Lancashire Season 2010

Lads myself I am getting a bit fed up listening to this RED HAND DEFENDER LARK, Im not sure about the rest of you lads how you view him.

tyronemanc (Tyrone) - Posts: 163 - 25/03/2010 13:19:07    598381

So YILeeds you wanna take on the champ eh!? Only jokin, you prob wont have a big job to better my predictions!

Anyway heres my 2pence worth....

Division 1

St Lawrences v CuChulainns
The stretford team came out on top in last seasons fixture so can go in to this one with confidance. CuChulainns though can be a match for any team on their day and will go in as favouriates here. CuChulainns by 5 points.

Oisin v Bros Pearse
If I'm being honest the Huddersfield lads would be my favouriates for the drop. They have a youthful and eager bunch of lads who will give their all as always, but if Oisins harbour any real ambitions this season this sould be the sorta game they should be winning. Oisin by 6 points.

John Mitchels v St Brendans
Brendans have managed to avoid much game time against the big guns of Liverpool recently, and as a team the hough-enders have improved vastly over the last few seasons. Come Sunday, they may find out the have still some way to travel yet. Mitchels by 11 points.

Division 2

Young Irelanders v St Peters
Young Irelanders are not as bad as last weeks result (or YIleeds prediction;-)) might have you believe. But where they have 3 or 4 genuine quality players, Peters will easily double that. Peters will be division 2's team to beat. Peters by 8 points.

St Annes v Hugh O'Neills
A good match-up here but I feel home advantage may be deceisive. Annes are a stubborn bunch and they have shown on their day are capable of punching above their weight. O'Neills will put it up to them but Annes should have enough quailty. Annes by 4 points.

St Patricks v St Benidicts
The Chester lads have been blowing hot and cold since their introduction in Lancashire. Benidicts started off in week one with a defeat against Peters, dont be suprised if thats their last of the group stage. Benidicts by 8 points.

Still looking for a 100% week, this could be her!!

Yer Man (None) - Posts: 286 - 25/03/2010 17:11:51    598826

Nice one 'yer man'! Need other lads (or even lassies) predicted outcomes on dis thread to have a bit of banter and craic with... YI abú!

YILeeds (UK) - Posts: 15 - 25/03/2010 18:52:39    599054

The St. Peter's V Young Ireland's Pennine League Fixture is now taking place on Sunday at 1pm instead of the original time of 5pm on Saturday. All players contact Team Manager Sean Hopkins on 078 50733923 to discuss travel arrangements for the game.

*Please note that St. Peter's beat St. Brendans by two points in last Saturday's game and not one which was claimed by the St. Brendan's club notes.

PRO
St Peter's GAA Manchester
[email protected]

StPetersGAA2010 (UK) - Posts: 14 - 26/03/2010 13:25:07    599782

Whether St Brendan's were beaten by one point or two points is irrelevant (especially since it was a friendly), they were beaten and their match report shows that they accepted they were beaten. St Peter's are clearly nit-picking here....maybe they are still sore at being beaten in the two cup finals by Brendan's last year? Good luck in your Division 2 game this weekend Peter's.

bitter_wee_man (Fermanagh) - Posts: 15 - 26/03/2010 15:45:10    599996

Right lad predictions for tomorrow.....

Division 1

St Lawrences v CuChulainns
I hear Lawrences are finding it hard to get a team together this year, a very tight game in this fixture last year however I think Lawrences are a shadow of the team of last year.

CuChulainns by 3

Oisin v Bros Pearse
Oisins always a very hard team to read you never know which Oisins will turn up on the day. Bros however I do not think are a divison one team.

Oisin by 8 points.

John Mitchels v St Brendans
The clash that never happens for one reason or another, will Brendans will be able to face up to the mighty Mitchels? To be honest feel this will be a stretch too far for the Manc team but only just.

Mitchels by 5 points.

Division 2

Young Irelanders v St Peters
Peters at the moment are hard to read alot of new players bedding in and a few left from last the squad from last year. Young Irelanders are not a bad side either however I think the Yorks team is still a bit behind Peters.

Peters by 7

St Annes v Hugh O'Neills
This is the toughest game to call as I feel both sides are evenly matched however don't think this will be a classic by any means. A draw would not shock me massively however think the away team just might shade this one

O'Neills by 2 points.

St Patricks v St Benidicts
The lads from the walled city it would seem are struggling to come to terms with playing Senior football and from what I am hearing about the Leeds team these lads are no fools.

Benidicts by 7 points.

tyronemanc (Tyrone) - Posts: 163 - 27/03/2010 18:14:22    600867

Two results from Div. 2: Young Irelands 0-09, St. Peter's 2-09: St. Patrick's 0-04, St. Benedicts 4-09.

Any others?

Carnaross (None) - Posts: 189 - 28/03/2010 15:56:53    601271

Brendans got beat by 1-8 to 1-6 by Mitchells. We were 1-4 to 0-2 up at half time, Mitchells got a goals in the last minute to win.

Mitchells get plugging away fort he whole game as all good teams do.

Take_yer_points (Galway) - Posts: 151 - 28/03/2010 17:05:50    601369

anyone got any reports from any of the games this weekend? Especially anyone at the Mitchells game.

BigTom2050 (Tipperary) - Posts: 289 - 29/03/2010 11:10:28    601966

Results from Lancashiregaa.co.uk...

Div 1-

St Lawrences v CuChulainns- Posponed
Oisin 1-10 Brothers Pearse 1-4
John Mitchels 1-8 St Brendans 1-6

Div 2-

Young Irelands 0-8 St Peters 2-9
St Annes 3-12 Hugh O'Neills 0-8
St Patricks 0-4 St Benidicts 4-9

Main talking point from the top tier has to be the Mitchels game- can one of the Liverpool lads give us a run down on what went on. Suprised in how close Brendans got, fair play to them, they must mean business. Oisin came away with the points as I expected. And does anyone know why the Lawrences game didn't happen, are they struggling to get 15 lads together?

Division 2 saw comfortable victories for St Peters, to put them in a great position, St Annes, who have started with a bang, and St Benidicts, who bounced back from last weeks defeat with a big victory.

Was anybody at the games who can provide any reports of the goings-ons.

Oh and no, Im not gonna brag about my 100% predictions this week!!

Yer Man (None) - Posts: 286 - 29/03/2010 12:41:42    602132

I have just posted a report on the St. Peter's V Young Ireland's game.

PRO
St. Peter's GAA

StPetersGAA2010 (UK) - Posts: 14 - 29/03/2010 13:07:25    602216

Well done 'Yer man' on your predictions, I only got 5 outta 6 right, plenty more weeks ahead!! LOL. Lets see if we can actually predict the winning margin each time as well, like ya did for da Oisins match!!

YILeeds (UK) - Posts: 15 - 29/03/2010 13:14:30    602230

There are a couple of reports on the Lancashire website now. Thanks go to St Peters and John Mitchels for providing them.

http://www.lancashiregaa.co.uk/fixtures.php?calmonth=3&startdate=2010-3-28

sparks_uuc (Fermanagh) - Posts: 91 - 29/03/2010 15:38:56    602580

Good work sparks, just a observaton you need to correct the alignment of the fixture calander on the reports pages. I didn't want to post as think you do a great thankless job on the site but thought it better coming from somebody else before one of the usual begrudgers spotted it.

Keep it up.

spyboy (Antrim) - Posts: 343 - 29/03/2010 15:50:52    602610

Cheers spyboy. It seems to be an Internet Explorer problem. The page is fine in FireFox, Chrome, Safari and Opera. I will sort this out as soon as I get the chance.

sparks_uuc (Fermanagh) - Posts: 91 - 29/03/2010 17:22:33    602808

The reports should look OK in IE now.

sparks_uuc (Fermanagh) - Posts: 91 - 29/03/2010 17:46:32    602862

Damn you microsoft!!!!

Looks spot on now sparks, thanks.

spyboy (Antrim) - Posts: 343 - 30/03/2010 09:08:18    603466

none of the Mitchells or Brendans lads about to comment on sundays game? I've read the report, sounds like a close game. Should be some very good games between Mitchells, Peters, Brendans & Oisins. the championship could be a bit more competitive this year.

Hear Lawrences are really struggling, hope they can turn it around and get more lads out.

BigTom2050 (Tipperary) - Posts: 289 - 30/03/2010 11:14:47    603596

I was chatting to a mate of mine yesterday- Brendans man. He said they were robbed against Mitchels and he is very confidant that they will beat them when it matters. Good to see the confidance of the Brendans lads, they've come a long way.

I haven't heard anything from Lawrences but it would be a real shame if they are struggling for numbers. They have some good lads and it would be a pity if they wern't able to compete this season. Hopefully this wont be the case.

Yer Man (None) - Posts: 286 - 30/03/2010 12:26:52    603731

Well I am a Brendan's man and i can tell you we weren't robbed against Mitchell's. We were beaten by a better team despite the fact that they were nowhere near full-strength. The referee had a good game also and let play flow so no complaints there. Brendan's have serious improvement to make before they even think they'll compete with Oisin's and Peter's, never mind Mitchell's. They are improving, but there is still a long way to go.

bitter_wee_man (Fermanagh) - Posts: 15 - 30/03/2010 13:06:34    603798