Lancashire Season 2010

interesting start to the season last weekend. oisins put up a good fight against mitchells but dont think they really take it that seriously at this stage of the season so cant read to much into that.
st lawrences had only 6 players against brendans, apparently they had a stag doo the night before- come on lads, first game of the season and they cant even field a team, would be better if they just folded if they are gonna be at that craic for the rest of the season, waste of time for the rest of the teams puttin the effort in!
st anns racked up a big score, possibly puts down the claims that they are in the doldrums!!!!!
any truth in the rumour that st peters have signed up 2 former meath county players?!

horsebox45 (UK) - Posts: 38 - 12/03/2010 13:18:42    586301

Yeah I think darragh o' se retired from kerry to come play with us too!

No, don't think there's any truth in that where do these rumours start.

Jaxie (UK) - Posts: 28 - 15/03/2010 15:22:13    588602

Did the IOM travel over and play St Lawrenses on Saturday in the junior league?

Yer Man (None) - Posts: 286 - 16/03/2010 11:57:56    589536

does anyone think that there should be a mini 1 day comp around april time 13 a side for 15 mins each way - just to get everyone interested and get the competition going?

start at 10am finish in the evening - all manchester teams and JM?

14yardfree (UK) - Posts: 57 - 16/03/2010 17:38:52    589936

well said 14 yard free, maybe a 7's competition, most teams could put in 2 teams. would be good to get the fitness up for the summer!

horsebox45 (UK) - Posts: 38 - 17/03/2010 09:16:54    590245

Lads therer already is a 7 a side competition. The winners go on to play in the all-Britain 7's in Birmingham. I think clubs are allowed to enter 2 teams if they have the numbers.

I believe the county board have worked on trying to get the length of the season reduced as it has ran on way too long in the past. For that reason I would be against another competition being introduced. Theres already senior league, senior championship, junior league, junior championship, pennine league, wolfetone league and lancashire 7's. We'll be sick lookin at the other teams without another cup trown into the mix!

Yer Man (None) - Posts: 286 - 18/03/2010 14:38:02    591424

thanks for the info 'yer man'- when is the 7's competition?
heard the st anns lads were beatin the heads off each other on st paddys nite- good to c a bit of team bonding!!!!!!

horsebox45 (UK) - Posts: 38 - 20/03/2010 10:56:44    593206

Not sure of a date horsebox. I think its usually during early summer, but I cant see the 7's mentioned on the lancashire fixture list.

Maybe the Anns lads are just working on their reflexes and co-ordination skills lol... Why what was meant to have happened?

Yer Man (None) - Posts: 286 - 20/03/2010 14:01:22    593369

didnt hear the exact details of why it kicked off, when the drinks in the wits out i suppose!!!!!!! bunch of young fellas that cant houl' their drink!

horsebox45 (UK) - Posts: 38 - 22/03/2010 16:28:14    595170

On St.Anns, i watched them beat Oisins Juniors on Sunday evening.
They looked fairly well bonded to be honest and after talkin to their manager i believe all but two of them are manchester born...
Looks like their underage set-up is proving dividends, they had a very young squad, mainly all U21...
Oisins were missing quite a few but would have thought they had more than enough experienced heads to deal with the younger St.Anns players....Are St.Anns Oisins bogey Team?? (last few years championship?????)
Good to see St.Ann's! Keep the good work up, lets hope the other clubs in Lancashire can bring through young players with the same commitment and passion.

Tony_Soprano (UK) - Posts: 28 - 23/03/2010 09:17:15    595832

Yeah that was a good win for Annes juniors alright, they musta showed the right sorta fight, on the pitch! They have had the best results in bringing through youth players in the county, so fair play to them and long may it continue.

Good shout abt Annes being Oisins bogie team, that certainly looks to be the case!

Anyone with thoughts or predictions for this weekends fixtures?

Div 1-
Lawrences v CuChulainns
Oisin v Brothers Pearse
John Mitchels v St Brendans

Div 2-
Young Irelanders v St Peters (Sat)
St Annes v Hugh O'Neills
St Patricks v St Benidicts

My predictions will be in on due coarse!!

Yer Man (None) - Posts: 286 - 23/03/2010 17:45:50    596565

Will st brendans field because i'm planning me weekend around this lol!

redhanddefender (Tyrone) - Posts: 913 - 24/03/2010 08:38:27    597031

redhanddefender

597031 Will st brendans field because i'm planning me weekend around this lol!

Heard a lot of the Brendans lads are on a stag do this weekend and are struggling to get a team together

BigTom2050 (Tipperary) - Posts: 289 - 24/03/2010 10:10:14    597094

Can someone set me striaght here...
Did St.Brendans field at all in senior level against Mitchels last year?
If so what was (roughly) the score, if my memory serves me correct they pulled outta these games....
Not sure of the reasons why... fear of heavy defeats I expect would have payed a part.........

Tony_Soprano (UK) - Posts: 28 - 24/03/2010 11:35:08    597192

predictions for division 1 this weekend:
cuchulainns to beat laurences well
brothers to beat oisins by a couple
jm to beat brendans (margin of victory depends if this stag doo is on or not)

in response to red hand defender- it'll make no difference to your weekend if brendans field or not- u'll still b sittin in with a chinese by yourself on sat' nite!!!!

horsebox45 (UK) - Posts: 38 - 24/03/2010 13:59:44    597392

predictions for division 1 this weekend:
cuchulainns to beat laurences well
brothers to beat oisins by a couple
jm to beat brendans (margin of victory depends if this stag doo is on or not)

in response to red hand defender- it'll make no difference to your weekend if brendans field or not- u'll still b sittin in with a chinese by yourself on sat' nite!!!!

No need for that lad and i wont be getting any of the chinese your ma eats it all before i get a chance!

redhanddefender (Tyrone) - Posts: 913 - 24/03/2010 15:25:29    597500

Did the Junior lge game of St Peters vs Chester take place? Or is another season of Peters entering a junior team and then failing to field?

Patrick, Paul and John (None) - Posts: 81 - 24/03/2010 15:46:38    597538

Lads where do the rumours get started on this forum... St. Brendan's lads won't be on a stag, they will be at liam kellys engagement party!

But don't worry we will still be there for the game Sunday...Hopefully!

maroonandwhite (UK) - Posts: 63 - 24/03/2010 18:01:40    597731

Congratulations to Liam kelly, sure its ben a long time coming. maybe he can celebrate with a few point against the liverpool men....

rathvilly (Carlow) - Posts: 70 - 25/03/2010 11:57:30    598239

My predictions for this weekend: Div 1: Cuchulainns to win by 10/12 pts, Oisins to win by 4/5 pts, JM to win by 7/8 pts. Div 2: St. Peters to win by 10/12 pts, HON to win by 2/3 pts, SBH to win by 5/6 pts. I'll see if I can get as close as 'Yer man's predictions and then we'll see who's predictions were the best at the end of the year!! LOL

YILeeds (UK) - Posts: 15 - 25/03/2010 12:41:39    598320