Lancashire Season 2010

I hear county training is over this way in Liverpool tonight. I will be interested to see who comes over from Manchester.
Does anybody know what the set up is like this year, who is running it and who will make the starting 15?

DBlue_and_Yella (UK) - Posts: 30 - 04/05/2010 10:44:43    636932

I'd say the majority of the team will consist of Mitchels lads. Oisins and Peters to have a few each maybe. And the rest will do well to muster a few representitives on the bench. With saying that it will be interesting to see if any of Brendans new faces will get the call. Plenty of talent though, if channelled correctly it would be some team.

Yer Man (None) - Posts: 286 - 04/05/2010 14:50:36    637351

Heres my predictions for tonights games. If they are on that is!

Div 1-

Bros Pearse v St Lawrences
Huge game for both clubs here. Both teams have lost all games so far, although Lawrences may feel happier with their performances. Home advantage for the Hudderfield team will go some way to levelling up the odds here but I still fancy the Manchester team. Lawrences by 6 points

Div 2-

St Peters v St Anns
Peters have been flying so far and will take some stopping. St Anns havent had much action yet but have the personael to make life difficult for any team. I fancy Anns to make the semis, but Peters should win tonight. Peters by 8 points.

Young Irelands v Hugh O'Neills
Going by the league tables, these are the two worse teams in the whole Pennine league currently! (Sorry lads) I would expect YIs to go some way to rectifing that tonight. Young Irelands by 5 points.

JFKs v St Benidicts
Both teams are neck and neck in the race for second spot. I would imagine they will both make the semis. St benidicts will be favourates as they look to gain promotion back to Div 1 at the first attempt. benidicts by 7 points.

Phew, the weekend predictions will be posted tommorrow, busy busy.

Yer Man (None) - Posts: 286 - 06/05/2010 14:34:43    639603

Didn't get down to watch the county training on tuesday night due to work. Was there much of a squad present, I heard close to thirty so not bad numbers. When is the first game?

DBlue_and_Yella (UK) - Posts: 30 - 06/05/2010 15:41:50    639725

see on the lancashire website there was a couple of junior games last night.

Peters hammered Anns and Mitchells beat Brendans by a point.

Anyone at the games?

BigTom2050 (Tipperary) - Posts: 289 - 07/05/2010 14:27:36    640601

BigTom, that Peters game was in Pennine league wasnt it? Other results from that league are that Benedicts beat JFK by 2-6 to 2-8 last night and Young Irelands beat O'Neills by a point on wednesday night! Lawrences beat Bros pearse in league 1 by 6/7

BennyHarp (UK) - Posts: 62 - 07/05/2010 14:54:19    640636

100% then... Im gettin good at this! Here goes for the weekend...

Sat 8th May

Pennine league Div 2-

St Peters v Hugh O'Neills
Top against bottom in division 2. My best advice would be to pick a number between 1 and 10, add 6 and then muntiply by two. Thats roughly what will between the sides! Peters by 18 points.

Lancashire senior league-

Ellan Vannin Gaels v St Brendans
I fully expect Brendans to go over the water and claim a comfortable win. Peters done just that a couple of weeks ago, and Brendans will be a similar prospect for the islanders. Brendans by 9 points.

Sunday may 9th

Lancashire senior league-

St Lawrences v John Mitchels
There was only a kick of the ball between the sides in the pennine league game a few weeks back. That game was in Liverpool. This time with home advantage Lawrences may want to go one step further. I cant see it. Mitchels by 7 points.

Yer Man (None) - Posts: 286 - 07/05/2010 18:38:17    640886

Well lads. Now that the majority of pennine leagues games have finished anyone any predictions for who wins in both leagues and who goes down from league 1?
Also if yer well informed who will meet who in semi's?

My guess is mitchells will win league 1, brendans as a dark horse. Who knows!
Peters to win league 2 would be surprised if otherwise.
Bros pearse to go down.

Jaxie (UK) - Posts: 28 - 12/05/2010 10:22:29    644485

12/05/10 Yorkshire League Div 2: SBH V HON - draw. 15/05/10 Pennine League Div 1: SBr V Ois - Ois by 4 pts. Pennine League Div 2: SA V JFK - JFK by 6 pts. Pennine League Div 1 - Cuch V JM - JM by 5 pts. Pennine League Div 2: SBH V YI - SBH by 4 pts. HON V SPa - HON by 5 pts. Hope I get these right!! LOL

YILeeds (UK) - Posts: 15 - 12/05/2010 14:53:44    644842

Lads, can anyone explain what happened in the junior game last week between Peters and Oisins? Is it true the ref walked off?

tyronemanc (Tyrone) - Posts: 163 - 18/05/2010 13:23:37    650852

tyronemanc

650852 Lads, can anyone explain what happened in the junior game last week between Peters and Oisins? Is it true the ref walked off?

Tyronemanc sure being a Peters man - why dont you ask one of your team mates?

Or do you really know what happened?

If so please enlighten us all?

The_Bookmaker (Tyrone) - Posts: 82 - 18/05/2010 14:30:48    650948

An Oisin player twisted his knee and was lying prone in the middle of the pitch around his own 45m line. The referee allowed play to continue and allegedly the injured player on the ground was not happy with the referee's decision. After the ball went dead (in the Oisin goal) the referee approached the injured player, still on the ground, with the intention of booking him. Allegedly, the Oisin player did not agree with this decision either. Allegedly.

I was at the other end of the pitch and only really saw the refree leaving the grounds so this is all second hand information. Allegedly.

sparks_uuc (Fermanagh) - Posts: 91 - 18/05/2010 15:21:44    651008

I had no idea this occured, interesting stuff! Who'll get the points there or will it be replayed?

On another note, was anyone at the Oisins Brendans draw on Saturday, or Cuchulainns six point win over Mitchels?

Yer Man (None) - Posts: 286 - 18/05/2010 16:38:40    651127

Bookmaker I see there is no problem with your powers of deduction, however as I am not in the country at the moment and was not at the time of the incident I was just seeking some clarification.

I was also trying to give the Oisin's lads a chance to have your say....

I have spoken with a few Peters lads however it was only brought to my attention when I saw on the Oisin's web site that the game was abondened.

tyronemanc (Tyrone) - Posts: 163 - 18/05/2010 17:07:16    651177

any update on the abandoned game last week?

Anyone at any of the games last night? see there were wins for Mitchells, Brendans & Oisins

BigTom2050 (Tipperary) - Posts: 289 - 21/05/2010 09:49:43    654158

Bendans vs Mitchells - Hard to seperate these on current form but I reckon Mitchells will step it up now that we're getting to the business end of the season. - Mitchells by 6
Cu-Chulainns vs Oisins - Cu-Chulainns look very strong and consistent so can only see one winner here, Oisins yet to get going really.
I think it'll be a close final between the Liverpool/Newcastle clubs - Cu-Chulainns by 8
St Benedicts vs St Anns - Based on recent form and Ann's less than remarkable away form I'd expect a fairly comfortable win for the Leeds team here. Whoever prevails will have their work cut out in the final.
St Peter's vs JFK - St Peters have been excellent in this competition so far this year and have yet to be really tested. Hopefully this will come about in the final - Peters by 17 or a walkover.

tHarps (UK) - Posts: 1 - 21/05/2010 09:50:05    654159

St Brendan's disposed of Peter's last night in their first Wolfetone Cup match. Final score 2-19 to 1-08. Brendan's looked comfortable throughout.

bitter_wee_man (Fermanagh) - Posts: 15 - 21/05/2010 09:59:49    654166

Bendans vs Mitchells - Disapointing result for Mitchells the other week against Cu-Chulainns, has their veneer of invincibillity been stripped away this year? Maybe but I can't see them being beat this weekend. Mitchells by 6

Cu-Chulainns vs Oisins - Cu-Chulainns have been good this year but Oisins are always tough to beat, the pitch at Beeston could also be a leveller- Oisins by the odd point.

St Benedicts vs St Anns - After beating Anns earlier in the season benedicts will be confident going into this game, home advantage and current form say home win- Benedicts by 4

St Peter's vs JFK - I can't see JFK's travelling to Manchester for this, they don't seem to show up to games if they think they're going to get beat- walkover for Peters

Also- where will the finals be held? Has it been decided yet?

Ridge (UK) - Posts: 1 - 21/05/2010 10:54:51    654246

Pennine League Div 1 Semi-Finals: SBr V JM - JM by 5/6 pts; CC V OS - CC by 4/5 pts. Pennine League Div 2 Semi-Finals: SBH V SA - SBH by 8/9 pts or W/O for SBH cos SA don't travel! SPe V JFK - SPe by 17+ or W/O for SPe cos JFK don't travel! Bring it on lads!! Wot u think 'Yer Man'?!

YILeeds (UK) - Posts: 15 - 21/05/2010 11:40:52    654321

Mitchells by 5 points
CC by 6 points
St B by 8 points
Peters by 20 points

BigTom2050 (Tipperary) - Posts: 289 - 21/05/2010 11:50:40    654339