I've been given the honour (or task) of organising my younger brothers Stag doo. Normally for previous stag doos we picked a city in England, Scotland or Wales and encamped there for the weekends drinking. He now wants to go somewhere south. We've both been to Wesport, great drinking town, Cork, i've been he hasn't, far away in a car certainly not taking a minibus limted to 56mph there!! Galway, started in the Skeffington, then the Kings Head and discovered that we couldn't get into nightclubs as the bouncers had been told we had been on the lash since 2pm, their loss, finished up in a wee bar called the Pockets, good nights craic had there, we drank that much guinness in there that we got a free round at closing time. But we kinda where dissappointed that we couldn't get into any nightclubs cos there where no ladies in the Pockets!! Don't want to go there again as they (with the exception of the pockets) weren't that group friendly. So that leaves Tipperary or Kilkenny. Which one of these towns would be more friendly to a group (10) of fellas all late 20's who just want to attempt to drink the place dry of stout and have a bit of craic with the local females? MYLEFTFOOT (Tyrone) - Posts: 8 - 13/01/2010 13:32:26 531829 Link 0 |
where in the name if God did you get the idea of Tipp Town? Liamwalkinstown (Dublin) - Posts: 8166 - 13/01/2010 14:09:04 531879 Link 0 |
go somewhere that has strip bars and a comedy club. You cant go wrong. Suas Sios (None) - Posts: 1558 - 13/01/2010 14:18:05 531892 Link 0 |
MYLEFTFOOT I would have to say Kilkenny, as I can't really think of any 'stag destinations' in Tipperary, with the exception of Clonmel. Don't know if Kilkenny is as good as it used to be though, as I know the Gardai in Kilkenny clamped down a lot on nighclubs, late bars, fast food joints etc, with the result that they all close earlier now. gilly0512 (Galway) - Posts: 1176 - 13/01/2010 14:43:02 531912 Link 0 |
OK, as a Kilkenny lad I'm partial, however, I live in London and so can give an impartialish view. Puddersthecat (Kilkenny) - Posts: 1692 - 13/01/2010 15:06:31 531943 Link 0 |
How did you narrow it down to just Kilkenny and Tipp again?? Some bizarre logic used there I think. I wouldn't go anywhere in Tipp anyway, you could go to Carlow or Kilkenny, two good towns for a night out. nocky (Wexford) - Posts: 2059 - 13/01/2010 15:11:03 531949 Link 0 |
Are there two o's in Stag do(o)? It conjures an image of stepping in something unpleasant in Glenveagh National Park. RMDrive (Donegal) - Posts: 2202 - 13/01/2010 15:14:09 531952 Link 0 |
I had been considering Tipp because i didn't really know that much about the place, now that i know better perhaps it isn't a viable option. MYLEFTFOOT (Tyrone) - Posts: 8 - 13/01/2010 15:25:22 531966 Link 0 |
NOCKY = BIZARRE LOGIC = Recreating More Power to Yer Elbows Trip to Tipp MYLEFTFOOT (Tyrone) - Posts: 8 - 13/01/2010 15:28:13 531973 Link 0 |
Limerick is fine, don't let it's reputation put you off. You won't get any trouble unless you go looking for it. Plenty of good spots to head there, it's a bigger city than Kilkenny. nocky (Wexford) - Posts: 2059 - 13/01/2010 15:35:38 531991 Link 0 |
myleftfoot....groups of lads out drinking since 2 arriving at the club........ Liamwalkinstown (Dublin) - Posts: 8166 - 13/01/2010 15:39:26 531995 Link 0 |
Never been to KK But I hear it's a safe bet,Tullamore has savage wimmin as does Athlone,after that I really don't know.Slim pickings.As for drinkin in The King's Head in Galway?Dear God,sure only Art students and Hippies drink in that dump. fredrickwood (Roscommon) - Posts: 2871 - 13/01/2010 15:56:07 532016 Link 0 |
I know Kerry is a fair old spin for ye, there is always the airport, but it has a few good spots. Had great craic on a stag in tralee a year or so ago. Con (Louth) - Posts: 511 - 13/01/2010 15:59:07 532021 Link 0 |
Don't go for Tullamore. Whilst good craic, you are limited in the places you can end up in. I've had many a greta night in Tullamore but wouldn't go on a stag there. Puddersthecat (Kilkenny) - Posts: 1692 - 13/01/2010 16:00:59 532024 Link 0 |
Dundalk is supposed to be a very quiet town with plenty of night life and a great destination for a stag night !! Cavan_Slasher (Cavan) - Posts: 10253 - 13/01/2010 16:23:29 532045 Link 0 |
If you don't want to travel too far, I would recomend either Carrick-on-Shannon or Sligo. It would be a long trip back from KK with a hangover Dr.Shephard (Leitrim) - Posts: 2187 - 13/01/2010 16:23:31 532046 Link 0 |
Dr Sheppard - Silgo you must be jokin.. On way back from a cousins stag do in Westport about 3 years ago we stopped in Sligo for Dinner on the sunday evening. A few of the fellas went into a pub/restaurant to suss it out, see what the menu was like etc. The rest went to the public loos for a slash. The lads that went into the pub/restaurant where happy enough with the food available and phoned one of the other lads to tell the rest off the fellas it was a grand spot and to head on in. Meanwhile the other three guys ordered a pint each at the bar. We all (about 10 of us) landed in and where chatting to the other guys about the food etc when the bar manager came over to us and said "sorry guys we don't serve groups over 5 persons" When asked did he mean we don't serve alcohol to groups over 5 or did he mean we don't serve food to groups over 5? He snapped and told us to get out or he would call the guards.. and lifted the three guys pints down from the bar and poured them away down the sink!! We starred at him in disbelief, at how aggressive and angry he was, after all we where paying customers who where just about to spend about 300 euro in his bar/restaurant. Again we told him it was his loss and left and had a great dinner in Enniskillen instead. So that eejet of a bar manager has put me off sligo for good! By the way we're not a bunch off fellas that don't have manners when we enter a pub, we drink alot yes and have the craic but don't start rows or wreck stuff. MYLEFTFOOT (Tyrone) - Posts: 8 - 13/01/2010 17:02:19 532098 Link 0 |
13/01/2010 16:23:29 ruanua (Donegal) - Posts: 4966 - 13/01/2010 17:33:08 532160 Link 0 |
13/01/2010 14:18:05 ruanua (Donegal) - Posts: 4966 - 13/01/2010 17:34:10 532164 Link 0 |
come to carlingford.you will get a wee friendly welcome. OLLIE (Louth) - Posts: 12224 - 13/01/2010 17:44:57 532187 Link 0 |