I see the St Brendans notes on the main page has reported their 1st game is Vs St Lawrences in the Pennine League.
A real oppurtunity for Brendans to kick off their division 1 campaign with a win. Should be a good contest.
This surely means the fixtures have been made. Anyone got them?
Yer Man (None) - Posts: 286 - 19/02/2010 11:47:31
This Wednesday sees Oisin CLG training resume at Old Bedians, under floodlights at 7.15pm.
After losing out in the Pennine League final, Senior League final and Senior Championship semi final to John Mitchels we are eagerly loking forward to our first game of the season against John Mitchels on March7th. Our junior team will begin their season on March21st, eager to improve on last season when they were also defeated by John Mitchels in the championship final. We have a newly formed ladies team which were very successful in their first season, and our thriving underage teams won many honours last year.
Our club is always looking for new members both playing and non playing, male and female.
If you are interested in joining a club in Manchester which consistently challenges for honours at all grades then look no further. We were the last Manchester team to win the Senior Championship, and will be making a huge effort this year to win it back. We promise to make you very welcome and have many contacts in helping finding both work and accommodation.
Contact details can be found on our website www.oisinclg.com, or call
Anthony Lavin- 07740100606 or Paul Brady- 07774613818
OisinCLG (UK) - Posts: 12 - 19/02/2010 12:36:10
Just a quick one to OisinCLG
Why do you keep mentioning J Mitchels when promoting your club? Surely your proud history and ''amazing'' underage setup would suffice in tempting new players rather than to keep name dropping a team who have been wiping the floor with ye for the last 3 years!!
chickoboy (Fermanagh) - Posts: 10 - 19/02/2010 13:01:38
Because Chickoboy we hold you in high regard and yes you have had a successful 3 years, but are the wheels beginning to come of. Maybe we should ask our Scottish cousins hey????
Your club has set the bar of late and yes you let it slip last year to a degree, but yes you are our immediate challenge to which we hope to meet along with ALL the other Manchester clubs.
Any Scousers playing in your team yet? After 3 years and going into your 4th there must be a few now????
Mancirish (UK) - Posts: 2200 - 19/02/2010 14:03:49
Had I not recognised who our victors were and your club's recent achievements then I have no doubt your reply woud have been along the lines of "why haven't you recognised us as the best team in Lancashire for the last 3 years". It's as simple as that.
Also, just of note nowhere have I called our underage system "amazing"- although I realise that our underage structure is the envy of many teams without one.
OisinCLG (UK) - Posts: 12 - 19/02/2010 14:22:27
Chickoboy- Your a touchy wee fellow arnt ye!!? I would take is a compliment that your club is mentioned as the team to beat. Some people just love to complain.
Just a thought for the Oisins lads... Shouldnt that post be on the UK news page and not on some thread?
So what we know so far is the first round of the Pennine League includes-
Oisin v John Mitchels and St Lawrences v St Brendans........ 2 interesting matches.
Yer Man (None) - Posts: 286 - 19/02/2010 15:11:18
Mancirish County: UK Posts: 248
566913 Because Chickoboy we hold you in high regard and yes you have had a successful 3 years, but are the wheels beginning to come of. Maybe we should ask our Scottish cousins hey????
Your club has set the bar of late and yes you let it slip last year to a degree, but yes you are our immediate challenge to which we hope to meet along with ALL the other Manchester clubs.
Any Scousers playing in your team yet? After 3 years and going into your 4th there must be a few now????
you know full there won't be for several years yet
don't think Mitchells are the only team on the slide either!!!
BigTom2050 (Tipperary) - Posts: 289 - 19/02/2010 15:33:03
well said Mancirish re mitchells not having any home grown talent, just a buch of blow in's if you ask me. as for one of the comments by 'oisins'- the first line of the 2nd paragraph of your post says it all- lost, lost, lost! such a good way to promote the club! ive been keeping my ear to the ground recently and from what ive heard anns and lawrences could spring a few surprises this year in manchester never mind all this talk of brendans, peters and oisins. ne word of wot the isle of man are like?
horsebox45 (UK) - Posts: 38 - 19/02/2010 17:03:46
I take it we have no scousers playing in Liverpool from the lack of a response. I think that is a sad state of affairs. Still very little work being put in then in getting your second generation Irish involved in the club. I must say poor show lads poor show.
How did Brendan's get on today i saw them playing a Hough End this afternoon?
Mancirish (UK) - Posts: 2200 - 20/02/2010 17:30:58
Men lets get realistic its time to leave the liverpool lads alone. How many home grown players do each club have at senior level?? Peters? Oisins? Lawerences? Brendans? Think Anns who have a few (and fair play) are the front runners but how many do each club have??? Question...... if each club got players of a good / v good/ better standard over would they replace their home grown players with them to win a championship???? Fact they would!!! On a seperate note the Isle of Man are supposed to be in serious shape and a great bet for the championship this year!! Also if Pete Quinn and Hendo start firing on all cylinders this year Lawerences could be worth a few pound.......
imagine (UK) - Posts: 43 - 20/02/2010 19:38:35
Lancashire football again will be run by the Scousers. Only if Liverpool football club would follow in their footsteps !
But us Mancs don't care what the Mickeys are doing in the Priemership, but credit must go to the men from the Greenbank who are a credit to Lancashire in Gaelic football for their style of football & commitment by the famous two management.
Not much in between Peter's, Oisin's & outsiders Brendan's this season who St Brendan's will run the two big boys from Stretford & Didsbury close. Does anyone know the honours in Lancashire Championship before the 1960's as everyone are fed up with Brendan's stating must succesful club in Manchester. I'm sure that Oisin's would be near about if they would know their history as Oisin's have been oing over 100 years and plus everyone knows in the UK that Oisin's are the biggest & most orangise club in Lancashire with their facilities & ladies & underage teams as well to mention.
St Lawrences & St Ann's are great clubs and credit most go to their mentors for their hard work throughout the season.
All Lanacashire clubs must stick together this season & bring the the All Britain title home from our Scotish champions.
Good luck to everyone this season in Lancashire.
bornmanchester (UK) - Posts: 1 - 20/02/2010 20:39:16
imagine County: UK Posts: 38
568172 Men lets get realistic its time to leave the liverpool lads alone. How many home grown players do each club have at senior level?? Peters? Oisins? Lawerences? Brendans? Think Anns who have a few (and fair play) are the front runners but how many do each club have??? Question...... if each club got players of a good / v good/ better standard over would they replace their home grown players with them to win a championship???? Fact they would!!! On a seperate note the Isle of Man are supposed to be in serious shape and a great bet for the championship this year!! Also if Pete Quinn and Hendo start firing on all cylinders this year Lawerences could be worth a few pound.......
[b]imagine i guess you must be having a laugh with this post. JM posters come on here talking themselves up repeatedly. Oisins pay them a complement by saying they are the boys who have set the marker and they are the hare to catch and the likes of chickoboy abuse them for that exactly what do you expect.
JM have failed to open up our sport to the good people of Liverpool and spread the word GAA to all corners of its City. Now in Manchester you will find all clubs are doing there best to reach out to the local community and this is reaping rewards despite your comments regarding local talent from Manchester. I am sure all the players playing for the clubs here will be pleased to know you see them as second class. That's very thoughtful of you?????
Mancirish (UK) - Posts: 2200 - 21/02/2010 22:04:01
Manc Irish
3 words for you
All Ireland Final
You will never get there my friend - we did and it wouldnt have happened by playing 2/3 lads from Croxteth in the full back line! Wise up - Liverpool lads are trying to bring through youth ie school teachers promoting GAA sport at Underage level and the game is open to all English born players that want to play plus there are a good 4/5 lads that train with the team from Liverpool but guess what they arent good enough by a mile to start our first team.
They day will come when that may change but for the moment by play our BEST team and guess what we have 3 Back to Back Lancs Championships and 2 A/B Winners medals to show for it - oohhh and we played in Corke Park making history to be the first British team to do so!
So while you strive to better everyones lives within the greater GAA public in the UK - get real and see that it takes a bit longer than 4 years to get GOOD english players at the level to play for a GOOD team like ours
In a bit
14yardfree (UK) - Posts: 57 - 22/02/2010 11:54:56
There would me far more satisfaction winning all these titles with players who have played with the clubs all there life, who would the Mitchells lads rather play in Croke Park with, the team they have been brought up playing for and with lads they have known all there life or for a team they have joined in the last few years?
I'm not having a go at all, well done to Mitchells and there achievements, they can only beat what is put in front of them but they have a massive advantage of been the only team in Liverpool.
BigTom2050 (Tipperary) - Posts: 289 - 22/02/2010 12:41:56
14yardfree County: UK Posts: 42
569278 Manc Irish
3 words for you
All Ireland Final
You will never get there my friend - we did and it wouldnt have happened by playing 2/3 lads from Croxteth in the full back line! Wise up - Liverpool lads are trying to bring through youth ie school teachers promoting GAA sport at Underage level and the game is open to all English born players that want to play plus there are a good 4/5 lads that train with the team from Liverpool but guess what they arent good enough by a mile to start our first team.
They day will come when that may change but for the moment by play our BEST team and guess what we have 3 Back to Back Lancs Championships and 2 A/B Winners medals to show for it - oohhh and we played in Corke Park making history to be the first British team to do so!
So while you strive to better everyones lives within the greater GAA public in the UK - get real and see that it takes a bit longer than 4 years to get GOOD english players at the level to play for a GOOD team like ours
In a bit
Just would like to counter some of the points you have made. First of all, fair play to JM for your success in the Lancashire Leagues and Championships, to be honest its not really your fault that there is only one club in Liverpool and don't think anyone out there would have the time on their hands and have the strong character to pull together a rival club, so your success will go on, without any doubt.
Now, you made a point of developing Gaelic games in schools around the Liverpool area. This will take probably about 8-15 years to bring these youths into the sport, if they haven't already lost interest to other sports among other things (frustration on the bench, drink, social life, etc.). We have a small bit of experience of bringing some interest to the games at Chester, especially from British born players.
This is not a point directed at JM or any other club, but I am of the opinion that some times the greatest influence of getting children involved in sport particularly the Gaelic Games comes from Teachers, Role Models and more importantly family and parents. If parents don't have great background knowledge or experiences of the sport then the encouragement and positivity will not be there for those children and eventually motivations and enthusiasm will fall away. We made it our main aim in our first season to ensure that everybody including our British born players who just taken up the sport, enjoyed being part of the team and club, that their different roles in each game was respected, that they played a part in if not every game but very second game. Our hope is that most of these player (some of them PE teachers) will return for the coming season, and help spread the game to the different areas of the North West, and introduce them to Gaelic Games with great enthusiasm and love of the game.
Also should take an opportunity to thank Oisíns for passing Chester based players who were looking for a club our way, really do appreciate it.
Monaghan in exile (Monaghan) - Posts: 189 - 22/02/2010 14:08:15
14yardfree County: UK Posts: 42
569278 Manc Irish
3 words for you
All Ireland Final
In a bit
Again another JM poster talking scutter what a surprise. If you knew your Counties history you would know that Oisin CLG were Senior All Britain Champions 1994. Yes that's right SENIOR now if you would like to show me your record against the likes of TCG i would be more than happy to discuss.
By the way that team was built on the backbone of Manc lads, yes that's right poor little Mancunian fellas who are second rate footballers. Over half the team was home grow talent. Not bad for second rater's?????
O and what a surprise another JM poster who didn't fully read a post, i did compliment JM on their successes and said they were the boys to beat. Setting the bar, chasing the hare.......... But with that positive you have to also accept the negatives. 4 years going and last year your club fielded in only 1 under 10's and 12's bltz and 2 under 14's games. Now if you think that that is reasonable progression I'm sorry your sadly lacking. Your club has the pick of an entire city and yet it still struggles to get kids on a pitch. FAIL FAIL FAIL. As i have said not putting enough back in lads. Now you seem to struggle with criticism lads. take this as lesson 1, you need to put a bit back in!!!!!!!!!!
We had similar discussions at the beginning of last season and guess what you've done nothing FAIL FAIL FAIL as a second generation Irish person i feel i am fortunate that my parents decided to set up home in Manchester. Develop the game in your adopted city as you have one of the largest Irish populations in the Country to play with.
O and When you win a SENIOR All Britain come back to me............
Mancirish (UK) - Posts: 2200 - 22/02/2010 14:20:05
When you play in Croke Park come back to me chief
14yardfree (UK) - Posts: 57 - 22/02/2010 16:22:17
handbags, handbags, handbags! calm down lads. mitchells seem to have a 'them and us' mentality about them to go with their arrogance.
horsebox45 (UK) - Posts: 38 - 22/02/2010 21:12:28
Lads i think ye need to define what you reckon devolping is, here is my own opinion:
A succesfull team, i.e. a senior team that wins county champs/all britains etc is a succesfull TEAM A succesfull club is a made up of teams from U8/10 to senior level, that competes regularly with numbers, having at least some success.
There is no point having a quality senior team if you cannot sort out an underage set up!
This all from a neutral bystander from the Warwickshire & Gloucester leagues!!
uwic (UK) - Posts: 64 - 22/02/2010 21:53:25
uwic...
Why dont u mind ur own business and... Relax, only jokin!!
Good point well made. John Mitchels are undoubtedly a very good team. They have set the bar for adult football in the county over the past 3 years and for that they should be proud.
Bt they aren't necessarily a very good club. Their underage setup and lack of homegrown talent (even in their juniors) is average at best.
And 'horsebox' as for their 'them and us' mentality... well said. Take a look over previous posts on this and other threads and you will see this in abundance.
Good bunch of lads tho. I know I say this time and time again, but a handful of arrogant posters should not be a fair reflexion of the club. Empty vessels and all that.
Yer Man (None) - Posts: 286 - 23/02/2010 19:57:56