Wayne Rooney

Mancirish County: UK Posts: 212 545330 Jaysus lads, ye know I work during the day, and didn't get home til near 7 tonight. United win the League Cup? Imagine that as a headline. Now look at my post on another thread. Can you imagine the slegging City, a big club like us with all that money would have got if we had WON the league cup? No thanks, we will just go with the Arsenal's and Chelsea's. CL for us. Here did you notice Chelsea won last night, they mustn't be concentrating on the league cup. Still, I suppose it might get ye into Europe which is something. Who do you play in the final? Snigger

patrique (Antrim) - Posts: 13709 - 28/01/2010 21:42:55    545594

Rooney a class act .

Dellboypolecat (Tyrone) - Posts: 15069 - 28/01/2010 21:58:04    545632

mancirish, it wasnt so long ago you were slagging the superior europa/uefa cup and calling it a meaningless trophy, yet here you are bragging about getting to the final of an even more irrelevant competition.

32_4_1 (Meath) - Posts: 4195 - 29/01/2010 09:46:48    545684

Lies Patrique. You have argued that Berbatov is Utd's best. Another example of you bigging yourself up retrospectively.

Breffni40 (Cavan) - Posts: 12452 - 29/01/2010 10:17:11    545707

21 goals this season and halfway through and city go another year with nothing. rooney rooney......

Dellboypolecat (Tyrone) - Posts: 15069 - 29/01/2010 21:13:17    546616

On a serious point about Rooney, the lad has definitely stepped up to the mark this year with club and Country. tell me another player who is performing as well. Rooney virtually carried England on his own to the World Cup Finals, with MOM performances in most games. No one can deny that he is the star of the show in the Prem at the moment.

Lets look at his opposition;

Ronaldo,

Playing well for Madrid when on the pitch, but has missed most of the season. Has been poor for Portugal as they scrapped through to the World Cup finals.

Messi

Again playing reasonably well for Barcelona, but yet to reach the heights of last year that is for sure. His performances for Argentina have been very average and as did Portugal they struggled to qualify to the World Cup just scrapping over the line.

Kaka

He has played well for Brazil but has not shined at all in the colours of Madrid.

Now when you look at the cold facts Rooney is definitely up there at the moment.

Rooney for World player of the year 2010 why not guys?

Mancirish (UK) - Posts: 2200 - 29/01/2010 21:46:59    546660

ronaldo isnt playing well. he'll get some goals but so will forlan. his general play is rubbish. he still cant beat a player one on one and never could. still cant pick out a defence spitting pass and is still brain dead in regards to football. so no changes there

messi on the other hand is playing great football at the moment. maybe not to the standard he was playing to last year but still exceptional. see when comparing messi, you have to compare him to his own high standards. so what other player comes close to his standards. no one. again he has a superior games-goals ratio, meaning this season he has a more prolific strkie rate AGAIN (from a deeper lying position) to rooney. of course when a player in england starts to play well the british media hype starts. even more so when its actually an english player. but the reality is messi is still way ahead of rooney.

and kaka. messi's only REAL challanger again. a genius. not playing aswell as he could this season but still has the potential to do anything. if madrid actualy won the champions league this will be the guy who will win it for them. really steps up to the mark on the big stage

so why should rooney get world player of the year? becuase he's actually scoring some goals for once. is that not what strikers are supposed to do? see whats happening here is people are now judging messi by his exceptionally high standards, while compering rooney to his average standard of his previous few years.

32_4_1 (Meath) - Posts: 4195 - 30/01/2010 13:53:19    546815

Mancirish
County: UK

Ronaldo,

Playing well for Madrid when on the pitch, but has missed most of the season.

No, no. That is ROBINHO, but never let facts get in the way of a story, just like Sky.

patrique (Antrim) - Posts: 13709 - 30/01/2010 13:59:07    546822

He is very over-rated !! Its the English media talking him up !!

Cavan_Slasher (Cavan) - Posts: 10253 - 30/01/2010 15:01:54    546851

Who told you that Slasher was it your mate from work???

Mancirish (UK) - Posts: 2200 - 30/01/2010 19:36:39    547037

Mancirish, yes and most of them are Man Utd fans too. Hard to listen to !!

Cavan_Slasher (Cavan) - Posts: 10253 - 30/01/2010 21:08:22    547116

Cavan_Slasher

Mancirish, yes and most of them are Man Utd fans too. Hard to listen to !!

Not in my work they aren't. Well, not this week.

I am still sniggering at them and they just can't cope.

patrique (Antrim) - Posts: 13709 - 30/01/2010 21:50:49    547171

After that performance today it is a CERT that Rooney will be the subject of a big continental bid in the summer and Utd, being a selling club, will take it. It would be a terrible shame if he was allowed to fester at a lesser club like Utd and inferior league like the EPL. His talents must be shown at the highest level in Spain or Italy, the huff and puff of English football will ruin him.

Ulsterman (Antrim) - Posts: 9825 - 31/01/2010 18:29:16    547551

The Roo is on fire yet again!!!!!

This time the Arsenal are put to the sword. Another great performance by the legend which is Wayne Rooney.

The match up between Rooney and Fabregas showed who is top dog in the prem, by a mile guys it was the Roo!!!!

Nani was class again today, has he turned the corner???

Rooney World player of the year 2010 lads get your money on it. Mancirish does not lie.

Mancirish (UK) - Posts: 2200 - 31/01/2010 18:38:23    547564

Patrique you are not sniggering your seething if the truth be known
and you are putting on a brave face. Go on admit it and take yourself into a corner
and have a little cry and let all your frustrations come out it will do you the power of good
and you might not feel that 34 years is not a long time.

Mulligan Eamonn (None) - Posts: 896 - 31/01/2010 19:17:51    547618

Rooney World player of the year 2010 lads get your money on it. Mancirish does not lie.

why would the striker rooney be given world player of the year when a midfielder in spain has a more prolific strike rate?

32_4_1 (Meath) - Posts: 4195 - 31/01/2010 20:05:14    547687

31/01/2010 20:05:14
32_4_1

547687 Rooney World player of the year 2010 lads get your money on it. Mancirish does not lie.

why would the striker rooney be given world player of the year when a midfielder in spain has a more prolific strike rate?

ruanua (Donegal) - Posts: 4966 - 31/01/2010 20:14:46    547700

Hang on 32, wasnt ur argument that messi was better than ronaldo based on the notion that goals are not the most important thing? How many more tunes do you sing?

Why do people not want rooney to get any credit? He is clearly the most influential player in the world at the moment. I find it amusing that people name guys like pato or kaka ahead of rooney. They have clearly scrutinised utd games waiting for rooney to fail, usually because of some personal anti-england/utd bias, and then watched some clip show of european football highlights and carried out their comparison from there. It is an excuse for an excuse. Are people really that sad that they cant judge the lad on an even keel?

For instance, look at this for selective application of fact:

ronaldo isnt playing well. he'll get some goals but so will forlan. his general play is rubbish. he still cant beat a player one on one and never could. still cant pick out a defence spitting pass and is still brain dead in regards to football. so no changes there

and kaka. messi's only REAL challanger again. a genius. not playing aswell as he could this season but still has the potential to do anything. if madrid actualy won the champions league this will be the guy who will win it for them. really steps up to the mark on the big stage

So they both 'arent playing well', but one is rubbish while the other is a genius!

TheMaster (Mayo) - Posts: 16187 - 31/01/2010 20:56:08    547750

Hang on 32, wasnt ur argument that messi was better than ronaldo based on the notion that goals are not the most important thing? How many more tunes do you sing?

twisting words again master. i was replying to mancirish who said rooney should win world player of the year due to the goals he's scored. so going by his logic why should he win it, when a deeper lying player is a more prolific goal scorer? doesnt make sense.

ronaldo isnt playing well because he cant play well. i said kaka isnt playing as well as he could (twisting my words again). kaka is they type of player who makes a team tick as he's the playmaker (a concept you cant grasp), he's the most influential player on the team. when ronaldo doesnt score he anonymous as he's not a good player

32_4_1 (Meath) - Posts: 4195 - 01/02/2010 17:36:02    548471

Always said Rooney was the ONLY World class English player.

He could be English Footballer of the year.

However the media have different campaigns for that award, including unbelievably Craig Bellemy. I will repeat that. Craig Bellemy.

Now the ONLY reason for that is because Bellamy is not spelt R o b i n h o.

So it is anyone's guess as to who will be England's footballer of the year, but the slight favourite is Fabregas.

patrique (Antrim) - Posts: 13709 - 01/02/2010 17:50:30    548486