Robbie Keane to Celtic

I see it was keanes dream to play for Celtic, the club he supported as a boy. Funny that i though i heard that before sometime last year. Same player although it was a drifferent club. Footballers these days must think we have a very low IQ

THE EXTRAMAN (Donegal) - Posts: 554 - 02/02/2010 08:44:51    548902

Yeh, I would most definately like to clarify I am Scottish not British and no passport or international law will change that. On the subject of Robbie Keane call me cynical but have celtic not already employed a well past his sell by date Keane in the past. Sold loads of jerseys mind you. I have to say celtic has now become a plaything for gombeen irish owners and dodgy politicians. Going out to impress their friends by giving top Irish players the chance to play in a celtic V rangers match before they retire. Watch out for Shay Given signing in two years time. The Celtic fans will love it of course for the romance of it all, but will he score more goals than Scot McDonald? And how will he survive the racist and sectarian abuse that will greet him when he is out and about in Glasgow? All this Keano stuff has clouded the best bit of business done in the transfer window. Former true Celtic legend, Jackie McNamara, has signed for Partick Thistle. If he stays fit it will be a great signing for us and shore up our poor defence.

thistle_harps (UK) - Posts: 879 - 02/02/2010 09:14:12    548919

Keane has taken the lazy mans decision. Go to a club where you'll play against mediocre opposition and get paid the same.

johnnos bulls (None) - Posts: 527 - 02/02/2010 09:59:47    548944

01/02/2010 11:45:48
Rio Bingo

547979 It wont happen.

Every transfer window Celtic get linked with him. The same way they were always linked with Ian Harte, Damien Duff and half the Ireland international team. I heard Kilbane's name mentioned last week as well. I shudder at the very prospect of that.

Oh dear, seems I was completly wrong.

Liam well done sir!!

And Celtic, what a great signing!! Now close the gap on the Gers!

Rio Bingo (Tyrone) - Posts: 788 - 02/02/2010 10:02:37    548948

I love how the anti-Celtic brigade are out in force today. That's the best part of the Keane transfer, the sickened look on their faces as they try their best to put Keane and the club down. Fact is Celtic have signed a top, top player and they're raging. The biggest signing in the SPL for a long time, dominating the headlines on transfer deadline day. So what if it's only a 6month loan deal, Keane joining has lifted the whole club. Look at the turn out to welcome Keane last night in Parkhead.

thistle_harps, I know you were slightly tongue-in-cheek in your post, but it's funny how you insinuate that a 29-year old international is somehow past his best and then seem so triumphant at the signing of a truly over-the-hill Jackie McNamara. Will Keane score more goals than Scott McDonald you ask? Eh, yes. McDonald has been very poor this year and I would like to personally thank Gordon Strachan for taking him and all our rejects and giving us all that cash. Keane isn't a replacement for McDonald anyway, Morten Rasmussen is, so hard luck there.

Celtic have done excellent business this transfer window, eight signings, six of them first team players and two younger players for the future. Can't wait for the Killie game now to see Mowbray's team for the first time, now that we've finally got rid of Strachan's deadwood.

nocky (Wexford) - Posts: 2059 - 02/02/2010 10:30:21    548981

nocky
County: Wexford

548399 So Liam, you stopped supporting Celtic because of the idiots who associate themselves with the club on Old Firm Sundays. As a Celtic fan I too am embarrassed by the undesirable element who attach themselves to the club and think Celtic is part of the "cause" or something ridiculous like that. Truth is, Celtic Football Club is just that, a football club. Unlike Rangers sectarianism has never been a club policy, and Celtic FC is an apolitical organisation. It is not the fault of the club itself or genuine supporters that these undesirables attach themselves.

"Sit in a pub any old firm day and listen to the neandrethals.... make you sick", you say. Well sit in a pub on Manchester or Liverpool Derby day and the hatred and bile from some "supporters" will make you sick too.

There is a difference between football hatred and football hatred/religious bigotry.

fredrickwood (Roscommon) - Posts: 2871 - 02/02/2010 10:32:32    548982

all about diomansy kamara ....

Dhuibh (Down) - Posts: 281 - 02/02/2010 10:33:06    548984

Where to start with this "sensational news".Well first up on the McGeady thing,a worse footballer for Ireland I have never seen.This is the dude who with the last kick of our game with France sent a free,which was intended to be lobbed into the box, so far over the crossbar it was last seen rolling down the champs elyisees. A one eyed gofer who would have been better off declaring for the tartan army.
As for Keane goin to Celtic,well Owen Coyle chose Bolton ahead of the beloved hoops,but I believe this is a good move for club and player.Let's face it he needs game time and will score goals up there because Joe Kernan could play up front in the spl and score so no reason for Robbie not to do the same.

fredrickwood (Roscommon) - Posts: 2871 - 02/02/2010 10:50:34    549006

I feel its a bad move and I hope he doesnt live to regret it....BUT....its done
So lets wish him well and please God he scores buckets of goals up there
Best of luck Robbie, Hail Hail

Liamwalkinstown (Dublin) - Posts: 8166 - 02/02/2010 11:21:28    549048

Liamwalkinstown

549048 I feel its a bad move and I hope he doesnt live to regret it....BUT....its done
So lets wish him well and please God he scores buckets of goals up there
Best of luck Robbie, Hail Hail

Lads, realistically he will only be in Scotland for 5 months. Celtic will never afford his permanent transfer fee. So for Keane its a good situation to be in. Guaranteed game time, and by scoring goals his confidence will return. Look at Bellamy as an example.

Rio Bingo (Tyrone) - Posts: 788 - 02/02/2010 11:27:10    549054

celtic will now win the league with the signings they've made. rangers are a truely awful team at the moment. celtic pulled back a bigger deficit 3 years ago

32_4_1 (Meath) - Posts: 4146 - 02/02/2010 11:37:57    549067

ye still have no MF 32_4_1 and its seems Mogga doesnt fancy ye're one good midfielder (browne)

Liamwalkinstown (Dublin) - Posts: 8166 - 02/02/2010 11:45:12    549079

Agree about Keane. He has an awful lot of boyhood clubs that he supported! He was a lifelong Scouser now hes a lifelong Celt. Do me a favour.
On the other hand it definately will be no longer than a half season deal.
Celtic cant afford to buy him or pay his massive wages.
Hes not washed up enough yet to play in Scotland, (ala Keano eile)
He will still do a more than decent job for half the teams in the lower half of the Premiership if the can agree a deal with Spurs and his wages, which I believe will have to substantially less before a Birmingham, West Ham Bolton Sunderland or maybe Aston Villa will take a punt on him.
I cant understand why Redknapp wanted him back only twelve months ago & then didnt give him much of a chance.
Hes still one of the best dozen strikers in England.

sam57 (Louth) - Posts: 1502 - 02/02/2010 12:36:19    549139

I don't think it is that hard to believe that Keane was a die-hard fan of Celtic and Liverpool. Most posters on here are die-hard fans of Celtic and Man Utd/Liverpool. Probably got a team in every country in the World, inevitably one that's either A) One of if not the best team in that League or B) Got some tenuous links to Ireland or C) Both. God help them if they play each other in Europe, who knows what these 'die-hards' would do

pplocal (Tyrone) - Posts: 5878 - 02/02/2010 12:48:23    549157

Great to see all the anti-Celtic brigade out in force again, what a sad lot, but keep it up folks, it does raise a smile.
Welcome Robbie,hail hail.

sean og (Armagh) - Posts: 1072 - 02/02/2010 13:05:56    549198

02/02/2010 11:45:12
Liamwalkinstown

ye still have no MF 32_4_1 and its seems Mogga doesnt fancy ye're one good midfielder (browne)

Absolute rubbish Liam. Have you actually watched any Celtic games this year? N'Guemo (Cameroon international) has been Celtic's POTY so far and we have huge competition for places in midfield. We signed the Asian young player of the year (Ki) and have further options in Crosas, Brown, Zhi, McGeady, Maloney, McGinn, and McCourt. To say that Mowbray doesn't fancy Brown shows how little you actually know. Mowbray made Brown when he was at Hibs. He's been injured this year and hasn't been playing well, that's is why he's not in the team.

nocky (Wexford) - Posts: 2059 - 02/02/2010 13:16:54    549214

PomeroyPlunkett

548600 Hows what then omaghredhand? And Ulsterman what exactly is the difference between supporting an English club and a Scottish club?

Apologies Plunkett, I only realised my mistake on re-reading my post. I was wondering what the basis is for your theory that the Championship is better than the SPL.

omaghredhand (Tyrone) - Posts: 3656 - 02/02/2010 13:34:46    549233

02/02/2010 10:32:32
fredrickwood
County: Roscommon

nocky
County: Wexford

"Sit in a pub any old firm day and listen to the neandrethals.... make you sick", you say. Well sit in a pub on Manchester or Liverpool Derby day and the hatred and bile from some "supporters" will make you sick too.

There is a difference between football hatred and football hatred/religious bigotry.

I've watched Chelsea-Man Utd games in pubs and heard Drogba called all kinds of sickening names by United "fans". Don't try and make out that Celtic is the only club which is supported by (a minority of) low lifes fredrick.

nocky (Wexford) - Posts: 2059 - 02/02/2010 14:02:20    549268

Listen you support or follow one team. Im irish and would like to see celtic win but im a liverpool fan so i support liverpool. Kean is a spoilt little boy who has never grown up

THE EXTRAMAN (Donegal) - Posts: 554 - 02/02/2010 14:55:25    549317

really Nock? Is that why Mowbray spent most of January trying to sell Scott Brown…..according to…….Scott Brown………..!!! And for the record, Ki is completely unrproven, Corssas is rubbish, the new david Fernandez, and McGeady is a poor mans Bobby Petta!!!!!!

Liamwalkinstown (Dublin) - Posts: 8166 - 02/02/2010 15:08:56    549323