Mighty Liverpool? Yeah right!!!!

The third season IN A ROW that liverpool have been knocked out of the FA Cup by a CHAMPIONSHIP side.... so much for being a great club...

nacellabeaga (Offaly) - Posts: 700 - 14/01/2010 08:23:12    532499

bye bye raffa.

OLLIE (Louth) - Posts: 12224 - 14/01/2010 09:55:42    532519

Starting to look like Curtains for Rafa now alright!
Didnt look like there was ever gonna be a second goal for them last night!

Jinxie (Meath) - Posts: 6347 - 14/01/2010 10:19:50    532534

What a disaster of a season for them. Im delighted

zidane (Galway) - Posts: 272 - 14/01/2010 10:21:52    532535

End of season party can now commence!

Tipple30 (Tipperary) - Posts: 77 - 14/01/2010 10:38:07    532546

Used to have a lot of time for Benitez and he was a breath of fresh air when he took over Liverpool but I can't stand the sight of him now.

His post-match interviews are embarrassing, childish and unbelievably unprofessional. Its not often you feel sorry for reporters but the lad interviewing him on ITV had his work cut out. He'd have got more answers out of Johnny Tightlips.

I hate when managers think they are above the media game like Strachan and McCarthy. Its a necessary evil and ALL the most successful managers know how to play it.

Breffni40 (Cavan) - Posts: 12484 - 14/01/2010 10:49:01    532549

Who should I start supporting now - Fulham or City?

If you're ever having trouble sleeping you just need to watch Pool, you'll nod off in no time

NavyNBlue (Dublin) - Posts: 1357 - 14/01/2010 11:05:11    532569

chin up to the liverpool fans in here. what i can i say but we have to keep going (as im from mayo you have too). i think the players have lost faith in the manager and when that happens there is no turning back. i dont think there is a quick fix here, the club both on and off the field is in a terrible state. liverpool fc however was always about what happens ON the field. the players seen to lack the basic football skills, i.e firat touch, passing and a good football brain. reading looked like they would win it all through extra time and bascially steamrolled liverpool. fair play to them.

a change in managment may be required, how can they wait till the end of the season when the club is not in a champions league spot.
i hate to say it but times up rafa and also the americans need to be kicked out of anfield.

yew_tree (Mayo) - Posts: 11752 - 14/01/2010 12:03:50    532645

Rafa is a joke, and I'll tell you who are an even bigger joke, Liverpool supporters. I'm actually a Liverpool supporter myself, and would like nothing better than to see the back of Benitez, yet the Liverpool owners have said that they will not sack him unless the supporters give up on him, which despite the disaster unfolding before their eyes does not appear to be happening. Liverpool supporters and club have always prided themselves on not sacking managers, and being this close knit family club. Nice and all as that is, Liverpool need to get real, get rid of that Spanish waster and get some investment into the club, otherwise they have the potential to end up like Leeds & Newcastle. While this is a topic for another thread, foreign owners with no ties to a club should not be allowed to buy clubs if it involves putting the clubs into debt. Great football clubs like Liverpool and Man Utd are now tethering on the brink, all because greedy foreigners thought they could borrow heavily and buy these clubs, and then sell them a few years later at a huge profit.

gilly0512 (Galway) - Posts: 1176 - 14/01/2010 12:04:55    532649

gilly2308

who would you like in as manager so? kenny dalglish?cos thats what'l happen if the other lad leaves.
Rafa wont leave, and they cant afford to sack him after the contract he set for himself last season.too many average lads like degan insua lucas (being kind to him)

Rhodejim (Offaly) - Posts: 2888 - 14/01/2010 12:16:24    532660

14/01/2010 12:16:24
Rhodejim
County: Offaly

532660 gilly2308

who would you like in as manager so? kenny dalglish?cos thats what'l happen if the other lad leaves.
Rafa wont leave, and they cant afford to sack him after the contract he set for himself last season.too many average lads like degan insua lucas (being kind to him)

ruanua (Donegal) - Posts: 4966 - 14/01/2010 12:41:00    532684

This is not FACT Everton knocked Liverpool out of cup last season they are not a championship team yet.

DABLACKSPOT (Westmeath) - Posts: 551 - 14/01/2010 12:43:52    532687

Rafa has to go, and he reckons that excuse of a striker David Ngog is better than Robby Keane?

PJ (None) - Posts: 2288 - 14/01/2010 12:54:23    532704

The bottom line here is that the players currently at Liverpool FC (names appear elsewhere) are not good enough with a couple of exceptions to that. With the backs in particular including Jamie Carragher as age has now caugh up with him the worst I've seen at Liverpool in my lifetime.

Squid

squidword (Louth) - Posts: 2897 - 14/01/2010 13:04:20    532721

yew_tree I know the only thing to do is try and stay optimistic but I can't see anyway out of this. I'm with gilly on this one. Like I said on a previous thread, I would be far more supportive of Rafa if Pool played better football. Watching that game last night, you'd wonder which was the team that are struggling in the championship and which finished second in the premiership last year
There is no invention in those players, none whatsoever. You can still play good football with a number of average players in your team. Think back to when Roy Evans took over from Souness, the difference was there for all to see, and Evans didn't even buy many new players in his first season, he was using more or less the same players as what Souness had. Granted, Pool never won anything under Evans but the football was great to watch, a lot of room for improvement, but great to watch.
I honestly believe that Pools form this season all stems from the manager - from his man management to the tactics he employs. None of them care anymore so noe of them try.

NavyNBlue (Dublin) - Posts: 1357 - 14/01/2010 13:24:27    532738

Well spotted Dablackspot. Takes a westmeath man to keep the offaly boys right.

Bye bye Gerrard too probably.

BELLYMAN (Wexford) - Posts: 157 - 14/01/2010 14:36:41    532835

who would you like in as manager so? kenny dalglish?cos thats what'l happen if the other lad leaves. Rafa wont leave, and they cant afford to sack him after the contract he set for himself last season.too many average lads like degan insua lucas (being kind to him) So Rhodejim you would rather that Rafa stays on and drags Liverpool down with him while the greedy Spanish ****** hangs on for a huge payout. By the way the players that you mentioned, who bought them, yes it was your favourite manager Rafa. At this stage I would take Daglish over Rafa, but as regards who would I like to take over, my first choice would be Martin O'Neill, and my second would be Hiddink.

gilly0512 (Galway) - Posts: 1176 - 14/01/2010 15:30:03    532901

"Liverpool striker Fernando Torres is facing six weeks out, with Steven Gerrard sidelined for two and Yossi Benayoun to miss a month."

When it rains it pours, but it's monsoon-like conditions around Anfield at the moment.

nocky (Wexford) - Posts: 2059 - 14/01/2010 16:47:27    533011

NavyNBlue

532569 Who should I start supporting now - Fulham or City?

Bohs

MesAmis (Dublin) - Posts: 13837 - 14/01/2010 17:19:09    533063

navy blue if ye want to watch great football with average players look no further than didier deschamps

32_4_1 (Meath) - Posts: 4202 - 14/01/2010 17:24:49    533075