Ah pat,
I know you'll never let facts get in the way of a good wind-up, but I think you'll find that United didn't lose anything in the Champion's League that season, not even one match. Finishing top of your group doesn't win you any prizes. In the context of Bayern and United in 1998-99 season it's even more irrelevent, as both teams went into the final group stage game in Old Trafford already qualified. Had there been something to play for United could well have won (as could have Bayern) and topped the group. But the game was meaningless, and was thus played out as such. Very hard to make inferences from that.
As still, 1998-99 was a great season for City, with Nicky Weaver's Wembley heroics. Was that the last time City's first team made it to Wembley?
black&white (Sligo) - Posts: 1628 - 04/02/2010 15:35:41
Black & White,
why do you even waste your time debating with Patrique? His memory is shorter than his manhood obviously is given his need to jump all over anything where he can pretend to be a wise old sage, using his double negatives to sound clever. He's anything but.
Just to demonstrate, here is a gem from him:
Hard to argue with this because United won the tournament and also WON the best LOSER'S section, all in the one tournament. In those days the quarters were made up like the current Heinekin Rugby Cup, six group winners and the two best losers. Bayern Munich ran out easy winners of United's group, but United won the best losers section.
In the 98-99 season United played 6 group games. It started with a 3-3 against Barcelona, then a 2-2 in Munich, then home & away wins against Brondby, then another 3-3 V Barcelona. Going into the final game, Bayern led by a point over United 10-9. Had United won, they were guaranteed top spot, but other results meant that a draw was enough. United went 1-0 up, Bayern equalised. 20 minutes from the end both sides knew a draw was taking them both through. Hittzfeld said to Ferguson on the final whistle 'see you in the final'.
So to say Bayern ran out easy winners is factually incorrect. United did not need to win the game to progress. Patrique is so wide of the mark that by saying 'but United won the best losers section' that he is again factually incorrect. Real Madrid won this, qualifying from second place in group C with 12 points, ahead of United in group D who had 10 points.
Patrique also said:
Often asked as a trick sports question at quizzes, "Who were the best loser's and winners of the same tournament". The answer being United.
Well if you are hearing this at quizzes, I'd ask what colour is the sky in your world. Given United did not win the best losers section, they got the second place out of the 2 places given to the best second placed group teams in the 6 groups. So United actually came runners up in that too.
Now Patrique, you pride yourself as some sort of wide old man on this site quoting facts from before all of us were born, but next time you go to argue something, do a little bit of research before running away with yourself. Your opinion or scrawlings here should never be taken as gospel.
Yours in sport,
Slayer
slayer (Limerick) - Posts: 6548 - 04/02/2010 15:47:16
HAHAHA, you couldn't make it up!!! So so bitter
Breffni40 (Cavan) - Posts: 12485 - 04/02/2010 16:05:58
04/02/2010 14:26:58 patrique County: Antrim Posts: 6957
551562 03/02/2010 18:01:48 black&white County: Sligo Posts: 690
550756 bayern played united off the park, and terry slipped at the most important time in the game i.e luck
Don't see how you class either win as lucky. United were the best team over the 98-99 Champions' League,
Hard to argue with this because United won the tournament and also WON the best LOSER'S section, all in the one tournament.
For those who see "Patrique" and then have trouble reading the rest.
I have reproduced my earlier post.
Those who do not have a red mist, and enjoy a modicum of reading ability, can clearly see that all I did was agree with Black and white.
Now you United fans like Breffni might DISAGREE with him, and maybe think Bayern were the best team that year, but please, argue with him, not me.
patrique (Antrim) - Posts: 13709 - 04/02/2010 16:46:11
For those who see "Patrique" and then have trouble reading the rest..
I've no problem seeing "Patrique:, it's the rest I have trouble reading.
Your comment above is very arrogant, to be honest I just think you define an internet troll. http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Troll_(Internet)
slayer (Limerick) - Posts: 6548 - 04/02/2010 17:13:16
Go away out of that Patrique. You're digging an even bigger hole now. I can read just as well as slayer and black & white, both utd fans I believe, so maybe direct your juvenile taunts at them?
Just swallow your pride and admit you're after making a prize fool of yourself with that post, lying about quiz questions and such.
Honestly, lying about trivial matters like this, to anonymous posters on an internet messageboard, at your age?
I thought the post in "musings of a moderater" was pathetic but pathetic posts must be like buses.
Breffni40 (Cavan) - Posts: 12485 - 04/02/2010 17:38:22
slayer County: Limerick Posts: 1213
Your comment above is very arrogant,
that United were the best team in Europe that year? I only agreed with you!!!!!!!
United played 13 games in Europe that year. they won 6 of them, and drew 7 of them. In a league that is 25 points out of 39.
That is so good you would swear that mark Hughes was probably the manager!!!
You are all reading too much into my posts. I still say United were the best side that year. legends like Andy Cole playing for them? What else could they be?
patrique (Antrim) - Posts: 13709 - 04/02/2010 17:39:25
Breffni39 County: Cavan Posts: 2047
I thought the post in "musings of a moderater" was pathetic
Well, obviously you are a misogynist, and you can't blame me for that.
And remember, United come before fire, famine, Ireland, Cavan, work and all the rest, so maybe you are a mite touchy on the subject.
As for quizzes, last night's results which explains my absence from these enlightened pages:
The semi-finals of the County Scor Quiz was held in Casement Park. Eleven clubs entered and the aim was to get down to four clubs to contest the County Final in Antrim on Friday night. After three rounds of individual questions and a round of team questions St.Marys Rasharkin, St.Comgalls Antrim, Lamh Dhearg and Tir na nOg progressed to contest the county final. Rasharkin and Antrim finishing joint top with 42 points each.
The county Trath na gCeist was held in the Rossa Club later in the evening. This was a hotly contested competition with the lead changing hands on several occasions. Apart from looking to crown the Antrim Irish Language Table Quiz champions on the night, three clubs would advance to contest the Ulster Final in Tyrone on Friday 12th February. Host club Rossa found it difficult to catch up after a slow start. Glenravel and Pearses were front runners from the start but hot on their heels were the teams from Lamh Dhearg, St Comgalls and St Endas. St Galls made a late burst but left it too late to influence the winners. After eight exciting rounds of questions asked by Quizmaster, Aine Pleimeann, the reigning champions , Glenravel, retained the trophy. Captain of the team, John 'Curly' McIlwaine received the trophy on behalf of his team. (He didn't take a picture). Runners up on the night were Pearses with 50 points just 4 points behind the winners. There was a tie in third place on 48 points between St Endas and St Comgalls. Just as a tie break round was about to begin between the two clubs St Comgalls withdrew in favour of the Glengormley Club because they would not be able to attend the Ulster Final as it coincided with their Club Dinner on the same night.
And before you ask, no, that one about United was NOT asked, as people have heard it so many times, everyone now knows the answer.
St Comgall's abu.
patrique (Antrim) - Posts: 13709 - 04/02/2010 20:33:04
My own opinion is that Patrique's posts are an addition to this board only in column space. Clearly this is one person who thinks that talking in riddles, quoting historical facts in reply to items not related to the topic being dicussed and just general trolling, makes him/her feel in some way superior to others on this board.
If anyone tries to have a discussion about great managers for example, you'll get a non-sensical post from Patrique quoting how some coach managed sides to win the Under 12 ground hurling championship in Antrim 5 years running, thus making them the best.
Difficult to put up with that.
slayer (Limerick) - Posts: 6548 - 05/02/2010 08:56:17
patrique County: Antrim Posts: 6980
Patrique, you have no basis for labelling me a misogynist, so kindly desist with the personal insults.
Try to discuss these matters in an adult fashion, thank you.
Breffni40 (Cavan) - Posts: 12485 - 05/02/2010 10:50:05
patrique knows more about sport in general than any of the posters on this site, football hurling snooker tennis and cricket to name a few. i would wager on him to take anyone in a quiz about sport in general,
millhouse (Meath) - Posts: 892 - 05/02/2010 12:31:22
patrique knows more about sport in general than any of the posters on this site, football hurling snooker tennis and cricket to name a few. i would wager on him to take anyone in a quiz about sport in general
There is a big difference between recalling results & understanding sports.
slayer (Limerick) - Posts: 6548 - 05/02/2010 13:35:17
slayer County: Limerick Posts: 1220
552304 My own opinion is that Patrique's posts are an addition to this board only in column space. Clearly this is one person who thinks that talking in riddles, quoting historical facts in reply to items not related to the topic being dicussed and just general trolling, makes him/her feel in some way superior to others on this board.
If anyone tries to have a discussion about great managers for example, you'll get a non-sensical post from Patrique quoting how some coach managed sides to win the Under 12 ground hurling championship in Antrim 5 years running, thus making them the best.
Difficult to put up with that.
If you just read tabloids and listen to idiots on SKY, yes, my insights would be difficult to put up with.
patrique (Antrim) - Posts: 13709 - 05/02/2010 19:33:26
millhouse County: Meath Posts: 316
552542 patrique knows more about sport in general than any of the posters on this site, football hurling snooker tennis and cricket to name a few. i would wager on him to take anyone in a quiz about sport in general,
Just off to the scor final now, but the others know nothing.
patrique (Antrim) - Posts: 13709 - 05/02/2010 19:34:18
layer County: Limerick Posts: 1220
552630 patrique knows more about sport in general than any of the posters on this site, football hurling snooker tennis and cricket to name a few. i would wager on him to take anyone in a quiz about sport in general
There is a big difference between recalling results & understanding sports.
Who did I insult?
Are you looking in a mirror as you post? You my fine fellow/lady are the one who has started insulting people.
I debate.
And in a debate, there is no right or wrong.
patrique (Antrim) - Posts: 13709 - 05/02/2010 19:35:55
Lads/lasses,
Can ye not take a bit of slegging?
I mean that 34 year banner, that is simply to remind City fans that foor 34 years we haven't sunk so low that we need to be in a league cup final, like 34 years ago.
I apologise to all I upset, truly sorry. And I mean that.
patrique (Antrim) - Posts: 13709 - 05/02/2010 20:46:40
Patrique scrawled:
If you just read tabloids and listen to idiots on SKY, yes, my insights would be difficult to put up with.
You've just turned an assumption into a conclusion, which is a dangerous tactic. Machiavellian really.
slayer (Limerick) - Posts: 6548 - 08/02/2010 10:49:07
08/02/2010 10:49:07 slayer County: Limerick Posts: 1222
554730 Patrique scrawled:
You've just turned an assumption into a conclusion, which is a dangerous tactic. Machiavellian really.
Machiavelli was a liberal, free thinking "left wing" writer.
He wrote a book called "The Prince" illustrating a political theory, not his own please note.
For some reason that type of misrule has now wrongly been called Machiavellian.
That is a conclusion.
patrique (Antrim) - Posts: 13709 - 08/02/2010 15:24:42
03/02/2010 12:51:02 Plastic Paddy County: Tyrone Posts: 436
550256 Has to be Hull City. Fine defensive showing last night against the Chelski and Spurs a few weeks back. Deadly from set-pieces. What more do you need?
Still has to be Hull City. Sure 4 points from 6 against 2 of European footballs powerhouses. Chelski and Citeh!!
Plastic Paddy (Tyrone) - Posts: 664 - 08/02/2010 16:44:12
United didnt deserve any of their European titles... look at the state of their jerseys when they won those trophys... disgusting. No one with football jerseys like that deserve a medal... perhaps a medal in the worst dressed footballer's of the year awards..
What sort of Celebration was that by Best!! oooohhhh...!! look at me... I'm going to run around with my arms in the air... It's ok George the barman saw you...!
I hear that they sacrifised goats to Satan beofre each and everyone of those finals... booooh!! Animal cruelty is evil.. especially when its offered to the dark lordOle Gunnar Solskjaer looks like a baby.. no way he should be allowed to score the winner in a major final... he looks like a baby for God sake! Perhaps this is a case for child cruelty.. there's laws about this kind of thing
QPR 4ever!!
jimbodub (Dublin) - Posts: 20763 - 11/02/2010 13:43:23