You know what Macattack...i take on board your point.......yes on another thread i did say McCloskey is over rated and it is my opinion that a lot of that has to do with the fact he played for Leitirm......i also said McMahon is a brillant Hurler but an average footballer...i stand by that....its my opinion and i think others share it....apart from maybe TCG supporters (as they are both TCG players) the point about McMahon is he is currently injured and i dont want to go having a go about a man who has surved London GAA well...but i do stand by what i said...i do take on board what you said about calling players overated and average is hardly going to build confidence....but if you read my comments it was in direct relation to a poster who suggested that both McCloskey and McMahon were better than Paul Hehir.....in fact a poster suggested Hehir was not a patch on those two....and i am afraid that Hehir at his best was alot better than what i have seen from the two boys mentioned. IrishRover (Fermanagh) - Posts: 488 - 09/02/2010 14:50:15 556278 Link 0 |
Also Macattak....i am not asking for Donnellan to be sporting a 6 pack i just would want to see him look like he is a county standard footballer in terms of fitness......becasue unless you are fit you might as well go home.......look if he takes himself seriously and cares he will get himself flying....if he does get wind of the comments i would hope it inspires him to get flying.....i would achieved somthing then.....and by the way his selection for the panel against Limerick wasnt his own doing....it was the management that selected him and actually put him on the field.....he didnt pick himself.....so my comments are aimed at the management and i stand by what i said.....ONLY IN THIS TOWN. IrishRover (Fermanagh) - Posts: 488 - 09/02/2010 14:59:24 556290 Link 0 |
irishrover i'd say your a bitter player who did not get the call up for the london team this year and you seem to be taking it out on lads who are there who you probally feel you should be in front of. Donnellan has been on the london squad for years and at the moe ye he is out of fitness but training with london who have the best training facilities at present etc will get him up to scratch. as they say playing and training with the best will make you a better player. however you are right in one thing he shouldnt have played against limerick if he was not up to scratch. however instead of coming on line and slagging your fellow county men off you should be encouraging them and saying "the best of luck on getting fit etc" and if you dont like it no one here wants to hear about your sour grapes. uknowme (UK) - Posts: 60 - 12/02/2010 15:02:30 559665 Link 0 |
"and if you dont like it no one here wants to hear about your sour grapes" IrishRover (Fermanagh) - Posts: 488 - 12/02/2010 16:29:17 559770 Link 0 |
Quote of the year so far from UKnowne with this little gem " instead of coming on line and slagging your fellow county men off you should be encouraging them and saying "the best of luck on getting fit" . Yes the last part of the quote does actually read "the best of luck getting fit". UKnowne is not wishing the best of luck "getting fit"to a 40 year old Junior C footballer who is after gettin the hip done & overdid it at Christmas but to supposed inter county player competing at the highest level of our sport. I fully understand lads can have serious injuries & be out of action for quite a while, but at inter county level - you need to look after your body. That is obviously not the case with the player in question and it was a huge embarasement to everyone who associates themselves with GAA in this town. Management needs to shape up also - reputations should mean nothing! Lazarus1 (Galway) - Posts: 173 - 12/02/2010 20:29:05 560082 Link 0 |
Fair play to you Lazarus1.....................WELL SAID....you just smashed the nail on the head....couldnt agree more....its not sour grapes or anything....just plain and simple just as you said. IrishRover (Fermanagh) - Posts: 488 - 13/02/2010 18:38:05 560533 Link 0 |
I here london were hammered again where is london football goin and does people really think they have a chance a against roscommon whenthey cant give a good count of them selves now.what's people opinions on this?? londonladd (Mayo) - Posts: 165 - 14/02/2010 16:34:40 560978 Link 0 |
When talking about McCloskey people have to be realistic. He played for inter-county for Leitrim. Given their playing numbers i'm sure that most good club players in other counties would be inter county players if they were playing in Leitrim. He got destroyed by o'dwyer in the All-Ireland club quarter final. O'Dwyer is an average footballer who is headless when he gets the ball. Also Kilmurry will be absolutely anhilated by portlaoise. It will be another barren championship for London. theclawhammer (Wexford) - Posts: 240 - 15/02/2010 15:38:35 561879 Link 0 |
A friend of mine from Waterford was at the match yesterday and he tells me a large out of shape lad came on for London yesterday and played the whole 2nd half and i qoute (couldnt run)........great management from London....do me a favour.....why play someone out of condition in the National League IrishRover (Fermanagh) - Posts: 488 - 15/02/2010 17:20:49 562074 Link 0 |
I have to say i agree with the clawhammer about McCloskey.......but O'Dwyer is a better than average player and although Portlaoise ARE massive favourites....which by the way doesnt take a genuis to say mr clawhammer......yes Portlaoise are going to take some beating and should actually win the All Ireland.....but the Quilty lads will give them a game........and who knows IrishRover (Fermanagh) - Posts: 488 - 15/02/2010 17:27:23 562083 Link 0 |
Eamon McGee would be a great addition if he comes on board. scruff (UK) - Posts: 467 - 17/02/2010 13:39:17 564186 Link 0 |
Irish Rover, that must have been Donnellan again. LondonSupporter (UK) - Posts: 119 - 17/02/2010 13:54:40 564222 Link 0 |
He certainly would, if they could get a few forwards they wouldnt be so bad. LondonSupporter (UK) - Posts: 119 - 17/02/2010 13:58:19 564230 Link 0 |
reading that interview he doesn't seem too excited at the prospect of playing with london! scruff (UK) - Posts: 467 - 17/02/2010 14:51:05 564336 Link 0 |
I see Chris Eastwood won an Intermediate AI with Cookstown on Sunday, he was a good addition playing in the corner 2 years ago! No suprise when he left his club they were immediately relegated from Intermediate championship! Ciarrai Abu (Overseas) - Posts: 1050 - 17/02/2010 15:45:51 564441 Link 0 |
London Supporter....no doubt it was the man himself.....whats going on in all fairness.....surely if a unfit player is in the squad he should be made to get fit before he plays for the county team....this is the National League not a challenge game....to gain fitness for completely out of condition players. IrishRover (Fermanagh) - Posts: 488 - 17/02/2010 19:59:39 564865 Link 0 |
agree wuth the above statement, eastwood is rumoured to be going back to london to give another year to cucullens, wonder if there is any truth in this?? would be a good addition to london if he was to commit to them also,especially with roscommon in the champonship london_fan (UK) - Posts: 70 - 17/02/2010 20:08:20 564877 Link 0 |
was thinkin of throwin a few pound on London to reach connaught final this year? good odds? what do posters make of their chances against leitrim and Roscommon? as good of chance this year as any of those teams...especially with the new recruits? maroonboy (Westmeath) - Posts: 36 - 18/02/2010 09:50:46 565131 Link 0 |
To early in the year to tell maroonboy, there'll be plenty of comings and goings before the Championship. Best chance they've ever had though. scruff (UK) - Posts: 467 - 18/02/2010 10:24:14 565151 Link 0 |
Who did Hughes play for? See he has gone home anyway! macattack (UK) - Posts: 584 - 18/02/2010 11:36:18 565256 Link 0 |