This topic has been closed. No further posting is allowed.
Wouldnt mind knowing why all games were called off either???
county (Antrim) - Posts: 61 - 27/05/2010 17:44:47
Macs v EGB, called off by EGB because they have a mini bus heading down to Ruislip on sunday to watch the london v roscommon game, although we arent supposed to know that. This county board is actually getting worse with their carry on. Any chance of getting `millbrook` onto this fixtures committe and get it sorted out. Back to the same old craic of calling games off for no good reason. Although EGB are probarly trying to prolong their season because of the way they have been playing lately they could be out of everything by early july. There are two games in PNH on tuesday night both Sugrue cup games, Macs v RC and JM v EGB. I would say Macs by 5 or 6 points and JM to turnover EGB by a point or so. Just wondering Micheal_ Lyster will you be out to watch them ???
moonshine (UK) - Posts: 297 - 27/05/2010 20:17:02
Could someone post some contact details for EGB as their website is down. Thanks
OisinCLG (UK) - Posts: 12 - 28/05/2010 08:03:09
Cemtex help out our fello gael.
macsforfive (Tipperary) - Posts: 164 - 28/05/2010 10:58:43
Try their facebook page?
Intelinside (UK) - Posts: 64 - 28/05/2010 11:34:01
does anyone know how the county football team trials went
knowle (Roscommon) - Posts: 82 - 29/05/2010 09:31:52
the trials went ok though i think there were a lot of lads missing. warwicks trial team won by 3 or 4 in the end. there were a few Barnabas lads there in the back line and they did well enough along with Dooley, Hanlon, Bennett and Grace from Mitchells. Masters / Casements seemed to have a few new faces too.
andquick (UK) - Posts: 60 - 29/05/2010 12:49:47
moonshine I was at last meeting, there was no request from clubs to call off games this weekend, it was a decision by fixtures sec. as he thought clubs would have players away, most of clubs said they were prepared to play. I think everyone would have welcomed playing this weekend. It was a golden chance to play all back fixtures and get up to date. You can only help with fixtures if they want help and at present I dont see that happening and in some ways its hard to blame them, we as clubs elected them and only the clubs can demand things to change. There was more concern about michells v casements game not being played than any other fixture and was infact the only one discussed. No mention of St Finbarrs not fielding for any of their games. What is the point in them spending millions on developing and looking for funds from Croke Park if they are not fielding a team ? There should be some one appointed to look into clubs consistently not fielding and find out why, as players will lose interest and just give up, this will result in those players being lost to the association. I had a call from a player concerning the county set up, he is interested in playing but found it difficult to understand why players had to contact the manager. also when they arrived the manager didn't actually know who they were and was asking players their name and who other players were. No disrespect to the manager but I think he needs help, maybe one selector from Coventry, Nottingham and Birmingham. The time scale he is using is far two short, you cannot gel a team together in three weeks. They have a game against St Barnabas next Thurs. so if you are interested in playing for you county and have not been contacted yet call Sean Quigley 07802637159
millbrook (UK) - Posts: 103 - 29/05/2010 14:43:17
We all know why the games have be cancelled this weekend, dont we??? Well, I will tell you then.. Sean Mc Dermotts had arranged a weekend in Ireland and forgot to say anything to the County Board until last weekend. Instead of the County Board saying that its to short off noticed and the game must go ahead, they folded and not only cancelled the McDermotts v EGB match, they cancelled all matches and used the excuess of the "Bank Holiday". What a load of rubbish!! These "Bank Holiday" weekends are the very dates, when we should have a full fixture list so we can encrouge people to come to PnH a watch our great sport. They can relax and have a drink or two and not have to worry about work the next day!!! So thats the real reason, that all matches have been cancelled this weekend..
Diggerman (UK) - Posts: 109 - 29/05/2010 15:11:59
TAKEN FROM SEAN MC DERMOTTS WEB SITE - Posted - January 2010
Trip to Newcastlewest, Co. Limerick
After such a successful trip to Monaghan in 2007, Sean McDermott's Club has arranged for a trip to Newcastlewest, Co. Limerick on Saturday 29th May 2010 returning on Monday 31st May 2010. There will be several games played between Sean McDermott's and Newcastlewest and Adare. It will be good to have as many player's and supporter's as we can. If your interested in this weekend please contact Michelle Dowling.
Can Mc Dermotts or Warwickshire explan this please????
Diggerman (UK) - Posts: 109 - 29/05/2010 17:16:49
Diggerman,
We know you are a Mitchels man now dont be coming on here posting this and that when you dont have the bottle to back it up on the field, already your season has started to fade and the summer isnt even upon us, we all know you's will again take the easy option and try and win the intermediate as you know espically over the group stages in the snr you will be found out.
macsforfive (Tipperary) - Posts: 164 - 29/05/2010 21:50:22
macsforfive
You must be really parnoid with michells, anyway delighted to have you back , thought we had lost you, wer'e training thurs night 7p.m. We have already improved 100% on last year. we actually won a game. and still the whole summer to go, who Knows ? we might even win another game. The groups is where all teams will be found out, BUT WE WILL BE THERE TRYING WITH WHAT EVER PLAYERS WE HAVE ON THE DAY. We will also be trying to win the intermediate. Why did macs not put their junior finalists up to intermediate? are the just interested in winning the junior championship when the seniors are knocked out in july. If you look at diggermans posts I'm fairly sure he is four masters, only club he's not trying to wind up. I 'm surprised intheknow has not been on telling us Shane Mulligan (monahgan county player) has joined macs. I think he's played in the championship in monaghan this year. So even if his ankle injury clears up he probably won't play in the group stages. He is an excellent player and will add a bit extra to mac's.
millbrook (UK) - Posts: 103 - 30/05/2010 08:24:54
What is the truth behind the matches getting called off? Is it because clubs wanted a break to go to London or Limerick? Or yet more incompetency from the county board? According to Millbrook the county board meeting discussed a match being called off surely the issue of Mitchels claim to be 2 seperate clubs needs addressing. It's great to see the effort they put into Hurling but surely they can't then call off fixtures claiming lads are Hurling when their Football club is seperate, also they have an intermediate team registered so should have enough lads there to field a team or are the clubs in the county happy to let them have 4 votes.
I wonder also if the county have got gear sorted for the senior team. The lads playing in county jerseys would be a great start instead of last years farce, who on the county board was responsible for that? Everyone comes on here slatting other clubs or individuals without looking at the real problem, a county board full of individuals stuck in the past or indeed no experience of running a team never mind a club. I doubt the senior manager has even been provided footballs by the county for his team to train or play with, if i'm wrong fair enough but looking at the county I very much doubt it.
P_O_Neill1917 (Derry) - Posts: 16 - 30/05/2010 12:31:22
RC beat Macs and JM beat EGB last night in PNH!!!!
Moonshine what was that about MACS beating RC by 5 or 6?
Macs only had 1 or 2 players missing RC had half a team out and still gave them a beating. Same old same old with Macs when they were getting beat tried to bully there way to a win but it never worked. They are a good team Macs no doubting that but they are not as good as they were 3 or 4 years ago back then no one could get near them but now it is a different story altogether.
Are RC the only team not to have been beaten in the Surgre Cup?
CasementFF (UK) - Posts: 13 - 02/06/2010 08:21:44
go back to sleep mel!
you will be made eat your words july august!
macsforfive (Tipperary) - Posts: 164 - 02/06/2010 13:33:32
Is it me, or does anybody think that this years Championship is wide open!!! What are the odds for the teams now? My odds are as follows,
Mc Dermotts - 2/1 Barnabass - 3/1 EGB - 3/1 Mitchells -4/1 Rodger C/ments - 4/1 Four Masters - 6/1
What do ye think lads???? I suppose Macsforfive will say they are 1/100 on!! lol
Diggerman (UK) - Posts: 109 - 02/06/2010 13:44:31
The championship is wide open this year. Anyone could win it but i've a feeling the winners of the Macs, EGB and Barnabas group will go all the way. I've just heard EGB have gained a Galway county player???
Tiddleywink (UK) - Posts: 11 - 02/06/2010 14:21:47
You Couldn't back Four Masters at 6/1, they should be more like 50/1 and I say that as someone who likes them a lot. Also, RC should bet 15's or above. Maybe the Macs lads lost as they were recupperating after the weekend away, a touch of jet lag!
intheno (UK) - Posts: 207 - 02/06/2010 14:23:40
In fairness, the Sugrue Cup isn't gonna tell anyone anything about championship form, whatever about the league. That said, Macs are losing a few too many matches for their liking I'd say.
When does the championship kick off lads?
dowchabiy (UK) - Posts: 204 - 02/06/2010 14:24:12
Macsforfive who is Mel? I am just calling it the way i see it and your lot were at your strongest apart from Hayden and you never performed.
Diggerman I agree it is very close this year apart from FM as they are much longer than 6/1 more like 33/1 to be honest. FM have a good chance of getting to the Junior Final but never Senior.
Senior Final Casements Vs Macs that is my prediction and then it will a good close game.
Any Opinions on this?
CasementFF (UK) - Posts: 13 - 02/06/2010 14:45:01