Padraic Joyce V Maurice Fitzgerald

32_4_1... no not everyone misunderstands it, most actually got the point of the post? For you again just carefully read my second post, it can't be clearer.

Let me know if you need a better explanation, I'll gladly supply it.

Tommy K you are correct he is a legend.

SmerwickMan (Kerry) - Posts: 20 - 20/01/2010 15:37:18    538123

Right here's the way I view this thread. If a team was picked in the morning to go out and play then M.Fitz would get in head of Joyce, because of his genius when he's on form. But if you had the option of taking either player at the age of 21, you would pick Joyce beacause you would get 12 years top class consistant football out of him.

On his day, M.Fitz was a different level. But that's it, on his day. Remember, Joyce performed brilliantly in 3 all ireland finals. M.Fitz performed brilliantly in 1. I also feel that a large part of Fitz's brilliance was his free taking. It is unbelievable that he could knock them over from anywhere inside the 45, with either foot. I doubt we will ever see the likes again in that respect. But Joyce was better in open play. He has a vision and creativity that Fitz didnt.

jafallon (Galway) - Posts: 489 - 20/01/2010 17:45:52    538321

maurice is a legend the best footballer over the last 30 years he was just that bit ahead of dooher geraghty farrell joyce and all the others of that standard the closest i have seen to him was michael don of galway cant spell his name

hipster (Dublin) - Posts: 2509 - 20/01/2010 18:25:32    538371

Smerwick I have just read your reply to what I posted yesterday evening. I'll say it again, you were the one who asked for opinions and you got them. I couldn't help but notice that when someone disagreed with you, or God help us had the temerity to actually criticise you, you got personal about it. There's one word for that and it is arrogance. Now I'm done with this thread. Hopefully we'll meet again on another one.

Greengrass (Louth) - Posts: 6192 - 20/01/2010 18:35:49    538381

Now now SmerwickMan, no need for that, i was merely pointing out that ur analogy takes the view that both tractors guarantee the same performance every time, so it isnt suitable. Anyone who knows their recent football knows that m fitz could be brilliant and equally anonymous, whereas joyce always performed exceptionally. If ur looking for analogies then how about this one; two businesses, one turns over 100 grand for the first 6 months and 50 grand for the other 6. The other turns over 80 grand over both 6 month periods, which would you invest in?

I thought ye kerry boys wouldnt be sticking the knife into mayo, after all we saved ye from the big bad tyrone boys in 2004

TheMaster (Mayo) - Posts: 16187 - 20/01/2010 19:08:27    538410

jafallon good call there except one thing thou. marice is still playing and very good for his club and brought them to a final not too long ago. mike rusell and gooch and donaghy and the likes came into the side and pushed him out which is the competition the kerryman was talkin about just cause he played 12 years for yous dont mean he would be a better player to pick at 21. who in galway was there to push paddy for his place in the mould of donaghy and boys. his free taking ability was as good as canavan but his open play was great also despite you saying so he could kick on the run like nobody we have ever seen for a while from any side. of course a galway man in this argument would have to say that he was only good in 1 all ireland, that is all he was good for then 1 all ireland leave out the bias my dear man. reminds me of another great by the name of shamus who had one great all ireland too in 82.

RememberDarby (Offaly) - Posts: 6 - 20/01/2010 19:46:27    538466

Maurice Fitz was outstanding in the 1987 Munster final against Cork, and outstanding a few decades later against Armagh.

How long do you want?

patrique (Antrim) - Posts: 13709 - 20/01/2010 19:47:30    538470

SmerwickMan is coming across as a juvenile twit - and is getting in the way of his own message. Some items that some people have ignored: By the time Maurice Fitz put on his MOM performance in '87, he had already had a stellar inter-county career behind him. He had been putting on "one man shows" for 9 years at that stage - starting with 10 points in his first Munster Final in a monsoon, as a teenager. People remember his '87 Final performance - but he was MOM right through League and Championship. Nobody has ever dominated a full YEAR in such a manner. Just one more item. When he scored the memorable point against us in Thurles, one man recognised the possibility of MF going for the point. That was Tommy Carr - because he knew that MF was LIKELY to pull it off. Watch Tommy on the sideline. He knew. Padraig had many, many great days. But to the poster that claimed that Padraig's performance in '01 was superior to MF's in '87 - could I just remind him that the Galway selectors were close to taking off Padraig at half-time. And if you watch that game, you will see why. Great second half. But I would'nt judge a (great) player on one game. Seamus Moynihan had a major year in 2000. I always thought that Padraig was a major contributor to Moynihan's year In the two biggest games of that year, he made no imprint on Moynihan. I felt at the time, that if Padraig had taken on Moynihan in both of those games, Galway would have won that All-Ireland. Padraig had (has) a very good brain for the game and always looking for the best play. Just wanted to make the point that MF had as long a career as Padraig (would have been longer if Paidi had'nt acted the Paidi). Padraig was (is) class - but MF just operated on a different level.

tifram (Dublin) - Posts: 36 - 20/01/2010 20:36:44    538524

greengrass yeah arrogance is right "lad". Look up irony. Any more good advice for me? What am I thinking your gone, and harly anyone noticed.

TheMaster yeah thanks for 04 too by the way but your analogy is a bit of a silly one for me. I mean where did you get the numbers from in the first place? I could say that if I had to choose between someone who earns 1Mil in one day and someone who'd earns 10 euro a day for life well I'm afraid I ain't waiting till I'm dead to collect from the 10 euro a day fella. Maybe you have patience though but I'd have that 1Mil invested on day one and paying me back at least that in interest and you are telling me that you'd prefer to get the daily amount. Remind me not to invest with you anytime soon.

SmerwickMan (Kerry) - Posts: 20 - 20/01/2010 20:51:31    538533

tifram i dont know why you think he is a twit as i see it he is just defending himself from the arrogant grassisgreen fella and the fella with the purple jersey. this is just a forum and nobod is telling you how to post here even though I aint reading cause of you and that longwinded beautiful layed out with capital letters and paragraphs the only reason folks are reading it is cause of the back and forth. remind me not to have a beer with you anytime soon, id say you would bore the pants out of me I do know one fella that i would love to have a beer with thou and that is Shamus himself who had a few after the greatest goal in the history of the gaa in 82.

RememberDarby (Offaly) - Posts: 6 - 21/01/2010 14:59:46    538964

tifram brilliant post there most if it anyway didn't like the dig. One thing though Carr himself said the reason he ran down the line was that he was shouting at his defenders to mark up cause he never thought Fitzgerald would go for it and that he'd maybe go short. Thats the reason he was shouting not your reason, just like to point that out. When Fitzy was in the motion of taking it is when he realized that he was actually going for it.

On calling me juvenile well nah nah nah nah nah you were wrong, I was right.

SmerwickMan (Kerry) - Posts: 20 - 21/01/2010 15:29:36    539003

I remember seeing Maurice Fitzgerald playing for Kerry against Tyrone in an -21 semi or final in Mullingar and it was unforgettable. It is rare to see one man destroy an opposing team but he did it. He kicked points from the left and the right side of the field. My heart was with Tyrone because they were trying to make the breakthrough and they coming from a troubled part of the country.

dbpcmi (Westmeath) - Posts: 66 - 21/01/2010 16:13:20    539056

4 pages of posts praising Marice and not even one single person said nothin about the great S Darby and yous think you knows football then. dishonest and total lack of the respect. I love you shamus and will never forget that day I forget the year again...oh no I dont twas 82...

RememberDarby (Offaly) - Posts: 6 - 22/01/2010 17:56:38    540227

Mugsys goal in '05 was better and it was against the Dubs in front of their adoring fans in the Davin Stand.........

mugsys_barber (Tyrone) - Posts: 2160 - 22/01/2010 18:12:14    540259

Joyce scored 1- 13 in 2 all ireland finals 98 and 01. He scored alot but people seem to forget how he made the players around him better . The Galway forwards revolved around him and he tied them all together .
He is still doing it on an average team now . Maurice was an individual genius who had moments of brilliance .
I think one of the reasons Paudie didnt like him was of his team play . He was'nt too well known for hunting for the ball either and had a lot of games where he did'nt factor at all.
Not true for Joyce . Be glad to have either of them but Joyce would be my pick.
Ja never gets a mention , probably as good as any of them.

mtarps (USA) - Posts: 33 - 22/01/2010 19:52:45    540335

If you were picking a team tomorrow and these two players were at their peak who would you choose?

well then fitzgerald. its a no brainer

32_4_1 (Meath) - Posts: 4201 - 22/01/2010 20:02:59    540344

Both great players, but for me Maurice is a good bit better. He regularly did things with the ball that no one else could do. I've never seen a more skillful footballer. He carried Kerry for a number of years before he won his All Ireland. He was very unfortunate with injuries from 2000 onwards. My favourite scores of his are goal V Armagh in 2000, sideline V Dublin in 2001, free from his left foot off the ground V Mayo in 1997

joeshow (Galway) - Posts: 22 - 22/01/2010 20:13:19    540353

hipster

538371 maurice is a legend the best footballer over the last 30 years he was just that bit ahead of dooher geraghty farrell joyce and all the others of that standard the closest i have seen to him was michael don of galway cant spell his name

No offence to the above named, but apart from Joyce none even come close to MF. The only others I can think of who have played recently & are in his league are Peter Canavan & Seamus Moynahan.

blu (Down) - Posts: 1240 - 23/01/2010 10:07:26    540463

I dont want to disagree with SmerwickMan just in case he comes back and childishly blast me for doing so like he's done to everyone else whos disagreed with him

Joe Joe (Galway) - Posts: 253 - 23/01/2010 14:05:36    540563

there shouldnt even be a debate about this...obviously maurice fitz

lazyfootballer (Wexford) - Posts: 70 - 23/01/2010 15:04:26    540582