Antrim minor panel 2010

antrim will still beat derry in the 1st round!!!!!!!!!

theblender (Antrim) - Posts: 11 - 19/02/2010 18:17:54    567389

There is some players left out of that squad that should be in it...

Conor McCann - Destroyed gort na mona in the minor final last year in a two man full forward line that effectively ended the match. he should be in the squad

also no Gort Na Mona players in the squad could easily pick 3 or 4 that would easily make that squad.. Thomas McCaff..Eamon Hughes..Padraig Fryers..Conor Docherty all more than capable of playin county football as they showed when they helped guide gort to the minor final last year!

OnlookingGael (Antrim) - Posts: 14 - 19/02/2010 18:20:46    567393

Its not only about who is in the squad and not able to play at championship level its the fact that these average players have taken those spots from some very talented young footballer. Disgrace to see no Gort Na Mona players considering the strength of their current team.

Saffron1916 (Antrim) - Posts: 30 - 21/02/2010 11:09:48    568351

No gort na mona players attented the trials dare i say

Antrimlegend (Antrim) - Posts: 31 - 21/02/2010 15:41:07    568590

conor mccann is possibly the most talanted footballer in the county at the age level, why dont the management teams aproach these players from cregan and gort to help boost the team, its the best 24 in the county this squad needs, average just isnt good enough

the_stig (Antrim) - Posts: 31 - 21/02/2010 16:59:03    568676

NO GORT LADS??? i can understand that this gort na mona team have been over rated some what in recent years, but still to make every final in every championship they have played in and to not have county players is outrages, lets face it there is a bit of bias there with the lamh dearg boys but in fairness they do have the strongest panel on paper, i think a few amendments could be made to that panel hence more gort, creagan (MCcann) and a few cargin boys could be inserted to introduce a bit of steel and know how when it comes to championship matches to the squad, BTW Chris Magennis for captain

lenyard (Antrim) - Posts: 91 - 22/02/2010 12:21:05    569341

i agree lenyard, ive never seen mccann play but i hear he's quite a footballer

Swacswee (Antrim) - Posts: 20 - 22/02/2010 17:04:53    569817

sorry lads but you's havent realised the management team did approach the likes of conor mccann and he joined the panel, never trained and took himself off it, if these players had any interest in playing county football they would have gone to trials, ok they may be good, but you dont want players who havent the interest, ,who are just there for the gear. There aren't many average players on that squad, and im sure that any average players will be dropped if needs be, the management team will pick the best 24 from who trialled. What's the point in having trials if they're going to pick people who did not trial?

AntrimMan123 (Antrim) - Posts: 93 - 25/02/2010 12:30:04    572803

Was talking to one of the panelists and from what they told me he has the interest but has other reasons why he can't train. I think he is on the st marys macrory panel who play this weekend and has been plagued with injuries so is unable to play. I also think its stupid of you (antrimman123) to say that he is just there for the gear, surely if that was true he would stay to get it. do you not agree?

robinhood (Antrim) - Posts: 128 - 25/02/2010 14:23:42    572949

antrimman123 you should get your facts write first

Harry.Potter (Antrim) - Posts: 12 - 25/02/2010 14:52:16    572998

harry.potter you should get your grammar **right first

Swacswee (Antrim) - Posts: 20 - 25/02/2010 15:17:41    573034

antrimman123. Sounds like you know conor mc cann personally. if you can tell us so many facts about him why dont you know that there is several others have trained as much as him due to other commitments? Is he not a "stickballer" too as titsmagee mentioned earlier so maybe he finds hurling and football running both side by side too much? i hear Christopher McGuinness is only playing the one sport for the county minors, any truth in it?

JFK10 (Antrim) - Posts: 24 - 25/02/2010 17:20:18    573189

your man knows the craic, he obviously passed his english gcse's;)

here all this talk about mccanns, yet very little about declan?..good keeper, also good out field, was away to ulster with the u16s last year, must have some game in him.

cant help but notice theres a few people getting annoyed at the antrim panel, well done by the way..complaining on the websites DEFINTLY going to change the managmin..NAT, lol. Goodtimes

Derry2010 (Derry) - Posts: 9 - 25/02/2010 18:00:58    573239

sorry robinhood, i was not refering to conor mccann as one of the men who is there for the gear.
also, i am led to believe that conor hasnt the interest in county football, and is just interested in playin county hurling this year, im also told that he is troubled with injury and does not want to be taking on too many teams this year. i do not know conor personally, i just have sources....
JFK10
i do know of others who do not train for the likes of macrory, however they still appear at training sessions.
i know more than you boys think

AntrimMan123 (Antrim) - Posts: 93 - 25/02/2010 18:40:01    573290

the_stig its not up to the managemnent to go round the county knocking doors to get players too attend trails if they want to and are interested in playing gaelic they will attend the trails, some of them young boys you mentioned might be good footballers but if they dont go to trails and are not interested they wont get on the team simple as. And its funny how yous can come on here and ridicule the management team, a lot of yous said that yous have attended trails, well grow a set and say to the managers cuz theres no point hiding behinde this. Also in previous posts it stated that the management team are 'inexperineced' from a certain 'harry potter' well from what i know they are far from inexperienced and know what they are doing and are highly involved in club football and have been quite successfull unlike others.. Jealousy is an awful thing harrypotter??????? i have you sussed to?????? better still if you think that the managment are soo rubbish why dont yous put yourselves up to manage the team next year,,,, al yous hardcore gaa people hiding behinde a forum.

antrimgael123 (Antrim) - Posts: 37 - 26/02/2010 10:13:30    573681

guys let be honest all this ribbish talk on this forum isnt going to change anything in relation to what panel is picked and what players are on and arnt on! also, i feel that there is some players that are on the panel and are commenting on this to wind the whole thing up! :) u surely could fill us in on what the team may be for first league game..?

peterjohn (Derry) - Posts: 12 - 26/02/2010 11:53:49    573795

management team are far from inexperienced, they know their stuff.

AntrimMan123 (Antrim) - Posts: 93 - 26/02/2010 12:08:27    573821

they better know something if they have the task of managing this gud crop of players! This team should have sights on ulster championship and no less!

bigben (Antrim) - Posts: 6 - 26/02/2010 12:15:17    573839

If this team hadnt been drawn against perennial Tyrone then yes a run to the final would have been a good goal to aim for, but I fear a first round exit will not give these lads / management the chance to show their full potential.

Iardheisceart (Antrim) - Posts: 71 - 26/02/2010 13:56:33    573980

[ Has Harry Potter got himslef out of the pub to give more advice?

ardboeman (Antrim) - Posts: 5 - 26/02/2010 15:19:43    574119