Lancashire Season 2010

An Oisin player twisted his knee and was lying prone in the middle of the pitch around his own 45m line. The referee allowed play to continue and allegedly the injured player on the ground was not happy with the referee's decision. After the ball went dead (in the Oisin goal) the referee approached the injured player, still on the ground, with the intention of booking him. Allegedly, the Oisin player did not agree with this decision either. Allegedly.

I was at the other end of the pitch and only really saw the refree leaving the grounds so this is all second hand information. Allegedly

Oisin's v St Peters Abandoned Game

There seems to e a lot of alledgedly going on here, from a man who was on the pitch, its amazing how no Oisnin's man has any clue what went on. will we ever find out the real truth or will the actions of one (allegedly) cost the county another referre, of which we are already in desperate need off.

hough_ender (UK) - Posts: 82 - 22/05/2010 09:24:29    655106

JM v StB-

Could be a great game. Brendans have looked good and should ask a few questions of the big dogs. Questions that will ultimitly be answered. JM by 4 points.

CC v Oisin-

OIsins havent quite clicked yet, but on their day will give anyone a game. Im opting for CuChulainns though as they have been exteremley impressive thus far. CC by 4 points.

StP v JFK-

Comfortable day in store for the manchester team. Peters by 15 points.

StBH v StA

Benidicts to come through this with out too much trouble. St Benidicts by 7 points

Yer Man (None) - Posts: 286 - 22/05/2010 20:40:51    655529

Houghender-

Were you at the refereeing coarse today at St Kentigergans (You know the place that sponcers ur club)?

No you werent.

Oisin had 3 representives there, Brendans only one and he is already a ref.

If you are that concerned about the refereeing situation in the county then do something about. (and I dont mean post anonamously on a message board)

OisinAbu (UK) - Posts: 12 - 22/05/2010 20:54:15    655540

I see the county board in their great wisdom have fixed all 3 next weekends games at seperate venues.
Surely there could have been at least 1 double header which would have boosted the crowds over the bank holiday weekend??!!

Patrick, Paul and John (None) - Posts: 81 - 24/05/2010 14:04:41    656566

Where are the games schedule to be played?

chickoboy (Fermanagh) - Posts: 10 - 24/05/2010 17:06:40    656909

Absolute joke again this year. Why can the county board not see that a double header final will help promote the game within the county, and give the Pennine league the finish it deserves. A real lack of vision I'm afraid.

Back to the football, Mitchels came through as I expected, with saying that I think come championship time this Brendans team are capabile of being a major player.

Peters come through as JFK dont field- poor form.

As for St Annes and Oisins coming through their respective semi-finals, great results. Both teams travelled to Leeds as underdogs and come away with the spoils. That means 4 Lancashire clubs make up the finals, very dissapointing for the Yorkshire teams.

Anyone at the games who can give us a run down?

On to the finals and I tip a narrow win for Mitchels in division 1, no more than a few points. Tough to call.

St Peters should come through comfortably in div 2s final.

Yer Man (None) - Posts: 286 - 24/05/2010 20:36:38    657239

Any other predictions for the weekend games??

Div 1 Final:
Mitchels are still waitin on players returning, no doubt they will be all there nad they will have a different stronger team come august championship time, but have still a strong enough outfit to see off the Oisins lads. Oisins seem to be missing half a team this weekend from what ive heard and may struggle to get a team... Maybe this is all mies tho, weil see/hear on sunday.
As both teams seem to be missing players still and neither firing on all fronts, il go on past form and Mitchels by 2.

Div 2 Final:
How Peters are even playin in this league is beyond me (and the rest of Lancashire) theyd admit themselves there two worst performances of the year cames in th Div 2 final, and Wolfetone final last year. They are much better than Brendans (last year anyway) so will have a point to prove.
They should be far too strong for Anns who will be missing Willie Ahern from reports ive heard (sent off in semi).
St. Peters by 8

Tony_Soprano (UK) - Posts: 28 - 26/05/2010 12:59:07    658776

Mitchells by 5 this weekend, all may depend on what side is put out by both clubs.

Peters to win but by how much would be a complete guess, all depends on what side Anns put out. I'll go with Peters by 9 though.

Interesting championship this year:

are Mitchells are as strong as last year?

How strong are Peters, they've yet to really play a competitive game but have added some quality players to last year.

How strong are Brendans? they've made a good account of themselves in the Pennine League but will this continue to the championship.

What about Oisins, how many have they lost how many players added to the squad? They've had a couple of good results in recent weeks.

Not sure about Anns and Lawrences this year, expect them to be 5th & 6th but both capable of causing an upset.

BigTom2050 (Tipperary) - Posts: 289 - 26/05/2010 15:33:30    659012

Tony_Soprano
County: UK

658776 Any other predictions for the weekend games??

Div 1 Final:
Mitchels are still waitin on players returning, no doubt they will be all there nad they will have a different stronger team come august championship time, but have still a strong enough outfit to see off the Oisins lads. Oisins seem to be missing half a team this weekend from what ive heard and may struggle to get a team... Maybe this is all mies tho, weil see/hear on sunday.
As both teams seem to be missing players still and neither firing on all fronts, il go on past form and Mitchels by 2.

Div 2 Final:
How Peters are even playin in this league is beyond me (and the rest of Lancashire) theyd admit themselves there two worst performances of the year cames in th Div 2 final, and Wolfetone final last year. They are much better than Brendans (last year anyway) so will have a point to prove.
They should be far too strong for Anns who will be missing Willie Ahern from reports ive heard (sent off in semi).
St. Peters by 8

still going on about this, beaten fair and square. 5 games between the sides last year, one draw, 2 wins each and 2 trophies for Brendans.

Anyway wins for Mitchells and Peters over the weekend.

Take_yer_points (Galway) - Posts: 151 - 26/05/2010 19:07:30    659356

Pennine League Div 1 Final JM V Oisins - JM by 5/6 pts - most Oisins lads missing cos Bank Holiday (maybe likewise for JM as well!)
Pennine League Div 2 Final: SPe V SA - SPe by 10+ pts - should be way too strong for SA who will be missing 1 of better players on the day!
Pennine League Shield Final: SLa V BP - SLa by 10+ pts - too good for the Huddersfield based team. (Hopefully I can get my predictions right this time, there are only 3 games this weekend!!)

YILeeds (UK) - Posts: 15 - 27/05/2010 09:46:33    659601

As a peters man i doubt anyone from us wrote that. Personally i think brendans and ourselves were on par last year! We went champ final they won the silverware. I do think that manchester teams are on the up and ourselves brendans and oisins are gonna be scrapping in out, Jms are defo going to get a bit more of a battle!

Peters for peninne 2!

Jaxie (UK) - Posts: 28 - 28/05/2010 13:38:48    660783

Predictions for Sunday:

Division One final: Mitchels and Oisin both really difficult to tell with these teams at this time of the year what kind of team will turn out for each of them, however I do feel Oisin are getting close to Mitchels so I will go against the grain and say Oisin to sneak it by 1.

Division 2 final: Peters and Anne's: I think this will be a closer game than all expects, Annes went to Leeds last week and got a result no one expected. I know Peters beat them a few weeks ago by a big score however I dont think Anne's were at full strenght, all that said however I still expect Peters to close this one out by 6 or so

tyronemanc (Tyrone) - Posts: 163 - 28/05/2010 13:46:23    660794

Any results from Sunday's Pennine league finals?

spyboy (Antrim) - Posts: 343 - 01/06/2010 12:19:36    664027

I know Mitchells beat Oisins by 8 points, Peters beat Anns but not sure by how much.

BigTom2050 (Tipperary) - Posts: 289 - 01/06/2010 12:35:32    664068

What is the logic behind oisins only plyin 13 a side in a final against mitchells and leavin about 6 boys togged out on the bench. surely dosen say much for the bench!

redhanddefender (Tyrone) - Posts: 913 - 01/06/2010 13:29:08    664177

Redhand the reason we played 13 was because we were missing a number of our regular back line due to weddings and a stag do. We had five not six subs all of whom were forwards. We needed our full compliment of subs in case of injury. This happened to us in the first couple of minutes when our corner back went off injured and we had to bring a forward off the bench to deputise at corner back. The rules of the competition allow for 13 a side if one club wants it. Don't forget in our first game against ye at the start of the year was 13 a side at your request. Besides it is only the Pennine league match played on a bank holiday weekend and come championship time we will have our full compliment. Thats when the real football gets played. Although I'm sure you'll still be sat on the bench while the big boys play. At least you have the hoganstand to play out your games on.

Comeonthetown (UK) - Posts: 57 - 01/06/2010 14:44:35    664318

Stinging stuff there!! Anyone at the two finals who can delve into a few details, cheers.

So congradulations to Mitchels to their latest Pennine League trimuph, and Peters to thier promotion to the Lancashire, I mean Pennine League division 1!!

Onwards and upwars, lets turn the attention to tomorrows action...

Wolfetone League-

St Brendans v St Patricks
If the Chester lads manage to field I can´t see them having the strength in depth to worry Brendans, minus the named 12. This should be comfortable for the Hough-enders! Brendans by 13 points.

Lancashire senior league

St Lawrences v Oisin

Oisin won an earlier meeting between the teams in the Pennine League. But will the weekends games have a bearing? Lawrences hammered Bros Pearse in their best result of the year while Oisin failed at the final hurdle... again! Could be a close game. Oisin by 3 points.

St Peters v John Mitchels
The most interesting of tommorows fixtures. Pennine leagues two champions face off. Peters have been flying so far but how will they cope with the step up. I feel that Mitchels still have another gear or two but will they be making the increase this early? Mitchels by 5 points.

Yer Man (None) - Posts: 286 - 02/06/2010 10:11:28    665140

well done to Mitchels on another title on Sunday!

14yardfree (UK) - Posts: 57 - 02/06/2010 13:36:00    665416

Last night's results http://tinyurl.com/32ocsh2 and this weekends fixtures http://tinyurl.com/346v3oh are on the Lancashire website.

Any predictions? How do we think Lancashire will don on Sunday?

sparks_uuc (Fermanagh) - Posts: 91 - 04/06/2010 09:15:00    667198

So it seems oisins beat Lawrences, I thought they would.

But WHAT a result for Peters against John Mitchels. 6 points is almost (dare I say it) comfortable!

Were JM missing loads or are Peters major players?

Ayway this weekends junior championship predictions-

Sat 5th June

St Annes v St Brendans-
I can only see one winner here, Brendans are much stronger in depth although Annes have been going well in the junior league and should be competitive. However an upset here is unlikely. Brendans by 6 points.

Oisin v St Lawrences-
Oisins have won recent senior league and wolfetone cup games against Lawrences and the stretford team will be happy to see the back of them. Cant see an upset here. Oisin by 8 points.

St Peters v John Mitchels
A revenge mission may be in store here for Mitchels after last nights defeat to Peters. They should cope with the exclusion of their named 12 much easier that the Manchester team, who could be in for a backlash. Mitchels by 7 points.

Anyone else with predictions?

Yer Man (None) - Posts: 286 - 04/06/2010 16:28:14    667776