First officially paid manager?

12/01/2010 16:09:58
roundball
County: Tipperary

delboydub

Are you any relation of the Tyrone Delboy?
_________

They're identical twins roundball, they even have the same writing style.

nocky (Wexford) - Posts: 2059 - 12/01/2010 16:46:31    531090

why somuch giving out...evans has done so much for us in tipp football..i wouldnt takeaway any of wat hes gettin for bein director,,,ye talk about promoting football in weaker counties and now yer givin out about us wen we do something

lowerormond (Tipperary) - Posts: 1267 - 12/01/2010 18:26:26    531281

nocky
County: Wexford

531090 12/01/2010 16:09:58
roundball

delboydub

Are you any relation of the Tyrone Delboy?
_________

They're identical twins roundball, they even have the same writing style.

You and Dellboy not seeing eye-to-eye nocky? I don't mind Dell most of the time, he can talk sense but he fairly digs in sometimes, especially on the GPA and professionalism. Your right on Evans by the way every county pays coaches.

roundball (Tipperary) - Posts: 2514 - 12/01/2010 21:13:26    531520

This is the way forward for me. Employ full time managers/directors of football, whatever you wanna call them. Give them a full time salary and make it a full time job. They can look after the senior team during the season and during the off season they can go around the county coaching youngsters, promoting gaelic games, etc. I could see this working. Everything clear and above board

redandgreen (None) - Posts: 691 - 12/01/2010 21:51:08    531563

Look thats tipp football.Do you really think we should be taking tips from them.

maigh_eo (Mayo) - Posts: 1346 - 13/01/2010 10:11:24    531641

For your information Maigh eo, Tipperary have won more All Ireland Senior Football titles than Mayo. 4 All Irelands is better than 3 any day.

Star Gazer (Tipperary) - Posts: 436 - 13/01/2010 10:45:23    531665

I couldn't care less about the past all I care about is winning an all ireland in the future.I encourage you to look to the future as well.Paying someone openly to do this job is only going to make the manager needlessly isolated from the rest of his backroom team.

maigh_eo (Mayo) - Posts: 1346 - 13/01/2010 11:20:51    531700

You're completely missing the point maigh_eo, John Evans isn't being paid to manage the Tipperary senior footballers, he is being paid to coach young lads in schools.

nocky (Wexford) - Posts: 2059 - 13/01/2010 11:42:58    531719

Wasn't Jack O'Connor's predecessor in a full time Munster Council job while Kerry manager?

hurlingdub (Dublin) - Posts: 6978 - 13/01/2010 13:49:11    531853

I think O'Connor was also in a full or part time role with the Kerry county board.

blu (Down) - Posts: 1240 - 13/01/2010 13:53:32    531856

Roundball,

You hit the nail on the head.

Dellboydub, delboypolecat and ta32 are the same person. The holey Trinity. Sent to earth to preserve and save the GAA from the marauding savages in the GPA. it will be them and their ilk who will save us all. Amen. God knows why he has to carry on this charade. They write the same, with no pronunciation. They even spell the same words wrongly and thiy post messages, backing each others arguement, within minutes of each other.

Tyrone Dell will not respond to me so he created these alter egos to reply. Pitiful really

As for dell's post. Clubs throughout Ireland have had officially paid coaches for years. I would love to see one example of his imaginary transfer market.

I have no doubt players have tranfered to certain clubs because of work. Some clubs can find good jobs for players and fair play to them. This will be more relevent in these hard times but that has been going on for years, ie USA, and our association is still alive and kicking.

GPA Abú

26plus6equals1 (Tyrone) - Posts: 430 - 13/01/2010 14:08:59    531878

And John O'Mahony is paid by tax payer to manage Mayo!

hurlingdub (Dublin) - Posts: 6978 - 13/01/2010 14:16:47    531890

13 January 2010

John Evans will no longer be entitled to receive mileage expenses after becoming Tipperary's new director of football.

The Killorglin man will combine his new role, which comes with a salary of around EUR45-50,000, with that as manager of the Tipperary senior, under 21 and intermediate teams. But he stands to lose as much as EUR12,000 per year in travel expenses, with the rate for managers and players now standing at 60 cent per mile.

For the last two years, the retired garda made the five-hour round trip from his Kerry base to Thurles at least twice a week, leading the Premier County to league promotion in both years.

He explained to the Irish Daily Star: "I stepped down from the travelling expenses that managers get. I am an employee. I am essentially a games promotion officer employed by the Tipperary county board.

"I am doing a lot of jobs which also embraces the senior, under 21 and intermediate teams."

Evans' new role is the first of its kind in the GAA and will be totally funded by the Tipperary county board, having been given the go-ahead by Croke Park over the Christmas period.

roundball (Tipperary) - Posts: 2514 - 13/01/2010 18:53:59    532251

13/01/2010 18:53:59
roundball

532251 13 January 2010

John Evans will no longer be entitled to receive mileage expenses after becoming Tipperary's new director of football.

The Killorglin man will combine his new role, which comes with a salary of around EUR45-50,000, with that as manager of the Tipperary senior, under 21 and intermediate teams. But he stands to lose as much as EUR12,000 per year in travel expenses, with the rate for managers and players now standing at 60 cent per mile.

For the last two years, the retired garda made the five-hour round trip from his Kerry base to Thurles at least twice a week, leading the Premier County to league promotion in both years.

He explained to the Irish Daily Star: "I stepped down from the travelling expenses that managers get. I am an employee. I am essentially a games promotion officer employed by the Tipperary county board.

"I am doing a lot of jobs which also embraces the senior, under 21 and intermediate teams."

Evans' new role is the first of its kind in the GAA and will be totally funded by the Tipperary county board, having been given the go-ahead by Croke Park over the Christmas period.

Judging by this I don't think he'll last long.5 hour trip between Killorglin to Thurles,then off to the school's,and then off to train the intermediate's/U21/senior team ??

If the man is any good he'll last about 2 year's,top's.Good luck to him all the same.If he was actually from Tipp,I'd think differently

Duffy89 (Wexford) - Posts: 3320 - 13/01/2010 20:16:26    532345

maigh_eo

Look thats tipp football.Do you really think we should be taking tips from them.

I'd be fairly confident of Tipp winning Sam before Mayo do.

Sisco87 (Tipperary) - Posts: 759 - 13/01/2010 20:17:10    532346

think it is a positive move better off knowing who is getting what than what is happening now. id say about 80% of clubs are even paying there manager at this stage.

BEKO (Louth) - Posts: 78 - 13/01/2010 20:37:51    532372

Trust me lads I have absolutely no problem with county boards paying managers as I think it is a very difficult and time-consuming job and I believe the gaa should allow these payments.But I don't think that this step by tipp is such a revolutionary step seen as though other similar setups have been done in the past.And to the tipp lads that think they are more likely to win an all ireland than mayo,dream on

maigh_eo (Mayo) - Posts: 1346 - 13/01/2010 21:12:14    532416

maigh_eo

Look thats tipp football.Do you really think we should be taking tips from them

some cheek ye have in mayo.tipp have 4 all ireland football titles and mayo have 3.grow up at least we are trying to promote football and why give out to us when killkenny don,t even play it.listen he is getting paid to go to clubs schools etc.NOT TO MANAGE TIPP[

bigman2 (Tipperary) - Posts: 1202 - 13/01/2010 21:15:23    532423

maigh_eo

531700 I couldn't care less about the past all I care about is winning an all ireland in the future.I encourage you to look to the future as well.Paying someone openly to do this job is only going to make the manager needlessly isolated from the rest of his backroom team.

tipp footballers have as good asa chance as mayo in the next ten years!!u 21s beatin by cork in munster final with a last minute goal!!minors went to a reply with kerry in the munster final...look at the facts before ya shoot someone down...2 promotions 2 years runnin!!!

lowerormond (Tipperary) - Posts: 1267 - 13/01/2010 21:26:31    532437

maigh_eo

mayo winnin all irelands???dream on too!!!

lowerormond (Tipperary) - Posts: 1267 - 13/01/2010 21:53:32    532465