Seven Players Red Carded

so where is the moral outrage about the children and the poor mothers who had to watch this???...of course some posters choose to blame an ulsterman for the debacle...i just hope ryan mcmenamin was nowhere near the vicinity of this match??.....i can't wait to read the outcry in the papers tomorrow, and how the offending players are hung out to dry by the media..of course there will hardly be a murmur...more hypocricy along the lines of this thread already..ref being too officious..blah blah..ref putting his foot down at this time of year..blah blah...match means nothing..blah blah..pathetic!!

mayotyroneman (Tyrone) - Posts: 1821 - 24/01/2010 21:37:42    541390

Anyone have a video link to th brawl ???

lilywhite09 (Kildare) - Posts: 80 - 24/01/2010 21:43:24    541402

Sedico what about the time we beat ye by 15 odd points? We know we are behind Dublin and Kildare in Leinster and make no qualms about saying otherwise. McGeeney obviously has his players told to go out and try bully the opposition because they dont have the natural footballing ability to do it!!

FreddieT (Laois) - Posts: 3 - 24/01/2010 21:50:59    541414

Two years ago a few Meath and Dublin players were sent off in a league match, three I think, which resulted in a huge witch-hunt and resulted in even more players being suspended. I await to see the fall-out from this match but I'm not holding my breath. If however, it were Meath and Dublin the media and other commentators would have a field day and they could pursue their favorite sport of ranting against these two counties.

The real Árd Rí (Meath) - Posts: 990 - 24/01/2010 21:55:27    541421

Exactly Ard Ri,
Wil there be the same witchhunt now after this game as there was after the Meath v Dublin game 2 years ago where there was less sendings off!
Doubt it as usual!

Jinxie (Meath) - Posts: 6347 - 25/01/2010 09:15:09    541459

I was surprised it was only 7

Footballforever (UK) - Posts: 92 - 25/01/2010 09:27:07    541476

I am rather unsurprised that the Laois supporters are playing the poor mouths and trying to infer that Kildare came down to bully them. What actually happened was that by the time of the brawl, Kildare had just about achieved the upper hand and a couple of Laois lads started throwing their weight around including one of them clocking Ronan Sweeney which for some bizarre reason the referee did not deal with. Then the almighty row ensued.

In the heel of the hunt Laois had 4 players given straight red cards and Kildare had 2. So you can make of that what you will. Clearly the referee didn't agree with the sentiment that Kildare came to bully Laois. Laois decided that they would throw their weight around, in what would otherwise be a meaningless match if not for the opposition involved, as they quite rightly realised, that yesterday was their beast chance to beat Kildare in the year.

Not that I am making any excuses. I'm sure there'll be some sort of investigation and those who were red carded or will be "cited" during the investigation should accept their punishments and accept that brawls of that fashion have no place in the game.

Cilldara_2000 (Kildare) - Posts: 57 - 25/01/2010 10:11:57    541505

Same old story. Between now and May, referees will be giving out yellows and reds like they were sweets. The GAA like to give the public the idea that a new lease of discipline has been instilled but by July all of this will be forgotten and the refs will go back to their usual ways of being reluctant to send players from certain teams off.
If referees were giving out yellows and reds for challenges in the all-ireland final last year like they were in February, there would have a been a lot less players left on the field

NavyNBlue (Dublin) - Posts: 1357 - 25/01/2010 10:15:28    541506

Typical Leinster football!! Sort yourselves out down there!!!

Breffni40 (Cavan) - Posts: 12332 - 25/01/2010 10:19:11    541512

Freddie, hard to see how you reckon there is no football ability, we won the game as well as the row.

Summerofsam (Kildare) - Posts: 157 - 25/01/2010 10:27:24    541515

Theres never a TG4 camera around when you need one!!

DubsExileInNaas (Dublin) - Posts: 171 - 25/01/2010 11:35:38    541578

I am telling you that dirt and violence is like a disease in our game and it's slowly and slowly moving south!!
Thankfully we'll be one of the last to get it down here in Wexford.

ColinWex (Wexford) - Posts: 901 - 25/01/2010 11:45:42    541589

I must whole heartedly agree with my county comrades regarding the comparison with the Meath/Dublin game in 2008, the fallout of that game was pasted on the papers for weeks just because it was Meath and Dublin and the suspensions handed out to Meath certainly didn't help them going into the Championship that year. The actions of the disciplinary bodies concerned will be watched with close interest here, any game where 7 players are sent off needs to be examined thoroughly in terms of both players and officials actions however I doubt we will see that happening.

Richieq (Meath) - Posts: 3748 - 25/01/2010 12:15:30    541620

It was Tyrone`s fault.
Bet Ricey will get a few months now and god help Mulligan.

watching (Tyrone) - Posts: 853 - 25/01/2010 12:29:58    541642

ColinWex
County: Wexford

541589 I am telling you that dirt and violence is like a disease in our game and it's slowly and slowly moving south!!
Thankfully we'll be one of the last to get it down here in Wexford.

Slowly moving South you say? I remember numerous Leinster finals throughout the late 80's early 90's where other than the fact that there were goalposts you wouldn't have known that there was a game of football on.

It would seem that ye are not al saints down there either

http://www.independent.ie/sport/gaa-championships/gaelic-football/wexford-too-busy-for-probe-into-brawl-1433751.html

omaghredhand (Tyrone) - Posts: 3656 - 25/01/2010 12:30:41    541643

Ref, should have abandoned the match with 24 players involved. and both teams should be thrown out of the competition and other early competitions for this year. Any sideline players or management involved?
To be honest its an absolute disgrace, with young kids and fans of football there watching and learning. I hope they all get considerable bans. Its only the O'Byrne cup for God sake. This really disappoints me.
After the Tadhg Kennelly incident in last years final and his book, it partly justified a means-to-an-end in the game, to get an advantage. Young players will be influenced by this, so I do hope the powers that be, send out a strong signal.
Maybe they should introduce all home games in Kildare and Laois to have no supporters allowed this year. That would hurt them where it really hurts the most at this time. Sendings off are not enought!

ninjasmyth (Louth) - Posts: 747 - 25/01/2010 12:40:35    541661

I gotta agree with ninjasmyth, the ref should have abandoned the game and both team kicked out of the competition. I mean with 24 players involved what else could be done. He sent 5 off but this just means most of the offenders got off scot free. I hope Kildare don't think they will be able to bully us next weekend.

Louth Gael (Louth) - Posts: 1227 - 25/01/2010 12:55:33    541687

Jaysus Nina hold up for a bit.
Thats a little severe. Throw them outta the that & other early season competitions, so im assuming you mean the league too?
And play games behind closed doors? Thats a bit much for amatuers. County boards would need whatever revenue they can get, not like professional soccer clubs who might be able to sustain the hit of temporarily being behind closed doors.
And to throw them out of the competition & the league would be a total wrong idea!

Jinxie (Meath) - Posts: 6347 - 25/01/2010 12:56:03    541691

Very strong views coming from the Louth camp.... Ye must be scared of them if you want them thrown out rather than hafta play them.....

Jinxie (Meath) - Posts: 6347 - 25/01/2010 13:41:24    541747

Jinxie is correct. The over reaction to the Dublin/Meath game should not be an excuse for a witch hunt against Laois and Kildare. This was always going to be a tough game given their history and ambitions but I don't think anyone was seriuosly injured. There were serious attempts to injure players in the televised rugby matches at weekend but there is no media attention on this!

hurlingdub (Dublin) - Posts: 6978 - 25/01/2010 14:46:39    541821