Best Top Gear Episode?

Watched the one in Boliva and the road of death last week. It was class - that was definitely not jeremy driving the jeep on the edge of the cliff that time though!?
The special across southern states of America was good - the rednecks chased them!ha
Any other memorable moments from the no.1 show of the noughties?

Brolly (Monaghan) - Posts: 4472 - 06/01/2010 13:06:44    525734

The first one in America was definitley class alright! It was shown on a plane I was on back from Boston, even the Americans were laughing at it. I liked the one where they drove across Africa as well, with Hammond and Oliver.

Royal_Girl2k9 (Meath) - Posts: 2107 - 06/01/2010 13:14:34    525760

The Southern states of America was class! Really really funny!!

dubupnorth (Dublin) - Posts: 1897 - 06/01/2010 13:14:41    525761

My favourite is the one where they do a crazy task where the car is in an elaborate race against something else with or without an engine. I'm on the edge of my seat throughout and then miraculously the car wins by the narrowest of margins, I think in the same episode Clarkson said something offensive and himself and James May gang up on "The Hamster" and mock him for being small the rascals.

Breffni40 (Cavan) - Posts: 12494 - 06/01/2010 13:20:40    525769

The Winter Olympics where they tied a rocket to a mini cooper before launching it down the slope . LMAO
Close second was the motorcycle challenge in Vietnam

RenardRedHand (Tyrone) - Posts: 547 - 06/01/2010 13:21:33    525771

it was jeremy

miketyson (Limerick) - Posts: 2748 - 06/01/2010 13:42:00    525792

The one where they all raced across London using an SUV, Public Transport, The Thames and a bicycle. And the Vietnam expisode. Brilliant. But the one which really really excelled was the one where james and Jezza took aa Hi-Lux to the North Pole.....Outstanding.
James May is the funniest of theh three lads.
The current Stig is a rally driver named Ben Collins.

Mikeynora (Limerick) - Posts: 888 - 06/01/2010 13:42:45    525793

I'd say the last one ever.At least you'd know it was finished.How could anybody warm to curly Clarkson?They have these vast budgets to show utter..... well I'll not use the word.It has appeal though so theres no accounting for taste.

northpole (Derry) - Posts: 739 - 06/01/2010 13:49:21    525806

Any of the Specials - North Pole, American Road Trip to New Orleans, Vietnam, Bolivia, Africa were all excellent. Also any of the episodes where the 3 presenters buy cheap cars and compete in challenges are excellent TV.

Recently though the jokes are looking a bit contrived, no need for it as the show was better without it - although they are trying to broaden their audience I suppose.

That incident you refer to on the Bolivian Road was DEFINITELY staged too Brolly, the white Toyota Land Cruiser was probably a camera/crew vehicle. Also, one of the local road rules specifies that the downhill driver (which would have been the Land Cruiser in it's meeting with Jeremy) never has the right of way and must move to the outer edge of the road.

nocky (Wexford) - Posts: 2059 - 06/01/2010 13:55:59    525811

The challenges are only reason people watch Top Gear. This season was very very poor apart from the Bolivian episode. I like the one across America aswell and the Arctic one also as James and Jeremy genuinely fall out during it. I also liked the time they drove from Switzerland to Blackpool on one tank of fuel. Really fed up with Richard Hammond now aswell, god he is irritating. He always does the same things in every episode scratching his head and acting like he is a moron, so much of it is fake, the editors must make good money as I'm sure they are very busy men.

Adler (Monaghan) - Posts: 754 - 06/01/2010 14:17:02    525827

Jezza?????? hahahaha

Breffni40 (Cavan) - Posts: 12494 - 06/01/2010 14:22:39    525832

Its went down hill for the past 2 or 3 series, but last years Vietnam episode was absolutely brilliant.

JuanVeron (Westmeath) - Posts: 1866 - 06/01/2010 14:24:07    525834

06/01/2010 13:20:40
Breffni39

525769 My favourite is the one where they do a crazy task where the car is in an elaborate race against something else with or without an engine. I'm on the edge of my seat throughout and then miraculously the car wins by the narrowest of margins, I think in the same episode Clarkson said something offensive and himself and James May gang up on "The Hamster" and mock him for being small the rascals.

Not sure if I saw that one. Its not the one where Clarkson insulted German people who go on caravan holidays in France ?

ruanua (Donegal) - Posts: 4966 - 06/01/2010 14:33:03    525845

When they travelled accross japan
or else the vietnam 90 min special

09KY36 (Kerry) - Posts: 329 - 06/01/2010 14:36:10    525849

ruanua

525845 06/01/2010 13:20:40
Breffni39

525769 My favourite is the one where they do a crazy task where the car is in an elaborate race against something else with or without an engine. I'm on the edge of my seat throughout and then miraculously the car wins by the narrowest of margins, I think in the same episode Clarkson said something offensive and himself and James May gang up on "The Hamster" and mock him for being small the rascals.

Not sure if I saw that one. Its not the one where Clarkson insulted German people who go on caravan holidays in France ?

Yeah, I think thats it. He also kept randomly referring to torque and oversteer, correctly figuring that most viewers neither know or care what this means but adds some authority to his rants

Breffni40 (Cavan) - Posts: 12494 - 06/01/2010 15:27:36    525916

Torque basically, is the pick up in your car when its travelling at speed......
Over steer...ah here, can you not work that out for yourself?!?!
Traction mean anything or should I explain that one too ? Horsepower over your little head?

Mikeynora (Limerick) - Posts: 888 - 06/01/2010 15:54:23    525943

Mikeynora
County: Limerick

525943 Torque basically, is the pick up in your car when its travelling at speed......
Over steer...ah here, can you not work that out for yourself?!?!
Traction mean anything or should I explain that one too ? Horsepower over your little head?

They all mean nothing to me, and I couldn't care less what they mean!!! Not in the slightest bit interested in cars, but living with lads who are means I've surely seen every episode at this stage.

"Jezza" just seems to stay it so often it can't possibly be relevant every time, I get the impression he is trying to sound clever.

Breffni40 (Cavan) - Posts: 12494 - 06/01/2010 16:22:44    525962

Actually I lie, I know what oversteer is. Its the bit of smoke that appears at the side of the celebritys reasonably priced car every time they go round that bend.

Breffni40 (Cavan) - Posts: 12494 - 06/01/2010 16:34:10    525973

The USA and Arctic ones were great the first time you see them but are repeated so much on Dave they lose their appeal.

trimmer (Meath) - Posts: 578 - 06/01/2010 17:18:47    526025

The best one ever was the one where Clarkson drove the Aston Martin DB9 down to Monaco and the other two took the train. Fantastic camera work and a beautiful car. The Vietnam one was up there two, the scene where they round the bend and there is an idylic piece of scenery in front of them.

caughtredhanded (Tyrone) - Posts: 602 - 06/01/2010 20:01:47    526209