Stag do destinations - Kilkenny or Tipperary?

ruanua, so you've been there then !! A lovely place even for a picnic i believe !!

Cavan_Slasher (Cavan) - Posts: 10253 - 13/01/2010 17:58:29    532208

I lived/worked in Tipp town for a month last year and im still in counselling over it so id definitely recommend Kilkenny. Either way i bet half of yous will probably end up in Coppers by the end of the night anyway.

Htaem (Meath) - Posts: 8657 - 13/01/2010 18:45:34    532244

By jaysus, stay well away from Tipp town, I drove through the place once and that was enough.

Kilkenny and Limerick are both good choices, also as Nocky said Carlow is also a good spot, the night club there is serious.

Sisco87 (Tipperary) - Posts: 759 - 13/01/2010 19:01:07    532258

ruanua

532164 13/01/2010 14:18:05
Suas Sios

531892 go somewhere that has strip bars and a comedy club. You cant go wrong.

Oh yeah! The bright lights of Ballina! The top comics play Nenagh a lot though.

Steer well clear of Tipp town whatever you do MYLEFTFOOT.

roundball (Tipperary) - Posts: 2514 - 13/01/2010 19:08:12    532264

MYLEFTFOOT

There are no public toilets in Sligo and hasn't been for the last 15-20 years.

Dr.Shephard (Leitrim) - Posts: 2187 - 13/01/2010 19:12:02    532267

fredrickwood County: Roscommon Posts: 1694 532016 Never been to KK But I hear it's a safe bet,Tullamore has savage wimmin as does Athlone,after that I really don't know.Slim pickings.As for drinkin in The King's Head in Galway?Dear God,sure only Art students and Hippies drink there. Hey easy now.......although come to think of it there was plenty of hippies;)

MesAmis (Dublin) - Posts: 13802 - 13/01/2010 19:18:04    532274

dont go to longford was there last year ,was like the wild west rows all over the place.

millhouse (Meath) - Posts: 892 - 13/01/2010 19:19:33    532277

ye myleftfoot. galway is terrible for getting into nightclubs. i go there every year on raceweek, and its nightclubs are impossible to get into if you've been drinkin all day

32_4_1 (Meath) - Posts: 4156 - 13/01/2010 19:35:39    532299

There's only 2 place's in Carlow I can think of and that's the foundary & scragg's alley,anywhere else worth going to ?

Duffy89 (Wexford) - Posts: 3320 - 13/01/2010 19:51:11    532313

13/01/2010 19:35:39
32_4_1

ye myleftfoot. galway is terrible for getting into nightclubs. i go there every year on raceweek, and its nightclubs are impossible to get into if you've been drinkin all day

I'd say being 14 and calling the bouncer a west brit doesn't help either...

nocky (Wexford) - Posts: 2059 - 13/01/2010 20:00:56    532327

The palace in navan or taboo is good old stop for ya boss.

Dellboypolecat (Tyrone) - Posts: 15069 - 13/01/2010 20:50:57    532387

Kilkenny is a savage spot! Great bars , great people and cracking women! Was on a stag there about 97 or 98 and had a great time. Not sure if it's changed too much since then but I have great memories of it. Tipp town is meant to be a rough hole. For a small town it has a violent reputation if the Joe Duffy show is to be believed. Apparantly , on Paddy's day last year it was like a warzone. Some American lad was on the Joe Duffy show telling him about the savage beating he received from one particular group of ''friendly locals.'' I'm sure there are plenty of decent people there as well though.

dubupnorth (Dublin) - Posts: 1897 - 13/01/2010 20:51:01    532388

ye good lad nocky i hope thats a joke dell. taboo is not the best.

32_4_1 (Meath) - Posts: 4156 - 13/01/2010 21:11:14    532414

MYLEFTFOOT - Im doing the very same for my bro. People cant really afford England anymore. We've decided to go to a racemeeting in Puncestown or the Curragh. Get the suits on and act loaded and get loaded for the day. Then out in Dublin - will do the job!!

Brolly (Monaghan) - Posts: 4472 - 13/01/2010 21:13:21    532419

dubupnorth

532388 Kilkenny is a savage spot! Great bars , great people and cracking women! Was on a stag there about 97 or 98 and had a great time. Not sure if it's changed too much since then but I have great memories of it. Tipp town is meant to be a rough hole. For a small town it has a violent reputation if the Joe Duffy show is to be believed. Apparantly , on Paddy's day last year it was like a warzone. Some American lad was on the Joe Duffy show telling him about the savage beating he received from one particular group of ''friendly locals.'' I'm sure there are plenty of decent people there as well though.

Think that story might be from Tipperary Town dubupnorth. There was definitely an American tourist who got a fairly bad beating there last St. Patricks Day.

roundball (Tipperary) - Posts: 2514 - 13/01/2010 21:49:09    532457

Tipp town is a kip alright but only 'cos of some western neighbours moving in in recent years..............in Tipp,Cashel is a great spot......over 30 pubs at this stage and 2 late night clubs.....all you need for a night out...oh and Abrakebabra........

Tipple30 (Tipperary) - Posts: 77 - 14/01/2010 10:43:09    532548

Ya i can just see 32_4_1 arriving up to the door of the GPO in Galway, wearing his Celtic Jersey with 32 on the back and Sands as the name, blind drunk singing "rebel" songs, giving dogs abuse to the "partitionist doorman" for not letting him and the rest of the "I cant believe its not the IRA" gang in ......

Liamwalkinstown (Dublin) - Posts: 8166 - 14/01/2010 11:21:05    532589

MYLEFTFOOT

531973 NOCKY = BIZARRE LOGIC = Recreating More Power to Yer Elbows Trip to Tipp

Strange i Know!!

Any other suggestions, Tullamore??
---------------
tullamore is fine and all but there are limited places you can end up in at the end of the night.although they do have acasino in it now. for a stag do id stay clear.
carlow is a great town,as is kk.ring cosmo browns in carlow and stay there. perfect location,cheap and has a casino beside it.

Rhodejim (Offaly) - Posts: 2888 - 14/01/2010 11:34:48    532608

Very good Liam, hard to argue with that image of 32_4_1 in Galway.

gilly0512 (Galway) - Posts: 1176 - 14/01/2010 11:55:41    532633

Gilly is that place Failte doing business?
I think its failte anyways....used to be Ti na n-Og ?
Always a fine bar but never anyone in it for some reason??!!
Great place to watch a match.

Liamwalkinstown (Dublin) - Posts: 8166 - 14/01/2010 11:59:44    532638