Incidents in Leinster

Why are Tyrone so obsessed with 96 there as bad as Mayo. This county Ulster under siege mentality is beyond ridiculous

trimmer (Meath) - Posts: 537 - 26/01/2010 19:08:17    543292

Jinxie was not used v tyrone in semi-final was it hmmm .

Dellboypolecat (Tyrone) - Posts: 15069 - 26/01/2010 19:42:03    543331

trimmer because the CCC let tyrone down for not suspending players that stood on other players head and it was a disgrace what happened that day .

Dellboypolecat (Tyrone) - Posts: 15069 - 26/01/2010 19:53:59    543343

You've just proved my point Dell your still banging on about it 14 years and 3 all irelands later...move on!!!

trimmer (Meath) - Posts: 537 - 26/01/2010 20:14:26    543376

damn the southern media!.....i sometimes think the folks from the six counties on this forum hate us southerners more than the unionists!

bad.monkey (USA) - Posts: 4649 - 26/01/2010 20:31:07    543401

Dell you make Enda Kenny sound interesting.

PJ (None) - Posts: 2288 - 26/01/2010 20:34:48    543408

bad.monkey
County: USA

543401 damn the southern media!.....i sometimes think the folks from the six counties on this forum hate us southerners more than the unionists!

No we do not hate yous but want equal rights .

Dellboypolecat (Tyrone) - Posts: 15069 - 26/01/2010 20:39:37    543423

I dont agree with a lot of Dell's posts here but I do agree that this kind of brawl has to stop.

Players, coaches, administrators all have to stamp it out. It has come into the game in recent years that if a guy gets fouled he not happy with just winning his free. Often he has to shove the offender & give some verbals, next his mates have to stick their noses in & it all breaks loose.

If we are going to borrow ideas from other sports then we should act like rugby players in respect to the ref. If a guy if fouled then he needs to back off, shut up, let the ref deal with the offender, then take his free. If he opens his mouth then the ball is hopped & his team mates tell him to 'shut the feck up!'

I wasnt going to bring this up, but... I'm not surprised Laois were involved in this. Down have played them this past 2 seasons & they are one of the most whingey, whiney teams I have come across. One of the guys sent off on sunday in particular just had to stick his nose in & have his say on everything.

blu (Down) - Posts: 1240 - 26/01/2010 20:41:43    543424

Lads it a wind up, don't fuel the fire!

JuanVeron (Westmeath) - Posts: 1866 - 26/01/2010 20:43:52    543430

You must be reading one of those Northern papers Del. The Daily Telegraph perhaps!! The brawl is all over the southern papers with all kinds of calls for stern action. This was only an O'Byrne Cup game as well, not even high profile like some of the games after which certain Tyrone players were punished or not punished in the case of McMenamin on Gooch. I think that if you cast your mind back to 2 years ago and the Dublin Meath league brawl, both sets of players received completely over-the-top suspensions. So your notion that Leinster is treated differently than Ulster is completely without foundation. In fact it's Ulster paranoia.

Joxer (Dublin) - Posts: 4744 - 26/01/2010 20:58:47    543462

Joxer Like i said early on players that got a month served no games that is not a suspension that is a joke and big one at that .

Dellboypolecat (Tyrone) - Posts: 15069 - 26/01/2010 21:06:17    543475

dell wants equal rights my god what goldfish bowl do yoy live in man

hipster (Dublin) - Posts: 2509 - 26/01/2010 21:17:32    543490

That's down to disciplinary policy Del and nothing to do with bias one way or the other. The system needs to be overhauled and everybody knows that. To get back to the point of your post, I presume, you are wrong to say that this has received no attention in the media. Like I say it is all over the papers and previous suspensions dished out to Leinster players make a nonsense of your argument that because the teams are from Leinster there will be no punishment.

Joxer (Dublin) - Posts: 4744 - 26/01/2010 21:47:28    543537

Joxer i agree it needs over hauled but this did not get as much media than ricey and tommy mc guigan and that is a fact . And my argument stands well do you remember whelan elbowing a meath player at start of game why was he not suspended , like others i named in thread already . I will await your answer. And not the first time he done that and got off hmmmm .

Dellboypolecat (Tyrone) - Posts: 15069 - 26/01/2010 21:52:16    543552

Dell,
Your contradicting your own arguement. The lads did get their suspenions & 3 of them missed 2 championship games each!
But the same day that those lads were in a row, there was also a massive row involving Armagh, & not 1 single Armagh player was suspneded, So explain that one?

Jinxie (Meath) - Posts: 6347 - 27/01/2010 09:50:38    543627

Jinxie the meath players i names fay,bryne king did not miss any game i can put up facts again on the story on them and the team against carlow. So do not say that . I cant comment on armagh or you because not one of us where there so can you answer to me why players missed no games and tyrone players miss between 2 to 4 .

When i started this thread i was asked foe names and i said names now posts are bringing up incidents when no cameras where there so how can we comment. Also if posts are in to goldfish go on the non gaa thread because this is a gaa thread.

Dellboypolecat (Tyrone) - Posts: 15069 - 27/01/2010 13:01:33    543828

"But all we'll be dealing with is the referee's report, and acting on that as per the rulebook. Anything else we do as regard to what happened there is another issue."

That comment came from the CCC did the ref not deal with the ulster players that got suspended and no video evidence will not be used here so jinxie and co tell me this is not a special treatment job . Disgrace that is what it is.

Dellboypolecat (Tyrone) - Posts: 15069 - 27/01/2010 13:22:11    543853

Dell,
Ya have no reasson for the Armagh players getting off, face it.
They were involved in a 30 man brawl, the pictures were in the paper, U know all about it, but they got off!

the Meath players got their suspensions, they dont set the fixtures do they? Only 2 Meath players were sent off, yet 3 of them missed 2 championship games, thats FACT for you Dell.

What about the Derry players this year? I supose none of them got off? Take off the tinted glasses dell

Jinxie (Meath) - Posts: 6347 - 27/01/2010 13:58:14    543897

Everyone here has an opinion on the Kildare/Laois Bust up without ever seeing any footage of the incident or even a summary of the Match report from the referee. One of the Kildare boys was sent off due to a second yellow card, could happen in any match up and down the country. Yoy have Christy Cooney, President of the GAA labelling the whole incident as disgusting without seeing any footage of the game, hearing the referee's report or attending the game. How is this allowed, he is the GAA president afterall?? You also have Newspapers covering the incident, getting the players names wrong and not reporting the facts, them being not all the reds were straight red cards. I was at the game, and the mele was handbags stuff. Yes there was one or 2 punches thrown but nothing that is being reported in the papers.

odoylerules (Laois) - Posts: 86 - 27/01/2010 14:00:02    543902

This is a funny thread - but an entertaining one at that which proves Dell's worth as a bit of titillation for the rest of us. He argues that 28 players were involved and all should be banned, we should just be glad he was not refereeing it or he would have left us with a game involving just one a side. That would have made great news around the world.
In the Meath-Dublin brawl three Meath players got a month - Peadar Byrne, Darren Fay and Caoimhin King - an didn't miss a game, but five got two months and missed two championship games - Nigel Crawford, Shane McAnarney, Brendan Murphy, Seamus Kenny and Niall McKeigue.
Can anybody out there remember the last time a county had five players suspended for two championship games. Come on Dell, better that - tell us the poor county that has been landed with worse suspensions than that!
Video evidence works both ways - if there was no video at the Kildare-Laois game, then suspensions cannot be given to players not named in the referee's report. The flip side is that players suspended cannot appeal their suspension if there is no video evidence to clear them.
Has video evidence been used to clear any Tyrone players in the past Dell? You bet it has, and if it was right, then I have no problem with it - just like video evidence was used to clear Team of the Millennium player Martin O'Connell in 1996 against Tyrone.
Selective memory is a problem all round - but the five Meath players deserved their suspensions back in 2008, I've no problem with that. What seems to make you a source of fun is that you think no Tyrone or Ulster player ever deserves a suspension - and if they do get suspended then they are being picked upon.

Roger (Meath) - Posts: 480 - 27/01/2010 14:28:54    543925