If the lad doesnt want to play for ye then let him go!!!! They are doing a massive dis service to Dublin football. Why would you even want a player who doesnt want to play for ye??? If Eamon had just dont the sensible thing and actually quit the club last year after the first refusal would he now be free to join whatever club he wants? I mean this is AMATEUR sport afterall....isnt it...??!! Liamwalkinstown (Dublin) - Posts: 8167 - 13/01/2010 12:32:28 531762 Link 0 |
I sort of agree with what you're saying but the problem lies in Eamonn's flip flopping. He also put in requests to transfer to Plunketts and Ballymun. O'Tooles were happy to let the switch to Ballymun go through but he then withdrew the request. That's why they are dragging it out in my opinion. It's the fact that he's going to Vins. Although at this stage they should just let it go through as the bridges have been burnt. DubMan1 (Dublin) - Posts: 13 - 13/01/2010 13:38:33 531840 Link 0 |
I cant understand how de senior clubs in Dublin are so into recruiting players from outside de club. Must be very disheartening to young lads coming up de ranks hoping to play senior football wit der club but dont stand a chance as de clubs are instead head hunting inter county players to come play for them. You just have to look at Kilmacud Crokes, half de team isn't even from Dublin, never mind Stillorgan! ricky (None) - Posts: 86 - 13/01/2010 15:53:37 532014 Link 0 |
Just let the young fella play football. I know O'Tooles will feel aggrevied as they have looked after him since he was a juvenile but it's time to let go and let the youngfella play the sport he loves. dubupnorth (Dublin) - Posts: 1897 - 13/01/2010 16:46:41 532076 Link 0 |
well he must be playing for someone because he is part of gilroys plans this year delboydub (Dublin) - Posts: 665 - 13/01/2010 17:38:20 532171 Link 0 |
ricky about your perks and on begley, clubs are more than offering simple perks to the laois players to turn out for them, and colm begley is rumoured to join the same club as parkinson and rooney. but this club is not only recruiting from outside the county, they have recruited a few players from inside the county also. im also led to believe this club also tried to lure a certain blonde headed player from mayo aswell, but only for him to reject. if only the dublin county board would open their eyes to these "illegal transfers" and put a stop to it, its an absolute disgrace what some clubs are doing and i hope other players continue to reject them!!! but to put it into perspective, there are plenty of clubs in the county doing it, its a regular occurance throughout, and perhaps its happening around the country also, where ever it is, it should be STOPPED! diggerdublin (Dublin) - Posts: 10 - 13/01/2010 18:51:41 532249 Link 0 |
Ricky, two of the Crokes players who won AI were non Dubs! There were lot more in 1995. Stick to the facts! I wouldn't be huge admirer of theirs but success has been built on underage structures not imports. hurlingdub (Dublin) - Posts: 6978 - 14/01/2010 10:19:10 532533 Link 0 |
Digger, transfer rules were changed at special Convention in October - Parnells were only ones to oppose almost! - but nothing seems to have changed. Big clubs will continue to import from all ages and from all over. hurlingdub (Dublin) - Posts: 6978 - 14/01/2010 11:21:23 532590 Link 0 |
The whole scenario with Fennell is pathetic and thanks to the stupid politics of it all Dublin lost a valueable player during last years championship. Cant believe the saga still drags on. Let the chap head to Vins if thats where he wants to play his club football and just GET OVER IT, O'Tooles!!!! He is a decent substitute for Big Ciaran at midfield and the Dubs desperately need him........ Mollymalone (Dublin) - Posts: 1137 - 14/01/2010 12:06:01 532651 Link 0 |
o tools should be ashamed they are holding back a great player all because of their politics something should be done about we are loosing a great player this year again over them this is where players should strike for him againist o tools delboydub (Dublin) - Posts: 665 - 14/01/2010 18:04:44 533169 Link 0 |
Couldent agree more with ye...an absolute disgrace...and a County at the loss of a great lad. Ive never heard of the likes of it....... Mollymalone (Dublin) - Posts: 1137 - 15/01/2010 09:37:50 533535 Link 0 |
Dellboydub, you have no idea. Club players are being poached. Wake up and smell the coffee. Not on and the county board are ignoring this. How can we win an allireland with this behaviour going on and attracting country players to Dublin. The players who are born and bread in Dublin, put the effort in at underage and see none of the home grow talent getting a chance. Why would Colm Begley move to a Dublin club?? pretender (Meath) - Posts: 358 - 15/01/2010 13:31:13 533796 Link 0 |
yrotciv County: Meath Posts: 32 i agree with you what iam on about is fennell is a dublin born player playing for a dublin club and looking to transfare to a dublin club but o tools are stopping this to make some sort of silly point that once you play for them you must always play for them and then because of this they are stopping a very tallented player getting his chance to play for dublin i for one dont wana see players from outside dublin playng up here it will be like the 50s again wen culchies wer playing for dublin delboydub (Dublin) - Posts: 665 - 15/01/2010 17:48:39 534144 Link 0 |
O Tooles are well within their rights to object. sam57 (Louth) - Posts: 1502 - 16/01/2010 13:37:21 534594 Link 0 |
maybe so but what are they goin to do let a player rot on the sidelines because he wont play for them and even if he did stay do u think he will play with all his heart in it and now the dublin county team have to suffer because of stubbron people delboydub (Dublin) - Posts: 665 - 16/01/2010 16:23:51 534707 Link 0 |
Delboydub, the only difference between now and the 1950s is this; back then the country guys were playing for ye, now they run the clubs and their sons play for ye. Its a country mans game always was, always will be. Stick to de soccer. ontheroad (None) - Posts: 530 - 16/01/2010 16:53:20 534737 Link 0 |
ontheroad, are you suggesting dublin shouldnt shouldnt play GAA? getting pretty bored with all these waste of time comments, you are a dub if you are born in dublin, if we follow your rules, half of leinster will be dubs with us all settling in the shticks, take 90 percent of people in this country and you'll find connections to dublin, not everyone falls for their cousins or the girl next door. Frainc (Dublin) - Posts: 178 - 25/01/2010 18:22:44 542174 Link 0 |
From the committee that ruled on Fennell's case : "The Dublin Transfer bye-law states: 'As the GAA is community centred, based on the allegiance of its members to their local clubs, the object of which is to promote the Association's aims at local level, the transfer rules in the Official Guide and this bye-law reflect that ethos. wispa50 (Dublin) - Posts: 1 - 26/01/2010 10:55:38 542617 Link 0 |
o tools should be ashamed of themselves whats the point in keeping a player who doesnt want to play for you and now prob wont give 100% to your club its pretty stupit for god sake just let him go delboydub (Dublin) - Posts: 665 - 26/01/2010 11:56:40 542675 Link 0 |
football in dublin is about more than the county team delboydub dubliner (Dublin) - Posts: 1 - 26/01/2010 13:59:41 542835 Link 0 |