Assuming they were justified, and if we know Laois V Kildare matches then they probably were, it's good to see one referee, at least, getting tough on foul play. Let's hope we see more of this from referees this year and years to some, and a stamping out of foul and unfair play (including the feigning of injury) in our games. Although by the time the CCCCCCCC and CDGFCRCSFA get their hands on it and confirm, overturn, confirm and then finally overturn and the apologists come out with the usual verse of '...sure isn't it a man's game...' it will all have been for nothing and that poor referee will never get another inter-county match!! But it's a start... Real Louth fan (Louth) - Posts: 3157 - 24/01/2010 17:41:50 541089 Link 0 |
would ye have said this if kildare were the other side of the draw? be affraid ! madden (Kildare) - Posts: 293 - 24/01/2010 18:05:43 541132 Link 0 |
There is real spite between these 2. They play eachother 3 times a year which doesn't help. When we thumped them 2-18 to 0-9 last June it wasn't enough. We really bayed for blood. I really don't like Laois. Dermot Early was on the ground getting thumped. Disgraceful assault. Daith (Kildare) - Posts: 1172 - 24/01/2010 18:16:31 541154 Link 0 |
24/01/2010 18:05:43 Real Louth fan (Louth) - Posts: 3157 - 24/01/2010 18:37:04 541174 Link 0 |
couldnt believe my ears when i heard 7 players got sent of .. waynoI (Dublin) - Posts: 13654 - 24/01/2010 18:46:32 541185 Link 0 |
Thats some amount of players to be sent off i,d say the ref was glad to see full time.Anyone tell me whats the most players ever to be sent off in a game is... DUB1 (Dublin) - Posts: 5583 - 24/01/2010 18:55:28 541196 Link 0 |
Referees get very officious at this time every year and then ease off as the year progresses.... weren't there a lot of cards in London too? BIG SACKS (Tyrone) - Posts: 1681 - 24/01/2010 18:59:17 541202 Link 0 |
The seven players sent off was justified though you could argue that more should have gone. The fight that broke out had at least 24 players in it, all throwing punches and some kicks, so how the ref and his assistants decided the three Laois players and the two Kildare where the worst is beyond me. The players who actually started the fight got away with it as well. MarineBiologist (Laois) - Posts: 7 - 24/01/2010 19:06:20 541208 Link 0 |
yea always said kildare were a very poor football team...not there just reverting to fighingt...very,very pure...i mean poor...all downhill for kildare from here proevo (Meath) - Posts: 296 - 24/01/2010 19:13:44 541213 Link 0 |
Kildare has got the Geezers Steel installed in them Now! will be a hand full for any team in there Provence and beyond! williewentwell (Tyrone) - Posts: 1712 - 24/01/2010 19:28:09 541229 Link 0 |
Brolly (Monaghan) - Posts: 4472 - 24/01/2010 19:52:49 541269 Link 0 |
It's a very sad and increasing side of the game that this is very much a tactic used to 'sort out' the opposition and to get the edge. Real Louth fan (Louth) - Posts: 3157 - 24/01/2010 20:00:38 541282 Link 0 |
GOD US DUBS ARE A SHOWER OF ANIMALS,WE SHOULD BE BANNED FOR LIFE .TERRIBLE IS TOO SMALL A WORD TO USE,IM APPALLED.YOU CANT BRING US ANYWHERE.GOD I CAN EVEN HEAR THE OUTCRY FROM THE MEDIA ALREADY. finglas full ba (None) - Posts: 636 - 24/01/2010 20:07:44 541293 Link 0 |
"Geezers Steel" as you call it won't be of much benefit if there are no players left on the pitch!!! Richieq (Meath) - Posts: 3748 - 24/01/2010 20:09:57 541295 Link 0 |
wow say there were some digs thrown..... flyer (Meath) - Posts: 815 - 24/01/2010 20:10:21 541296 Link 0 |
Geezer as ye call him has turned Kildare into the poor mans Armagh. They wont win anything this year because they have no forwards, apart from Doyle. They came to Portlaoise with the intention of bullying Laois but Laois wont roll over for anyone. FreddieT (Laois) - Posts: 3 - 24/01/2010 20:25:38 541305 Link 0 |
You have a very short memory. They rolled over to Kildare last year when they were beaten by 14/15 points. sedico (Kildare) - Posts: 1682 - 24/01/2010 21:06:28 541353 Link 0 |
Since mcgeedy came to kildare there has been a improvement no doubt, and were worthy winners over laois in tullamore. But he's now came to portlaoise a few times with the kildare team dirty as hell with laois. ANYONE IN THE COUNTRY WHO KNOW'S LAOIS KNOW'S WERE NOT A PHYSICAL SIDE! Were known for our lack of size. Today kildare attempted the same thing but didn get away with it as they'd hoped! Laois played most of the game with two men less than kildare had an experimental side and only lost by 3 points against the supposed leinster number 2 (after one good year!) I'll look forward to the league match. Perhaps geezer will decide to let his team play the football there capable of. Markymark (Laois) - Posts: 644 - 24/01/2010 21:14:58 541366 Link 0 |
BIG SACKS fredrickwood (Roscommon) - Posts: 2871 - 24/01/2010 21:21:34 541372 Link 0 |
lads lads lads. was at the match and the strangest thing about the result or the 7 sendings off or the off the ball incidents was john doyle getting sent off. in all fairness out of the 30 players he is the cleanist player and at best defended himself. the ref really went to make a name for himself. Dublinlilly (Dublin) - Posts: 166 - 24/01/2010 21:27:01 541377 Link 0 |