Limerick lose to Carlow

carlow 2-13
limerick 1-13

bit of a shock result,is it the first of many bad results?

sporting (Limerick) - Posts: 303 - 30/01/2010 21:54:11    547178

I was at the match last night. Terrible. It was a joke. How the county board can stand by and leave the whole thing descend into farce is unbelievable. Both sides are wrong in this dispute and people are sick of it. Are there any leaders left in this county?

Fastball (Limerick) - Posts: 88 - 31/01/2010 13:09:59    547299

carlow beat us by a goal

what will galway,cork,tipp do to us

get rid of justin now

shortpuckout (Limerick) - Posts: 148 - 31/01/2010 13:54:51    547343

at bad day 4 limerick hurlin. its a disgrace. justin is not the problem its just we havent got the players anymore

limerickeye (Limerick) - Posts: 38 - 31/01/2010 14:32:37    547359

this match was kept very quiet id say they knew they were gonna loose!!!

sporting (Limerick) - Posts: 303 - 31/01/2010 14:46:18    547371

What kind of a team lined out for limerick? where was it played?

utd (USA) - Posts: 150 - 31/01/2010 15:03:38    547388

this is the only place i've seen this reported. it's cork and gal for the first two league games isn't it?? Looking at twenty point defeats in both of them and the rest. It's a very competitive top league this year and would be difficult even if the best players were available. as things stand, all games will be lost very badly in the league and I would say that in the division below Wexford, clare, laois, carlow and westmeath would probably beat the current panel. sad days. county board should hang their heads in shame.
JUSTIN OUT.

hurlinspuds (Cork) - Posts: 1494 - 31/01/2010 16:57:37    547460

I wouldnt read too much into it to be honest. does anyone know the actual team that played? Iv only heard that this was a trial game for players who havent featured on the first team yet, if thats the case wouldnt worry too much. A bunch of players who come together for the first time to play a trial game losing to carlow doesnt worry me. however have only heard it was a trial game from one source so not 100% sure

utd (USA) - Posts: 150 - 31/01/2010 17:36:35    547495

tadgh flynn
kieran o rourke cian hayes ??????

lorcan o dwyer ?????? andrew brennan

nicky quaid
timmy flemming

tom o brien(pwell) tom o brien(bruree) ?????????

alan o connor paudie mac grame mulcahy

subs used

peter harty
brian quinn
paul browne
barry hennesy
plus few others

pretty much team used all year so far so NOT a trail game

sporting (Limerick) - Posts: 303 - 31/01/2010 18:17:01    547531

it was only a trial game i heard that it was a different team to wat lined out against ucc. wat ever the case its bad news. the cork and galway games are not somethin to look forward to.

limerickeye (Limerick) - Posts: 38 - 31/01/2010 18:18:27    547532

why should justin go.in all honesty how many of the 24 would make adifference?i would take reale,hickey,o mahony,dodge,maybe niall moran.people must realise that a lot of the 24 had retired,we now have abetter goalkeeper than we,ve had for last few years.i also heard that some of these players tried training with footballers but were hunted,anyone else hear this?

cianh4907 (Limerick) - Posts: 5 - 31/01/2010 20:14:18    547698

Team was:

Tadhg Flynn - Solid, massive puck outs
David Lynch -
Cian Hayes - Good but needs to work on positioning
Kieran O'Rourke - solid and looked fit
Lorcan O'Dwer - Another good run out
Michael Carr - Hit alot of ball but so did his man, needs to concentrate on marking
Andrew Brennan - Very solid
Nicky Quaid - Man of the match on Limerick side
Timmy Fleming - Not up to this level yet, could make it when develops fully
Tommy O'Brien (P'well) - Lightning pace, needs to work on finishing, frees were poor for a change
Cathal Mullane - Not a central player, should be left at half forward
Tommy o'Brien (Bruree) -
Graham Mulcahy - Not his best outing, limited supply
Paudie Mc Namara - Hit some good scores but needs to be more agressive
Alan O'Connor -

Subs:

Barry Hennessy -
Peter Harty - Worked hard but has no positional sense
Paul Browne - Very good when came on, will be main man on team with more hurling
Stephen O'Connell - Swept up alot of loose ball

If you were picking a full county panel youd bring 7, maybe 8 of these lads along I think... Flynn, Quaid and Tommy O'Brien would be classed as the real finds of this squad. Anyone agree / disagree with my assesment?

S Man (Limerick) - Posts: 229 - 31/01/2010 20:41:54    547733

wat club is carr from?

cianh4907 (Limerick) - Posts: 5 - 31/01/2010 21:16:27    547783

Have ye all gone bananas or what??? Limerick getting beaten by CARLOW and ye saying ye'r not too worried because it was only a challenge!! GOD ALMIGHTY!! Limerick should NEVER, EVER lose to Carlow in a game of hurling, I don't care what team lines out. It's like a senior club team getting beaten by a junior b team. Get real will ye.

theripper (Limerick) - Posts: 122 - 01/02/2010 09:11:32    547876

Will ye relax a small bit lads. Justin is trying to build a team from scratch, I was at that match on Saturday and players are only getting to know each others names not to mind the way they play and how they will fit as a team. God only knows what the team for the Galway game will be. They have only had a month together and had just 3or 4 games for the FIRST time and no team has been the same. Different centre back every time. That's where a lot of problems came from in the games I've seen. Limerick beat them selves in this game Tommy O'Brien missed a show of frees, two very soft goals, one dropped into the net, must have hit at least 15 wides some very bad. Paudie Mac only got a point so I dunno were you even at the game s man. Limerick are going to lose a lot more games in the near future unless some of the 12 players that walked eat some humble pie and come back for the GOOD of limerick hurling. It's in there hands as Justin is going nowhere

highandlow (Limerick) - Posts: 213 - 01/02/2010 10:01:54    547896

No I will not relax!!!!. This Carlow team were missing the players from their county champions and were beaten by Kildare the previous week. How bad do some of ye want things to get before the "leader" of our county board takes action. This is an absolute disgrace that hurling in Limerick is been left go down hill by this county board. Why is Justin not walking away? Who is advising the county board? I am so mad at this mess that was caused by Justin, the liason officer and the county secretary and chairman. Sure the players reacted a ceratin way as well but the onus was on the manager to manage the situaion and he failed. He must go. MUST.

Clubgaa (Limerick) - Posts: 879 - 01/02/2010 10:59:47    547932

lads i know it is hard to relax but these lads are only starting off ye have to realise that the ongoing situation is having an effect on these boys too. just on the team i was at the tralee match and the carlow match and most of the trainings in the stakers the lads are trying there best. the goalies this year will be timmy houlihan and barry hennessy. hennessy made a mistake against carlow but he was good till then and he played well against ucc and himself and timmy have a mor tactical puckout than flynn. flynn balloons the ball into the air and was playin with the breeze the other nite and against tralee where nowdays puckouts have to be drilled. cian hayes aint up to it or timmy flemming. paudie mac has personal issues ongoing at the moment so his lack of form can be excused. tommy o brien missed about 3 06 the other nite but he is learning and has the potential to be the new shaughs

goalie101 (Limerick) - Posts: 23 - 01/02/2010 11:18:51    547952

The clubs backed justin

123fedup (Limerick) - Posts: 225 - 01/02/2010 11:19:34    547953

tell me one thing if limerick make the manager walk . wat will change the old players be back . back to the same old cant be bothered to train properly sooner go on the beer dan do the hard work . the players have to take a good long look at themselves , managers get the blame even doe the players on the pitch dont make the hard work on the pitch .

gusseraneman (Wexford) - Posts: 521 - 01/02/2010 14:02:59    548172

Blaming county board is the easy option but they were changed 2 years ago. County board had a meeting 2 weeks and not one club delegate brought up this impasse in the county senior hurlers despite county board giving them ample opportunity.At club level is whee the problem is where you have people staying on and on in the same jobs year after year ,you are a troublemaker if you oppose them. A rule should be ther to have club delegates changed after a set period of time but they are hardly going to propose this are they?

westtrooper (Limerick) - Posts: 329 - 01/02/2010 14:49:47    548219