Lancashire Season 2010

" Mick Moore's direct running was causing all sorts of problems for the Mitchells defence and he became the target of some very cynical fouling, receiving several blows to the head in the process. Indeed any time Lawrences threaten to break through the Mitchells half back line it often resulted in Colton, Moore and Byrne being dragged down. "

Who is actually writing ths? Im nearly feel off my seat laughing. Lawarences need to grow a set and realise that its Gaelic football and not netball

I wasnt even there on Saturday but to write that in a match report is just embarrasing - If you where playing a league match in South Armagh and you wrote that in the the local paper youd get laughed out of town.

Im all for writing match reports to egg on your own team but when your harping on and searching for reasons as to why you fell short then look at your own teams lack of strenght on the ball and general GAA skills before you start calling another team a bunch of thugs in a round about way!!!

14yardfree (UK) - Posts: 57 - 23/04/2010 11:24:23    626582

It was abysmal writing in fairness

redhanddefender (Tyrone) - Posts: 913 - 23/04/2010 11:45:33    626616

I've just read the Lawrence's match report and it's definitely entertaining stuff! Fair play to Lawrence's for putting up a fight on the pitch but the match report is petty to say the least! Grow up lads! Mitchell's had the decency to play you a 13-a-side game so you should have the decency to take your defeat graciously.

bitter_wee_man (Fermanagh) - Posts: 15 - 23/04/2010 12:21:05    626696

that is the funniest match report the Big T has ever witnessed

Mitchells began to panic as Lawrences were dominating the midfield and introduced Paddy Mulligan to try curbing the influence Goldrick and Moore were having in the middle of the park. It had the desire effect anytime Lawrences seemed to get close, Mitchells step up a gear and did enough to pull away

Someone has missed there calling as a comedy script writer!!

Mitchells must have had there junior team out

BigTom2050 (Tipperary) - Posts: 289 - 23/04/2010 12:22:45    626698

Maybe it was written safe in the knowledge that every Mitchell's poster on this site would rise to it.

spyboy (Antrim) - Posts: 343 - 23/04/2010 12:28:42    626704

Its got the Mitchels lads backs up anyway! To be fair its not suprising, pretty poor attempt of a match report!

Reminds me of the Lawrences propaganda last season re kieran McKeever!!

Anyone got thoughts for this weekends fixtures?

Yer Man (None) - Posts: 286 - 23/04/2010 13:03:24    626789

Pennine League Results yesterday:
Div. 1 - Brothers Pearse lost to John Mitchel's, Cuchullain's beat St. Brendan's,
Div. 2 - St. Benedicts Harps 0-15, St. Anne's 1-05 and JFK's game did not take place as St. Pat's did not travel to Leeds.

Carnaross (None) - Posts: 189 - 26/04/2010 08:09:17    629147

Lancashire Senior League
Result
St. Peter's 1-22 Ellan Vannin Gaels 1-07

Match Report now available on the St. Peter's website
http://stpetersgaa.intheteam.com

PRO
St. Peter's GAA
[email protected]

StPetersGAA2010 (UK) - Posts: 14 - 26/04/2010 11:08:11    629334

How did the Oisins v Lawrences game go?

It would be interesting to have a read of the match report from the Lawrences camp whatever the result. Then it would be good to read a real match report. Who played well, scored etc.

DBlue_and_Yella (UK) - Posts: 30 - 26/04/2010 12:42:57    629496

All the results are on the lancashire site now lancashiregaa.co.uk

sparks_uuc (Fermanagh) - Posts: 91 - 26/04/2010 13:35:55    629610

example line from the next Lawrences report...

" Clearly St Lawrences where getting the better of a more experienced Oisins team until out of nowhere the boys in blue and white continually used their shoulder in each tacke to intimadate the finely tuned Lawrences lads who fought on bravely"

14yardfree (UK) - Posts: 57 - 26/04/2010 13:52:14    629637

Hey sparks_uuc, the Lanc website looks good but was looking through this weekends fixture list and I think you need to change the following fixtures:

02/05/10 Cu-Chulainns vs John Mitchels - Pennine League Division 1

Throw in: 14:15 Grade: Senior Venue: Beeston Sports Centre

Same time, same place. Maybe it has been sorted out with all 4 clubs already, just thought I'd help you out.

YILeeds (UK) - Posts: 15 - 27/04/2010 08:27:20    630582

Thanks YILeeds. I have made enquiries and updated the fixtures accordingly http://tinyurl.com/347jcor

sparks_uuc (Fermanagh) - Posts: 91 - 27/04/2010 10:37:55    630697

Its about time you got your act together sparks_uuc!!

chickoboy (Fermanagh) - Posts: 10 - 27/04/2010 12:19:41    630852

Four Pennine League games this weekend guys... Heres my predictions

Sat 1st May

DIV 2

St Patricks v St Peters
The Manchester team will travel to Chester in confidant mood and will be hot favouraites to increase their 100% record to date. St Pats will feel they have an outside chance of making the semi-finals, but winning here against Peters will be way too much to ask. Peters by 14 points.

Sun 2nd May

DIV 1

St Lawrences v CuChulainns
The top four places in div 1 looks all but settled. Having failed to make the knockout stage Lawrences will now turn their attention to securing their div 1 status. CuChulainns on the other hand will be gunning for top spot, but the Manchester club will be a potential banana skin. CuChulainns by 6 points.

DIV 2

Hugh O'Neills v JFKs
Both teams have suffered from heavy defeats by Manchester clubs this season. Both clubs have also failed to ensure all their results are on the website so its very difficult to make an informed prediction. Ill go with JFKs by 4 points.

Young Irelands v St Annes
The yorkshire team have had a poor start to their season and Annes will feel they are only a win or two away from cementing their place in the semis. Home advatage will give YI a good chance here and if they raise their game they can win it. I'm still going with Annes though! Annes by 3 points.

Yer Man (None) - Posts: 286 - 29/04/2010 12:28:48    633303

Her yer man, we're not playing til next Sat, shuda told ya b4hand! My thrupence for this weekend!! Div 1: St Lawrences v CuChulainns - Newcastle team by 7 pts (if Lawrences travel to Leeds!) DIV 2 St Pats v St Peters - St. Peters by 9 pts (if St. Pats field!) Hugh O'Neills v JFKs - JFK by 3 pts. Young Irelands v St Annes (to be played next Sat 08/05/10) - ourselves by 2 pts!! LOL

YILeeds (UK) - Posts: 15 - 29/04/2010 12:59:43    633351

Cú Chulainns and Lawrences game is a 12 o'clock throw in on Sunday the 9th not this weekend as advertised.

sparks_uuc can you update the Lancashire website accordingly.

Yer Man that's two predictions you haven't got wrong so a good week on the prediction front so far.

spyboy (Antrim) - Posts: 343 - 29/04/2010 17:50:13    633942

Yeah spyboy just neede the other 2 not to field and I'm flyin.

C'mon sparks get with the programme!! ;-)

Yer Man (None) - Posts: 286 - 30/04/2010 12:06:00    634508

Just read the Mitchels last Match report. Did they play Oisins in the second half, or is the author just got Oisin's in his mind.

Catface (UK) - Posts: 133 - 30/04/2010 13:07:28    634621

A good result for Oisins, they beat Mitchels 1-3 to 0-4 in the second half.

spyboy (Antrim) - Posts: 343 - 30/04/2010 14:33:13    634726