and let them play each other in a proper game with a referee. Surely that would make more sence that spending crazy money on challenge games. The hurling team were shut down when they asked could they bring a few more onto the panel because the county board refused to pay for a few more dinners. Gangsters the lot of them if you ask me. Faithfull (Offaly) - Posts: 573 - 12/05/2010 14:29:06 644789 Link 0 |
15 v 15 would be a good idea. I dont think they would have much interest in travelling North to play the Uni teams, not at this late stage at least. LondonSupporter (UK) - Posts: 119 - 13/05/2010 11:15:00 645631 Link 0 |
With the money they save going over why not bring a top coach over every other week or so to do some quality training, someone who knows how to train a team at the top level overseas (Donegal) - Posts: 108 - 13/05/2010 14:05:25 645946 Link 0 |
Good idea overseas, who would you suggest? LondonSupporter (UK) - Posts: 119 - 13/05/2010 15:16:30 646071 Link 0 |
Spillane offered and was rejected according to his GAA pull out in the Sunday papers. Wests_Awake (Galway) - Posts: 877 - 13/05/2010 15:26:33 646093 Link 0 |
Jacko, Micko, O'Mahony, Harte. I know these are still involved back home but if they had spare weekends/days then it could be possible. I doubt anyone would be too bothered if if was in their own time, not as if London will compete at that level. These boys know how to train teams with an insight to County training at the top level. Their experience alone would be invaluable. overseas (Donegal) - Posts: 108 - 13/05/2010 16:27:42 646202 Link 0 |
Why not look closer to home. Tom Roche, Chris Lloyd, Tommy Donoghue, the Fish etc have bags full of experience and that could only help the team DANSEAN (Dublin) - Posts: 72 - 13/05/2010 16:48:24 646238 Link 0 |
BallsOfGaelic who is berealistic thenand why is it shocking????????? Also i think you are on the wind up there DANSEAN suggesting the FISH......haha....the man never trained himself..haha...sound man though. IrishRover (Fermanagh) - Posts: 488 - 13/05/2010 16:58:57 646253 Link 0 |
These boys obviously dont want it, otherwise there would have been a change over the past couple of years overseas (Donegal) - Posts: 108 - 13/05/2010 17:18:54 646287 Link 0 |