Division Four for 2010

What's happened here is typical of the GAA in this County. I do feel sorry for Newtown in this case, but you also have to have a certain amount of sympathy for Burt as they face a fixture log jam every single year due to the amount of players that play both Hurling and Football. In this case, they have used the rule book to their advantage and therein lies the real problem, the people at the top table seem to bend the rules in terms of the proper notification etc and hope that the change suits both teams.... then when it doesn't we get the scenario we have at the minute. I have no doubt Burt probably could have fielded that Bank Holiday Monday but were well within rights not to. It's certainly not fair on the players but let's hope the game now gets played.

BlackandAmber14 (Donegal) - Posts: 294 - 30/01/2011 08:55:31    856581

at last someone (BlackandAmber14) who understands the scenario Burt are having

its simple now ! Burt won the appeal, everyone should get over the FACT had there WILL be a play-off in the coming weeks, and who every wins the game best of luck to them in div 3

Wee_Buns (Donegal) - Posts: 830 - 30/01/2011 11:19:42    856605

at last someone (BlackandAmber14) who understands the scenario Burt are having

its simple now ! Burt won the appeal, everyone should get over the FACT had there WILL be a play-off in the coming weeks, and who every wins the game best of luck to them in div 3

Wee_Buns (Donegal) - Posts: 830 - 30/01/2011 11:21:45    856606

thank you Wee_Buns and blackandamber someone finally explained whats happening.

heebie_jeebies (Donegal) - Posts: 48 - 30/01/2011 12:36:49    856638

fact - over last few years burt have disrupted ever league they have been in.
fact - burt were out of hurling championship mid-summer and only offered to play mid week games from late Aug - early Sept (players went back to college then)
fact - Newton had a good year but are a three man team and Muff should have beaten them comfortably in Championship final & replay
fact - players train from Feb a play off game should never have been fixed for St.Stephen's Day then day after New Year's ... players have lives they give a lot of committment to the gaa and deserve time off
fact - Newton management were pushing to play game early as their manager will leave them if they are not promoted and four of there best are heading away
fact - county board are at fault for not taking a stronger hand with Burt and fixtures generally years ago
fact - there will be a play off game... Newton arent good enought to go up, Burt dont deserve to go up

gaafacts (Donegal) - Posts: 13 - 30/01/2011 12:41:56    856643

ha ha. thanks for that muff. they say jealousy is the sincerest form of flattery

gaaaa (Donegal) - Posts: 25 - 30/01/2011 13:11:38    856658

burts excuse

1 the dog ate my boots

2 my granny's 2nd cousins brothers 2nd cousin,s twice removed his dog died .

3 the grass is to green

4 did i mention the dog ate my boots

laganvally (Donegal) - Posts: 488 - 30/01/2011 13:37:53    856671

Burt v newtown game was to be on next weekend

But it is to cold for the Burt players going to wait now till the time change,s

The game is to be played in Burt because some of the Burt players do not travel well.

laganvally (Donegal) - Posts: 488 - 30/01/2011 16:35:31    856787

gaafacts spot on..............but we do deserve to go up as we were not at fault

laganvally get over yourself, the dog did eat our boots but we just have to by new ones now for the play-off

ha ha ha ha ha ha ha ha ha ha ha ha ha ha ha ha ha ha ha ha ha ha ha ha ha ha ha ha ha ha ha ha ha ha ha ha ha ha ha ha ha ha ha ha ha ha ha ha ha ha ha ha ha ha ha ha ha ha ha ha ha ha ha ha ha ha ha ha ha ha ha ha ha ha ha ha ha ha ha ha ha ha ha ha ha ha ha ha ha ha ha ha ha ha ha ha ha ha ha ha ha ha ha ha ha ha

Wee_Buns (Donegal) - Posts: 830 - 30/01/2011 16:38:30    856788

Crana its not Burts fault we are a dual club...GAA is hurling and Football

and yes the Co. Board should sort out the fixtures, they are a bloody mess

Wee_Buns (Donegal) - Posts: 830 - 30/01/2011 16:43:51    856791

wee buns can you not just admit that burt didnt want the game played on the bank holiday monday because they knew what the result would be if the officials and newton players where able to get there why couldnt you? nothing to do with hurling, or players working your club is a disgrace and i personally hope ye get hammered into the ground and i am speking for the majority in inishowen i think

bogis (Donegal) - Posts: 8 - 30/01/2011 17:22:16    856815

so what ! burt wont get hammered we have 4 players back again now, Burt will beat Newtown easy

Wee Buns

ha ha ha ha ha ha ha ha

Wee_Buns (Donegal) - Posts: 830 - 30/01/2011 17:37:36    856827

Its an ethical situation. Burt were right by the book. Trouble is the executive dont know what the book contains. Burt have an excellent secreatry who knows what he is doing and fair play to them. The reasons they stated in their appeal are quite legitimate.

democrat (Donegal) - Posts: 41 - 30/01/2011 17:38:19    856829

Wee buns Dress it up which ever way you want but your clubs attitude upwards the county board and other club leaves alot to be desired, Burt may well be a dual club but this is no excuse for your behavior. If this behavior was perpetrated by any other club in donegal they would be heavily fined, as far as I can see your club has lost it once proud way and instead of going about things in your now usual underhanded way, do yourselves and the rest of Donegal a favor learn to play the game on the field and not through the ulster council via loopholes.

Football.crazy (Donegal) - Posts: 96 - 30/01/2011 18:09:59    856858

Just because the Ulster Council sided with Burt doesn't mean that their carry on this year has been right. I sincerely hope Newtown hammer Burt but on 2nd thoughts it would be much better for Division 4 if Burt were out of it as they have made a shambles of the fixtures this year. Let the Division 3 clubs put up with their nonsense next year. Burt should be damn well ashamed of themselves!

Lifford Gael (Donegal) - Posts: 1925 - 30/01/2011 20:09:48    856989

Fellows there is not going to be a reply newtown have been promoted ,and will be playin d3 football this year,it will be between burt and the county board to sort weather burt will or will not be promoted.....End of...

gaaa (Donegal) - Posts: 182 - 30/01/2011 20:57:16    857030

From what i hear as far as Naomh Colmcille are concerned they are back to training mid Feb for new season in Div 3 with first competitive game at end of March.
That is just a 6 week break, were as most other clubs have had alot longer off. Also senior manager has yet to be announced......

DONEGALFAN2010 (Donegal) - Posts: 6 - 30/01/2011 21:58:24    857100

Crana how you's do in Div 2 last year ? yes hammered in almost very game ! and look were yous are now !

Wee_Buns (Donegal) - Posts: 830 - 31/01/2011 08:32:32    857109

There will be no replay. Newtown are in divison 3. end of

nc123 (Donegal) - Posts: 30 - 31/01/2011 11:45:54    857209

NC123, I wouldn't be so sure. IF the reports in the papers are right, a play-off will take place.
But I'm sure that in their heart or hearts, Naomh Colmcille will be happy to beat Burt on the field - they wouldn't have been happy to be promoted in the committee room.

B.Bap (Donegal) - Posts: 186 - 31/01/2011 12:50:25    857265