Lancashire Season 2010

anyone any thought on who will be the team to watch this year? everyone knows mitchells will be hard to beat but i heard on the grapevine that oisins have recruited a royal marines drill sergeant for pre-season training. they must mean business this year!

horsebox45 (UK) - Posts: 38 - 02/02/2010 08:58:25    548910

lol - royal marines trainer..!

whos gonna show them how to play football though!!

14yardfree (UK) - Posts: 57 - 02/02/2010 11:20:08    549045

did any Manchester club with any silverware last year?

BigTom2050 (Tipperary) - Posts: 289 - 02/02/2010 12:52:30    549170

nah...!

JM won 2 Senior leagues and Championship

Chester won Junior Champiosnhip i think?

14yardfree (UK) - Posts: 57 - 02/02/2010 18:11:56    549639

brendans won the wolfe tone cup and the 2nd division as far as im aware. think oisins have lost a few players this year due to retirements and falling outs etc
be interesting to c if mitchells have any new players this year, the county championship need to get more competitive.

horsebox45 (UK) - Posts: 38 - 02/02/2010 18:12:16    549641

hard to get excited about Lancashire at present - I think the league and champioship needs looked at to make it a bit more exciting tbh

Have Manchester teams seen an influx of many new players?

14yardfree (UK) - Posts: 57 - 03/02/2010 12:35:34    550228

Not sure abt Oisins having a royal marines guy training them, my mate tells me they havent even started training yet.
I know the rest of the Manchester teams have started training already though. I havent heard of many new signings yet over this way.

What about the teams in chester and liverpool... Started training yet? Any new players?

Yer Man (None) - Posts: 286 - 04/02/2010 09:41:21    551152

not to my knowledge... no training yet in liverpool ( too cold )!!

14yardfree (UK) - Posts: 57 - 04/02/2010 10:52:19    551214

chester were terrible last year but they may have got a few new players due to the amount of irish students in the area, liverpool needs at least 1 other team, its too big of a city to just have one team. ive heard oisins arent training as a group yet but they have a strength and conditioning programme that they are to follow set up by this army boy before they meet up together to train, they are trying to keep it very hush hush!!!!

horsebox45 (UK) - Posts: 38 - 05/02/2010 09:05:24    552308

HORSEBOX- I agree with your points abt the Chester and Liverpool teams. Hopefully Chester will be stronger after their fledgling year. Liverpool has enough Irish to sustain at least 2 or 3 teams, but unless someone bites the bullet and establishes another team it will never happen, no doubt we'll be havving this discussion again this time next year.
You must be in the know about Oisins horsebox, my mate plays forthem and hasnt heard theat news!
I see on the main page St Brendans have started 5 weeks of circuit training before they have 2 outdoor sessions and a friendly against Rodger Casements, some build-up- They must be really going for it too!

Yer Man (None) - Posts: 286 - 05/02/2010 10:20:26    552374

Liverpool wil proably not have another club in the forseeable future, there is plenty of fellas available in the pool to justify it, but many of these fellas would rather talk the talk and say they are part of a succesful club who wins rather than get games for themselves in another/ new Club...
I know this for fact as i know some of them, and they brag about Mitchels doin this and that, but they wouldnt be the ones carrying the team thru lancashire and further afield (if&when they can)... Another club in Liverpool could grow, but like i say, too many wanna pretend they are with Mitchels but only really contribute to the slagging and drinking........
I think Brendans will be very strong this year, a club to look out for, they finished strong, signed a few players end of last season / start of this one, and seem to have many of their players wi the right attitude now... Other clubs in manchester should be wary, i think theyve now got their collective heads screwed on....
Peters mainly have been trainin away woi the Uni sides so they as usual will be there or thereabouts..
StLawrences started last week i hear, expect somethin like lastyear outta them.
Dont knwo much about St.Anns, but their young English born players are improving each year
Oisins havent started trainin yet at all, think they start once a wek in a few weeks... I know some of them very well and i can ssure u any talk of a drill sergeant or whatever is off the mark, i think sometime in the future they may be doin some collective gymwork.. As for this programme they have.. Scrap that, some of them are goin to the gym doin weights, but im guessin most clubs have players doin this, this time of year...I hear their thinkin is ists a long season and not to peak too soon....

Tony_Soprano (UK) - Posts: 28 - 05/02/2010 12:36:58    552552

Wise up would ye about liverpool needing 2 teams. Everyone at mitchells happy because its competitive training and competitive for places which drives the whole squad on. 2/3 teams would just dilute things and we would descent in to a team in the style of the shappy teams up in manchester

Do all the drill training ye's wante we are back next week and will win everything we enter this year

redhanddefender (Tyrone) - Posts: 913 - 05/02/2010 14:32:13    552692

Thus proving my point, all happy to be part of a winning club rather that play the game itself on a team playin every week
Yet im sure u contribute greatly to the drinking and sending comments like this..

Im sure the starting team Mitchels have arent posting petty replies like that...

Tony_Soprano (UK) - Posts: 28 - 05/02/2010 15:21:36    552752

well said soprano- red hand's comment is a typical tyrone over confident rant! how can players be happy sittin on the bench and not playin week in week out, it doesnt make sense. i have seen some of the players lining out for mitchells in recent years, some of them are below par club players in ireland and when the going gets tough when they enter the all britain they just wilt, the handfull of good players they have pull them out of holes. for the good of the county at least one more team needs to be established in liverpool.

horsebox45 (UK) - Posts: 38 - 05/02/2010 15:32:44    552768

Exactly, if the manchester teams combined to get 1-2 teams they would be much stronger teams and would probably beat mitchels im sure, but the lads there wanna play football and arent content on benching it, hense the spread of players&teams rite across manchester...
Its those few players of genuine ability that make Mitchels stand out, not the fact they mite have 50 fellas lookin the odd game, when only about 20 really train properly every week and realistically have a chance of a game.....
A second club would give these other lads lads a game, get them more interested and ud never know instead of hidin behind this they mite walk the walk instead of talkin it on this...

Tony_Soprano (UK) - Posts: 28 - 05/02/2010 15:50:10    552789

well go and set up a team ye.The fact that nobody has set up another team should underline the fact people are satisfied with the the club. I didnt say people are happy sitting ont he bench but if you dont get on at home you dont go away and set up a club or sign for a different club. Ye get stuck in to training and fight for a place on the team, obviously boys not happy not getting on but such is life. Our training games be as hard as any games up in Manchester and hopefully have a lot more of them this year.

And how in the name of god do we crumble when it comes to All Britain?

redhanddefender (Tyrone) - Posts: 913 - 05/02/2010 16:26:03    552831

Redhand defender. There were some interesting points raised there, you answered them well. Some of the points you raise are indeed valid and well put... But why do you feel it necessary to use every post to have a go at 'manchester clubs'?

As I said in threads last season I get on well with alot of your teammates, A good bunch of lads. But your tone and downright arrogance makes it so easy to dislike you, and hard to like your club. I know you are certainly not the 'official mitchels spokesman', but your rants will undoubtedly turn alot of people against yous.

A touch of humility wouldn't go a miss.

Yer Man (None) - Posts: 286 - 05/02/2010 17:51:29    552935

im not tryin to get at mitchells, im just going on the all britain final last year, i think they are a good side and did well to reach the junior all ireland final a couple of years ago. i just think another club should be formed in liverpool, no matter what red hand thinks they blow their achievements out of proportion if you consider that they are the only team in the city.

horsebox45 (UK) - Posts: 38 - 05/02/2010 19:00:23    553022

I see there is a link on the St Peters website to the 2010 fixture list. My limited computer skills wont allow me to open it! (stpetersgaa.intheteam.com)

Can some of you computer literate wizzkids have a wee look see, and let us know if the fixtures are out or what!!?

Cheers

Yer Man (None) - Posts: 286 - 10/02/2010 17:29:25    557784

http://stpetersgaa.intheteam.com/site/files/8486/fixtures_2010.xls

that is the link... should open in excel

UOL_abu (UK) - Posts: 21 - 10/02/2010 17:34:58    557796