Anyone know where the game against kerry is on today and ahat time...................... focus (Limerick) - Posts: 3 - 06/02/2010 11:02:14 553273 Link 0 |
Where was that Carlow and Limerick match played? fergie (Carlow) - Posts: 1119 - 06/02/2010 16:09:26 553468 Link 0 |
I think the Gaelic Grounds fergie hurlingguru (Carlow) - Posts: 1838 - 06/02/2010 21:14:16 553672 Link 0 |
i appreciate all that the carlow lads have said but the ful 2009 limk panel with an average manager would beat carlow by 9 to 12 points.the 2009 limk panel would beat the 2010 panel by 12 to 15 points. shortpuckout (Limerick) - Posts: 148 - 07/02/2010 14:38:52 553898 Link 0 |
Heard limerick beat kerry by 9 yesterday 3.15 to 2.9 utd (USA) - Posts: 150 - 07/02/2010 17:07:47 554041 Link 0 |
ya i was at the game yesterday.. alfa_man (Limerick) - Posts: 25 - 08/02/2010 11:58:56 554804 Link 0 |
The fact is hardly any of these lads are stand out players with their clubs not to mind county. I've nothing against them and fair play to them for stepping up even though they know the majority of them will be droppped if the 2009 panel return. Alfaman- I know you're trying to be optimistic by saying the forwards were very good, but it was against Kerry! If these are the standards our team is being judged by then we're in big trouble. Also the quality of challenge matches is shocking, usually this time of year we're playing the likes of Cork, Tipp etc., now it's Kerry, Carlow, Blackrock (with all due respect to these teams.) I think it shows that the management know these players are not good enough and want to avoid embarrassment bty getting thumpings against these stronger counties. But that option won't be there when the league starts! Bring back the likes of Gavin O Mahony, Seamus Hickey, Tom Condon, Denis Moloney, Donal O Grady and a few more younger lads who want to win things and aren't happy with just the title of being a Limerick player or getting a tracksuit or a suit. The rest are either too old, not good enough or are a bad influence on the while panel and we're better off without them. theripper (Limerick) - Posts: 122 - 08/02/2010 14:29:39 555053 Link 0 |
you said ''embarrassment by getting thumpings against these stronger counties'' these stronger counties proved too strong for limerick last year ,you seem to be forgetting what happened against tipp Last year!.... honestly were they really going to do much better this year? alfa_man (Limerick) - Posts: 25 - 08/02/2010 15:47:24 555170 Link 0 |
lads we need Geary , Reale, Hickey Dodge, O mahony naill and a few more before we can even contemplate getting anywhere this year. I believe that if anyone wants to have any kind of summer this year they need to get rid of Justin Gte rid of the county board and bring back a few of the lads who have given everything to this team for the last few years for people just to critise them . We all forget the good times too quick and concentrate on the bad. Have respect for alot of the 24 who have been hung out to dry by the couty board and fans and by a man Justin who is in it out of GREED sammy27 (Limerick) - Posts: 45 - 08/02/2010 16:38:30 555267 Link 0 |
alfa man, with the exception of nicky quaid ( who is definitely good enough ), all the players you mentioned have been tried and tested before. How are they now good enough? And since when does being a stand out player at junior or intermediate level guarantee you a place on a county senior panel ( not that the senior championship is all that hot )? While South Libs and Blackrock have done themselves and the county proud, there is a big step up to senior inter county level. How many St Lachtains players other than Mick Kavanagh will make the KK squad? Finally, you're very naive if you think that fellas would train for 9 months a year for the sake of a tracksuit or a suit. Look outside, there's a recession on, i'm sure they've better things to do with their time if that's the case. treatyspartan (Limerick) - Posts: 212 - 08/02/2010 18:21:54 555512 Link 0 |
TheRipper - well said I agree with you 100%. I want them players that you listed to come back and you are right with what you said. There is a few players that are a bad influence and also some players that are happy to get the suits and what not and to be known as inter-county players. They need to be got rid of. Get them players back as you listed and build a team block by block. brud (Limerick) - Posts: 943 - 08/02/2010 18:46:46 555546 Link 0 |
Alfaman- Just to clarify a few points. How could i forget what happened against Tipp? I never will,unfortunately. My point is there's no point glossing over the current situation by beating the likes of Kerry and pretending everything is rosy. Even if the players at the moment aren't quite up to it they're not going to improve against Kerry, Carlow etc. As for the players you mentioned, Nicky Quaid was anominous for Effin last year in crunch matches, Cathal Mullane wouldn't go into a dark room for you, Andrew Brennan isn't up to it. Tommy O Brien and Kieran O Rourke are 'alright' club players but still a good bit off county standard. Anyway, most of these players got destroyed for the Intermediates last year. My comment about getting suits and tracksuits was directed at most of the 2009 panel. theripper (Limerick) - Posts: 122 - 08/02/2010 19:01:44 555564 Link 0 |
The Ripper your a disgrace to say that about the 2009 panel im sure they give up 3.4 nights a week and their summers for a tracksuit , Im sure they give up alot more than most people and hold down a full time job aswell for a suit or tracksuit , i think their are easier ways of getting one. Grow up , get sense and STOP this carry on about those players im sick to my teeth of it. Justin needs to go and we need SOme not all of the 09 panel back along with somne of the current panel and we must get behind a team that has pride in their county. I hate the thoughts of facing this summer with the current situation this is goign to put us 10 years backwards. The county Board need to address this tonight and get rid of Justin . sammy27 (Limerick) - Posts: 45 - 09/02/2010 09:27:38 555916 Link 0 |
Sammy- What do you want me to say about them?? That they're the best, most skillful, honest, comitted, dedicated group of fella's in the country? You know thats not true don't you?! Or what dreamland are you living in? Remember the Tipp match and all the rest of the rubbish performances, and the Offaly game the year before. As I said before, some of the players are good enough but the majority are no additions. By the way, you said we are quick to forget the good times and focus on the bad times, can you remind me of the good times please? '73? '94? '96? Distant memories. I forked out over a thousand euro last year following these chancers around the country and when I see the carry on of a lot of them when they're supposed to be in training is the real disgrace, not me. I don't mind them drinking themselves to oblivion but get off the panel and give someone who wants to do his best a go. And then turning around pretending they're saints and are the innocent victims of whats going on at the moment really grinds my gears. I don't mind getting beaten but these cowboys trying to pull the wool over our eyes has gone on for ten years and it has to stop now. theripper (Limerick) - Posts: 122 - 09/02/2010 16:52:23 556519 Link 0 |
The Ripper, we all know that these lads DID give 100 perccent in training. Everyone keeps talking about these lads drinking and i for one want to know why was nothing ever said about alot of the '96 panel who were know for un real drinking sessions but were still held as heroes may i remind ye of 07 we got to the ALL Ireland aswell . These lads from the 09 panel have put up with rubbish been spoken about them the whole time. YES some are not and should not be on the panel but most gave their whole life to this game and county to be abused . Look is a hurling team to be proud of we want well i do anyway and the only way thats going to happen is Justin to leave and SOME not all of the 09 panel back and Some new players too. ye all talk about this 09 panel been in it for the suit and tracksuit, but i know for a FACt that they were in it for love of the game ! for god sake who would play otherwise we all they get is abused. Ripper you are entitled to your opinion but i for one are sick of people taliking baout his drinking culture and not talking about specific events. Please stop all this talk about drink and focus on 2010 and the limerick crisis which needs some of the old stock back , a new manager and LOYAL supporters sammy27 (Limerick) - Posts: 45 - 10/02/2010 09:24:12 557093 Link 0 |
limerick play Clare this weekend. Any one hear which field its in? alfa_man (Limerick) - Posts: 25 - 11/02/2010 20:09:20 559049 Link 0 |
ALFA MAN cody1234 (Limerick) - Posts: 47 - 11/02/2010 21:26:21 559139 Link 0 |
so what your saying is just because a player might only be intermediate/junior hurlers they dont deserve their place on the county team?? I agree that YES its going to be a total different ball game playing county in comparison to playing in their own club's division, Rome wasnt built in a day alfa_man (Limerick) - Posts: 25 - 12/02/2010 08:25:11 559216 Link 0 |
Alfa man limk.v clare saturday gaelic grounds i think 2pm ps its an all ticket match 123fedup (Limerick) - Posts: 225 - 12/02/2010 09:10:11 559250 Link 0 |
so what your saying cody1234 is that every player outside adare and a few other top clubs can forget about getting their chance with the county- whether or not this crises happened, some of the players mentioned deserved their chance and no one who follows hurling, at every level in the county would disagreee with that. If the likes of Kilkenny, Cork etc feel its ok to have Intermediate and god forbib junior players in their squads then surely it should be ok for Limerick dingo1 (Limerick) - Posts: 281 - 12/02/2010 09:45:19 559272 Link 0 |