I'm looking for some facts about Dublins AI WINS.

51longago - you can't compare Dublin with the rest of the country because Dublin is uniquely, apart from Belfast to a certain extent, made up overwhelmingly of people who were either born outside of the county, or whose parents or grandparents were born outside of the county. At the last census something like 15% were not even Irish and I would say that is an underestimate. Before the Famine the population of Dublin was around 200,000 - less than 1/40th of the country's population. Now it's over 25%. So obviously there is a huge proportion of the population of the county who are not 'real' Dubs. What is unique also however is that the descendents of people who have moved here and even many first generation Dubs identify themselves as Dubs and that is reflected in the GAA. Indeed the GAA and the county football team is arguably the strongest single identifier among Dublin people of all backgrounds. That surely has to be a good thing? Of my four grandparents, only one was a 'real' Dub and neither of her parents were Dubs and yet I've had family members who played for the county, including during the time you refer to, and none of them considered themselves anything other than Dubs. The only comparison I can think of is the New York Yankees. Very few of those who played for the Yankees or supported them in their heyday in the 20s and 30s were 'real' New Yorkers but it would have taken a brave man to tell any of them that!

hurlingdub (Dublin) - Posts: 6978 - 18/12/2009 08:38:11    517276

Well said Hurlingdub, I would have had a similar thought process but would not have been able to put it so elegant. The Mayo man needs to relax, think of the future mate, at least I can remember 1995 as a 13 year old boy. What age were you in 1951?

PC27 (Dublin) - Posts: 78 - 21/12/2009 23:17:41    520165

51 LongAgo, you said if my point was true? Did you know the men personally who won All Ireland's from other counties for Dublin? How could you possibly have an idea of how loyal or dedicated they were to the Dublin jersey? I reckon my point is quiet valid in relation to your musings personally as these men won All Irelands and were obviously hungry to win in the blue of Dublin. You mention the early years of the twentieth century, did you expect the men to travel back to Mayo every weekend to train with inadequate transport links if indeed they were from Mayo which is highly unlikely? Probably from Kerry seeing as they actually won All Ireland's. If they had not come to Dublin, they would in all likelihood not have played Gaelic Games at all which could have stunted the growth of the GAA. In reality, you should be thanking Dublin for saving the GAA by picking the best players available!! Alternative thinking, and the west brit slur is low. I am a Dub even though all my grandparents were from Roscommon, Kerry, Clare and Galway and I have the upmost respect for any county who promote Gaelic Games

PC27 (Dublin) - Posts: 78 - 21/12/2009 23:26:00    520176

dubupnorth

The 'culchie'' representation has dwindled since then and very few , if any country lads have represented us in our recent all Ireland successes.

Everytime dublin have claimed a success in the all-ireland there has been a culchie on the team, the majority of the 95 teams parents were "culchies" so if i was you id look up my facts before slagging the "culchie"

Billy4 (Wicklow) - Posts: 134 - 12/01/2010 15:15:27    530932

Woudn't remember much about Dublin's All-Ireland win but I remember the win against Tyrone '95 because we won it the year before... I can't remember who we beat though...

Down_man94 (Down) - Posts: 90 - 12/01/2010 15:32:56    530959

The problem with the gaa in counties like mayo and dublin is that it is all about history and not about the future.You don't hear kilkenny kerry or cork dwelling on their history.They strive for a future in which they deliver more success.

maigh_eo (Mayo) - Posts: 1346 - 13/01/2010 11:06:19    531685

Billy , where did I slag off culchies? It's a commonly used term in this country , used mainly by...........culchies!! Indeed they have their own Culchie of the year competition! I'm aware some of the '95 team were of country stock. So what?? All this from a man who's county are managed by a Kerryman

dubupnorth (Dublin) - Posts: 1897 - 13/01/2010 16:22:06    532044

I dont believe it matters where a county player parents are from. A lad born in Dublin is a Dub and should be proud to wear his county jersey and play for the Dubs.

gpa.no.way (Louth) - Posts: 104 - 14/01/2010 22:01:59    533504

Absolutely,,,,well if youre born in the place surely it means you ARE a DUB...For God sake, country folk will use any damn excuse to imply Dublin have worn their AI titles fair and sqaure.....what next!!!!! WE might be goin through a bad spell for the last number of years but none of ye can change FACTS, we won 22 AIs...end of story, get over it.....

Mollymalone (Dublin) - Posts: 1137 - 15/01/2010 09:42:02    533537

All of Dublin's 22 All-Ireland titles were won by Mayo men! FACT

But in a weird twist Mayo's 3 (count 'em) All-Ireland titles were actually won by Leitrim players! This arouse because all the Mayo lads were busy playing for the Dubs.

Hope that helped.

MesAmis (Dublin) - Posts: 13827 - 15/01/2010 19:21:21    534287

This is a silly thread, people quote 22 wins because that is a statistic and its never a bad thing. It wouldn't matter if we won 50 Al's, the fact is we haven't since 1995. Everyone in Dublin knows that, the so called stereotypical dub on the hill attitude you are referring to is strengthened by how easily people wound up. A dub on the hill shouts 22 at you while watching a game, let him have his craic, hes paid his 25 euro to be there and he's enjoying himself. And yes, there were Dublin teams full of country people over the decades, primarily at the beginning of the decade and i'd like to thank them for their input, because they helped the GAA get itself established in Dublin. The club scene in dublin is vibrant and successful and like Dublin as a city, it has loads of country people in it making a living. Thats fine, and plenty of them play here. The fact is, the reason we have not won a AI, like most counties is because of many factors, not having the right players for every position, bad managerial decisions, no luck etc. The likes of Tyrone and Kerry, seem to get it just right and its impressive and fair play. I personally dont think we'll win a AI for a long time, but if some lad wants to think otherwise, he is fully entitled to think that way. Why get wound up by some eejits? You started this thread to discuss facts we know, and facts you already know. Dublin have won the AI 22 times, its a fact, if you expect someone on the hill to sing ''22 All-Irelands, 14 of which had country people on the team but the other 8 who were all dubs'' Imagine that! Mayo are a similar case to Dublin, loads of nearly's and very few medals in recent years. Goodluck in the All-Ireland this year, worry about meeting the mighty Joe Kernan in the Connacht Championship, hell make them solid this year.

Frainc (Dublin) - Posts: 178 - 17/01/2010 10:35:55    535021