Got a few books off Santy and was wondering which was the best to start with a read and if i dont have it i'll get it for my birthday on New Years Day gaamad1996 (Wexford) - Posts: 439 - 28/12/2009 11:01:29 521540 Link 0 |
Got a few meself gaamad 1996,They all look good but I'm leaving the ones that look best till last like Dónal Ógs or Codys dammon (Meath) - Posts: 1291 - 28/12/2009 11:16:08 521544 Link 0 |
I thought mr hartes was very good. Much better than jack o connors Orlaith (Derry) - Posts: 4282 - 28/12/2009 11:40:00 521548 Link 0 |
Just finished Mickey Harte's book: excellent stuff. About to start Damien Lawlor's book on Waterford footballers and then Donal Og cusack's book is next on the list. football first (None) - Posts: 1259 - 28/12/2009 12:08:20 521551 Link 0 |
micky harte,s book is top class.best by a mile bigman2 (Tipperary) - Posts: 1202 - 28/12/2009 12:57:42 521563 Link 0 |
Tadgh Kennellys- is a good read a lot of interseting stuff from his time in Australia and in Listowel! Royal_son (Meath) - Posts: 300 - 28/12/2009 14:58:07 521594 Link 0 |
Just finished reading 'Working on a Dream' and its by far the best GAA book I've read in a long time. It puts a lot of stuff in perspective regarding the GAA and its players. Brilliant piece of work. MesAmis (Dublin) - Posts: 13839 - 28/12/2009 18:45:23 521679 Link 0 |
I know it wasn't released this year but earlier in the year I read Davy Fitzgerald's book. I used to have a bit of respect for the man but this book portrayed him very badly. Extremely arrogant and self-centred. Really didn't come across well and I wouldn't recommend it! local (Fermanagh) - Posts: 154 - 28/12/2009 19:54:56 521708 Link 0 |
Just started on Working on a dream, seems a good read so far. Royal_Girl2k9 (Meath) - Posts: 2107 - 28/12/2009 21:35:31 521751 Link 0 |
Fair play - just finished Dónal Óg's book & while it is a wee bit repedetive in places he says a few good things about the structure of local clubs that we all should look at going forward. His side of the Cork strike also interesting but I would also like to hear the opposition's version. He a bit harsh on Gerald McCarthy - too personal a bit for my liking but maybe that's the way it was. dingle1 (Clare) - Posts: 805 - 29/12/2009 01:18:26 521812 Link 0 |
GAA- OFFICAL GUIDE RULE BOOK is an excellent read. Full of fantasy and fiction that never happens. datsrite (Sligo) - Posts: 473 - 29/12/2009 03:19:04 521821 Link 0 |
'Evolution of the GAA', a collection of writing from people like Maurice Hayes & Joe Lennon (Down), Mickey Harte, etc, is excellent. Maurice Haye's piece is very witty as well as interesting. Also, 'GAA - A People's History' is very good. ajdoyle78 (Down) - Posts: 520 - 29/12/2009 09:14:44 521835 Link 0 |
nobody should by them as they are lining the pockets of managers and publishers 10DLSAM (Derry) - Posts: 266 - 29/12/2009 12:01:00 521865 Link 0 |
ajdoyle78, I am just reading "The Evolution of the G.A.A." at the moment. It is very enjoyable and has great old photographs !! Cavan_Slasher (Cavan) - Posts: 10253 - 29/12/2009 12:26:34 521874 Link 0 |
Mickey Harte's book: excellent book so far halfway through . Dellboypolecat (Tyrone) - Posts: 15069 - 29/12/2009 17:27:18 522059 Link 0 |
Working on a dream, about a year on the road with Waterford footballers, absolutley fantastic, I just could not leave it down, Jaysus the hardship these guys have to go through to try and better themselves, their battles with their own county board and total lack of support from their own people is shocking, the hurlers are treated like gods down there but the footballers are treated like dirt, VERY SAD. One thing that this book proves is that John Kiley is truely a legend in every sense of the word. REDROM (Offaly) - Posts: 208 - 30/12/2009 11:27:50 522301 Link 0 |
Even though i have yet to read it, i get the impression that "Working on a Dream" is going to be a fantastic read. Biographies / Autobiographies are all the same nowadays, fairly bland with the odd controversy thrown in to sell a few more copies. Damien Lawlor's book seems to be a well written, informative piece. Unfortunately i am unable to find somewhere from which to purchase a copy as there are no copies stocked in the mainstream shops over here in the UK. (at least not down here in sleepy Southampton, that GAA hotbed of the South!) Tongo (UK) - Posts: 1795 - 30/12/2009 12:08:27 522312 Link 0 |
Cody's id decent but not enough about him as a player and also like the man himself his personal stuff is kept ..well personal. BigJohn.6_8 (Galway) - Posts: 704 - 30/12/2009 12:22:17 522320 Link 0 |
I know its an old book but just read it last week "The Gambler, Oisin McConville" Skyblue (Tyrone) - Posts: 193 - 30/12/2009 12:33:24 522327 Link 0 |
Damien Lawlor's on the Waterford footballers was easily the best GAA book I read over the Christmas. Marooned (Galway) - Posts: 2420 - 30/12/2009 15:14:09 522397 Link 0 |