I'm looking for some facts about Dublins AI WINS.

There is a constant reference to Dublins 22 All Irelands by jacks on here, now while there is no denying obviously they won them but i want to know how many of the early teams actually consisted of players from dublin?
So far i can come up with 1906 and 07, not one player came from Dublin on the dublin team, the Dublin team of them two years came from ten different counties.Now, i remember reading something to the tune of the pre Vincents golden era with heffernan and all that jazz, that Dublin Gaa was all country folk mainly. I could be completly wrong and apoligise if i am, but love to know the history behind it. I f anbody has facts i would really like to know.I think it was even as far up to 42 there was a massive influence of country players, if this is all true it would surley take some of the credability of past success away.

51longago (Mayo) - Posts: 2981 - 14/12/2009 16:42:23    513412

wum

waynoI (Dublin) - Posts: 13654 - 14/12/2009 17:09:57    513458

Dear me, is that all you can come up with" wum". I am looking for some facts why does evrything have to be so aggresive with the Jacks, its a shame your aggresion isn't turned into some scores on the field. I find your response very bad mannered, stereotypical of hill 16 mentality, i feel sorry for your genuine supporters.

51longago (Mayo) - Posts: 2981 - 14/12/2009 17:45:14    513517

The O'Tooles club who were responsible for some of our early all Ireland wins would have been an inner city club and many of the players they had would have been Dubs. The Synnott's in particular were always to the forefront and indeed John Synnott a descendent of the original men played for the Dubs in a couple of all Ireland finals in the mid 1980's. Unfortunately we weren't victorious on those occasssions. From what I can gather , the Dublin teams up until the late 1920's would have always had a fair sprinkling of non natives. The 'culchie'' representation has dwindled since then and very few , if any country lads have represented us in our recent all Ireland successes.

dubupnorth (Dublin) - Posts: 1897 - 14/12/2009 18:19:35    513568

bray emmets won all ireland for dublin in early 1900's, at a time when the county champions represented the county.

hairyfoot (Wicklow) - Posts: 98 - 14/12/2009 18:24:35    513572

Correction to my last post on this subject. It was DAVE SYNNOTT who played for Dublin in the 1980's , not John...........apologies

dubupnorth (Dublin) - Posts: 1897 - 14/12/2009 19:54:38    513709

Good man dubinnorth, a bit of right information. Now while i respect your info i did say up till 42, i realise the playing of non natives in modern times would be next to none.But according to my calculations 14 of dublins 22 came pre 42 inclusive, this to me makes Dublins claim as a former superpower a little less credible, if the majority of their players were from other counties.

51longago (Mayo) - Posts: 2981 - 14/12/2009 19:56:32    513713

That was the way things were in those days. They were obviously playing for clubs in Dublin and contributed to the development of Dublin GAA. Our record since 1942 has been poor, however the All Irelands won in early years where obviously won by players who were loyal to the Dublin cause and to winning All Irelands on behalf of their adopted county.

PC27 (Dublin) - Posts: 78 - 14/12/2009 21:33:33    513859

Thats a fair point pc27, if it were true. Mayo won the AI in 36 and as far as i am aware they were all mayo men.The harsh reality is exactly the point you make yourself, your record since 42 is not great in relation to population etc because since then they have not used the same amount of country men as previous to 42. I would go as far to say its not really in your genetic make up in comparison to your country cousins, hence the west brit culture of your town.Were any of your big clubs founded by vicars? Something else i heard before but again i dont know if its true, would like to know though.

51longago (Mayo) - Posts: 2981 - 14/12/2009 22:10:12    513931

51longago - "why does evrything have to be so aggresive with the Jacks, its a shame your aggresion isn't turned into some scores on the field. I find your response very bad mannered, stereotypical of hill 16 mentality" "the west brit culture " Maybe answers to your fact finding mission appear a touch aggressive when you label Dublin as West Britain. You are aware that Dublin is in fact made up of tens if not hundreds of thousands of descendants of "culchies" (i myself am one) or were you under the impression that there is just an inexplicably high birth rate in our fair capital, which you proabably think is a result of our alcohol/abuse too. The mayo team will always be made up of mayo men because as far as i am aware people dont actually move there in large numbers to set u home find work or educate themselves. Thanks for visiting our forum though youre great craic

BlueSon2010 (Dublin) - Posts: 23 - 15/12/2009 14:00:07    514406

dubupnorth

The 'culchie'' representation has dwindled since then and very few , if any country lads have represented us in our recent all Ireland successes.

what recent AI successes. 95 let alone 83 isnt recent

32_4_1 (Meath) - Posts: 4166 - 15/12/2009 19:59:01    514885

Blueson2010! ! Prove me wrong so, i am making a guess based on half stories i have heard. I would say that the majority of the players that won AI with Dublin pre 42 were not from Dublin. Don't be foolish and mock my intellectual capacity by telling me silly things like am i aware of thousands of Dubs being of country origin, if you want to go down that road like saying the Brogans are Kerry/Mayo bloodline etc, we would come to the conclusion there are no true Jacks, it's just ridiculous. My question is simply is it true that the majority of your players pre 42 came from other counties.

51longago (Mayo) - Posts: 2981 - 15/12/2009 21:35:49    515007

51longago, whats your point?????.................pre 42 Dublin won All irelands with Culchies on board.....big deal.......so what....please explain where you are going with this nonsense

bluejay (Dublin) - Posts: 47 - 16/12/2009 00:52:07    515167

Teams in 20s were mainly Dubs anyway. As for the West Brit slur, I think Dublin's record in 1916 - 22 puts that one to bed, without making any invidious comparisons with anywhere else ;)

hurlingdub (Dublin) - Posts: 6978 - 16/12/2009 09:03:11    515209

Maybe i shouldn't of said "west brit", but i was called for just asking a simple question, as per usual it ends up in petty row. So i apoligise for that slur, but i still just want to find out the facts about Dublins early AI wins.
So far we have established 1906and 07 not one single Dublin man played on their teams, i think there is a lot more to be established. To me GAA is a parochial game and if Mayo won the AI with no mayo men on the team i would not see it as Mayos AI, so my point is a lot of Dublins wins are not down to Dublin people, thats all.I'm getting nowhere here, so ill do my own research, the phrase "the truth hurts" comes to mind here.

51longago (Mayo) - Posts: 2981 - 16/12/2009 14:10:09    515424

51longago- May Ir aise a couple of points here. Dublin is an unusual county in that as we are the Capital most country folk have had to come here for employment as is the case with most capital cities. We have benefited from this by utilising a bigger pool of players from time to time. Trying to discover the breakdown of county nationality pre- 1920's seems a bit like you have too much time on your hands. Mayo have only ever won 3 all-irelands yet rather than dig deep for answers for this you single out Dublin's long, strong and excellent history. Isnt the GAA all about History. If in 50 years time how would you feel if people disregarded your 1951 win.Its there for the record books. I believe we are not at present one of the countries main teams but because of our population we hope that maybe sooner or later a good group of players will come along or Dublin get the infrastructure correct. Just look at Tyrone. Minus Kerry can any county claim to be a super power.Answer is No. However a county like Dublin who have appeared in 12 all-irelands in the past 30 years winning 5 is not bad at all,,,oh yeah better than appearing in 5 over the past 20 and winning none,,,better check the Mayo players background,,might be something to do with the spanish armada,,,

Amo (Dublin) - Posts: 21 - 16/12/2009 16:10:45    515586

Like i said in last post it's a waste of time as you just want to write history to suit, my point is valid. Dublin have a tendency to doctor history to suit, its like there fierce rivalary with kerry, i think is absolute nonsense, its both media driven and over hyped as the Jacks i think have beaten Kerry once in 30 years in championship, Mayo have a better record.
I'll make my point clear once more, GAA is based on parochialism.
If mayo ever won the AI with the majority of the players not from Mayo i would not consider it Mayo's, past or present. If you think my opinion is wrong, so be it, everbody is entitled to an opinion and i respect yours.

51longago (Mayo) - Posts: 2981 - 16/12/2009 16:53:44    515637

51longago.....do you support the Irish soccer team? I do , even though their is a strong historical representation of players who weren't born here representing us. If for example , Ireland won the World or European championships would you disregard that if say Liam Lawrence scored the winning goal and Sean St Ledger made a match winning tackle to secure victory? People here in Derry where I live support their local soccer team , Derry City even though the manager is a Dub and a fair chunk of the players aren't even from Derry. Do fans of Manchester Utd , Liverpool , Arsenal , Chelsea , Barcelona , Real Madrid etc etc disregard past or present triumphs because ''the players aren't from here??'' Many counties have been represented by players not born within their borders , not just Dublin. In recent years how many Kerry , Cork , Tipp or Roscommon men have played for Kildare? Would Cork have won their last football All Irelands without the two Kildare men Tompkins or Fahy? Would Meath have done so well without the strong Leitrim , Dublin and dare I say it , MAYO influence and background of their players? Are you on the county sites of Cork and Meath posing these questions to them? As was pointed out by another poster , Dublin is the capital of our country. Therefore a honey pot for people from all parts of our great land to come & find work and settle down. Given this fact it's no surprise that people from ''beyond the pale'' have worn the blue of Dublin and represented us with pride. Fair play to those warriors of the past for laying the foundations that we will hopefully improve upon in the not too distant future!

dubupnorth (Dublin) - Posts: 1897 - 17/12/2009 09:38:21    516263

Why are Mayo people sooooo bitter!!! maybe its so long since they have won an AI!!! come to think of it so many culchies are so bitter against us Dubs and half of them are up here since they were teenagers earning a good living and then their kids get a good education up here and how many thousand poor owl Dubs now on the dole and living in their own county...could ye imagine if the roles were reversed.....As for our footballers, by God, it wont be long and I tell ye when we win that next elusive AI we wont stop celebrating and remindin the rest of ye...other counties dont seem to get half the abuse for AI droughts!!! Cmon ye blues n blue....

Mollymalone (Dublin) - Posts: 1137 - 17/12/2009 14:57:40    516527

Dubupnorth, you're completly off the mark, you are bringing soccer into it and not only that your point is irrevelant because these soccer players usually have Irish roots, my point exactly about your Dublin early AI winning teams having no roots whatsoever in Dublin.Your flash in the pan examples like Larry Tompkins from other counties is nonsensical in comparison to linning out teams two years on the trot 1906/07 without one man from Dublin. I didn't want an argument as such just facts----------

51longago (Mayo) - Posts: 2981 - 17/12/2009 22:59:37    517112