Wayne Rooney

I met a mate of mine the other day
Said he's seen the white Pele
I said to him, what's him name??
He goes by the name of Wayne Rooney
Wanye Rooney, Wanye Rooney ..............

Adler (Monaghan) - Posts: 754 - 19/02/2010 11:58:37    566597

Mancirish
County: UK

Get in there Pat, we see eye to eye on the Rooney subject anyway.

The guy is a genuine world great.

Nice to have you back by the way Slasher was starting to miss ya.

I confess I was also swayed because Wayne is a good mach analyst.

At half time against Milan his first words were "lads, Milan are giving us a lesson in the finer arts......"

patrique (Antrim) - Posts: 13709 - 19/02/2010 18:14:42    567382

slayer
County: Limerick

While Ferguson has instilled a work rate into all his players, Moyes has that same effort driven into all his Everton players. To get into Everton's side you need to work hard, if you don't you're out, exactly what football should be all about.

hence the misunderstanding about the "finer arts".

The true greats do not rely on work rate.

Big teams, good teams, play football, lesser teams use work rate to compensate for not being good.

That's what the city fans don't understand. Yet.

patrique (Antrim) - Posts: 13709 - 19/02/2010 18:43:21    567434

so 32, when messi got all his goals last season we should actually be praising xavi and iniesta? By the way, xavi and iniesta are what make barca tick, without them they wouldnt be half the side, ur impending denial of this only underlines the fact that you know nothing

TheMaster (Mayo) - Posts: 16187 - 20/02/2010 12:30:03    567741

no, the 3 of them are playmakes master. hence messi wears the prestigious no. 10 playmakers jersey once worn by maradonna and johan cruijff. unlike ronaldo he actually has a football brain

32_4_1 (Meath) - Posts: 4195 - 20/02/2010 14:24:56    567878

think im losin it, showboat on soccer am ronaldo picked out a pass between defenders and played it with a flick. i was told he cant see or make a pass... next he'l run with the ball!! worlds gone mad

speedy12 (Fermanagh) - Posts: 592 - 20/02/2010 16:32:51    567971

speedy12
County: Fermanagh

think im losin it, showboat on soccer am ronaldo picked out a pass between defenders and played it with a flick. i was told he cant see or make a pass... next he'l run with the ball!!

He could always "Run" with a ball.

He could never "dribble" with a ball.

patrique (Antrim) - Posts: 13709 - 20/02/2010 16:47:47    567986

the difference? maybe he'l dribble it then.

speedy12 (Fermanagh) - Posts: 592 - 20/02/2010 19:58:37    568202

speedy12

Being called "Speedy" you should know. Ronaldo's only method of beating a player was to knock the ball 10 yards past the player and rely on speed.

The Adam Johnson's of this worold can beat a player by the use of footballing, "dribbling", skills.

And that is why at European and international level, Ronaldo cannot beat a man as the other teams simply have someone waiting nine yards away to receive his pass.

patrique (Antrim) - Posts: 13709 - 20/02/2010 20:10:56    568216

what is this garbage about players being good because they can dribble? First off, of course ronaldo can dribble and anyone saying otherwise either hasnt a clue or just has an ulterior motive. But even if what you are saying was true, what is the difference? Why are players who are better at dribbling automatically better than all other players? Surely, as long as someone is not breaking the rules, the ends justify the means? For instance, the best striker the premier league has seen is alan shearer, but the only step-overs he was likely to do was stepping over a slumped opponent who he had just cleaned out in a tackle! Who decided that his approach is not as good as the likes of robinho? He was far more prolific for a start, so what makes them superior? Didier drogba is another example, andriy arshavin is a far superior dribbler but who has scored more goals? Good dribblers are light nimble players with a low centre of gravity, it is more this fact that gives them an advantage than some phantom special ability. So what is the difference between using this advantage and an exceptional athlete using the advantage they have? Arent both types of players just playing to their strengths? Do you think for one minute that if georgi kinkladze had ronaldo's pace he wouldnt have used it to his advantage? Its only urself u are fooling

TheMaster (Mayo) - Posts: 16187 - 21/02/2010 12:49:26    568419

what is this garbage about players being good because they can dribble?

For once I can fully agree with you.

What idiot said that players are good simply because they could dribble?

the standard of posting must be getting worse.

Unless the standard of reading is getting worse.

patrique (Antrim) - Posts: 13709 - 21/02/2010 12:57:05    568425

First off, of course ronaldo can dribble and anyone saying otherwise either hasnt a clue or just has an ulterior motive.

So which one are you patrique?

32 so messi gives himself assists does he? And doesnt william gallas wear number 10? Why does that fool wenger keep playing him at centre back? What a ridiculous argument...

TheMaster (Mayo) - Posts: 16187 - 21/02/2010 13:52:29    568481

FOR THE ATTENTION OF THE MASTER.

THIS IS A REPEAT POST.

PLEASE READ IT.

20/02/2010 20:10:56
patrique

speedy12

Being called "Speedy" you should know. Ronaldo's only method of beating a player was to knock the ball 10 yards past the player and rely on speed.

The Adam Johnson's of this world can beat a player by the use of footballing, "dribbling", skills.

That was the definition of dribbling skills.

Now thousands of great players have no dribbling skills, including Ronaldo. But they have other skills.

patrique (Antrim) - Posts: 13709 - 21/02/2010 17:14:07    568706

the no. 10 jersey at various clubs is reserved for the playmaker. i thought you know this since you seem to be into football. barca is one of those clubs and its currently worn by messi, previously worn by playmakers like riquelme, maradonna and crjuiff etc.

32_4_1 (Meath) - Posts: 4195 - 21/02/2010 21:37:49    569025

I tink Fabianski is world classs.
Wota goal against porto

sausageholes (Cavan) - Posts: 14 - 21/02/2010 21:38:33    569029

Patrique wrote:

The true greats do not rely on work rate.

Then why are your posts so long & numerous on this board? You are trying to convince us that you're a great but there are probably 100 people on this messageboard that make far more sense than you.

slayer (Limerick) - Posts: 6490 - 22/02/2010 10:01:55    569127

I love how Adam Johnson is being seriously suggested in this thread!! A month ago Patrique likely never heard of him, but he signs for a premiership team that aren't United and suddenly he's world-class!

Breffni40 (Cavan) - Posts: 12452 - 22/02/2010 10:32:36    569144

oh okay patrique, so it is actually not ur opinion that good dribblers are better players simply because they can dribble well? The means justify the ends so right? So ronaldo is actually one of the best players in the world right?

Also, rooney has a higher work rate than most players playing today, and if ur revelations about work rate as a substitute for ability are to be believed, then why were you championing him earlier in the thread?

TheMaster (Mayo) - Posts: 16187 - 22/02/2010 13:55:06    569514

im sorry but as far as i can see some people think you cant be any good at anything unless you do it exactly like messi. yes he's amazing, but theres more than one way to skin a cat. at least we'v settled it than ronaldo can pass anyway.
tune in next week for an arguement on wether or not ronaldo can walk. i dont even know why they pay him to play football really, 130 grand a week and he cant do what 7 yr olds get taught at training

speedy12 (Fermanagh) - Posts: 592 - 23/02/2010 15:37:30    570855

I still think Ronaldo is the best player in the world. It's about end product, goals. His scoring rate & goal creation rate is huge this past 3 seasons. I don't care if anyone thinks he just knocks the ball by a player & runs after it. The key is he plays to his strengths and he gets the goals.

Messi is a wonderful talent, but I feel is behind Ronaldo in terms of end product. Of course there are people who see it the other way around, but that is the great thing about the game, everyone has an opinion.

slayer (Limerick) - Posts: 6490 - 23/02/2010 15:48:20    570877