Lancashire Season 2010

looks like Brendans are going for it this year, 2 challenge games coming up in the next few weeks

BigTom2050 (Tipperary) - Posts: 289 - 11/02/2010 11:19:32    558314

fair play to them! be good to see a team apart from the norm have a go this year

Hows Oisins military boy fairing out?

14yardfree (UK) - Posts: 57 - 11/02/2010 12:04:12    558380

I honestly believe at a minimun Brendans will cause a few upsets this year!! U heard it here first..
Any word on any clubs gettin new players.. of high caliber that is??
I know there is suppsed to be an influx of lads over to the UK but think thats mainly to London, any ex-county standard/sigerson players joinin any Lancashire clubs?
Oisins can train as much as they want wi the army (or whatever, never heard of it) but if they do what they did last year i.e run riot at the start of the year then run out of steam and throw the towel in like they basically did come crunch time then its pointless............

Tony_Soprano (UK) - Posts: 28 - 11/02/2010 13:01:14    558482

Yeah it seems St Brendans have a pretty hectic pre-season scedule. Fair play to them, they are obviously looking to hit the ground running in div 1 of the pennine league. Any reports of who the 'new faces' they have are?

14yardfeee- I think Tonysoprano (5/2/2010 12:36:58) has already answered your query re Oisins training, on this thread. You musta missed it!

Anyone got the fixtures yet?

Yer Man (None) - Posts: 286 - 11/02/2010 14:14:43    558576

Are Peters not up to much this year then?

14yardfree (UK) - Posts: 57 - 11/02/2010 16:20:47    558776

Lads,
I think we all need to remember where Brendans finished last season in the championship- which is all that matters in Lancahsire. They finished 5th, behind JM, Peters, Lawrences and Oisins, all of whom beat them easily if I remember correctly? I do expect them to improve on last year- they'll proably overtake Lawrences as the third best team in Manchester but they'll still be some way behind Peters and Oisins when it really matters!!!
However if their team performs as well as their PRO has been performing recently then they may make the semi finals of the championship. they'll be no world beaters in my opinion. I've never seen a Division 2 trophy so over hyped in all my years.

14 yard free- I think the rumour you've heard about Oisins may have been spread by someone in the JM camp in the hope of scaring ye boys into some action. they may feell that Oisins will be your biggest rivals again this year and world of military trainers is a way of getting ye jeed up??!!

At the end of the day I cant see a change to the current standings in Lancashire- JM, followed by Oisins, followed by Peters.

Patrick, Paul and John (None) - Posts: 81 - 11/02/2010 16:29:04    558790

if every season was like the last we'd live in a strange word john paul

BigTom2050 (Tipperary) - Posts: 289 - 11/02/2010 17:15:11    558844

Heard Peter's have signed up a very tidy centre back from Mayo for the coming season I hear.... they have some big physical lads up the middle for the new season....

gaelicfan2009 (UK) - Posts: 2 - 11/02/2010 21:53:38    559188

St Peters with an already strong base of players will be very dangerous if they strengthen the right areas. Could be hard to beat!

Yer Man (None) - Posts: 286 - 12/02/2010 10:55:26    559343

correct me if im wrong but are st peters not in division 2 this year, if so how can they be better that st brendans as they are in division 1 i think and beat them in the wolfe tone and league final! brendans might improve this year, havent heard of any new signings, oisins will be full of hot air and then fall apart, mitchells will be mitchells. not sure about lawrences, they are very quite, must be preparing well for the season.
ne thoughts on what isle of man will be like?

horsebox45 (UK) - Posts: 38 - 12/02/2010 11:07:58    559360

well its gonna be interesting - JM will be favourites but getting the hunger back is always an issue with any side who win regularly

My predictions are for Peters to be the strongest Manc team with Brendans and Oisins battling it out to compete from there on in

14yardfree (UK) - Posts: 57 - 12/02/2010 11:17:30    559373

The hungers back!

redhanddefender (Tyrone) - Posts: 913 - 12/02/2010 11:20:55    559374

I would go along with that, Mitchels still the team to beat and Peters may be the best of the rest.

I'd count St Peters a better team than Brendans because they showed it when it reakky mattered last season- the championship. (apart from the final!)
Dont forget horsebox, Peters beat Brendans 2-22 to 0-2 in the championship.

Brendans looked good in spells but cant be classed too highly until they improve their consistancy. My current lancashire rankings-

1. J Mitchels
2. St. Peters
3. Oisins
4. St. Lawrences
5. St. Brendans
6. St Anns

I would say though, thers nothing between Lawrences and Brendans in my estimation, Lawrences got the nod for getting to the championship semi final.

Yer Man (None) - Posts: 286 - 12/02/2010 11:33:46    559390

yer man is obviously a Lawrences man

Won't be much between Peters, Oisins & Brendans in Manchester. Suppose it all depends on new signings. Lawrences and Anns have no chance i'm afraid.

BigTom2050 (Tipperary) - Posts: 289 - 12/02/2010 11:45:37    559406

Big Tom, I aws just stating my opinion of the rankings, much the same way as national soccer teams are ranked. Just because one team is below another doesnt mean they are necessarily a worse team,

Let me explain. Brendans won division 2 of the pennine league, good achievement, but Lawrences were already division 1 (were they reached the semi-final). Brendans won the wolfetone cup, Lawrences didnt take part. So to the championship... Lawrences beat Brendans 1-9 to 1-6, they progressed to the semi-final, Brendans didnt.

Further to that let me say, I believe Brendans probably have a better squad than Lawrences. But until they do it on the big stage they wont go up in my rankings anyway!

Yer Man (None) - Posts: 286 - 12/02/2010 12:25:17    559464

Yep, Brendans are rubbish!!! We only beat Peter's in 2 finals last year, must have been a fluke. The strongest Peter's team we faced all year was in the Wolfe tone final which we won, we had an injury crisis against Peter's in the championship, the Peter's lads will tell you that.

Seems to be plenty of people on here ready to knock us but we didn't do such a bad job for a team back in its first years as a senior club, we made plenty of progression.

Last season Peter's were overall the most consistent team in Manchester, but ask them would they rather have won 2 trophies or got to a championship final and I'm sure you know the answer fella's!!!

As for this year who knows, strongest in Manchester will be between Oisins, Peter's and ourselves.

Hopefully Anns and Lawrences have picked up a few players to make them more competitive

A lot of nonsense from people on here just admit which club you're involved in.

For instance which clubs are Big Tom & Yer Man involved in? They seem to have plenty of opinions. All the Lawrences lads i've spoke to know there behind us.

Take_yer_points (Galway) - Posts: 151 - 12/02/2010 12:43:06    559495

Jezas Take_yer_points calm down fella!

Now if you take a deap breath and look over my previous posts- you'll see I actually believe Brendans are a better team than Lawrences are, and they are a match for anything in Manchester, on their day.
I only done the old rankings as a bit of fun, no offence intended. But I maintain my sentiment that- For Brendans to move up they need to improve their consistancy. If they showed the form that brought them the 2 pieces of silverware for the whole season Id be here talikin about how they are the number 1 team in the city.

Noone has called them rubbish pal. In fact I believe they could well improve from last year and have another great season this year.
St Brendans only came back to senior football last season, so well done to them.

Now TYP, relax, keep breathing, and realise we're not all out to get you. I was merely giving MY OPINION. I thought an OPINION BOARD would be a good place to do so!!

Yer Man (None) - Posts: 286 - 12/02/2010 13:18:58    559548

Oh and someone get redhanddefender a sandwich, the poor buggers starvin!

Yer Man (None) - Posts: 286 - 12/02/2010 16:44:41    559789

yer man v take yer points pay per view scrap on TG 4.... the only way to settle the whole thing

wear your club colours of course...

MITCHELS ABU!

14yardfree (UK) - Posts: 57 - 12/02/2010 16:47:34    559795

TAKE YER POINTS!

You've just asked and the answer is no we'd rather perform well in the championship!

We would have like to won both pennine and wolfetone, however the latter not so much we didnt even play a game in this before the final. Nethertheless for us to be stuck in pennine 2 for another year is a pain we should come out of it this year!

Right so lads looking forward to years football & banter ahead.

Jaxie (UK) - Posts: 28 - 17/02/2010 09:02:25    563794