nocky County: Wexford Posts: 1244
For a club like thistle jackie mcnamara is a huge signing and unlike Keane he is a from a true celtic background his father playing before him. I honestly believed he wants to enjoy the experience of an olf firm game. Nothing else like it in europe. I also don't believe he will score more than 15 goals which I think is Scot McDonald's total. However, unlike most celtic fans I do rate Tony Mowbry as a manager and also like some of his signings. This one wasn't one of his and was probably brokered at a party in a certain gombeen man's house. I am not anti Celti by the way. My family for genertaions are supporters. I 'm just turned off by the plastic Irish marketing strategy eminating from them at the moment.
thistle_harps (UK) - Posts: 879 - 02/02/2010 15:40:10
'I was wondering what the basis is for your theory that the Championship is better than the SPL.'
Simply the calibre of player and standard of football in the Championship is much higher than that of the SPL. Think that's the best way to judge the competitiveness of a league
pplocal (Tyrone) - Posts: 5878 - 02/02/2010 15:42:26
02/02/2010 15:08:56 Liamwalkinstown County: Dublin Posts: 2163
549323 really Nock? Is that why Mowbray spent most of January trying to sell Scott Brown…..according to…….Scott Brown………..!!! And for the record, Ki is completely unrproven, Corssas is rubbish, the new david Fernandez, and McGeady is a poor mans Bobby Petta!!!!!! __________
Mowbray spent January "trying to sell Scott Brown". Really Liam? Here is a link to the statement issued by Celtic FC on the unfounded rumours published in the Daily Record (Rangers propaganda paper). It's pretty obvious that you haven't seen too many Celtic games from your comments as you clearly don't know what you're talking about. Your opinions appear to have been formed from reading the Sun, Mirror etc.
nocky (Wexford) - Posts: 2059 - 02/02/2010 15:47:17
Been out of the country for past 3 weeks. Just logged on cos I knew there would be a thread on this one. It was almost reassuring to read the familiar posts from the begrudgers, it must be the closest feeling I will ever get to being a member of the D.U.P. Anyhow I'm delighted Robbie has agreed to come to Celtic, apart from the football it again raises the profile of the Club around the world. Luckily I'm booked to go to Celtic Park for the Hearts game on the 10th hopefully I'll see Robbie make his home debut. As for the begrudgers well ye all know the answer to that one.
corkcelt (Cork) - Posts: 4388 - 02/02/2010 15:49:35
McGeady is a poor mans Bobby Petta!!!!!!
Bobby Petta whatever happened to him. Always remember fondly his treatment of Fernando Rickson.
thistle_harps (UK) - Posts: 879 - 02/02/2010 15:52:18
Nocky, thats what the club said, read what the player said and come back to me Good Man!
Liamwalkinstown (Dublin) - Posts: 8166 - 02/02/2010 15:52:42
So according to Corkcelt not supporting Celtic is akin to being in the DUP? You honestly have got to laugh
pplocal (Tyrone) - Posts: 5878 - 02/02/2010 15:55:27
02/02/2010 15:52:42 Liamwalkinstown County: Dublin Posts: 2167
549389 Nocky, thats what the club said, read what the player said and come back to me Good Man! ____________
"Obviously I am very disappointed with this article as there is no foundation to it. I have worked with the manager for some time and have a very good relationship with him. It's disappointing to have been out for so long with an injury but I'm looking forward to getting back to full fitness as soon as possible and getting back in to the team for the second half of the season." - Scott Brown
This what you're looking for Liamo?
nocky (Wexford) - Posts: 2059 - 02/02/2010 15:58:28
PomeroyPlunkett County: Tyrone Posts: 266
I think you should read Corkcelts post again. He wasn't incinuating anything of the sore. If you still have trouble figuring out what he meant then don't be afraid to ask.
Anyway I am absolutely thrilled to see Robbie at Parkhead. I think he will score a lot of goals. There are no defenders in the SPL who will be fit to handle him. All in all a good month on the transfer front. Watch as Rangers are gradually reeled in
Dr.Shephard (Leitrim) - Posts: 2187 - 02/02/2010 16:01:10
Nocky,
He is only trying to get a rise out of you! Stop taking the bait sure we all know Celtic or Mogga never wanted to sell Brown. Come on your better than that. Suprised you fell for it!
Liam - good fishing!
tonorio (Offaly) - Posts: 609 - 02/02/2010 16:04:39
I think nocky is right Liamo,
Read an interview with Scot Brown & he was very annoyed over the roumors & said that Tony Mowbray assured him that he was an integral part of his plans!
Jinxie (Meath) - Posts: 6347 - 02/02/2010 16:04:49
Sorry it took so long to reply thistle, I had to reply to some of the begrudgers. I know where you are coming from, and McNamara is no doubt a good signing for your club. He was a fantastic servant to Celtic and I wish him all the best. I just took exception to some of the points you made in your first post.
There were around 5,000 Celtic fans at Parkhead yesterday at midnight, and I think it's fair to assume that most of them were Scottish (any of the ones interviewed on SSN sounded Glaswegian anyway). Signing a player of the caliber and profile of Robbie Keane is fantastic for the whole football club and gives everyone a lift. Attendances have been falling, we are behind in the league, but there is now a new sense of optimism among fans.
Realistically, Keane will probably be gone again in the summer a la Bellamy, but Bellamy helped up win a league, hopefully Keane can do the same. The only hope Celtic have at the moment of enticing really top quality players to the club is to talk to players like Keane, who is a obviously a fan (despite what the begrudgers would have you believe). This is due to the league they are stuck in, not due to financial mismanagement.
I have always been firmly behind Mowbray, unlike a large proportion of our fans, and I agree with you to an extent that this transfer may not have been one of his (and I think he's done excellent business in the transfer market) - it came out of the blue. But is Mowbray happy to have Keane at the club? You have to believe so.
Scott McDonald has 10 league goals this year by the way, I don't see why Keane can't at least match that tally. 18months ago he was worth £20m, but because he got caught up in a power struggle between Rafa Benitez and the Liverpool board he is now deemed "past it" by the begrudgers. Pathetic really.
nocky (Wexford) - Posts: 2059 - 02/02/2010 16:19:01
Didn't say that Pomeroy. I said reading familiar begrudging posts from fellow Hoganstand posters, regardless of the topic, gives me a feeling of what it might be like to be a member of the D.U.P.
corkcelt (Cork) - Posts: 4388 - 02/02/2010 16:19:04
Hey Nocky, Mister Celtic Fanatic.....u say Bellamy helped ye win a championship.........oh really.......cos i thought the Gers won it that year?
Some "fan" you are ;) Just ask Scott McDonald!!!
Liamwalkinstown (Dublin) - Posts: 8166 - 02/02/2010 16:30:15
Apologies Corkcelt, I misread it
pplocal (Tyrone) - Posts: 5878 - 02/02/2010 16:33:51
nocky County: Wexford Posts: 1247
549268 02/02/2010 10:32:32 fredrickwood County: Roscommon Posts: 1832
548982 nocky County: Wexford Posts: 1238
"Sit in a pub any old firm day and listen to the neandrethals.... make you sick", you say. Well sit in a pub on Manchester or Liverpool Derby day and the hatred and bile from some "supporters" will make you sick too.
There is a difference between football hatred and football hatred/religious bigotry. _______________
I've watched Chelsea-Man Utd games in pubs and heard Drogba called all kinds of sickening names by United "fans". Don't try and make out that Celtic is the only club which is supported by (a minority of) low lifes fredrick.
You are the only person I know on here WHO CAN'T READ.I am well aware United and every other club has racists and thug element following the club.We do not however have religious bigots or People who follow the club for misguided reasons.
fredrickwood (Roscommon) - Posts: 2871 - 02/02/2010 16:40:25
My mistake Liam, I should have said "cup". Bellamy was a great signing for Celtic, remember his brilliant goal vs. Them? Hopefully Keane will turn out as good.
nocky (Wexford) - Posts: 2059 - 02/02/2010 16:45:28
Listen Nocky, i was only rising you mate. I hope Keano is a roaring success and I like most Irish lads would love to see him score in Ibrox Liamo
Liamwalkinstown (Dublin) - Posts: 8166 - 02/02/2010 16:54:37
Liamwalkinstown County: Dublin Posts: 2169
549481 Listen Nocky, i was only rising you mate. I hope Keano is a roaring success and I like most Irish lads would love to see him score in Ibrox Liamo
Dunno bout that Liamo, have ya ever seen any of the women at rangers games? Not great at all.
Jinxie (Meath) - Posts: 6347 - 02/02/2010 17:01:57
Nocky you're getting very heated there.It's a great signing for Celtic but it seems a backward move for Keane as he's gone to what is really a lower tier of football.That's the point that's being made.I don't think you could argue with that.I can't see him staying very long in the SPL.
northpole (Derry) - Posts: 739 - 02/02/2010 17:11:59