Funniest moments at a GAA game?

Puddersthecat
County: Kilkenny

514431 The look on lowerormonde's face when the 2nd Kilkenny goal burst the net.

no1 saw my face....it was buried in my hands in pure utter disgust and shock....still is..lol

lowerormond (Tipperary) - Posts: 1267 - 15/12/2009 20:33:01    514940

Our county teams performance against Mayo was a bit of a joke this year!

Rossies4life (Roscommon) - Posts: 178 - 15/12/2009 21:34:10    515006

During the cryptosperidium(?) probelm with Galway's water supply they travelled up to play Sligo and I remember the Sligo fans singing 'you're only here for the water!'

In Salthill for the international rules game a few years back and a long haired Aussie did something (can't remember exactly what!) and a bloke from behind me shouted 'cut your hair......its not the 60s hippie!' Cue mild laughter. Then everyone turned round to see that the man who shouted it had a big beard and dreadlocked hair! The ultimate west of Ireland crusty!

Ulsterman:

That moment when the umpire shouldered your man was priceless. There was another one when another eejit ran from the Hill at half time and was dancing around, he even managed to evade a few stewards in the process. Anyway as he was dancing around acting the big man&I noticed a Garda from the corner of my eye come sprinting from the Hogan and nailed him with a perfect rugby tackle! Brian O'Drioscal would been proud of it! Brilliant!

MesAmis (Dublin) - Posts: 13802 - 15/12/2009 22:21:20    515050

i saw the dub been shoulderd by the umpire - fantastic, think it was the hurlin all ireland this yr and 1 or the first kk fans onto the pitch from the hill absolutly nailed with a rugby tackle from a stuard. then jus when i thought it couldnt get much funnier "all stuards plan b" only the gaa could hav a contingincy plan which was basically do nothin, were else would ya get it!!!!

olddelwexican (Wexford) - Posts: 38 - 15/12/2009 23:06:46    515099

Always love it in U8- U10 games when invariably (and it happens in most games) some player takes off on a solo run but in the wrong direction. The crowd on the sideline immedately start bellowing at the poor unfortunate to stop but sure the poor fella thinks he's being cheered on so his speed intensifies & he finishes with a great point from fifteen or twenty yards which brings an even bigger cheer from the opposition side. The poor lad is elated for all of about twenty seconds until he realises what he has done & then he makes a bolt for his poor unfortunate father / mother on the sideline with his coach chasing after him trying to placate him by telling him all is ok & it was a great score even if it was at the wrong end.

Cruel but funny & it happens so often (I have often been the said coach trying to placate the distress of a young player).

dingle1 (Clare) - Posts: 805 - 16/12/2009 00:10:13    515140

I was at a game in clones once, it could have been the dubs against derry, these guys got on the pitch and done the usual streaker thing, a chase ensued and one of the guy jumped into the terrace beside us to put back on his clothes and disappear. The other guy jumped into the terrace behind the goals, the nearest one to the road and put his clothes on. Everybody could see him move through the crowd and we could see the stewards trying to catch him. He eventually settled and obviously thought he was safe enough but the rest of the stadium could see the stewards coming down the terrace behind him and as they got closer the crowd began to move away from him so there was just a huge circle of space around him. The boys got him threw him out, it was hilarious at the time and everyone cheered when he was got.

Louth Gael (Louth) - Posts: 1227 - 16/12/2009 00:53:45    515170

Marty Morrossy's interview with Brian Cody after the AI final. Hilarious!

Mick14 (Limerick) - Posts: 766 - 16/12/2009 10:05:06    515241

dingle - one of our senior footballers has done that....TWICE, although they didnt get as far as scoring...

bosch (Derry) - Posts: 873 - 16/12/2009 10:40:13    515260

Jaysus typical of a Down man who never has been anywhere or done anything, if you are going to tell the story tell it right! You left out the punch-line!

The funny thing about it was that McCartan actually scored a point when he was without his boot.

That isn't what happened. Donnelly fouled McCarten in the box and ross Carr scored the penalty, after Mickey Linden had missed one earlier.

Suas Sios (None) - Posts: 1558 - 16/12/2009 14:17:28    515431

Mick14
County: Limerick

515241 Marty Morrossy's interview with Brian Cody after the AI final. Hilarious!

Ye that was good and even better was Loughnane laughing at him ...he's a sadist

chainsaw (Laois) - Posts: 712 - 16/12/2009 15:07:14    515479

Ya chainsaw the lads in the studio got a right laugh at it aswel. Brilliant stuff

Mick14 (Limerick) - Posts: 766 - 16/12/2009 15:27:44    515511

yeah have t agree,plan B was classic

the_wee_parish (Louth) - Posts: 197 - 16/12/2009 23:31:34    516179

Any time Dublin lose...classic!

Kun (USA) - Posts: 103 - 17/12/2009 15:25:16    516554

graham gerathy giving the hill the fingers.

BettystownRoyal (Meath) - Posts: 3353 - 17/12/2009 16:51:29    516628

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=o2wohGFgKPM&feature=youtube_gdata

6:50

Babs trying to make up for one mistake makes another classic blunder

Corklanger07 (Cork) - Posts: 85 - 17/12/2009 19:21:33    516753

The late late shown on the 125 years of the Gaaa was a great laugh, how could some one mess it up so bad!

fiannablue (Tyrone) - Posts: 326 - 17/12/2009 21:34:20    516925

Refs falling over is always a crowd pleaser. Dogs on the pitch aswell

sexyface (Kildare) - Posts: 175 - 17/12/2009 22:04:03    516966

Suas Sios County: All Posts: 424 515431 Jaysus typical of a Down man who never has been anywhere or done anything, if you are going to tell the story tell it right! You left out the punch-line! The funny thing about it was that McCartan actually scored a point when he was without his boot. That isn't what happened. Donnelly fouled McCarten in the box and ross Carr scored the penalty, after Mickey Linden had missed one earlier. Checked that out on the Down forum Suas Sios, my man willtowin has verified my version of events - good enough for me mate. willtowin County: Down Posts: 11 517686 Sam, remember it Down v Tyrone. The Tyrone defender Donnelly couldn't handle James McCartan. McCartan's boot came off while scrambling to win a ball. Donnelly picked it up & threw it up into the crowd. McCartan actually continued on and scored a point when he was without his boot.

sam2008 (Tyrone) - Posts: 799 - 18/12/2009 19:51:55    517966

Another one I remember happened at a Donegal/Cavan match at Ballybofey away back in the late 80's or early 90's. In the minor game one of the Cavan bucks clocked a Donegal lad who wet down like a sack of spuds. The Cavan buck just stood there beside his victim looking stupid. The Cavan management started shouting "Lie Down, Lie Down" The Cavan threw himself down and didn't move. Of course everybody in the ground (who were going mad) had see this except the 4 Umpires, the 2 Linesmen and the ref. When the ref came over and the physo's came on nothing happened to the Cavan lad - got away scott - freeverybody had a right laugh.

sam2008 (Tyrone) - Posts: 799 - 18/12/2009 22:15:54    518071

What about mulligan lifting the dog in the replay against dublin in 05.

duke_raul (Tyrone) - Posts: 993 - 19/12/2009 12:20:31    518292