Limerick lose to Carlow

Hurlinspuds an Upthewell, You are 100% accurate in your comments. At this stage now its a matter of time before Justin goes. The spin from the county board is on par with how our main poitical party did their business for years and we know where that got us.

Clubgaa (Limerick) - Posts: 879 - 04/02/2010 09:15:28    551142

A bit of light relief for ye all - it was only a challenge game!!!

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=hrcqLOCBh3w

dual supporter (Carlow) - Posts: 772 - 04/02/2010 10:08:03    551167

Hurlingspuds i never mentioned any names i base my observations on what i have seen of Limerick hurling over the years when they played the likes of Kilkenny,Cork,Offaly,Tipp,they did beat Waterford in recent years but only because in my opinion Waterford were burnt out with their exertions in a marathon couple of games again Cork.Limerick always look only half fit and off the pace for top class hurling.Its interesting you say only 5 of the present hurlers would have made the panel if there had been no walk out,and then further down your piece you say 12 of they present panel would be retained with the younger players off the old panel if Justin goes,does that no sound a bit contradictory.I wish Limerick hurlers well but getting rid of McCarthy is not the answer its 1973 since Limerick won an All Ireland how many managers since then have passed through,as i said before blaming the manager is the easy option what is really needed is a different mind set and a complete change of attitude by the Limerick hurlers.

pistelero (Wicklow) - Posts: 1719 - 04/02/2010 12:32:08    551391

Pistelero, i refer to the five meaning i think there are five guys who could challenge for places in the team. As for the 12 i refer to, 12 would indeed make the panel but only 5 (or so!!) of them could realistically have any chance of becoming inter-county regulars.
Everyone keeps harping on about 1973 since limerick won an AI. It is a long time but w'ford haven't won one for even longer, wexford only won one in the last 45 years, dublin are 70 years without one.....these are all counties with similar or higher expectations as limerick. at the end of the day, a county like limerick will only get a generation with a decent team every so often. 1993-1998 for example.
Whatever hope for maintaining the standard of at least a munster every decade, we have no hope without the players i named. i got the impression you were ruling out the 12 who left...
I think there's the basis for a decent team 3 years down the line but they need every season to make progress, instead justin will run the whole lot of them into the ground. whether he's doing it out of pride or greed or ignorance is beside the point. the players aren't perfect but they're needed.

hurlinspuds (Cork) - Posts: 1494 - 04/02/2010 14:05:15    551521

if limerick has come to an ultimate low then why has the county board not said anything!.. They are not worried, they have great confidence in this bunch of Hurlers! 2 competitive matches together so far!... give the lads a break!....

Quoted previously from the hierarchy........

"We will not become involved with Limerick unless we are asked by the County Board and we haven't been approached."

alfa_man (Limerick) - Posts: 25 - 04/02/2010 14:13:42    551539

lads think ye are over reacting it was a challenge match in january hardly like we beat ye in championship think tho ye may stop making excuses but look at yere selfs your board and hurling setup we took beating after beating in carlow but eventually got to the drawing board sorted things out put structure in place not saying ye dont have that down there but has t be done lads lets face facts took carlow ten years to get t wear we are now possibly tenth eleventh best team in country lads limerick are only couple places ahead of us laois ran ye close last year dublin ran ye close but ye are alwau=ys capable of big performance on any day just not consistenly yer down fall were same with us still we need ye sstrong in hurling loook at yer setup lads improve that

ITSCHOLAR (Carlow) - Posts: 313 - 04/02/2010 14:43:34    551589

Lads just face it Carlow are on the way up and Limerick are on the way down

Carlow4Liam (Carlow) - Posts: 11 - 04/02/2010 14:47:48    551597

Been a limeick hurling fan and regular attendee in league as well as championship for 25 years now. Limerick hurling is and always will be the true passion of my life outside my family. It breaks my heart that the county board have allowed this to happen. I know every county berates their own board but to deliberately jeopardise the future of hurling in the county (and lets be frank..this IS what is happening ) is inconceivable to think that is what they are doing but they are. I cant stand player power but realistically this is not 1960s Ireland this is a new time, and one in which the players DO have the power. Dont go on about pride in your jersey as all those lads have it, they just aren't good enough. What justin did was wrong and to gain my respect he must admit that. I dont exactly agree with what the players are doin....i may be wrong but ARE they even training amongst themselves because if they are not then they are in NO position to play this year (TOO LATE). in my opinion this year is a write off and this pains me deeply. I dont actually know the solution, always had a view on it but this stinks. Poor man manager,poor players,poor county board and from some of the insults i heard last august in croke park (particluarly at shaughs a true great of hurling in this county ) a load of bandwagon,ignorant and unappreciated "Limerick Hurling fans"...Also to the carlow people posting on this...get to 3 all irelands and watch your county lose all 3 then you can comment on limerick hurling..As for now some of the comments are misplaced.

daveboy (Limerick) - Posts: 1197 - 04/02/2010 15:51:53    551726

hurlinspuds: they should be absolutely murdered?? what era are you living in? and you talk about mccarthy being outdated! that's mike mac stuff youre on about. cop on boy! mccarthy is known to be clinical in his application of first touch and coaching, thats his way. other managers flake the boys around the field and thats their way. youve forgotten justin has won more honors than almost anyone as a coach and a player over a lifetime in hurling. the problem isnt with the manager, or even the county board. grown men made up their own minds to quit. its an awful pity but let them off, and support whoever wears the colours.

drogba (Limerick) - Posts: 142 - 04/02/2010 16:40:33    551813

I see there's still no shortage of hysterics on here .

JeremyWendell (Limerick) - Posts: 232 - 04/02/2010 17:49:24    551946

daveboy, i agree with everything you say.
Drogba, i stand by what i said and to answer your question i'm from this era, it's justin mc carthy who is out of date and out of touch.
December(on their own or cheating with meet ups) and January(as a team) are about hard slog and no hurling, once feb comes you can start doing a bit of touch but for those two months there's no point in hurling as a team. there is a point in strength and stamina work...this has also proven to have psychological advantages especially when done as a team and the drills are organised and you change them up.
so drogba, justin is a skill drills man is he??? worked out well last year didn't it??? what ball control drills is he doing now in the wet/snow/frost/mud?? how to pick the ball up out of 2 foot of muck is it?? get wise. that'll be great when you're racing ben o'connor to a ball 15 yards away and your legs are giving up in the heat of battle, on hard ground in may.
you're just sticking up for him for the sake of it, as treatyspartan said look at the opposing warm ups versus tip last august even marty morrissey said limerick looked a little relaxed in their attitude...too relaxed.
the modern era calls for crazy levels of fitness. ger lough in clare changed the game in the mid-90s with this. as a result the game sped up and that speed is sustained for 70 minutes...that's why we have 5 subs in only 70 minutes of play....
i guess you wouldn't murder them?? you'd let them go through the motions and practise ball control?? good man yourself.
as daveboy said, this proud to wear the jersey sentimentality stuff isn't good enough. Why throw away the year??? I don't like player power the same as the next gael but that's the era we're in.....again need to mention the absolute shambolic way justin treated moron and foley especially...disgrace
the county board are probably the true culprits and cowards in all of this.
that youtube clip above is hilarious....

hurlinspuds (Cork) - Posts: 1494 - 04/02/2010 18:05:22    551975

sure the boys that walked away can always play with the intermediates this year as its too late to play senior and show their pride in the jersy there. although they would probably win nothing and look to get rid of the manager at the end of the year.

this whole situation is pathetic and even though i'l support whoever wears the green and white, it will be tough to watch these youngs lads currently on the team gettin badly beatin in these coming months

highandlow (Limerick) - Posts: 213 - 05/02/2010 09:06:49    552312

Excellent post daveboy. FAir and impartial too. The "2009" panel conducting their own training sessions is a tricky one though. They are damned if they do and damned if they don't. If recent results and the moves by the big power brokers in the west are anything to go by, Justin will be lucky if he sees out February. The problem is that with no pre season training done, the "2009"players ( if selected ) would come back in relatively poor condition. There would be no time to get ready for the league games that follow so they will be way off the pace. Cue public backlash. If they do go back into collective training now, they will take another public wrap. Hard one to call.

treatyspartan (Limerick) - Posts: 212 - 05/02/2010 10:06:46    552361

Drogba, were at the Limerick matches in 09, our warm up routine was dead, our first touch brutal and our game plan non existant. Tell me why so much space was left in John Mullane's corner, why Eoin Foley was brought on in the Waterford game. I could go on but there is no point, Justin has the name of being a great coach and thats al it is, a name.

Clubgaa (Limerick) - Posts: 879 - 05/02/2010 11:32:43    552464

Anyone know what the situation is with the current panel? has it been finalised or are trials still ongoing? There was a few trialists against carlow, was that the last game? Is the squad training away now for the league? Its only just over 2 weeks away

utd (USA) - Posts: 150 - 05/02/2010 13:26:36    552610

Where playing kerry this weekend but its only a challange

123fedup (Limerick) - Posts: 225 - 05/02/2010 13:32:42    552624

it is hardly all the boards fault we have had 6 managers in the last 10 years . The senior players didnt take to well to the u21 players coming in in 2001 and i heard they werent even sittin in da same side of the dressing room at one stage.

east_star (Limerick) - Posts: 25 - 05/02/2010 17:31:06    552914

back to you again hurlinspuds. i didn't say they shouldnt be training hard but the days of murdering fellas around the field are long long gone. your showing how little you know by going back to loughnane driving clare into the ground. dont forget he had a high standard of players, and mike mac with his crazy methods that have since seen him removed from office. if you read back on the forum there have been contributors that have seen the panel lifting weights and track running at u of l arena (theres your strenght and stamina) since November. then you say they shouldnt be hurling as a team? how is justin supposed to assess players? and there you are on your pedastal crying about losing to carlow in a challenge!! make up your mind.

drogba (Limerick) - Posts: 142 - 05/02/2010 18:47:54    553006

Calm down lads were only 1 month in this is what practice matches are for. On the bit about Carlow losing to Kildare that wasn't a proper match really 3 25 minutes periods and we had a very depleted squad and Kildare are good we only beat them by 3 points in the Christy Ring last year.

hurlingguru (Carlow) - Posts: 1841 - 05/02/2010 21:40:48    553208

anyone give me odds on kerry beatin yee in tis 'practice game'????

hurlinkid (Carlow) - Posts: 56 - 06/02/2010 09:05:24    553246