Yer Man, A good post and i agree with what you say. The issue i have with them though is i feel they are very short sighted. Can't they see that they had to reform 4 years ago. Do they not think to ask why?
Could it be that the team needs to become a club and grow and develop roots within its community. The local people will stay in and around the area, these are the people who will keep the club alive when the going gets tough. Its no good having a few great years and then disappearing of the face of the earth like they have done in the past.
I am very confident that there are some great people down in Liverpool and they are trying there best to get things going. Its a shame they have got some proper pratts who come on here making an ass out of there club. Dan you need to sort them out, because they don't do you any favours.
Did anyone here Dunedin Connollys after they won the All Britian this year. No crowing no smart *****, well done lads. Maybe our friends from Liverpool could learn a thing or two from you and not just on the football pitch!!!
Mancirish (UK) - Posts: 2200 - 24/02/2010 21:34:25
Mancirish - wise up lad if yous would quit goin on and on about us we wouldn be on here defending ourselves!
Just worry about your own CLUB and we will worry about ours
redhanddefender (Tyrone) - Posts: 913 - 25/02/2010 17:07:28
Now now redhanddefender, yous lads dont need much encouragement to blow your trumpets! Yous have built up your adult teams to a great level, you hve had superb success, and because of that you are up there to be shot at, comes with the territory I'm afraid.
This is what I gather is the action next weekend....
Pennine League Div 1
Oisins V John Mitchels
St Lawrences V St Brendans
Pennine League Div 2
JFKs V Young Irelanders
Anyone able to fill in some of the blanks?
Yer Man (None) - Posts: 286 - 25/02/2010 17:40:38
chickoboy County: Fermanagh Posts: 2
566728 Just a quick one to OisinCLG
Why do you keep mentioning J Mitchels when promoting your club? Surely your proud history and ''amazing'' underage setup would suffice in tempting new players rather than to keep name dropping a team who have been wiping the floor with ye for the last 3 years!!
Redhand this is the start of the slagging one of your own i would have thought.
Again another JM poster who struggles reading a thread.
Not a school from Liverpool at the schools blitz today. What a waste of time you lot really are!!!!!!!!!!
Mancirish (UK) - Posts: 2200 - 25/02/2010 17:56:40
Pennine League Games - Sunday Mar 7:
Div. 1 - St. Lawrence's v St. Brendan's, Oisin's v John Mitchel's and Bros. Pearse v Cuchulains Div. 2 - St. Anne's v St. Patrick's, St. Benedicts Harps v St. Peter's and John F. Kennedy's v Young Irelands.
Carnaross (None) - Posts: 189 - 25/02/2010 19:14:52
Mancirish the only reason ye were at the school blitz was because ye were playin in it
redhanddefender (Tyrone) - Posts: 913 - 26/02/2010 08:37:14
Redhand it looks like the the wums are getting wound up. "Ouch "
Don't abuse other clubs and there efforts if you can not take criticism of your own. Your club is a long long way from perfect that is for sure.
Now who are the little boys Redhand? People in glass houses and all that…..
Your club has shown absolutely no class on this web site. It is no surprise you can't gain the interest of kids in Liverpool.
To quote a phrase "wise up"
Mancirish (UK) - Posts: 2200 - 26/02/2010 19:27:13
Redhand it looks like the the wums are getting wound up. "Ouch "
Don't abuse other clubs and there efforts if you can not take criticism of your own. Your club is a long long way from perfect that is for sure.
Now who are the little boys Redhand? People in glass houses and all that…..
Your club has shown absolutely no class on this web site. It is no surprise you can't gain the interest of kids in Liverpool.
To quote a phrase "wise up"
Mancirish (UK) - Posts: 2200 - 26/02/2010 19:27:46
St. Peter's GAA in Manchester open their 2010 season with a Senior Pennine League Division 2 fixture against St. Benedicts of Leeds. This game is scheduled for this coming Sunday, 7th march, 2.15pm at Beeston Grounds in Leeds.
St. Peters will be looking to go one step further in this competition than last year when they lost the Divisional Final. The team have been training for the last 9 weeks at the Manchester City Academy, Platt Lane. The training has been mainly circuit and interval training but as soon as the evenings get longer, we will be going outdoors at the Hough End playing fields. The turn out at training has been strong and the lads are all looking forward to finally getting playing regular matches. The previous weekend saw St. Peters defeat local rivals St. Lawrences in a challenge. Both teams would agree that this was an opportunity to shake the cobwebs off and get out on the field prior to this weekends fixtures.
Training continues tonight at 7.00pm at the Platt Lane indoor complex. New players are always welcome. Whether you are new to the sport, picking up the boots after a break from the Sport or looking to continue playing after moving here, do get in contact with us. Come down to training and meet the lads and management.
The new email address for St.Peters GAA has been set up - [email protected]
You can contact Sean Hopkins - Team Manager on 07850733923
Look forward to hearing from you
St. Peters GAA Manchester
StPetersGAA2010 (UK) - Posts: 14 - 02/03/2010 14:45:35
StPetersGAA2010
"divisional final"?
Is that what they are calling division 2 now!!?
Yer Man (None) - Posts: 286 - 02/03/2010 18:10:24
Okay folks, here goes he first predictions of 2010. Feel free to comment, debate and post your own.
Oh by the way for any sensitive souls out there, no offence intended!
Pennine League Division 1-
St Lawrences v St Brendans. I fancy Brendans to begin with a debut win in div 1. They started last season vey strongly, before a mid-season dip, and I expect them to be too hot for Lawrences to handle, just. Brendans by 4 points.
Oisins v John Mitchels. I would expect these two to come through the group stage. Oisins flew outa the traps last season beating Mitchels in this fixture 12 months ago, I dont think lightning will strike twice tho. Mitchels by 8 points.
Brothers Pearse v CuChulainns Yorkshire clubs have been struggling against their Newcastle rivals, and Brothers Pearse may struggle in the top flight this season despite haveing a keen young side. CuChulainns by 5 points.
Pennine League Division 2
St Anns v St Patricks Hard one to call here. Chester are a hard team to predict, they thumped Anns by 20+pts last year but couldnt feild in other games. I can only assume both teams will be near full strength, if they are Pats to win. St Patricks by 7 points.
St Benidicts v St Peters. Division 1's relegated team vs div 2's beaten finalists from last season. The tie of the division for me. I expect Benidicts to do well and make the semis, but only after defeat on day 1, tough start for them.Peters by 6 points.
JFK's v Young Irelands. YI got an almighty hammering from a Nottingham outfit in last weeks friendly, but I am aware they were missing some genuine quality. If these lads are back they should have a comfortable opener. Young Irelands by 12 points.
Yer Man (None) - Posts: 286 - 03/03/2010 13:17:49
St. Brendan's got an easy two points today with St. Lawrences unable to field due to so many players away for one reason or another. Heard St. Annes had a handy win against St. Patricks & John Mitchels beat Oisin's by 6. Does anyone know any of ther other results?
maroonandwhite (UK) - Posts: 63 - 07/03/2010 21:51:19
Cuchulainns beat Bros. Pearse in Div. 1. JF Kennedy's beat Young Irelands 3-06 - 0-06 and St. Peter's beat St. Benedicts Harps 0-16 - 2-06 in Div. 2.
Carnaross (None) - Posts: 189 - 08/03/2010 08:19:47
whats up with Lawrences? heard they had 6 or 7 players, whats the story with them?
how did Peter's get on yesterday?
BigTom2050 (Tipperary) - Posts: 289 - 08/03/2010 08:42:03
So I guess that leaves it like this after 1 game.
DIVISION 1:
Team PLD W L D PTS John Mitchels 1 1 0 0 2 CuChulainns 1 1 0 0 2 St Brendans 1 1 0 0 2 St Lawrences 1 0 1 0 0 Bros Pearse 1 0 1 0 0 Oisin 1 0 1 0 0
DIVISION 2:
Team PLD W L D PTS St Peters 1 1 0 0 2 St Annes 1 1 0 0 2 JFK's 1 1 0 0 2 Young Irelands 1 0 1 0 0 St Patricks 1 0 1 0 0 St Benidicts 1 0 1 0 0
Anyone at the games that cud fill us in on what went down? Anyone with correct scorelines to fill in the blanks? And finally does anyone know if that lancashire site is gonna be updated this season?
Yer Man (None) - Posts: 286 - 08/03/2010 14:39:26
The fixtures are up. I'm still waiting on results though. We're trying to get scores direct from the referees on a Sunday in the future.
sparks_uuc (Fermanagh) - Posts: 91 - 09/03/2010 11:14:11
anyone know what the score was in the Anns v St Pats game?
BigTom2050 (Tipperary) - Posts: 289 - 09/03/2010 11:20:07
The Division 1 table is now complete; http://www.lancashiregaa.co.uk/tables.php?leagueid=8
We're still chasing the St Annes vs St Pats scorline.
sparks_uuc (Fermanagh) - Posts: 91 - 09/03/2010 11:43:02
Your some boy Sparks the correct score in the Mitchells/Oisins game was
Mitchells 0-16
Oisins 1-5
I like what you did tho add a score or two onto on to yours take a few off Mitchells. Make it seem closer than it was. Turn up for the second half next time boys.
The_Bookmaker (Tyrone) - Posts: 82 - 09/03/2010 12:25:55
Have Oisins any new players bookie?
I know Peter's have added a few more, think Peter's and Brendans will give you more of a game this year
BigTom2050 (Tipperary) - Posts: 289 - 09/03/2010 13:05:42