Meath V Dublin

Brogan scores 1-5 but some posters say he did not play well . Would not like to see his score if he plays well if 1-5 is not good enough.

Dellboypolecat (Tyrone) - Posts: 15069 - 28/01/2010 20:46:27    545460

Squidward,
There were 8 players that started both games and out of those 8 3 players played in different positions. Really you don't have a leg to stand on there.
Bernard Brogan played great and anyone who says he didnt was clearly watching a different game to the rest of us. He could have had many more points if it werent for David Dalton who bossed him and that is the truth again whoever says he didnt must have been watching a different game.

itsgreenandgold (Meath) - Posts: 312 - 28/01/2010 21:05:38    545497

loyal2TheRoyal

544979 Meath had an experimental side out as well. David Lyons, Davy Dalton, James Macken, Niall McKeigue, Gary O'Brien, Stephen Sheridan, Maurice Kennedy, Ollie Lewis, Jamie Queeney and Stephen Kennedy

All of the players mentioned byl2tr above were involved in the Louth game as was Peadar Byrne,Mark Ward, Shane O' Rourke, Damien Sheirdan, Brendan Murphy, and Grahem Reilly to name a few others.

Squid

squidword (Louth) - Posts: 2897 - 28/01/2010 21:27:19    545557

brogan was pure class last nite
when he got a chance he took it

mickser (Meath) - Posts: 48 - 28/01/2010 22:00:31    545639

Squid,
The only regular players last season also involved in the Louth game were Peadar Byrne & Damien Sheridan (not a regular starter), Jamie Queeney (not a regular starter) and briefly Shane O'Rourke and Mark Ward also not a regular starter so yes a very experimental side. My point is that you said it was practically the same side which played against Dublin too, so here is who started both games, David Lyons (didn't play full match in either, new player) Stephen Sheridan (played in different positions for both matches) David Dalton (played in different positions for both matches, new player) Gary O'Brien (played in same position both games, new player) Maurice Kennedy (came off injured in the Dublin game, replaced by Mark Ward who came off in the Louth game, new player) Peadar Byrne (played in different positions both games) Jamie Queeney(played in different positions in both games, while he appeared in the championship it was as a sub) so with this information how can you possibly make that claim?

itsgreenandgold (Meath) - Posts: 312 - 29/01/2010 12:58:25    545906

what i took from the other night is that dublin have nothing much coming through that will improve them as a team from last year, apart from fennell who was quite good, big problems at the back when you run at them , casey in all fairness was poor both days and should never have been called back, as for ourselves we are still agood bit short of even a leinster , we are probably joint 2nd in the province as it stands with dublin way behind kildare at the moment, kildare are the biggest certs for provincial honours this year.

millhouse (Meath) - Posts: 892 - 29/01/2010 15:10:14    546092

lyoto.machida

you oviously dont get out much!!

the seal (Meath) - Posts: 583 - 29/01/2010 15:31:56    546115

itsgreenandgold

545272 dellboydub & jimbodub those are very bitter remarks there from you both. Can you not accept defeat? The facts are you can only beat the teams put in front of you which is something we done yesterday and last year. 2nd tier teams? Mayo & Limerick? I don't think so and I doubt you do either.
Dalton had the better of Brogan who scored 1-03 from play and for one of the countries top forwards Dalton kept him rather quiet. Dalton one of our NEW players pity the same can't be said for most of yours...

listin i dont mind dublin loosing now and again and yes dalton seamed to have the better of brogan but the way some of yous are goin on is mad ye think you had won the AI and to say limerick arnt a 2nd tier team is mad limerick are not a great football team mayo maybe but dublin had only 3 reg starters on that team on wed and any subs that came on where new as gilroy said he was using this time of year to blood new lads and thats what hes doin so i wouldnt be goin to mad about a match in jan wait till later on in the year

delboydub (Dublin) - Posts: 665 - 29/01/2010 16:10:24    546158

Delboydub,
"it was one of Meaths better teams doesn't say much for meath if they couldn't hammer dublin"
Eamon O'Brien is also using this time of year to try out new players examples from Wednesday are Lyons, Dalton, Macken, O'Brien, S.Sheridan, M.Kennedy, Lewis and S.Kennedy thats 8 of our starting 15 and of the remaining 7 starters only 5 featured heavily in last seasons team. So all in all not really much of a difference in new/experienced players.

I don't really see anybody acting as if Meath can win sam after 4 games and if they do they may be a bit misguided. I counted 4 regs for Dublin but I'm open to correction. I am waiting until later on in the year but I really don't think either team should have much confidance as of right now as you said it's January.
However, that was Dublins team of the future and how do you think they'd do against a Kerry, Cork Tyrone or even a full strength Meath squad?

itsgreenandgold (Meath) - Posts: 312 - 29/01/2010 16:49:16    546218

But was the man marking brogan get man of the match ? how when brogan got 1-5 .

Dellboypolecat (Tyrone) - Posts: 15069 - 29/01/2010 18:13:04    546388

i wasnt able to get to navan but what was the attendance like. was there many dubs?

32_4_1 (Meath) - Posts: 4196 - 29/01/2010 18:19:41    546397

32_4_1

i wasnt able to get to navan but what was the attendance like. was there many dubs?

5 thousand mostly kids not great support for a local derby.

Dellboypolecat (Tyrone) - Posts: 15069 - 29/01/2010 18:26:47    546408

Dell

Typical of you. You will sit there a critcise the opinions of people who were at the match, even tho you havent seen any of it at all!If someone says dalton played well, why not just accept it, rather than try & pick holes in the views of someone who was there to see.

Jinxie (Meath) - Posts: 6347 - 29/01/2010 18:31:14    546419

Dellboypolecat

546408 32_4_1

5 thousand mostly kids not great support for a local derby.

How would you know if it was kids or not when you werent even there?
There was more than 5k at it, easily 7 if not 8 (2 of yesterdays papers said over 7), & majority were adults. There was actually very few kids at it.

I dont think dell can help it, seems like its his natural instinct to lie, no matter how stupid or wrong the statement is!

Jinxie (Meath) - Posts: 6347 - 29/01/2010 18:42:33    546438

Jinxie

I spoke to about 6 or 7 poeple that where at the game so they told me.

Dellboypolecat (Tyrone) - Posts: 15069 - 29/01/2010 18:50:47    546456

Even if it was only 5k how is that bad, where else would you get that many for pre-season

trimmer (Meath) - Posts: 553 - 29/01/2010 19:00:34    546477

I know for a fact the attendance because was told by someone who knows the numbers so jinxie get off that oldcastle high horse your on.

Dellboypolecat (Tyrone) - Posts: 15069 - 29/01/2010 19:01:15    546479

trimmer

Even if it was only 5k how is that bad, where else would you get that many for pre-season

Dublin v meath the dubs say they come in numbers to away games and proving once again they dont . The mc kenna cup had better numbers in that.

Dellboypolecat (Tyrone) - Posts: 15069 - 29/01/2010 19:10:30    546492

Dellboypolecat,
I am with jinxie on this one there was definitely 7-8k there regardless of what anybody told you.

itsgreenandgold (Meath) - Posts: 312 - 29/01/2010 19:10:58    546494

Dellboypolecat

546479 I know for a fact the attendance because was told by someone who knows the numbers so jinxie get off that oldcastle high horse your on.

I was there and it looked to me that there was more than 5,000 at the game. The stand and terrace area across from it looked full enough to me , and a noisey bunch too. Anyway even if there was only 5,000 there, thats only 2,000 less than the 7,000 that bothered to go to the Championship game in croke park Between Tyrone and Mayo not so long ago. All in all it was a great turn out for an OByrne cup game in Jan. Pity about the result though.

PJ (None) - Posts: 2288 - 29/01/2010 19:31:29    546518