Meath V Dublin

Loyal2theroyal

Brogan got 1-5, that's a good day out for any forward, it's a bad day out for any defender.

Having said that, a win is a win even in Jan but good game time and blooding new players is what the O'Byrne Cup is all about and Dublin have managed to that in just 3 games.

RUBADUB (Dublin) - Posts: 477 - 28/01/2010 14:19:45    544858

jesus did you ever hear such rubbish from culchies on this meath beat dublin by a point and they think they are goin to win everything and i may add a very expermental dublin team and it was one of meaths better teams doesnt say much for meath if they couldnt hammer dublin

delboydub (Dublin) - Posts: 665 - 28/01/2010 14:25:20    544867

How do Meath get so far in the AI championship with such a bad panel,i'd say luck!!

dubinlaois (Dublin) - Posts: 304 - 28/01/2010 14:36:25    544894

This match meant nothing to Dublin, only blooding new players. In fairness it would not have meant a whole lot to Meath either, afterall it is only the O Byrne Cup. Nonetheless fair play to both teams for the two tight and well contested matches in the middle of January, although I doubt this result is a indication as to what is to come in the championship.

ConnollyDub (Dublin) - Posts: 2007 - 28/01/2010 15:05:19    544948

dubinlaois

544894 How do Meath get so far in the AI championship with such a bad panel,i'd say luck!!

The Back Door and playing 2nd tier footballing teams in the championship. Simples

jimbodub (Dublin) - Posts: 20763 - 28/01/2010 15:13:30    544968

Meath had an experimental side out as well. David Lyons, Davy Dalton, James Macken, Niall McKeigue, Gary O'Brien, Stephen Sheridan, Maurice Kennedy, Ollie Lewis, Jamie Queeney and Stephen Kennedy all started, despite none of them being first team regulars last year. And even out of that list of ten, only four were panel members a year ago.

Its nothing to boast about, a victory over a team in decline. But competition for places is healthy. EOB is in a nice position. Unlike Gilroy, the only player who showed anything in the way of potential, thats not already a regular, was Dean Kelly. Dublin's team will be much the same in 2010 and if you could not win an All-Ireland then...................

Loyal2TheRoyal (Meath) - Posts: 4522 - 28/01/2010 15:24:00    544979

Sensible post by Yew-Tree. A good run out by all accounts. Dublin with only 2 or 3 first team regulars and a great performance by Bernard Brogan apparently. Heard Fennell played well for the third game on the trot making his impending inter-county loss even more damaging to the Dubs. This game should prepare both teams well for the league.

Joxer (Dublin) - Posts: 4748 - 28/01/2010 15:25:18    544981

Don't understand the fuss with Brogan. Any time he went to take on Dalton, he got nowhere. In fact, he was on the retreat the whole time looking for a pass. Dalton plucked three or four balls out of the sky as well with Brogan flat-footed behind them. Not to mention a couple of vital interceptions from him, one in the second half when a goal was a near certainity. I can't comment on Brogan's fitness or motivation for last night's game but he was second best in his duel with the Meath corner back.

Loyal2TheRoyal (Meath) - Posts: 4522 - 28/01/2010 15:43:21    544999

Loyal2TheRoyal

Meath wins by a point and A Dub gets man of the match

1-5 !!!... Hopefully Dalton marks him in the Championship

jimbodub (Dublin) - Posts: 20763 - 28/01/2010 15:51:27    545012

1-5 off his marker Loyal. What game were you looking at? If that counts as a bad return from a forward in Meath then you should win sam this year with your kind of firepower.

Joxer (Dublin) - Posts: 4748 - 28/01/2010 16:28:10    545061

The seal said "anything we beat them in is a success".That has to be the stupidest sentence i have ever seen.Obviously if ya beat someone,it is a success....

lyoto.machida (Meath) - Posts: 343 - 28/01/2010 17:16:57    545142

1-5 is an impressive tally alright. But two of those points were from frees and as for the goal, well the ball was bouncing round the place like a pinball machine for about 30 seconds before Brogan fisted home, a case of right place right time.

I don't want to be repeating myself but any time Brogan went to take on Dalton, he either had to pass or else he was forced into a corner. I was highly impressed with Dalton and the way he stood up to Brogan. Ive seen Bernard march round defenders very easily before you see. Really looking forward to seeing him playing again. Thats only one game though and he still has to prove he can do it consistently.

Loyal2TheRoyal (Meath) - Posts: 4522 - 28/01/2010 17:24:42    545153

dubinlaois

How do Meath get so far in the AI championship with such a bad panel,i'd say luck!!

Easy run in the back door.

Dellboypolecat (Tyrone) - Posts: 15069 - 28/01/2010 17:46:29    545208

jimbobdub if you were at the match you would have clearly seen dalton wont the tussle with dublin..

flyer (Meath) - Posts: 815 - 28/01/2010 17:48:30    545211

Good win...very happy...DCU Sunday...move on.
Delighted with queeneys progress as well as Dalton and Lewis.

trimmer (Meath) - Posts: 553 - 28/01/2010 18:15:29    545256

dellboydub & jimbodub those are very bitter remarks there from you both. Can you not accept defeat? The facts are you can only beat the teams put in front of you which is something we done yesterday and last year. 2nd tier teams? Mayo & Limerick? I don't think so and I doubt you do either.
Dalton had the better of Brogan who scored 1-03 from play and for one of the countries top forwards Dalton kept him rather quiet. Dalton one of our NEW players pity the same can't be said for most of yours...

itsgreenandgold (Meath) - Posts: 312 - 28/01/2010 18:23:36    545272

Liam

Tut Tut Liam. You are too easily riled these days. Seeing how we are on the subject, over the course of my working life in Dublin I have met some Dubs who would tell you that it is great to see the Dubs beating the "Culties" at a "Culties" game. I have always argued that I wouldn't be prepared to say that on Hill 16 as the crowd there was testament to the fact that Gaelic games were just as much a Dubs game as anyone else's. Also that they had won more AI than anyone else with the exception of Kerry.

The real Árd Rí (Meath) - Posts: 990 - 28/01/2010 18:34:46    545281

Really enjoyed both games, I thought Meath were going to do a Kerry on us in the first half, was happy with dubs reply in the second half, good turn out from the Meath fans. Down side, the Hot Dogs were cat!!!

PJ (None) - Posts: 2288 - 28/01/2010 19:14:56    545338

whiterbannnas

544584 The real Árd Rí

Any day the Royals beat the Dubs is a good day.

Any day anyone beats the Dubs is a good day.

Wah, wah, wah, blah, blah, blah - I'd say you're great craic to be around whiter.

JimmyK (Dublin) - Posts: 240 - 28/01/2010 19:41:08    545359

the seal

molly malone...

ha ha,would ye stop ,louth would beat dublin at the minute..
as i said stick to the soccer,yere not a gaa county,get over
it and move on..
Dublin may never win sam again..fact!!

Giving that Louth had beaten an almost identical Meath team by 7 points 3 weeks ago 2-14 to 3-04 with Meath getting two very late goals in the process I guess that Louth would have giving last evenings Dublin team a right good run for their money. However, I couldn't imagine Louth beating Dublin last evening simply because we don't go at Dublin the same way as we go at Meath. We go hammer and tongs at Meath because we don't like Meath. The same applies to Meath and Dublin games Meath don't like Dublin so they go bald-headed at them from the get go and sometimes Meath get lucky.......

Squid

squidword (Louth) - Posts: 2897 - 28/01/2010 19:55:21    545384