Limerick lose to Carlow

I TOLD YE, dont say ye werent warned. Worse than I even thought the situation in limerick.
At least Clare who are temporarily in Div 2 until they get promoted in april/may will never
ever loose to carlow in hurling!

This is like kilkenny footballers beating a traditional football county! Oh its a bad bad situation now!
No wonder the other hurlers resigned from the panel as had they being playing Carlow would have
hammered limerick more than they did!

Now its time I think Justin who I have good time for should look for limerick to enter div 3 or div 4
of the league as carlow are a div 2 team and limerick cant even beat them!

So I predict Christy Ring Cup for Limerick in 2011, Nicky Rackard Cup for limerick 2012 and
div 2 league for limerick 2011 and div 3 in 2012!

Its official limerick are now worse than carlow! No wonder limerick fluked a win in the championship qualifier
against laois last summer with their so called full team before getting a hammering from Tipperary, when now Carlow
has beaten them! It all adds up and it doesnt really matter what the make up of the county team is as the hurlers
are of a div 4 standard regardless!

Its hard to pick the best situation, the current teams defeat by carlow or last years team fluky win against laois and subsequent
hammering by Tipperary!

steel (Clare) - Posts: 694 - 01/02/2010 15:39:23    548316

It would be very easing for people to say "I told you so", but the reality is that even with our strongest team we couldn't take the Carlows of this world for granted. That's where Limerick hurling is at. However, what's inexcusable is the poor standard of preparation that has persisted despite all the controversy. The training sessions in Martinstown last week and the warm up prior to the carlow game were extremely poor to say the least. Everything was slow paced and lethargic. These players will end up in the same boat as the 2009 players soon enough unless someone calls a halt.

treatyspartan (Limerick) - Posts: 212 - 01/02/2010 15:42:58    548324

Anyone who is happy and making excuses for this lads knows nothing about hurling, most good senior club sides in Limerick would beat Carlow.This senior set-up just isn't working and he has to go before its too late-players, management, county board and club delegates have to act soon before this result becomes the norm.

updwell (Limerick) - Posts: 899 - 01/02/2010 17:16:49    548445

i agree with both treatyspartan and updwell.
Getting beaten by carlow who were missing several key men and who got beaten by Kildare the week before points to destroying a group of promising youngsters because of justin's pigheadedness. Cork, gal and KK might as well play their minor teams.
Give this team time?? They're just not capable. I admit mistakes were made by the 2009 panel but 12 didn't deserve to be dropped. nial moron dropped in a county with no forwards?! He was limerick's best forward during the sorry year of 2009. The 12 who followed them are good hurlers and are the bones of a team that reached an AI final. It's impossible to blood young fellas by letting them be hung out to dry.
After the hammering by tip changes were needed, players needed to be dropped and a 5 year plan adopted aimed at winning a munster championship. We needed maybe 4 championship debuts this year, not 15. Maybe 2 next year and the same the year after.
Anyone saying to keep going as we are is advocating the slow death of hurling in limerick. I know the players made mistakes but 24 players are indispensable, justin who made major mistakes and did a poor job overall is totally dispensable.
If justin is a true gael he'd walk, limerick hurling is bigger than any one man.
Luimneach abú.

hurlinspuds (Cork) - Posts: 1494 - 01/02/2010 18:44:45    548549

Its time the County Board acts before it is too late. It was only a challenge but this is not good enough. The Minors should be able to beat Carlow.

MARNELL (Westmeath) - Posts: 728 - 01/02/2010 19:49:42    548642

what would westmeath know about hurling limerick minors ,they must of bet ye recently ye cant even beat mayo hurlers. Carlow are trying to make the break through and all that ye r doing is knocking them.They won 2 christy rings back to back we are not saying we will be contesting leinsters or all irelands but stop knocking us for making an effort to progress.Enjoy the christy ring cup westmeath cos we will enjoy the liam McCarthy.As for the limerick result carlow had only 4 of the starting team that retained the ring cup last july

TopFan (Carlow) - Posts: 166 - 01/02/2010 20:50:56    548756

Steady on there lads, i appreciate counties like limerick are meant to beat us hurling minnows like carlow but reading your messages i cant help feel slightly insulted. We have worked so hard on promoting hurling in carlow over a long no of years and have had success in schools competitions, minor and u21 (B), leinster minor final in 2007 ,won Christy Ring cup last 2 years and played in Div 2 last year. We have earned our place in Liam McCarthy championship. We only have 7 hurling clubs to pull from in carlow but we have a great committed bunch of players who are all united in making carlow a hurling force. You have a lot of fans here in carlow who would love to see limerick do well in both football and hurling. I dont know exactly why Justin dropped certain players - he seems to be there to stay with the backing of county board. I hope it doesnt end in a strike like Cork last year - (i think they lost alot of fans over that) but I wish your county teams well for the coming season-snd look forward to our footballers meeting in Div 4 of league this year.

dual supporter (Carlow) - Posts: 772 - 01/02/2010 21:07:03    548792

We apologise to Carlow hurling supporters for any offence caused in the making of this horror show that it is LImerick hurling!!! Having watched your progress at underage levels and Christy Ring, its apparent that the raw material and the resources seem to be in place. Hurling is on an upward curve with ye.

Unfortunately, the opposite is the case here. Most contributors to this thread will agree that we still have enough decent players to be a competitive Liam McCarthy team at the least. However, at least half agree that Justin is not the man to get the most of these players, and if anything we have gone way back since he took over. We are also poorly served by a weak incompetent County Board who are doing serious damage to GAA in Limerick

treatyspartan (Limerick) - Posts: 212 - 02/02/2010 10:08:38    548950

Can the clubs please stand up and sack the management and the county board. They are presiding over a shambles.
It is becoming more obvious with each passing day that the players are 100% correct in their stance

Mick_Mackey (Limerick) - Posts: 91 - 02/02/2010 10:15:58    548961

No offence carlow but ye are not at the same standard in hurlin as limerick and this match is a huge shock and disgrace! shame!!!!!!!!!!!! And anyone who tries to justify it should leave now! Our minor team should be carlow coz we are simply better and for our seniors to lose! urggggh vomit!

South (Limerick) - Posts: 122 - 02/02/2010 10:41:30    548994

South you need to have a reality check. Last year we proved that we are in the same pool as Dublin, Laois and Wexford. Carlow are just a little behind them and would fancy their chances of beating one of them. It should be no surprise that we lost to Carlow with our "intermediate" team on the field.
County board need to change their opinion now and oust Justin before the delegates eventually wake up and oust them.

Clubgaa (Limerick) - Posts: 879 - 02/02/2010 11:25:46    549052

I TOLD YE, dont say ye werent warned. Worse than I even thought the situation in limerick.
At least Clare who are temporarily in Div 2 until they get promoted in april/may will never
ever loose to carlow in hurling!

This is like kilkenny footballers beating a traditional football county! Oh its a bad bad situation now!
No wonder the other hurlers resigned from the panel as had they being playing Carlow would have
hammered limerick more than they did!

Now its time I think Justin who I have good time for should look for limerick to enter div 3 or div 4
of the league as carlow are a div 2 team and limerick cant even beat them!

So I predict Christy Ring Cup for Limerick in 2011, Nicky Rackard Cup for limerick 2012 and
div 2 league for limerick 2011 and div 3 in 2012!

Its official limerick are now worse than carlow! No wonder limerick fluked a win in the championship qualifier
against laois last summer with their so called full team before getting a hammering from Tipperary, when now Carlow
has beaten them! It all adds up and it doesnt really matter what the make up of the county team is as the hurlers
are of a div 4 standard regardless!

Its hard to pick the best situation, the current teams defeat by carlow or last years team fluky win against laois and subsequent
hammering by Tipperary!

Its great to see that Carlow have now taken over limericks place as a traditional hurling county. Fair play to ye carlow. Great result.
Its limerick who the GAA authorities should have not let into the mccarthy cup this year not trying to stop Carlow and the minnows!
Carlow are no longer a minnow hurling county but limerick are!

steel (Clare) - Posts: 694 - 02/02/2010 11:32:47    549055

@clubgaa.. i thought dublin proved they were better than that "pool"

willow (Dublin) - Posts: 10 - 02/02/2010 17:21:24    549541

Steel its obvious that you are a huge limerick fan altogether!! look lads its the first week of february and it was a challenge game,chances for both sides to give some new faces a trial...i agree that on the laws of averages carlow should not be defeating limerick but is a changing age of hurling with the likes of wexford and yeerselves in decline..look at the positives however,yee defeated a dublin team who were narrowly defeated by kilkenny in the leinster final and produced a few fine individual performances(gavin o mahoney etc)...as regards to justin,i think he brought waterford hurling to where it is today,davy fitz jusy glossed it off and people dont realise that... can i ask why he has been downed upon by everyone?? down to training methods?? also lads dont forget that carlow defeated antrim last year by 5 pointsm a team who defeated them by 20+ points in 2006,and although,the game with yeerselves was only a challenge game i feel that it is a true reflection of the work that has been put in over recent years...Hopefully we meet in the championship where the real stakes are in place..roll on championship!!

arrows85 (Carlow) - Posts: 202 - 02/02/2010 18:39:00    549699

Carlow lads, welcome to our site. Limerick people are not knocking Carlow hurling, we are just dissapointed that instead of closng the gap on Kilkenny and Tipp we are having the gap closed on us by a lot of teams. We are now a dream draw for these counties in the qualifiers and a good warm up for Cork / Tipp in munster semi final. This year is bleak and the future is not good. Best of luck to Carlow in Leinster championship.

Clubgaa (Limerick) - Posts: 879 - 03/02/2010 09:05:29    550018

Lads, in fairness the team had only played together twice before that game, and one of them was a challenge. Give them a chance will ye? treaty, you must be an expert on warm ups and training anyway cos its all you talk about. ive seen many of the sessions at u of l and one or two in martinstownn and those lads are working their socks off. ive seen club sides put up great performances against counties in challenge games so whats the big deal? management have to get a look at players somehow and i couldnt care less if they lose to carlow in a friendly as long as it means picking our strongest team available for the league, and they perform as best they can.

drogba (Limerick) - Posts: 142 - 03/02/2010 16:02:39    550562

Dont be blaming Justin McCarthy and the players who are wearing their County jersey its the players who sulked and walked away are the ones to blame no bottle to fight for their places the manager has a right to select who he likes and don't for get the lads who are playing at the moment would have been the bulk of the Limerick team in a few years anyway most of the ones who walked away are over the top anyway and were just looking for a soft option.

pistelero (Wicklow) - Posts: 1719 - 03/02/2010 16:50:21    550644

Pistelero, you obviously don't have a clue if you think that hickey, moloney, o'mahoney, n moron and donal o'grady are over the hill. they're the basis of a new limerick team. I have to also say that with an exception of maybe 5 lads, the current squad would not all have got a chance for limerick seniors. Lets be realistic. i respect them for giving it a lash, fair play to them but if you're not good enough then you're not good enough.
Treaty is dead right about warm ups and training. drogba you're way off the mark. i don't know what you think can pass for inter-county training these days but they should be absolutely murdered out in the pitch and in the gym. sessions need to be planned out beforehand and instructions given rapidly. players can't have a chance to cool down. the days of a 10 minute lecture half way through a session are gone. do you're talking afterwards. standing around waiting for sliotars and cones for the next drill cannot happen. we're talking about a professional set-up with amateur players. the waterford players said the same thing about mc carthy, his style is from a different era.
apart from all of the above, he simply let down everybody by treating legends like foley and moran in a shoddy fashion. i would have no problem letting a manager pick whoever he wants but dropping legends in such a manner and then making unreasonable claims about them is downright shameful.
I'm against player power the GPA mafia but this goes way beyond that.
I have no doubt but that justin will get the road, if it happens next week then perhaps the year is salvageable. if it happens in a month then it's too late. let a new manager pick the best 28 players in limerick - i would predict 12 of the current panel to retain their places and the rest filled with the younger players on the old panel.

hurlinspuds (Cork) - Posts: 1494 - 03/02/2010 17:55:17    550739

Lads , some of ye would want to wake up and cop on - Limerick hurling has never been this low and ye are still making excuses for the management.Justin dropped Niall Moran from the panel and does anyone here not believe he is better than any of those forwards played against Carlow, remember this was Justin's view that Moran isn't as good.As for the warm-ups this was an issue last year, just compare Tipps warm-up to Limericks last year in Croke Park and the difference showed up on the scoreboard later.Every little detail adds up to the performance on the field and this management is way off the pace of modern demands.

updwell (Limerick) - Posts: 899 - 03/02/2010 20:05:02    550940

I really do think there are too many on here with negative predictions. Limerick hurling is not on it's last legs and people
who claim this are being irresponsible. This is a rocky period for Limerick but in time we will get over this too.
Hurling is ingrained of the fiber of Limerick men. Once all this negativity has blown over and the microscope is taken off
the scene I have no doubt Limerick will back to the top tier at the hurling table.

I believe the players were wrong to walk away and now they're too stubborn to lose face.
Let the new team be built and let Justin do his job.

JeremyWendell (Limerick) - Posts: 232 - 03/02/2010 21:43:35    551070