Fair play to the current panel. They have great pride in the jersey.
WHAT A LOAD OF BULL
Mick_Mackey (Limerick) - Posts: 91 - 12/02/2010 10:13:35
I think what cody1234 is trying to say is that its alot easier to stand out in junior and intermediate club games than it is in the senior club games. Its not that these players shouldn't be considered but we should keep in mind the standard that they are playing against.
Andy12 (Limerick) - Posts: 77 - 12/02/2010 10:29:14
The Ripper, You seem like someone who has made up their mind by what you read on the backpage of the Lmerick leader. If this drink culture that you, Richie Bennis, Justin and Martin Kiely refer to was happening, then the man to sort it out in the playing season in 2009 was Justin himself. He did'nt so either there was no drink culture or he failed in his management role to sort it out. Justin then branded good Limerick GAA men like Shaughs, Donie, Mike O'Brien etc. as part of this drink culture. Brian Ryan later rejected this at the Ballagran meeting, that was too late, the damage was done and from there on it was the 2009 panel or Justin.
The panel announced for 2010 consists of mainly of failed Intermediates, a few former seniors and a few hopeful's. Our county chairman has presided over an almighty mess and he should stand down after Justin is shafted next week for his role in this sorry saga.
Clubgaa (Limerick) - Posts: 879 - 12/02/2010 10:31:22
I TOLD YE, dont say ye werent warned. Worse than I even thought the situation in limerick. At least Clare who are temporarily in Div 2 until they get promoted in april/may will never ever loose to carlow in hurling!
This is like kilkenny footballers beating a traditional football county! Oh its a bad bad situation now! No wonder the other hurlers resigned from the panel as had they being playing Carlow would have hammered limerick more than they did!
Now its time I think Justin who I have good time for should look for limerick to enter div 3 or div 4 of the league as carlow are a div 2 team and limerick cant even beat them!
So I predict Christy Ring Cup for Limerick in 2011, Nicky Rackard Cup for limerick 2012 and div 2 league for limerick 2011 and div 3 in 2012!
Its official limerick are now worse than carlow! No wonder limerick fluked a win in the championship qualifier against laois last summer with their so called full team before getting a hammering from Tipperary, when now Carlow has beaten them! It all adds up and it doesnt really matter what the make up of the county team is as the hurlers are of a div 4 standard regardless!
Its hard to pick the best situation, the current teams defeat by carlow or last years team fluky win against laois and subsequent hammering by Tipperary!
Its great to see that Carlow have now taken over limericks place as a traditional hurling county. Fair play to ye carlow. Great result. Its limerick who the GAA authorities should have not let into the mccarthy cup this year not trying to stop Carlow and the minnows! Carlow are no longer a minnow hurling county but limerick are!
steel (Clare) - Posts: 694 - 12/02/2010 11:10:58
You havent been around in a while steel, what happened? was the electricity out for a few weeks in west clare or did you get stuck in a bog or something? stick to the clare website because no one in limerick gives a **** what sum aul ranting clare man thinks. you'r the same ape who was waxing lyrical about keeping mike mac in the clare job not so long ago, shows how much your opinion is worth when not one person in clare would agree with you.
utd (USA) - Posts: 150 - 12/02/2010 11:27:54
12/02/2010 11:27:54 utd County: USA Posts: 44
no one in limerick gives a **** what sum aul ranting clare man thinks. _______________________________________________________________
utd, you seem to care about what steel writes, otherwise you wouldn't be replying to his post. And it's because of people like who keep replying to him, that the rest of us are stuck have to weed through his nonsense. Stop replying to him, ignore him and he'll get bored very quickly.
cove (None) - Posts: 683 - 12/02/2010 12:02:41
Can any Limerick Fans tell my why Conor Ranahan the Limerck Football goalkeeper is not playing this weekend? Is the manager trying out a new goalkeeper or is he injured or dropped? Thanks
johnnyb (Laois) - Posts: 7 - 12/02/2010 13:02:33
ALFA MAN 12/02/2010 08:25: Rome wasn't built in a day give these lads a break, they deserve it...
More like out of the frying pan into the fire!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
There is quite a few of McCarthy's 2010 involved in the below team I can't see they have improved that much in 6 months.
Below is the intermediate team beaten by WATERFORD 5-15 LIMERICK 0-7 in 2009 (they deserve it???????????????????????????????????????????????????????????????????????????)
The point I was trying to make is that these players are not up to inter county standard surely all the minor team that made the 2005 All Ireland final should be tried before the majority of the below team.
I wasn't having a go at junior or intermediate clubs but the standard of junior and intermediate clubs in Limerick are very poor. There are junior teams in Cork Tipp and Kilkenny that would give a few senior teams in Limerick a good game.
I know people are going to go on about Blackrock South Liberties and Rathkeale but when the ground his hard and you're not hurling in mud how good are these teams can anybody see them winning their respective championship?
The majority of people who know anything about the intermediate championship would tip Dromina/ Athlacca or Ballybrown to be the teams to beat yet out of McCarthy's 2010 panel of 33 there are only two players from these clubs.
1. Barry Hennessy B. Ó hAonasa Kilmallock 2. Aidan Hennessy A. Ó hAonasa Na Piarsaigh 3. Brian Kelliher B. Ó Céileachair Dromin/Athlacca 4. Gearoid O'Leary G. Ó Laoire Dromin/Athlacca 5. David Moloney D. Ó Maolomhnaigh Blackrock 6. Shane O'Neill S. Ó Néill South Liberties 7. Paudie O'Brien P. Ó Briain Kilmallock 8. Nicky Quaid N. Mac Uaid Effin 9. Andrew Brennan (Capt) A. Ó Braonáin Caherline 10. Peter Harty P. Ó hAghartaigh Patrickswell 11. Peter O'Reilly P. Ó Raghallaigh Patrickswell 12. Tommy O'Brien T. Ó Briain Patrickswell 13. Tiernan Ryan T. Ó Riain Dromin/Athlacca 14. David O'Neill D. Ó Niall South Liberties 15. Tommy Quaid T. Mac Uaid Effin 16. Albert Shanahan A. Ó Seancháin South Liberties 17. Lorcan O'Dwyer L. Ó Dhubhuír Pallasgreen 18. Mark Keane M. Ó Céin South Liberties 19. Brian Moloney B. Ó Maolomhnaigh Blackrock 20. Eoin O'Leary E. Ó Laoire Dromin/Athlacca 21. Patrick Cremin P. Ó Croimín Killeedy 22. John Quane S. Ó Cuain Glenroe 23. Ross Kennedy R. Ó Cinnéide Adare 24. Willie O'Dea L. Ó Deá Patrickswell
cody1234 (Limerick) - Posts: 47 - 12/02/2010 20:34:31
This thing about Carlow hurlers defeating Limerick recently in a challenge match has lost the run of it self,in recent years we have put in huge effort in trying to promote and move the game forward in the county with some success may I add and at the same time Limerick hurling is going through a transmission period so paths have crossed, and some wind up merchants seem to think a Carlow victory against Limerick is unacceptable, I am only repeating other peoples point of view when I say we have made positive progress, hense we beat Limerick fair and square, --no big deal. Seperately, the (temporary)demise of Limerick hurling goes back a few years in fact all the way to 1994, when Limerick played Offaly in the All Ireland final and I am genuinely sorry for brining it up, I was at the match and I have watched it a couple of times since, in fact I am looking at the programme, as I collect them all, something like 5mins to go you were 2-13 to 1-11 up and cruising, Willie Barrett was the ref. and he awarded Offaly a free, J.Dooley buried it in the net, 25secs. Later the net was rattled again,all in the space of half a min. And in the last 4 mins Offaly banged over another 5 points, the game finished OY 3-16 LK 2-13, I can honestly say from a sporting point of view I felt gutted for Limerick, and I think to make things worse Eamonn Cregan was the Offaly manager and further to that it took its toal on Eamonn, it was abitter pill to swallow, so In my humble opinion for what thats worth if you get that monkey off your back Managers, Co. Boards etc, will matter little and you are on the road back. PS -- We beat Antrim to day fair and square, who in recent years made major appearances in Croke Park beating some of the top notchers on the way and not a word about it. Good luck to Limerick Hurling.
supersub15 (Carlow) - Posts: 3179 - 15/02/2010 11:31:16
The issue with picking junior and intermediate players is typical of the mood in the county at the moment but the recent club results show that with the proper set-up and organisation we can compete-anyone who blames the 'heavy' pitches should just look at the standard of players and teams in the senior semi-finals yesterday Shefflin, Cha, the O'Conners, Naughton, the Cannings, and Hayes's- not really heavy weather hurlers.Its about time the senior selectors gave some of the players from the lesser clubs a chance, a lot of this new panel are just second layer players from senior clubs.Last years u-21, intermediate and senior teams were all badly prepared teams, what you put into training and organisation comes out on the match day.This comes back to our county board and its policy of appointing its own people.Our county board has a lot to answer for our current problems and any success we do have is in spite of the CB and not because of them.
updwell (Limerick) - Posts: 899 - 15/02/2010 18:51:18